Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.
destroyer
Feb 7 2008, 10:19 PM
nice topic azarimy. lot of quality information. i have already applied for SENIBINA as my first choice for ipta. Is senibina is what we called architecture in english? i apply for UTM. quite scared bout the first stage interview since i've not well in my drawing. can't even sketch. so, any tips from u guys on how 2 imagine?
destroyer
Feb 7 2008, 10:38 PM
yup. i've already read the info you write before. juz that my hand are like tangan kayu. i have no art talent. dunno how i score in my engineering drawing. i can imagine, but i can't draw. i've practice a lot. stil no improve. any method u guys?
destroyer
Feb 8 2008, 08:48 AM
one more thing. which is better. from what i've read, it is better to take the sarjana muda than diploma.
1.takin diploma in architecture, UTM
or
2.taking sarjana muda sains(architecture), UiTM
Edited: during the interview, can i bring sculpture or a house model made from paper to replace the drawing thingy?
This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 8 2008, 09:14 AM
destroyer
Feb 8 2008, 02:48 PM
yup but i'm applying for category A which is for spm leavers. there are 2 course open for architecture. one is diploma. while the other is degree. which is better? which institution provide better facilities , UTM or UiTM?
destroyer
Feb 8 2008, 07:54 PM
i live in jb. only few minutes ride 2 UTM. which qualification promise better job oppoturnity when graduated? normally architectural company will choose UTM graduate or UiTM? Or is it just the same?
One more thing i curious 2 know. How do we apply for job oversea after we finish study? Coz a father of my friend got paid almost USD25K by working in Dubai. We have 2 look for them or they will look for us?
destroyer
Feb 8 2008, 10:10 PM
tanx azarimy. actlly, bfore u explain about the oversea job, i knew nothing about it. you must be an architect am i right? btw, can u give me an example of firms that provide job for architect. does architect design the whole building or some part of it. i've went 2 ur website. very nice drawing u have. u must be talented in art. do u develop ur art skill while studying architecture or before studying?
destroyer
Feb 8 2008, 11:00 PM
tanx. maybe can ask him more bout architecture since i apply for utm diploma.
destroyer
Feb 8 2008, 11:38 PM
should i go for UitM degree?
destroyer
Feb 9 2008, 12:33 AM
i'm a malay. actlly prefer somewhere where mixing happen since meeting more people with more idea
destroyer
Feb 9 2008, 01:01 AM
haha. in dilemma right now. bcoz UiTM pilah come 2 my school 2 use lab for experiment. afraid they dun have good facilities
destroyer
Feb 9 2008, 01:03 AM
can i choose which uitm 2 study after i success interview?
destroyer
Feb 9 2008, 01:18 AM
ive just applied for utm diploma. but my father insists me to take UiTM degree now in dilemma. I just dun know which provide better study. In terms:
1. Facilities provided
2. cost<---how much i will spend if i take architecture until part2 degree in UTM and UiTM?
3. Which is better in teaching. UTM or UiTM?
This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 9 2008, 01:19 AM
destroyer
Feb 9 2008, 01:37 AM
i'm interested in UTM skudai. the big one. does it have better facilities than UiTM KL? Do UTM skudai provide architecture studies? will they sent me to UTM branch instead of the HQ in skudai?
Edited: seems i have 2 studi in kl. i'll choose UiTM.
This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 9 2008, 01:45 AM
destroyer
Feb 9 2008, 04:06 PM
huhu. i'm curious about the utm kl. do i have 2 move out after 1st year?
destroyer
Feb 9 2008, 07:54 PM
that's the prob. bcoz house in kl will cost a bomb. even if share. anyway. i will go for UTM. normally, how many student per batch?
1.hehe. can you recommend UTM 2 do the diploma architecture in skudai? haha juz kidding
This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 9 2008, 07:54 PM
destroyer
Feb 9 2008, 08:54 PM
normally, how many people will be called for the interview? before they are selected? if i fail the interview, can i go for another course in ipta?
This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 9 2008, 08:55 PM
destroyer
Feb 9 2008, 10:01 PM
tanx. haha. very high competition. i choose utm architecture as 1st choice, followed by mechanical, aeronautic, and mechatronic. will try my best. tanx a lot azarimy. does it exceed rm10k for studying until part2 degree? hehe. since u work in utm i might be bugging u for sum teaching when i do my degree there. i want 2 ask ur own opinion. does u draw plan or etc everyday when u're working?
destroyer
Feb 9 2008, 10:47 PM
guess what. i just search architect job using jobseeker. architect are in demand. haha. bright future. there's a job offering in mauritius 2.
Does it exceed rm10k for studying until part2 degree? hehe. since u work in utm i might be bugging u for sum teaching when i do my degree there. i want 2 ask ur own opinion. does u draw plan or etc everyday when u're working?
do UiTM provide accomodation till the end of my study?
This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 9 2008, 10:49 PM
destroyer
Feb 10 2008, 12:03 AM
haha. wow. normally, job seeker will search for worker with experience. only few offer for fresh grads. how can u work for experience when they only want experience worker.
destroyer
Feb 10 2008, 06:57 PM
what do you all think about architecture in the next 6-10 years? still worth 2 study architect?