177 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.

arcanawar
post Apr 6 2008, 10:56 AM

96 posts

whoa..V2 ady ? been ages since im last ere..

hmm..you will be doing the interiors and landscaping if u took architecture..but its just the basic knowledge am i right ? correct me if i'm wrong..hehe..

TSazarimy
post Apr 6 2008, 07:27 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(arcanawar @ Apr 6 2008, 02:56 AM)
whoa..V2 ady ? been ages since im last ere..

hmm..you will be doing the interiors and landscaping if u took architecture..but its just the basic knowledge am i right ? correct me if i'm wrong..hehe..

both are using more or less the same theories in architecture. it's the same game, but the playground is different.

in architecture, u will learn more about interior design than landscape. infact, there i cant even say u'll spend 5% to learn landscape architecture, but atleast 1 semester to learn interior design.
Benjamin911
post Apr 6 2008, 07:44 PM

~`~artisan`~
777 posts

Hi Azarimy, considering that I do not have the SPM, will I be allowed to sit for the LAM - PAM Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3 exam later on after finishing my Architecture studies? (I have an SPM equivalent.)

Most importantly, will I be allowed to practice Architecture legally in Malaysia without the SPM? (Or is my future in Malaysia already doomed because I do not have the SPM?)

Will I be able to receive the Part 1, the Part 2, and the Part 3 accreditation from LAM - PAM in the future?

This post has been edited by Benjamin911: Apr 6 2008, 07:55 PM
TSazarimy
post Apr 6 2008, 07:52 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Apr 6 2008, 11:44 AM)
Hi Azarimy, considering that I do not have the SPM, will I be allowed to sit for the LAM - PAM Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3 exam later on after finishing my Architecture studies? (I have an SPM equivalent.)

Most importantly, will I be allowed to practice Architecture legally in Malaysia without the SPM? (Or is my future in Malaysia already doomed because I do not have the SPM?)
SPM is not a requirement for LAM examinations, neither it is a requirement for anything in architectural practice other than intake into diploma/degree course. even so, u could still use O-levels or american high-school equivalent.
Benjamin911
post Apr 6 2008, 08:04 PM

~`~artisan`~
777 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 6 2008, 07:52 PM)
SPM is not a requirement for LAM examinations, neither it is a requirement for anything in architectural practice other than intake into diploma/degree course. even so, u could still use O-levels or american high-school equivalent.
So will LAM - PAM accredit me with their Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3 later on when I fulfilled the requirements?

This post has been edited by Benjamin911: Apr 6 2008, 08:05 PM
destroyer
post Apr 6 2008, 08:05 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

Azarimy. i want to ask something.

is politeknik diploma(architecture) equivalent to university diploma?

juz curious because someone said that politeknik diploma(architecture) is lower standard compared to university diploma thus harder to continue for degree. do local University(IPTA) like UTM treat all diploma(polytechnic) holder who want to apply for their degree course the same as university diploma holder?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 6 2008, 08:06 PM
TSazarimy
post Apr 6 2008, 08:30 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Apr 6 2008, 12:04 PM)
So will LAM - PAM accredit me with their Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3 later on when I fulfilled the requirements?
fulfilled the requirements AND passed the exams. yes. there are a lot of people out there who've fulfilled the requirements but continuously failed the exams u know biggrin.gif.

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 6 2008, 12:05 PM)
Azarimy. i want to ask something.

is politeknik diploma(architecture) equivalent to university diploma?

juz curious because someone said that politeknik diploma(architecture) is lower standard compared to university diploma thus harder to continue for degree. do local University(IPTA) like UTM treat all diploma(polytechnic) holder who want to apply for their degree course the same as university diploma holder?
IPTAs treat ALL diploma as the same. however each IPT would always give priority or special treatment to diploma holders from their own school simply bcoz of integrated/unified syllabus that is often used. for example, UTM will allow UTM diploma holders to go straight into 3rd year instead of 2nd year for other diplomas. it's the same with UiTM, taylor's, LKW and UCSI.

but for diploma holders from any other institutions, they'll be treated the same.

Benjamin911
post Apr 6 2008, 08:59 PM

~`~artisan`~
777 posts

fulfilled the requirements AND passed the exams. yes. there are a lot of people out there who've fulfilled the requirements but continuously failed the exams u know biggrin.gif.
Thanks a lot, I am relieve to hear that I can get accredited by LAM - PAM in the future.

I have another question;

After I have finished Taylor's Diploma in A.T. (Architectural Technology), will U.T.M. (University Technology Malaysia) be able to accept me into their Architecture course to further my Architecture studies? (Other than my Diploma results, will UTM be looking for the SPM too?)

This post has been edited by Benjamin911: Apr 6 2008, 09:03 PM
xtracooljustin
post Apr 6 2008, 11:17 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Apr 6 2008, 08:59 PM)
Thanks a lot, I am relieve to hear that I can get accredited by LAM - PAM in the future.

I have another question;

After I have finished Taylor's Diploma in A.T. (Architectural Technology), will U.T.M. (University Technology Malaysia) be able to accept me into their Architecture course to further my Architecture studies? (Other than my Diploma results, will UTM be looking for the SPM too?)
SPM is not important there after. What is important is what are ur grades during the Diploma years and the portfolio of ur diploma works. Other than that, acing that entry interview is just as important.
Benjamin911
post Apr 6 2008, 11:47 PM

~`~artisan`~
777 posts

QUOTE(xtracooljustin @ Apr 6 2008, 11:17 PM)
SPM is not important there after. What is important is what are ur grades during the Diploma years and the portfolio of ur diploma works. Other than that, acing that entry interview is just as important.
Thanks a lot xtracooljustin.

I am really enjoying my Architecture studies. For one, I am getting addicted to sketching. I enjoyed sketching out the perspective of the interiors and corridors of buildings.

I am looking forward to more.
TSazarimy
post Apr 7 2008, 02:59 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Apr 6 2008, 12:59 PM)

I have another question;

yes, u will be eligible to apply for UTM.

on the other hand actually they will look into ur SPM too, but just to verify that u have fulfilled the minimum requirements. in most IPTAs, u still credit in BM, BI and maths. so they will need to check that first. but they wont use ur SPM results as a determining factor. they will do so the same with SPM-equivalent results.
mrg18
post Apr 7 2008, 11:37 AM

17 posts

Hi , There's a few questions i would like to ask about architecture:
1)What is the average salary(starting pay) of an architect?
2)Are architects in demand in malaysia right now ?
3)Am i guarenteed a job after i've graduated from uni/after part 2.
4)Is the architecture course as hard as we think ?
5)Do we need to be tremendously good in drawing if we want to take up
architecture?

P/s: I'm 19 this year and i'm wondering if architecture would be the right route for my future. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by mrg18: Apr 7 2008, 11:38 AM
xtracooljustin
post Apr 7 2008, 02:14 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(mrg18 @ Apr 7 2008, 11:37 AM)
Hi , There's a few questions i would like to ask about architecture:
1)What is the average salary(starting pay) of an architect?
2)Are architects in demand in malaysia right now ?
3)Am i guarenteed a job after i've graduated from uni/after part 2.
4)Is the architecture course as hard as we think ?
5)Do we need to be tremendously good in drawing if we want to take up
  architecture?

P/s: I'm 19 this year and i'm wondering if architecture would be the right route for my future. sweat.gif
Average starting pay varies.... currently in Malaysia is Rm2500...can be as high as Rm3000 if ur really good/impressive.

Architects are not really that hot in demand but wif a good portfolio, u can eventually get someone to employ you.

NOBODY IS GUARANTEED A JOB. Like i said, wif a good portfolio, you can always get urself hired.

Architecture is not hard... a lot of mental stress n physical stress though.

You do not need to b good in drawing, if you can imagine da spaces and put it into paper for others to see well enuf. When most ppl cant draw, they use computer tools to substitute that.

All the best!
TSazarimy
post Apr 7 2008, 06:37 PM

10,672 posts

in relation to mrg18's questions, i'm gonna expand on justin's answers:

1) Average starting pay varies.... currently in Malaysia is Rm2500...can be as high as Rm3000 if ur really good/impressive.

to be more accurate, the average pay in urban areas like KL/lembah klang, penang, kuching and JB should be about RM2300-2500. but sub-urban areas or less densely populate urban areas have considerably lower starting pay average, usually between RM1800-RM2200.

2) Architects are not really that hot in demand but wif a good portfolio, u can eventually get someone to employ you.

i would say the demand of architects is quite ok. meaning there's not much to worry about for the next few years. but architecture is a field depending highly on expert skills. if u're an average student, i'd say "good luck finding a job". the profession craves the very best. u will also find that architecture is one of the courses that have consistently high drop out rate.

3) NOBODY IS GUARANTEED A JOB. Like i said, wif a good portfolio, you can always get urself hired.

agreed. but at the moment architecture graduates (with full parts 1 and 2) has a pretty high employability rate, near 100% within 1 year of graduation. but what this doesnt tell u is that, how many students were "held" in school bcoz the school doesnt think they're good enough for practice wink.gif.

4) Architecture is not hard... a lot of mental stress n physical stress though.

well, i would say no. architecture is even HARDER than u think wink.gif

5) You do not need to b good in drawing, if you can imagine da spaces and put it into paper for others to see well enuf. When most ppl cant draw, they use computer tools to substitute that.

yup, as what he said.

destroyer
post Apr 7 2008, 08:18 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

Wanna ask something for help. I really want to go into architecture, but my father don't want me to go for architecture because he said architecture have no future. he want me to go for engineering. but i'm not good in mathematics. So, how do i convince my father that choosing architecture is not a bad choice?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 7 2008, 08:19 PM
TSazarimy
post Apr 8 2008, 07:37 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 7 2008, 12:18 PM)
Wanna ask something for help. I really want to go into architecture, but my father don't want me to go for architecture because he said architecture have no future. he want me to go for engineering. but i'm not good in mathematics. So, how do i convince my father that choosing architecture is not a bad choice?
although this is a very common situation, there's no single answer. every parent is different, and since they're ur parents, u're the best person to choose which approach is best. some points that u could ponder upon:

i. architecture HAS future, as much as any other fields. however it depends heavily on the individual's skills and capabilities. graduating with minimum achievements DOES NOT GUARANTEE anything!

ii. i've mentioned earlier that architecture dont need form 5 maths. but it doesnt mean u wont use form 5 maths at all. architecture uses geometrical maths and a blended/applied physics calculations. to learn these, u dont need form 5 maths, but there will be applied maths that u would need to grasp.

i could expand and touch every other thing, but like i said, every parent is different. go back through the entire thread, u're bound to pick up a few points. i just cant bring myself to repeat it again and again.
destroyer
post Apr 8 2008, 09:18 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

yeah. i've already have the point. in fact, i've already shown my father the statistic showing that architecture student mostly get employed. just that right now i'm trying to find the best approach to tell my father.

before this, he keep saying that i've no art talent and don't have imagination. but i told him that i will be taught about the skills when i'm studying.

might be consulting a counselor for help.
justnewbie
post Apr 9 2008, 02:34 AM

31 posts

I've asked quite alot of ppl on this questions, these are usually what I get:
1) Average starting pay varies.... currently in Malaysia is Rm2500...can be as high as Rm3000 if ur really good/impressive.

the lowest I've heard is rm1600. architecture don't have a good starting pay, it's a bad investment to study unless you really interested in it

2) Architects are not really that hot in demand but wif a good portfolio, u can eventually get someone to employ you.

demand is there, preferably experienced ones. you can always look at the newspaper and usually would be three advertisements hiring experienced architects. in malaysia, architecture is not as highly regarded as in overseas, the malaysian public doesn't recognize the role of architects in construction industry second only to developers, but you gotta wait until malaysia is developed.

3) NOBODY IS GUARANTEED A JOB. Like i said, wif a good portfolio, you can always get urself hired.

high employability rate, depends on how you find opportunities

4) Architecture is not hard... a lot of mental stress n physical stress though.

one word. architorture. be prepared to have sleepless nights in a row

5) You do not need to b good in drawing, if you can imagine da spaces and put it into paper for others to see well enuf. When most ppl cant draw, they use computer tools to substitute that.

during studying, drawing skills are very often needed, architects communicate through sketches and models. without sketches, youre half paralyzed. but in malaysia's architectural profession, most still depend on autocad (yeah, client's design not architect's)

destroyer
post Apr 9 2008, 08:17 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

depends. my friend father got basic rm12k. do you guys know about commission they get for each project finished. for each project finished, he get mostly around rm600k for commission(depends on project). but, he is already working for 28years. moreover, by being an architect, you're not bound by age restriction for retirement. you can work as long as you capable.

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 9 2008, 08:18 AM
TSazarimy
post Apr 9 2008, 08:25 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 9 2008, 12:17 AM)
depends. my friend father got basic rm12k. do you guys know about commission they get for each project finished. for each project finished, he get mostly around rm600k for commission(depends on project). but, he is already working for 28years. moreover, by being an architect, you're not bound by age restriction for retirement. you can work as long as you capable.
average starting pay.

maximum pay doesnt count. architecture is one of the few profession that doesnt have a maximum income/salary limit. my ex-boss in JB measures his earning by how many porsche he could buy per year. that's how much he earns tongue.gif

177 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:48 PM