Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.

xtracooljustin
post Feb 4 2008, 02:39 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

Yay we have moved to a new home! rclxm9.gif

Green architecture such as sustainable, energy saving buildings? well, our country and govt nvr really emphasized on this issue so not many ppl are going the green way. Besides that the technology involved cost a lot more.
xtracooljustin
post Feb 6 2008, 12:40 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(albirri @ Feb 5 2008, 03:32 AM)
My 3 months practical training at TR Hamzah and Yeang made me realize that Malaysian architect is capable to design such hi tech and sustainable building...For sure that Dr. Ken Yeang is an icon in Malaysian architecture field...

Added on February 5, 2008, 3:36 amOne more thing...UIAM is going to take accredetation evaluation this coming May and my batch (current 5th year/final year) will be the benchmark of this coming accredetation. in the other words, our thesis is everything...we're praying really hard that we will success...
All da best mate. Really hope UIAM really gets the accreditation. KAEDians r always a fun bunch. It also gives would-be architecture students more choice wink.gif

This post has been edited by xtracooljustin: Feb 6 2008, 12:41 AM
xtracooljustin
post Feb 8 2008, 12:11 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Feb 8 2008, 08:48 AM)
one more thing. which is better. from what i've read, it is better to take the sarjana muda than diploma.

1.takin diploma in architecture, UTM

or

2.taking sarjana muda sains(architecture), UiTM
Edited: during the interview, can i bring sculpture or a house model made from paper to replace the drawing thingy?
there's no so called better or not better path. Obviously its better to take degree than diploma, but u may only do so if you hav STPM, apply and manage to get a place at any of da accredited local IPTA. For the rest who dun hav good results and not willing to do STPM, they may go the diploma route. Diploma is 3 yrs after SPM n u'll usually be equipped wif sufficient skills to work after that but may require excellent portfolio and results to enter any IPTA to continue ur degree.
xtracooljustin
post Feb 26 2008, 02:27 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

doesnt evybody know that govt university intakes are all control by the govt and the ministry?

anyway, anybody here worked in UK before? Whats the fresh grad salary for a B. Arch degree, say in London? Actually im considering doing my internship in London, would love to work at Norman Foster's or Grimshaw's office for this coming holiday.
xtracooljustin
post Mar 5 2008, 08:48 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(Jia0924 @ Mar 5 2008, 02:48 PM)
Hi hi , sorry. I don't know where to ask. Therefore, I posted here.

Do anybody know URA colour codes? It's something like the indications of colours for types or functions of the buildings in the map. icon_question.gif

I need it urgently for my assignment. I tried to search from the internet but I just couldn't find. Anyone knows it , please tell me where i could get it from, or send the files to me, or simple type the link for me. Thank you very much.

Arch student.
URA? As in the Urban Redevelopment Authority of Singapore? You're not looking at the right place. Most ppl here wont know. You need to ask probably in a Singaporean architecture forum. Try this link.

http://tas.informe.com/forum/

xtracooljustin
post Mar 13 2008, 12:02 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Mar 12 2008, 08:29 PM)
perghh..v2 sudah

aaa...wanna ask 2 question

what book/website can i refer to research about Frank Llyod Wright?other than wiki

what book/website can i refer to get floor plan,section of a bungalow made by famous architect or firm?

thnx in adv
there are books. I have seen a very expensive book that contains all the drawings of FLW famous works. Forgot the title though.
xtracooljustin
post Mar 19 2008, 12:47 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(*serenity* @ Mar 18 2008, 11:47 AM)
I would like to ask, if i am offered another course besides architecture in a local uni and i accept it for the time being, will i be able to change course after one semester or will i need to wait for a year or it depends on the procedures? How long does it normally take?

Thanks smile.gif
its possible but very rarely happens. That also only for courses in the same uni. Like my fren who switched from engineering to architecture during first year second semester.

Added on March 19, 2008, 12:52 am
QUOTE(LuLu90 @ Mar 19 2008, 12:45 AM)
I am a SPM graduate who wanna study architecture.. My dad wants me to take the form 6 route while i am more interested in furthering my sudies at ALFA international college.

i just need some opinion.. which route actually is more beneficial? If my choice is better, what shud i say 2 convince my dad?mellow.gif
  mellow.gif
if you have achieved excellent results for SPM i would suggest going the STPM route. AS in the first page of this topic, going through other means requires you to "most" likely further ur studies at partner universities overseas after ur local diploma.

You wanna convince ur dad? Tell him this then. Take into account the cost of finishing up ur degree studies, for example Tasmania (Australia) as its one of the cheapest option, is roughly RM300K (inclusive of fees and living expenses) for 3 years.

Remember STPM opens up more choices. And if you manage to get into an IPTA, fees are likely to be less than RM25K for the whole duration.

This post has been edited by xtracooljustin: Mar 19 2008, 12:52 AM
xtracooljustin
post Mar 19 2008, 03:15 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

IR and AR are simply not related. AR is the title professional architects used in front of their names. IR is the title professional engineers (those accredited with BEM). No one is higher than another. Both are different disciplines.

Added on March 19, 2008, 3:17 pm
QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Mar 19 2008, 02:51 PM)
no comment , but as far as i know AR has higher priority than IR .
meanwhile, IR canot do AR's stuff . same goes to Ar cannot do Ir stuff . Although on paper Ar is higher ranked , but each different levels has different stuff to do .
As per my reply to the previous post, ur statement is not quite right. Check up on Santiago Calatrava. He is first and foremost a structural engineer. Yet he is also able to practice as an architect. So an architect with an engineering background gives you an edge over most of ur peers wink.gif

This post has been edited by xtracooljustin: Mar 19 2008, 03:17 PM
xtracooljustin
post Mar 19 2008, 07:13 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

Anybody who uses Sketchup software should check out this forum for like-minded ppl

http://www.pushpullbar.com/forums/index.php
xtracooljustin
post Mar 26 2008, 10:02 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

if anyone needs to know on which university is accredited with which level, pls check out this website that has the whole list of accredited schools.

http://lam.gov.my/accreditationlist.html
xtracooljustin
post Apr 6 2008, 11:17 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Apr 6 2008, 08:59 PM)
Thanks a lot, I am relieve to hear that I can get accredited by LAM - PAM in the future.

I have another question;

After I have finished Taylor's Diploma in A.T. (Architectural Technology), will U.T.M. (University Technology Malaysia) be able to accept me into their Architecture course to further my Architecture studies? (Other than my Diploma results, will UTM be looking for the SPM too?)
SPM is not important there after. What is important is what are ur grades during the Diploma years and the portfolio of ur diploma works. Other than that, acing that entry interview is just as important.
xtracooljustin
post Apr 7 2008, 02:14 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(mrg18 @ Apr 7 2008, 11:37 AM)
Hi , There's a few questions i would like to ask about architecture:
1)What is the average salary(starting pay) of an architect?
2)Are architects in demand in malaysia right now ?
3)Am i guarenteed a job after i've graduated from uni/after part 2.
4)Is the architecture course as hard as we think ?
5)Do we need to be tremendously good in drawing if we want to take up
  architecture?

P/s: I'm 19 this year and i'm wondering if architecture would be the right route for my future. sweat.gif
Average starting pay varies.... currently in Malaysia is Rm2500...can be as high as Rm3000 if ur really good/impressive.

Architects are not really that hot in demand but wif a good portfolio, u can eventually get someone to employ you.

NOBODY IS GUARANTEED A JOB. Like i said, wif a good portfolio, you can always get urself hired.

Architecture is not hard... a lot of mental stress n physical stress though.

You do not need to b good in drawing, if you can imagine da spaces and put it into paper for others to see well enuf. When most ppl cant draw, they use computer tools to substitute that.

All the best!
xtracooljustin
post May 12 2008, 01:58 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

Mr Azari, check ur Frenster PM box. Sent u a msg there wink.gif

Anyway guys, havent been logging in for a while. Currently away in Singapore doing my attachment wif RSP Architects.
xtracooljustin
post Jul 28 2008, 04:28 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

Thats some pretty good jokes there.

Anyway, my final year thesis is entitled "Global Warming- Architecture for Climate Change".
xtracooljustin
post Jul 29 2008, 10:32 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Jul 29 2008, 08:41 PM)
BTW, I also registered for AutoCAD classes; I would really like to learn how to design Architectural stuffs with it.
Autocad not really meant as a design tool. Its a great tool for doing drafting, but not as a design software.
xtracooljustin
post Jul 30 2008, 12:41 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

The best design tool for me is butter paper n some good pencils biggrin.gif

You may wanna look into Google Sketchup as a better design software.
xtracooljustin
post Dec 13 2008, 02:23 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Dec 12 2008, 04:15 PM)
just for your information:

i will be hosting an open talk about architecture education and the design studio in UTM during the first week of the semester. i'm also trying to get a slot in UM by 2nd week, but still havent finalized that yet. anyone interested about exploring behind the scenes of studying architecture are welcomed to join. i will announce the date, time and venue here.
First week roughly which day? Monday 29th til Friday 2nd Jan? I'll bring my whole kampung come n listen.
xtracooljustin
post Jan 27 2009, 12:30 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(mrg18 @ Jan 21 2009, 03:06 PM)
I'm having the most difficult moment in my life right now.I am extremely upset about the students of my intake in the architecture programme at taylors. 90% of the chinese students speak mandarin  and their verbal skills in English is terrible. Nevertheless, they are anti-social towards people with an english speaking background, like me, mind you that i only speak english because my parents fed me with that language since birth.

All of my group members since semester 1 are chinese educated lads and it so difficult to communicate with them. Because of the linguistic differences between me and my classmates, now i'm left group-less for my on-coming assignment. I was so disappointed and depressed that I keep thinking of postponing my semester 2 (if that's legal) so i can get to join up with the january 09 intake students, where most of them are English educated students. I just want to do what's right for me if I dun feel happy about my class where i will be stuck with it for the next 2 years.

I feel like an alien to the chinese students in my class. My friends are limited and it's very hard to get team members for group assignments. I thought architecture needed a good demand in English? Maybe it's just my intake that has the majority students who only speak mandarin ?

Please advice. sad.gif
Hi there, Im in a similar case like urs. However Im in my final year alredi. I also came from an english speaking background wif no exposure to chinese-ed students til Form 4. From then on, I mixed a lot wif them trying to speak their lingo and even speak in broken mandarin occasionally and started listening to chinese songs. It does help in trying to fit in da group.

When you enter local public universities, there is a tendency for da chinese students to be chinese-ed and their comprehension of english may not be as good as those who comes from english speaking backgrounds. I experienced that all too well. I told myself, well i dont really need frens in uni then and most of da time kept to myself and others who speak english or cantonese wif me. But as I grow older, i realize its always good if you can go out of ur comfort zone and learn to embrace other cultures esp ppl from non klang valley region. From then on i begin to mix wif da chinese ed students a lot more and sometimes speak their mix of hokkien and mandarin(esp if ur frens come from da northern region) and my broken mandarin improved to passable mandarin. Which Azarimy pointed out, who has da more benefit at da end of da study. So i would suggest try to hang out wif them more often and improve ur mandarin. At da same time keep ur English skills sharpen and floor ur peers at da presentation stage. Good english always wins the jury at ur design assessment. Always ask ur frens whats their plans n try joining in whenever possible.

I can also proudly say my 2 ex-gfs of 4 and 3 years respectively are chinese-ed, which more often than not helped me esp in reading chinese words n correcting my mandarin pronounciation wink.gif

Have fun in college. Remember, no man is an island.

xtracooljustin
post Jan 27 2009, 02:56 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(mars16 @ Jan 27 2009, 01:37 PM)

However,i can tell you that "us" as a chinese speaking group is kinda "anti" those banana tongue.gif(hope u dun mind),try to learn some chinese even it is basic. Don't limit yourself but try to accept others' culture,language or wadever,it brings no harm to u! To become a good designer has an open mind.

You, calling this group of ppl 'banana' is alredi stereotyping. I also know this is a 'culture' among you guys, but hey, we didnt get to choose which school our parents sent us when we were very young so lets stop it at that. I think both sides of da divide should start changing ur mindsets. Start accepting ur eng-ed frens and da eng-ed ppl should just embrace and sometimes communicate in their lingo. Afterall, you guys can work together in projects and I dun c y u cant socially.

To become a good designer has an open mind.

You can begin to walk da talk by not stereotyping ppl.
xtracooljustin
post Jan 28 2009, 11:21 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(wakakaka @ Jan 28 2009, 08:16 AM)
A4 can? tongue.gif
A4 is possible. I have both A3 and A4 portfolios. I also made my own interactive portfolio using Flash and you can just bring around in ur laptop and play it or burn it and play it off a CD/DVD.

0.0694sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:16 PM