Chubby Hamsters V9, Rolling Fat Furballs.

the_catacombs
post Jun 28 2008, 03:52 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

jz noticed my hamster cage is not escape proof.... lolz... i was looking for my hamster in the cage when all of the sudden i saw something moving behind the cage... bend over and peep, i saw my hamster standing there looking at me... lolz....
the_catacombs
post Jun 29 2008, 06:50 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

as i was reading this thread, i saw my hamster walked pass by room door....when he saw me, he straight u-turn n ran away... mad.gif
the_catacombs
post Jul 14 2008, 02:18 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

excuse me ahh... need to enquire about winter white... there are how many sub-species of winter white available??... can all of them be housed together in a cage (given that they dont fight lar) ??....

coz i planning to buy another ww... today my existing ww too boring play with the water bottle whole day.... end up flooding the whole cage making da new beddings all wet.... i swapped him into another spare cage adi while waiting for the wet bedding to dry up... doh.gif

back to my question, the other day i went to a petshop... saw a white ww... the tauke said this species is white since birth... while the normal ones will shed fur to turn into white.... i dont mind if its not pure white lar... as long as its tame, chubby, and friendly to other inmates... tongue.gif if its a white, its a bonus...
the_catacombs
post Jul 14 2008, 03:19 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Jul 14 2008, 02:39 AM)
winter white has 3 colours. agouti, sapphire and pearl.
agouti and sapphire will change their fur colour to white when the tempreture is cold. but it depends on the hamster whether want to change or not. pearl will stay in white colour for their whole life.
refer to 1st page for photos. if wanna get a pearl, get from jayniel  drool.gif
where is her location??... if melaka can la... biggrin.gif
if KL also can, if i can make it... biggrin.gif

my current fatty is sapphire... that day i saw 1 agouti changing to white coat... vr nice with a black strip at the back.... but i wanted a female.... as for the one born to be white (as per claimed by the tauke) has abit yellowish if not mistaken.... cost more as well, rm30... sweat.gif

one more thing... my sapphire lower abdomen fur start becoming whitish.... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by the_catacombs: Jul 14 2008, 03:20 AM
the_catacombs
post Jul 14 2008, 12:02 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Jul 14 2008, 10:30 AM)
check her thread in garage sale biggrin.gif
check oledi... but most of them are sold... sad.gif

QUOTE(jayniel @ Jul 14 2008, 11:31 AM)
the yellowish part on the white fur is urine stain.. Rm30 is kinda expensive.. Melaka petshops sell at this price ar?

is ur current hamster male? if u get a female which is less than 4 months old now, premature breeding will happen.. avoid placing a female below 4 months old with another male hamster.. there are many bad consequences of premature breeding that u wouldn't want to happen.. also if u plan to breed, there are many aftermaths such as getting more cages to place the babies & separate the mum&dad..

ur hamster wont be bored living alone if u provide a running wheel & toys.. try to get a better water bottle if it leaks.. also, when u move the cage around, most water bottles will tend to leak in the process.. if ur hamster has a cage-biting habit, switch to a tank then..

actually if ur hamster sleeps the whole day, that does not indicate that they're bored or lonely.. it's because hamsters are mostly awake during the night/early morning.. in the day, they only wake up for short intervals to drink, groom, eat, etc..
yea.... rm30 around that price... i havent enquire from other shops lar....

yeap... current one is male... i dun plan to buy a youngster and match with him la... buy a lebih kurang same size/age one lor of coz....

cages i have alot here... got 1 extra bin cage.... and a few normal hamster cage.... all left overs of my previous syrians batch...

i'll survey a few more shop and check out the prices... havent found my ideal hamster... hahaha...
the_catacombs
post Jul 14 2008, 12:56 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(jayniel @ Jul 14 2008, 12:18 PM)
oic.. kinda hard to find adult hamsters in petshops.. cos mostly sell 3 weeks old to 2 months old.. but u might be lucky smile.gif
i found a few oledi lo... but another thing i afraid is... adult hamsters are hard to tame and might not mix with my hammy at home... unsure.gif
the_catacombs
post Jul 15 2008, 04:59 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

yay... bought new ww adi.... at first wanted a pure white one... but that one seems to be hyperactive and couldnt standstill... so, i bought this one... reasonably tame when i first approached her.... will sit still if u put her on the palm.... most important, looks chubby enough... rclxms.gif

made some changes to the cage as well.... hope this can provide better air circulation into it so they wont get too hot during afternoon...

the_catacombs
post Jul 15 2008, 04:12 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Jul 15 2008, 01:23 PM)
so cute la ur new WW! what are u naming him/her?

btw where did u get that red rounded house? I like it lots!
that is last time people use to put toilet paper..... the top cover... sweat.gif
the_catacombs
post Jul 15 2008, 04:48 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(tina_yess @ Jul 15 2008, 04:41 PM)
nice job man!! u use stuff that is un-use but u create a nice cage, hehe...  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
thanks... smile.gif smile.gif

i jz noticed why i like this new ww... her coat looks abit like sugar glider... with excessive fat/skin around her armpit, looks even more the same... laugh.gif laugh.gif

jz now checked on her.... she built a nest under the wheel.... pushed all the beddings to build a wall around her... sweat.gif
the_catacombs
post Jul 15 2008, 09:29 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Jul 15 2008, 09:02 PM)
that was so cute..

better than my syrian
my syrian overturn the hide house and sleep on it = =
haha... yea... last time my syrians also like to deco the cage by pushing the house and bowl here n there... doh.gif
now having ww, they not strong enough... tongue.gif

jz noticed, they also push all da beddings into the house... sweat.gif
the_catacombs
post Jul 15 2008, 11:36 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(tina_yess @ Jul 15 2008, 11:07 PM)
haha... my ww dun like the bedding, he will only put the tissue inside the house... btw, my robos look so lonely coz i separate them, they eat a little only... but they should be alrite, rite?
my ww bury herself under the beddings... sweat.gif
the_catacombs
post Jul 16 2008, 12:10 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

fei poh... looks abit like sugar glider... rclxms.gif
the_catacombs
post Jul 16 2008, 04:52 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(hazzy @ Jul 16 2008, 01:02 PM)
update on my New Ebony and my Ivory :

Ive separating them for at least 5 days (if im not mistaken)
their condition seems to be good. Ebony is living a 2ft tank while Ivory is living in a 2 tier cage (abit small cage).

Ivory is very very very tame, will come to me if i put my hand in the cage. Ebony is quite tame now, can eat on my palm if i give him mealworms.
but after awhile he will get crazy want to run for his life. But his not biting at all  thumbup.gif

the problem is now! My Ivory (female) WW getting more dominant, just now i tried to make them play Pak Tor with each other, so i put Ivory in Ebony's tank, but Ivory will automatically attack Ebony  doh.gif

b4 this, Ivory will not attack Ebony, she will only sniff Ebony's ass (but Ebony will squeak no matter what) but b4 this, if i make them play pak tor, sometimes Ebony will squeak if Ivory is sniffing his ass, and sometimes if Ivory sit still, Ebony will try to thrust Ivory  doh.gif

horny lil guy  shakehead.gif  laugh.gif
of coz ma... territorial animals.... put both of them together in a fresh cage.... like that less chance to fight.... smile.gif

QUOTE(tartputat @ Jul 16 2008, 04:32 PM)
yeah..he passed away.. sad.gif
he died..i found his body in his small house..
a bit shocked to see that.. cry.gif
RIP... sad.gif
the_catacombs
post Jul 16 2008, 10:16 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Jul 16 2008, 06:26 PM)
not pet shop but wednesday pasar malam. =.= hahahha
normally my area here in bukit beruang melaka got pasar malam every wednesday.
i just saw it... many nice ones. =.=
too tempting... pure white with red eyes! omg... buy 2 rm14. =.=
also solid black and solid brown. =.=
the pasar malam fella selling how much??...
i got my ww for 10 bucks.... hehe.... from a house cum petshop in tmn muzzaffar shah.... tongue.gif
the_catacombs
post Jul 16 2008, 10:50 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(UNDERGROUND @ Jul 16 2008, 10:17 PM)
10 Litres Cat Litter --- RM23

Is it expensive ? It's like a 10kg pack of rice doh.gif
It's not sand, it's more like those fish food which looks like biji biji like that...
i was told it isnt suitable to use cat litter as bathing sand because cat litter has a kinda chemical might be harmful to hamster.... but if u talking about paper based cat litter can la... if those coloured biji biji ones, better dont lor... jz go to the beach and get some beach sand back.... filter and baked it to kill all the bacteria...

i'm using filtered beach sand as litter tray lar.... didnt bake coz dun have oven.... tongue.gif
anyway, i'm using separate tray for litter and bathing sand.... bathing sand i use chincilla sand... litter tray only use beach sand... smile.gif
the_catacombs
post Jul 17 2008, 01:58 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(kmao @ Jul 16 2008, 11:04 PM)
I was told that chincilla sand is not that suitable, as it's too dusty for hamster. Well, correct me if I'm wrong.
chin sand is ok.... chin dust isnt.... smile.gif

QUOTE(tina_yess @ Jul 17 2008, 01:32 AM)
just now putting them together...
[attachmentid=530474]

but i watch them playing so they wont mating, then seperate they when i'm about to sleep..
is it ok to do that? or just seperate them for 2 months?
OMG, he put the hams in small tank like that.. they are not fish!!!
he put the water in a bowl somemore  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
cute cute... rclxms.gif
the_catacombs
post Jul 17 2008, 02:36 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Jul 17 2008, 02:32 AM)
Lol, maybe u can hold the wheel so tat it wont turn, later she ll move away ma...
Anw, pic of my button mushroom.... Izit satin or normal long coat syrian?

*Sorry for the small cage, im saving money*
dont seem to me like long coat syrian...

anyway, ur cage is way too small.... u need more than double the size of ur current cage...

if budget is limited, try using storage bin... can be bought from tesco, giant or jusco... those places alwiz have promotion items... my toyogo storage bin bought for 10 bucks only.... way cheaper than its running wheel... doh.gif
the_catacombs
post Jul 17 2008, 05:15 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Jul 17 2008, 02:38 AM)
Well.... Its a long coat syrian, but its female nt male
So, the coat is nt too long...
Bout the cage, i ll change it within 2weeks time
ooo.... smile.gif

QUOTE(anderyna @ Jul 17 2008, 02:41 AM)
toyogo bin= =

i have been searching for it.. jusco [wangsa maju] dont know hide the bin at what place = =

i cant find it.. have to go there tomoro again cry.gif

Added on July 17, 2008, 2:45 amdont know why my sugar feels nervous on my hand, always trying to escape, only just now..

she wont stay still and moving very fast on my hand.. like she is scare of something sad.gif

is that she smell the scent of male syrian on my hand hmm.gif ????? cause just now i play with my housemate's male syrian, but i wash my hand before touch her unsure.gif
toyogo bin ftw... tongue.gif

yea... hamsters and gliders rely on their scent alot... if they smell existance of other animals, they will feel uneasy as if an 'enemy' is nearby or not being in their territory....

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Jul 17 2008, 04:52 AM)
The Wheel are 6.5inch in diameter
Borrow from Neshie anw....
Also saving money for it...
*Felt so guilty because i cant provide the best for my button =(
button??.. blink.gif ohh, ur hamster name ahh??... laugh.gif
the_catacombs
post Jul 17 2008, 06:14 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Jul 17 2008, 06:04 AM)
my ww doesn't like the cup i put inside for it as a house sad.gif instead it squeezes itself between the toilet and the tank wall and sleeps there
last time my ww also squeezes behind the house i provide for her....
but now they prefers to sleep in the glass cup and glass bowl.... more cooling i guess.... smile.gif

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Jul 17 2008, 06:08 AM)
My button juz destroyed the toilet i made for her..............
So sad....... T T
laugh.gif laugh.gif
the_catacombs
post Jul 17 2008, 03:40 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(UNDERGROUND @ Jul 17 2008, 02:22 PM)
I bought the cat litter which made from SILICA and it looks like small rocks which is white color, it's non-clumping and non-toxic (written on the packing).

I saw my hammie chew the stone and maybe ate it, is it safe ? It is non-toxic, but my hammie maybe swallow it i think, wouldn't it get stuck in the stomach ?

[attachmentid=530903]
err.... better dont la.... sad.gif sad.gif

0.0482sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:56 PM