177 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.

Benjamin911
post Mar 31 2008, 08:44 PM

~`~artisan`~
777 posts

Any idea of interesting buildings in the Klang Valley area? unsure.gif

I have to search for an interesting building (one that is composed of many different types of materials), and then study & analyze the different materials that is used for the building... unsure.gif

In addition to that, I would also need to be taking photos and perform some sketches of my research... unsure.gif

This assignment is for the "Building Materials" subject...

Oh yeah, I would have to be writing a research report about it (together with photographs and sketches).

This is the first assignment of the course and I am already dealing directly with complex buildings...

The lecturer also said that it would be good if I can obtain the plans and the layouts of the building from the owner...

This post has been edited by Benjamin911: Mar 31 2008, 08:45 PM
Erozx`
post Mar 31 2008, 08:55 PM

Hi Ben ,
I've gone through the replies in this thread and it seems your currently taking the diploma non-part 1 at taylors right?Which course am i suppose to take ? the Bachelor of Science(Hons) or Diploma in architectural technology?Am most probably registering for taylors on the next intake.
Benjamin911
post Mar 31 2008, 09:19 PM

~`~artisan`~
777 posts

QUOTE(Erozx` @ Mar 31 2008, 08:55 PM)
Hi Ben ,
I've gone through the replies in this thread and it seems your currently taking the diploma non-part 1 at taylors right?Which course am i suppose to take  ? the Bachelor of Science(Hons) or Diploma in architectural technology?Am most probably registering for taylors on the next intake.
Hi, if you decide to study Taylors diploma in AT, you may have to prepare yourself to further your Architecture studies overseas in the future... hmm.gif

I suggest you also look at the other colleges and universities to make up your mind; which may be offering you a cheaper/more affordable option...

Regards.

You can also opt for Taylor's bachelor of science architecture...but you will still be facing the same problem in the future...

The main problem of studying overseas is often the $$$$ factor...

This post has been edited by Benjamin911: Mar 31 2008, 10:11 PM
TSazarimy
post Apr 1 2008, 12:00 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(aprisis @ Mar 31 2008, 12:38 PM)
^ i mean izit same as studying in UK/Aus?
i'm inclined to say yes, but to tell u the truth, i tried looking back at the conversations, and i still dont understand what u're asking. could u take some time and write the entire question including the example/context?

QUOTE(destroyer @ Mar 31 2008, 12:42 PM)
So, if i can't continue my study in local IPTA, is there any chances for me to continue my degree at a affordable cost?

i only get 5a for spm. heh, but i think i can cope with architecture because it doesn't involve extreme math. i think i can do it.

btw, your talking about the polytechnic students in your past post always keep my spirit burning. In fact, i'm reading it everyday to keep my spirit and passion towards architecture rising. heh. it's just like me gaining a new hope to continue my study in architecture.
if u're talking about IPTS, ofcourse u can. they have lower intake requirements, but ofcourse with higher fees. but u can always obtain PTPTN or some other loans wink.gif.

to tell u the truth, during my studies, i've always found myself competing with poly students, simply bcoz they are very fast workers. however, i know that i'm good at theories, concepts and formulation, which i use to gain advantage. typically poly students are well trained in technical aspect, but some of them struggle at theories and concepts, bcoz these are not given emphasis during their poly years. so although they can draw pretty fast, they spend more time trying to come up with new ideas, concepts and so on. well, i'm not saying that STPM/matric students are good at idea formulations, bcoz most of them sucked anyways hahaha!

destroyer
post Apr 1 2008, 12:38 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

so azarimy, do you mind telling me story on how architecture start for you.

i will like to hear ur story on how architecture started for you. btw, how do you venture into architecture world after you finish secondary school? you came from diploma or matric? n where did u study for diploma/matric/asasi?
TSazarimy
post Apr 1 2008, 01:47 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Mar 31 2008, 04:38 PM)
so azarimy, do you mind  telling me story on how architecture start for you.

i will like to hear ur story on how architecture started for you. btw, how do you venture into architecture world after you finish secondary school? you came from diploma or matric? n where did u study for diploma/matric/asasi?
ok, sit down and grab a cuppa.

ambition

architecture was never my ambition. i was interested either in fine art or graphic design. i was so keen in becoming a comic artist that i submitted a portfolio to marvel comics in 1994 and was short listed for a junior penciller post (but didnt follow up bcoz SPM was too near).

deciding architecture

i was in pure science, but i was never really good at it. so i took extra subject - arts. no objections from anyone at this point. it was only until i received my results did i realize i was quite good (LOL), and would sure to qualify to any courses in IPTAs except for medicine and law. but i wanted to take fine art or graphic design.

this decision came to a full opposition from my parents and virtually ALL my relatives. my science subject was strong, it'll be waste to take arts instead. so for a period of 2 weeks it was chaos, i never felt so rebellious. eventually my dad stepped in, and we talked man to man. i was headstrong in taking art & design that he eventually suggested architecture, which is a blend of art n science. i had to say i was tempted, but i was still going for art & design. so we came to a compromise.

i was going to apply to ITM (now UiTM) for art & design, and at the same time apply UTM for architecture. if i get ITM, i'll go there. if not, i'll go to UTM. i was pretty sure that i'll land a place in UiTM. (back then, application through UPU is only for UM, USM, UPM and UKM. all other universities must apply individually). so i sent the applications. in the mean while, i went into form 6 in highschool klang for about 2 weeks.

the interviews

i got both interviews. i went for UTM's architecture first. bcoz i didnt really wanna go to UTM, i was lalala happy go lucky and just be a cocky little prick. i turned the interview into a casual chat and talk cock. funnily enough, at they were very impressed and offered me a place right then and there! now that really boosted my ego.

so 5 days later i went for UiTM's art & design interview. i was still my cocky self, but unfortunately, that's a complete turn off in ITM. they even blasted me for applying a place there, bcoz with my results, they told me i could apply virtually ANY course i wanted. it's a waste of brainpower they told me. i tried to fight off, but realized it was circling down the drain pretty fast. so i gathered whatever integrity i had left and went home.

into architecture

so 3 months after getting SPM results, i was strolling down UTM's corridor in skudai registering for my diploma course (3 years). i never received an offer from ITM, so i had no where else to go but UTM. i never thought i'd like doing architecture, but the first exercise was right what i wanted to do - painting. right then i knew this is what i wanted to do. i'm able to apply both my artistic and scientific side at the same time. i couldnt imagine doing anything else.

revelations

it was until i graduated my diploma that i realized what really happened. 2 days before i went to ITM interview, my dad made a few calls to ensure that i wouldnt get a place in ITM. yes, most fathers would use their influence to ensure their children gets a place, my dad did the exact opposite. so that's why my interview in ITM was quite harsh. coz i'm pretty sure if my portfolio could get me short listed at marvel comics, how the F couldnt it get me a place in ITM? haha. but that's that.

practice

i love architecture. and fortunately i've got pretty high rank to qualify straight into degree (only 1 out of 3 would get the offer). i've had no problem finishing the degree. even before finishing i was offered a place in akitek karya budi (PM saari omar's from UM). i took the offer after i graduated, and worked part time for a year while teaching part time in UTM. after that i was offered a full academic post in both UM (via PM saari) and UTM, but i decided to stay in UTM, which where i'm at until now.

the end
Erozx`
post Apr 1 2008, 06:52 AM

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Mar 31 2008, 09:19 PM)
Hi, if you decide to study Taylors diploma in AT, you may have to prepare yourself to further your Architecture studies overseas in the future... hmm.gif

I suggest you also look at the other colleges and universities to make up your mind; which may be offering you a cheaper/more affordable option...

Regards.

You can also opt for Taylor's bachelor of science architecture...but you will still be facing the same problem in the future...

The main problem of studying overseas is often the $$$$ factor...
Thanks for the advice.Anyways, in terms of financial ,it won't be a problem for me as my dad wants to send me overseas to study.I suggested to study locally 1st then only going overseas.Right now i have two choices , is to either study in Alfa college or in talyors college.Any recommendations ?
destroyer
post Apr 1 2008, 07:27 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

tanx azarimy. it was a very nice story to read. I'd never thought that at first you never thinking about architecture, because i was thinking that by all your post, you must've ambition to be an architect since your younger age. Heh, never thought that you thinking of venturing architecture after you get your SPM result.

i think you should put ur story into the guide. so everybody can read it.

if u're talking about IPTS, ofcourse u can. they have lower intake requirements, but ofcourse with higher fees. but u can always obtain PTPTN or some other loans wink.gif.

to tell u the truth, during my studies, i've always found myself competing with poly students, simply bcoz they are very fast workers. however, i know that i'm good at theories, concepts and formulation, which i use to gain advantage. typically poly students are well trained in technical aspect, but some of them struggle at theories and concepts, bcoz these are not given emphasis during their poly years. so although they can draw pretty fast, they spend more time trying to come up with new ideas, concepts and so on. well, i'm not saying that STPM/matric students are good at idea formulations, bcoz most of them sucked anyways hahaha!

What are the context of theories, concepts and formulation? in architectural studies, what do we need to learn about that? And how can I master the theories, concepts and formulation if i'm a poly student? to make it more simple, what do we learn in context of theories, concepts and formulation? can anybody help me by giving me an example?

Btw, if there is some poly students doing well in their university studies, do they perform until they graduate or they drop-out half-way? is there any poly students in your batch become a good architect?

right now i'm scared if i can never continue my study ffor degree after diploma. heh. i'll do my best in my diploma. don't want to work as a draftsman for my whole life.

btw, if i'm grads from polytechnic with pointer 3.5 n above, is it easy for me to look for a job as a architect assistant of draftsman(for experience purpose and saving money to buy laptop for degree study)? because somebody from another forum saying that their friends who were polytechnic architecture graduate are working in 7eleven. is it true that polytechnic architecture graduates are difficult to find job?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 1 2008, 09:50 AM
TSazarimy
post Apr 1 2008, 06:32 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Erozx` @ Mar 31 2008, 10:52 PM)
Thanks for the advice.Anyways, in terms of financial ,it won't be a problem for me as my dad wants to send me overseas to study.I suggested to study locally 1st then only going overseas.Right now i have two choices , is to either study in Alfa college or in talyors college.Any recommendations ?
i'm inclined to say taylor's as well as UCSI, as some of my friends teaching in IPTS mentioned that a lot of good lecturers have moved to these colleges. other than that, both should be enough to provide good education for a sub-part 1 diploma.

QUOTE(destroyer @ Mar 31 2008, 11:27 PM)
What are the context of theories, concepts and formulation? in architectural studies, what do we need to learn about that? And how can I master the theories, concepts and formulation if i'm a poly student? to make it more simple, what do we learn in context of theories, concepts and formulation? can anybody help me by giving me an example?

theories are technically very straighforward. u can learn about them by reading LOTS of books (and not look at pretty pictures, mind u). a lot of theories have been written and published, literally hundreds of them. u just need to pick a few up and formulate ur own concepts later on.

now that is the hard part: formulating the concepts and developing it through the design process. this is a practice that u will go through in design. it is a process where the designer is involved in a series of dialogs with his design, questioning purpose, objectives, method, problems, issues and so on. and then he attempts to solve it in a unified manner, and test it out. after understanding the results, the designer might wanna come up with a new improved design. and the cycle goes on and on.

it's quite hard to summarize the design process. concepts govern the design process. so it's an entire chicken and egg thing. tell u what, google design process to know more about this. but remember, design process is not just another theory that u can learn by reading it. u MUST go through the design process to really understand what it's all about.

Btw, if there is some poly students doing well in their university studies, do they perform until they graduate or they drop-out half-way? is there any poly students in your batch become a good architect?

right now i'm scared if i can never continue my study ffor degree after diploma. heh. i'll do my best in my diploma. don't want to work as a draftsman for my whole life.

most of them did well, hardly any of them quit halfway. they are mostly mature students, usually 2-3 years older than the other students in their batch in degree. so being mature allows them to concentrate more, doesnt really care about anything else but study, study and study so that they could go out to work as fast as possible. what u need to be aware is that the poly path is not the shortest of all routes, but have a more lenient learning curves.

btw, if i'm grads from polytechnic with pointer 3.5 n above, is it easy for me to look for a job as a architect assistant of draftsman(for experience purpose and saving money to buy laptop for degree study)? because somebody from another forum saying that their friends who were polytechnic architecture graduate are working in 7eleven. is it true that polytechnic architecture graduates are difficult to find job?
there's always low end job lying around in architecture. there are only a handful of architects, and some offices require a lot of draftpersons or technicians to get the job done, especially in the big offices. small offices would rather employ well-rounded architects who can do from idea formulation to submitting the drawings all the way. this way they can save money from paying dedicated technicians. big offices prefer to have more specialists so that they can do the job faster without having to do anything else.

and u must also understand that there are two levels of poly grads: diploma and certificate. certificate is valued as a pre-u programme like matrics or STPM. look at it as architecture foundation from taylor's or LKW - u need a lot of luck finding jobs with those. so always go for poly diploma.

jobs highly depends on the person, especially when they're in architecture line. alot of my friends didnt end up in practice simply bcoz they enjoy doing other things: one opened a boutique in melaka, three of them now in business of supplying furnitures and equipments for schools, a few opened restaurants in skudai, gombak and kota bahru, another opened a cyber cafe, and another bunch went into academics like me.

Benjamin911
post Apr 1 2008, 06:32 PM

~`~artisan`~
777 posts

QUOTE(Erozx` @ Apr 1 2008, 06:52 AM)
Hi, in Taylors, the lecturers are good in that all of them are fluent in the English language, flexible, and have good communication skills with the students. smile.gif

The environment of Taylors S.A.B.D. is also good in the sense that it is located in a professional office working environment setting, where things are more formal, organized, and sensible. (An additional bonus is that, you can basically get all your things done within the place, without needing to go out to get it done somewhere outside...)

My dad's Chartered (Part III) Architect friend highly recommend Taylors for Architecture. (He was in the examination board before, and he says that Taylor's students are good.)

For me today, it is time for me to buck up! (After experiencing the last few days at Taylors, I began to feel the need to improve myself in order to cope smoothly with the program.) Trust me, there is the "Standard" in the programs at Taylors.

I hope that you will be able to make a good and satisfying decision. smile.gif

[Most importantly, you must feel satisfied with your choice, and have the confidence that your choice is a good one.] smile.gif

Regards.

P.S., we will all be going to visit the Pavilion shopping complex in K.L. with one of the Architects that designed it. smile.gif (That Architect is one of our lecturers at Taylors, who will be having a session with us at the Pavilion!) thumbup.gif

[The Pavilion is one of the largest shopping complexes in Malaysia.]

We will be going there to perform some sketching and photography as well. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Benjamin911: Apr 1 2008, 07:21 PM
destroyer
post Apr 1 2008, 06:50 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

You sure helps me a lot azarimy. Thank you.

I actually don't care much about long path of architecture. The first reason i want to enter architecture diploma in poly is not because it is easy to enter or cheap. But because it focus more on practical. i'm not doing well for my drawing and imagination right now. so, mybe entering polytechnic can help me build my skills. Heh, if i go into diploma in U, afraid that i might left behind because many of the students who enter it might been skillful than me in terms of imagination and drawing because they might had passion for architecture earlier than me. I'm only interested in architecture after finish spm. but my father discourage me to enter architecture because i don't have good drawing skills. It was then i came across the web about architecture in poly. And your talking about polytechnic student doing well during their university time is like a new hope for me. Later, my father support me because he is also polytechnic certificate holder. And now he is pengarah jabatan akauntan negara cawangan johor(he continue his degree in ukm) and he said it is ok for me to go into poly. Yeah, i'm going for polytechnic diploma in architecture. Will try my best to score more than 3.5 CGPA in every exam.

actually, i think i want to get into academic line like you. because i can travel oversea for my study. haha. btw, can architect still work as an architect after they reach our government retirement age(56)?

Added on April 1, 2008, 7:34 pmbtw azarimy, is there any chances for me to go into UTM interview if i put the architecture course as my 3rd choices? heh, at that time i'm seem to be lost on what to choose. if i know earlier what i'm going to get into sure i'll choose architecture as my first choice.

btw, i'm already not eligible to enter the 1st and 2nd choice that i choose for my upu. so, any chances for me to get called for architecture interview?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 1 2008, 09:54 PM
tomatos
post Apr 1 2008, 09:47 PM

563 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 1 2008, 12:00 AM)
i'm inclined to say yes, but to tell u the truth, i tried looking back at the conversations, and i still dont understand what u're asking. could u take some time and write the entire question including the example/context?

In Malaysia we can only complete Part 1 equivalent right?

TSazarimy
post Apr 1 2008, 10:35 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 1 2008, 10:50 AM)
actually, i think i want to get into academic line like you. because i can travel oversea for my study. haha. btw, can architect still work as an architect after they reach our government retirement age(56)?
academic line is not as easy as u think, especially since it requires masters and phd that is simply another extra 5 years of studies. to be honest, i've spent 3/4 of my life studying until now... biggrin.gif.

and yes, archtiects can work past government retirement age bcoz they're technically self-employed (assuming u own ur own practice by then).

Added on April 1, 2008, 7:34 pmbtw azarimy, is there any chances for me to go into UTM interview if i put the architecture course as my 3rd choices? heh, at that time i'm seem to be lost on what to choose. if i know earlier what i'm going to get into sure i'll choose architecture  as my first choice.

btw, i'm already not eligible to enter the 1st and 2nd choice that i choose for my upu. so, any chances for me to get called for architecture interview?
i wont say u dont have a chance, but it's quite slim. competitions are high. usually we dont have to look beyond 2nd choice to fill all the places. if u did, consider urself lucky wink.gif.

QUOTE(tomatos @ Apr 1 2008, 01:47 PM)
In Malaysia we can only complete Part 1 equivalent right?

no. u can complete parts 1, 2 and 3 in malaysia. parts 1 and 2 in local universities, and part 3 via practice.

destroyer
post Apr 1 2008, 10:47 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

owh. i see. although a bit dissapointed here, but it's ok for me. luckily still have polytechnic. wondering if i can get into their diploma with my result. but now just praying for the best.

btw, tanx a lot azarimy. i'll ask for your help again if i have any questions.
tomatos
post Apr 1 2008, 11:16 PM

563 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 1 2008, 10:35 PM)
academic line is not as easy as u think, especially since it requires masters and phd that is simply another extra 5 years of studies. to be honest, i've spent 3/4 of my life studying until now... biggrin.gif.

and yes, archtiects can work past government retirement age bcoz they're technically self-employed (assuming u own ur own practice by then).
i wont say u dont have a chance, but it's quite slim. competitions are high. usually we dont have to look beyond 2nd choice to fill all the places. if u did, consider urself lucky wink.gif.
no. u can complete parts 1, 2 and 3 in malaysia. parts 1 and 2 in local universities, and part 3 via practice.
There is no IPTS in Malaysia that offers Part 2? There is a issue that if i were to take part 1 and is not financially able to do Part 2 overseas i might stuck at part 1. Local public university in malaysia accepts IPTS part 1 but chances are very slim right since i would be competing with IPTA architecture students.
TSazarimy
post Apr 1 2008, 11:32 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(tomatos @ Apr 1 2008, 03:16 PM)
There is no IPTS in Malaysia that offers Part 2? There is a issue that if i were to take part 1 and is not financially able to do Part 2 overseas i might stuck at part 1. Local public university in malaysia accepts IPTS part 1 but chances are very slim right since i would be competing with IPTA architecture students.
there's no IPTS that offers part 2, and actually, there's no IPTS in malaysia that offers part 1 either. check the 1st page again to see the list of which school is accredited and which isnt. IPTAs accept IPTS degrees/diploma, but not as equivalent to part 1. so u wont be competing with part 1 students from other IPTAs.
tomatos
post Apr 2 2008, 12:35 AM

563 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 1 2008, 11:32 PM)
there's no IPTS that offers part 2, and actually, there's no IPTS in malaysia that offers part 1 either. check the 1st page again to see the list of which school is accredited and which isnt. IPTAs accept IPTS degrees/diploma, but not as equivalent to part 1. so u wont be competing with part 1 students from other IPTAs.
So it means if i take Part 1 exam i would compete with part 1 IPTA. If i don't then what is the pathway? Let's say Bsc Architecture from UCSI.
TSazarimy
post Apr 2 2008, 03:28 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(tomatos @ Apr 1 2008, 04:35 PM)
So it means if i take Part 1 exam i would compete with part 1 IPTA. If i don't then what is the pathway? Let's say Bsc Architecture from UCSI.
yes, if u take ur part 1 exam independently, u will compete with part 1 from IPTAs.

if not, taking ur example above, u could find out which overseas university UCSI have partnership with, and make ur way until part 2 there;

or

u could wait until UCSI offers a part 2 equivalent degree and continue there;

or

u could find other malaysia universities that offer part 2 equivalent (UIAM, UPM, UKM and LKW).

after all these, u still need to take ur LAM part 1 and 2 exams.
Erozx`
post Apr 2 2008, 01:02 PM

Thanks Ben and arazimy for providing me with helpful information =) Will be registering for taylors soon.
destroyer
post Apr 5 2008, 06:08 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

Hey. I've just find thid on LYN home. A competition which i think related to architecture.

http://south-apac.autodesk.com/adsk/servle...7326&id=8825740

Added on April 5, 2008, 8:45 pmbtw, does reading book like anjung seri & impiana help build my architecture thinking?

heh, i notice some of my mom book. and provide pretty good information. but it focus more into interior design?

btw, do diploma or degree in seni bina covers interior design and landscaping topic or we have to take degree in interior design or landscaping to work as a interior designer/landscape architect?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 6 2008, 11:02 AM

177 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0364sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:56 PM