126 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, where the 'deja-vu are tradition in here

edwardgsk
post Sep 25 2008, 08:42 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(boltguard @ Sep 24 2008, 02:25 PM)
aloha ~~

i just bought a MG 1/100 Shin Musha Gundam

to anyhere who owns a Shin Musha, can anyone tell me how to make the so-called gold parts more "gold"?, if u  know wut i mean  brows.gif  brows.gif

when i checked in Dalong.net, then i compare to the real stuff, its really weird, doesnt match at all ;p, kekekeke

which recommendable gold colour spray should i use? or should i surface them first?
deng... use mr colour gold no 9 + clear yellow will do great... by the way, it not really gold since samurai doesn use gold part for their armor one.. its more to bronze...

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Sep 24 2008, 05:26 PM)
Aloha! Gundam noob here.
Is there any specific way to using Gundam markers?
I've just started experimenting with them, and so far the results are, well, disastrous. The paint tends to dry halfway while I'm painting the part, leaving horrible marks.  cry.gif 
What should I do?
faster the colouring process cuz if u let the paint dry liao then repain another layer on top of it, it sill start to smudge and create an uneven later of paint... i tried a few times and after coloured 1 or 2 shanguo sd kit, i gt used to it ad...
edan1979
post Oct 21 2008, 04:01 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

QUOTE(VonDrake @ Oct 21 2008, 01:54 PM)
And question. After you cut the piece of plastic off the grid thing. it leaves a plastic cut mark on the model.. its so ugly and makes the rest of the model...
Anyways.. How do u guys make it disappear?
we call the plastic as runner... tongue.gif

we dont cut the runner to close to the kit... left a little bit part of the runner and trim it with a cutter...
erh_teo
post Oct 21 2008, 04:46 PM

no matter how close u cut, u'll still find the mark there.
but like edan mentioned, never cut too close fr the plastic tree/runner.
otherwise u might accidentally damage the plastic part or sometimes the initial cut tend to leave a "white marks".
then after that use a flat cutter to trim off the remaining plastic bits/nub.

since nowdays bandai has been doing a good job on "placing" the attachement point, those cut marks usually not visible on a snap-fitted kit, even on hguc kits if not all.

but if it's still visible, here's what u can do.
get some sandpaper fr hardware shop, start from 600, 1000, then 1500 grid sandpaper.

or

to save the fuss if u rili dowan get urself to a hardware, go to watson and get those sanding stick for nails/manicure.
it comes in colorful sticks with diff roughness, the fines one shud able to take care of the most visible scratch from initial sandings..

hope it helps.

but by the way, how come the post itself dissappear?

This post has been edited by erh_teo: Oct 21 2008, 04:48 PM
wingster
post Oct 23 2008, 01:31 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

Hi guys may I know which method is the cheapest cost to painting a gundam...

And is SD Gundam model harder to paint than normal gundam model
z3r0717
post Oct 23 2008, 02:03 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ Oct 23 2008, 01:31 PM)

cheapest cost to paint a gundam would be gundam markers, next is hand painting.....

SD is hard to paint more than other grades coz they are small... one piece got few colors and they are not seperated tat is y it's harder to paint....
edwardgsk
post Oct 23 2008, 02:04 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(wingster @ Oct 23 2008, 01:31 PM)

the cheapest way to paint gundam is by using handbrush, paint and thinner. for SD gundam, it's indeed harder to paint compare to others like HG or MG because everything is squished into very small area and most of the parts were mainly together BUT it is also easier because it has lesser parts to paint if compare to others tongue.gif
madmoz
post Oct 23 2008, 07:57 PM

4,250 posts

can always drop by the SD thread and look look see see. quite a number of very good hand painters there to leech skills from too.
wingster
post Oct 24 2008, 09:36 AM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

so is gundam markers hard to be used?

and about the paint, how much it costs and where can I buy a better one(aim for low cost =_=)?
z3r0717
post Oct 24 2008, 10:27 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

let they said, gundam markers just use how u use a marker.. as simple as that...
about hand paint, u nid to buy brushes, hobby thinner(to mix the paint), industrial thinner(to clean ur brush afta use), paints(cost RM6-10 per bottle depending on color).....
gaiachronicler
post Oct 24 2008, 10:28 AM

58 posts

i too have a question. can i paint polycap? cuz my fren say dun do it. i wan paint it gold! n make my green astray gold thumbup.gif
edan1979
post Oct 24 2008, 11:16 AM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

dont... it will break...
z3r0717
post Oct 24 2008, 11:50 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(gaiachronicler @ Oct 24 2008, 10:28 AM)
i too have a question. can i paint polycap? cuz my fren say dun do it. i wan paint it gold! n make my green astray gold thumbup.gif
polycaps have only 1 way to paint them... normal surfacer no use one... must use metal surfacer only the paint sticks but.... not worth getting it lo...

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Oct 24 2008, 11:16 AM)
dont... it will break...
normal paint wun break it i think, but for sure i kno enamel paints will weaken the polycap then it'll break
gaiachronicler
post Oct 24 2008, 02:22 PM

58 posts

so how? what should i buy? cry.gif if red frame no prob cuz polycap grey colour(better than green). green frame has GREEN POLYCAP!! OMG shocking.gif
edwardgsk
post Oct 24 2008, 03:49 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

change polycap with ur other same size gundam kit lor...
gaiachronicler
post Oct 24 2008, 04:22 PM

58 posts

Change question.
nvm ba, seeing so many 1st timer use marker or paint ends up disastraus. kinda scary. buy paint, spray or marker? see skills? i know... but for beginner that wont messed up very badly, what u all suggest i get?

This post has been edited by gaiachronicler: Oct 24 2008, 04:44 PM
amirisme
post Oct 24 2008, 05:46 PM

167 posts

Ok, ive asked this before, but in wrong thread. maybe ill get my answers here!

Where in KL can I find a air brush kit? I checked the "list of shops" sticky thred and it says that XL got painting supplies. Checked their online shop, they sell the paints, but do they also sell the air brush?

Also... any particular brand of air brush i should be looking for? and.. like... whats the standard kit or an airbrsuh kit anyway?

thanks u in advance!!!
edan1979
post Oct 24 2008, 06:18 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

lolz.... you go read airbrush topic burried somewhere down to page 2 or 3... tongue.gif

around KL can buy at Jalan Petaling one... got one shop... around RM800 airbrush+compressor brand sparmax...

Added on October 24, 2008, 6:19 pmhttp://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=290518&hl=airbrush

read this topic...

This post has been edited by edan1979: Oct 24 2008, 06:19 PM
ozak
post Oct 24 2008, 10:54 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(amirisme @ Oct 24 2008, 05:46 PM)
Ok, ive asked this before, but in wrong thread. maybe ill get my answers here!

Where in KL can I find a air brush kit? I checked the "list of shops" sticky thred and it says that XL got painting supplies. Checked their online shop, they sell the paints, but do they also sell the air brush?

Also... any particular brand of air brush i should be looking for? and.. like... whats the standard kit or an airbrsuh kit anyway?

thanks u in advance!!!
You can it at
1) miniaturehobby opposite digital mall PJ.
2) Wisma astria damansara but forget the name of the hobbyshop. You can find it easily as the wisma not that big.
3) Multifilla in balakong
4) military hobby at beside yowchuan plaza. Forget the shopping name.
Any taiwan 0.3mm AB is good enough. The best is Iwata where you can get it at http://www.hobbiescorner.com/ and HLJ.
HoNeYdEwBoY
post Oct 24 2008, 11:25 PM

1,762 posts

z3ro i jump gundam marker nw doing hand paint lao...

guys which spray good for final touch ? gloss/ semi-gloss / flat ?
botakai
post Oct 24 2008, 11:46 PM

43 posts

need help... any1 have problem on missing pieces... that droped off and gone missing?? i lost my strike freedom head antena... because i display it in the open and must be some bug hit or wat shit,,, and the V antena is missing!!! HELP!!

126 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:50 PM