92 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

☆Fellowship of the Strings☆Violin,Viola,Cello etc., ~String Instruments Lovers are welcome!~

Cello
post May 29 2008, 10:46 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ May 28 2008, 01:42 AM)
yeah it's a small shop, at least they carry a bit of nice violins there. have you tried them? last time i tried an italian by marcello villa, smallish violin yet produce nice and big volume. but the price is also RM60k...er no thanks, absolutely beyond my reach...i still have a lot of gears to invest... shakehead.gif

budget wise you can always try yamaha electric violin. i don't like them though, they're around RM4k i think. you can also try the piezo pickup route, around RM1000 for the pickup (fishman is very good and no modification needed on your violin) + fishman preamp for piezo pickups. although not quite the sound of solid body electric violin but at least you have a clean sound to start with. you can directly jack up to the PA system directly since there's already a preamp, so you save a lot of money unless there's no PA system.

fyi, electric violins also use piezo pickup. it's just the design that's different (like Zeta Jazz series pickup there's 2 pickup for each strings, total of 8 pickups).

as for amps, there'll be endless purchase man. AER is really good for acoustic piezo pickup sound (not sure if solid body electric violin works). for others, well you're better off with multi-fx pedal or software ampsims. sweat.gif
he's brilliant. seldom i heard electric violinist can do such a guitar lead sound on violin. when i first heard the soundclip i thought it was electric guitar for a looooong time and i never believe it's a violin, until i got myself a good soundcard and speaker (for music production purpose), definitely it's a violin.
i used to teach a bit but no longer teaching now. i do play violin as my 2nd instrument (not profesionally though), my primary job is music production thing. smile.gif

BTW Cello, mind telling which italian maker made your (i assumed) violin? i've play one made by marcello villa (he's pretty famous), priced at RM60k at chamber music but it was quite some time ago. it's actually quite nice and feel quite different from other violins, smallish, yet big dynamics (very rare you can actually PRESS the strings, which will give you all back, press more, sound bigger).

however i don't quite trust the sound under ear. playing a violin in a big hall WITH other instruments (accompaniment such as piano/small ensemble) and it still stand out, then it really has a very good projection. ease of control/dynamic range/tone is also important though, but it's hard to find one that actually project. hmm.gif
Yes, tried some of the violins, viola and cellos but I could not play the double bass, it is way too big and the fingerboard is hard to press when I try to. sweat.gif Not to forget, bowing hard as well, I have only try the double bass twice. I tried those Italian and German instruments there, not bad I would say. But the high-end violins they have is wonderful. shocking.gif But still, no good cellos. They have high-end cellos but below my expectation. I am thinking of getting that cello for myself while I am in Malaysia.

I have two violins, one viola and two cello from Andreas Baptista (the luthier's name). The AUD20k I mention is the cello, not the violin. Marcello Villa! Haha, I have tried that when I was there, the projection is unbelievable. thumbup.gif I am still dreaming that violin in my mind. tongue.gif

Haha, I think I like the solid body electric sound but money is the issue for me for buying instrument for rock music. sweat.gif Anyway, thank you so much for all of your explanation, I learned a lot from it. notworthy.gif Hmmm..why not Gibson makes the Les Paul humbuckers for violins? laugh.gif brows.gif I have bad experience with Yamaha electric, all of their violins is heavy. But my favourite cellist use their electric cello, so I am getting that one soon. thumbup.gif Once again, too many things to buy so depends on how picky I am. sweat.gif

Well, depends on the performer who likes ensemble or solo performance. Like violin concerto, you would pick a violin that is suitable for violin concerto or those maestro series. For ensemble or orchestral, you would want to play the concerto module series for it. This is just my opinion.

QUOTE(storm04 @ May 29 2008, 08:31 AM)
some useful info sites on strings and brands...
http://www.stringsmagazine.com/issues/Stri...overstory.shtml
http://www.violinist.com/wiki/violin-strings/

and thanks cello for fixing my string smile.gif
Aww..you are welcome. smile.gif

QUOTE(onelove89 @ May 29 2008, 07:20 PM)
anyone has any useful tips on playing staccato? Esp jumping from strings to strings >< I seriously need to work on my techniques. I'm quite ok in reading notes. I've got a whole section on staccato in passacaglia that I can barely play well.  To do staccato which part of the bow should i use? End of bow or starting of bow? or mid of bow? ><

Staccato are trained during grade 1, you probably should know it. blink.gif

To practice staccato, bow the string and stop with your bow still on the string, stop without going anywhere else. Make sure you stop with your bow still resting on the string. Do it slowly with scales and fast. And then continue playing your Passacaglia.

Good violinist use the end, middle and near the fork of the bow. Your bow will be shaking when you do staccato but you have to control that. It is better to start to play with the "near to the fork" part which is easier compare with the end and middle. But to be good, practice all.

I know a lot of students like to tighten their bow until the bow is straight to avoid the shaking problems. This is the incorrect way and also will damage the bow. The bow is always curve, never be straight.

And here is a little video with all the advance techniques:

little ice
post May 30 2008, 12:36 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(Cello @ May 29 2008, 10:46 PM)

Yes, tried some of the violins, viola and cellos but I could not play the double bass, it is way too big and the fingerboard is hard to press when I try to. sweat.gif Not to forget, bowing hard as well, I have only try the double bass twice. I tried those Italian and German instruments there, not bad I would say. But the high-end violins they have is wonderful. shocking.gif But still, no good cellos. They have high-end cellos but below my expectation. I am thinking of getting that cello for myself while I am in Malaysia.

Marcello Villa! Haha, I have tried that when I was there, the projection is unbelievable. thumbup.gif I am still dreaming that violin in my mind. tongue.gif

aha, i wouldn't lay my hands on double bass, i don't like big instruments, not to mention it's the biggest in the orchestra (well you can challenge it with piano or even pipe organ, but you cannot bring it around tongue.gif ).

another place worth a visit is euromusic at hartamas. different from the KL branch, the shop carry much higher end violins including some italians priced at RM40k~RM50k++. however they're not comparable with marcello villa imho. the marcello villa violin i tried is really special. not sure how it'll perform in real concert situation though, which is the REAL test if want to listen the subtleties of quality difference. smile.gif

I have two violins, one viola and two cello from Andreas Baptista (the luthier's name). The AUD20k I mention is the cello, not the violin.

thanks for the information. i haven't come across the name of the maker but i definitely check it out. biggrin.gif

Haha, I think I like the solid body electric sound but money is the issue for me for buying instrument for rock music. sweat.gif Anyway, thank you so much for all of your explanation, I learned a lot from it. notworthy.gif Hmmm..why not Gibson makes the Les Paul humbuckers for violins? laugh.gif  brows.gif I have bad experience with Yamaha electric, all of their violins is heavy. But my favourite cellist use their electric cello, so I am getting that one soon. thumbup.gif Once again, too many things to buy so depends on how picky I am. sweat.gif

glad it helps. smile.gif

afaik virtually nobody will use magnetic pickup for electric violins, it's too sensitve as we're using a bow to play instead of pick/fingers.

as for the weight of the yamaha electric violin, i think it's also the same for any electric violin. solid wood body is even heavier or at least the similar weight. sweat.gif also the sound coming out from yamaha electric violin sounds hollow and not focused. sweat.gif

there're actually many other cheaper choice for Zeta violin. you can opt for the non-fancy body one, can be as cheap as RM4k~RM5k. price shown on website is just only retail price, i'm sure there're dealers offering lower price - not in malaysia, unfortunately. blink.gif at least better than spending close to RM4k for the yamaha. icon_rolleyes.gif

Well, depends on the performer who likes ensemble or solo performance. Like violin concerto, you would pick a violin that is suitable for violin concerto or those maestro series. For ensemble or orchestral, you would want to play the concerto module series for it. This is just my opinion.

i have a violin that has weird behaviour on the projection - the louder the background music/accompaniment, the more the violin will project. also it seems to retain the loudness in any range you stand from the violin. it seems that even with the grand piano lid fully open at full blast from the pianist, my violin sound still cannot be covered. however, when playing in quartet setting, it seems to have its volume blend with other instruments. strange eh? the violin cost me around RM20k (the mmmaaaaaxxxx i can afford, i broke all the way after buying it rclxub.gif ).

however, the problem with it is it's not setup in a very good way, the strings are obviously too high. and the respond of the violin seems weird - it could be the bow i use which need to rehair, though.

PS: sorry for the personal conversations but i think it'll contribute the thread with a bit of knowledge. smile.gif
storm04
post May 30 2008, 01:58 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ May 30 2008, 12:36 AM)
PS: sorry for the personal conversations but i think it'll contribute the thread with a bit of knowledge. smile.gif
no worries... actually the conversations are quite entertaining and informative...
gbonE
post May 30 2008, 02:04 AM

75 posts

i play cello..for keroncong
it needs no bow..pluck

and it use nylon strings
franstormer
post May 30 2008, 12:08 PM

290 posts

i have abit problem with strings when i need to jump from A to D string sleep.gif always pressed the wrong string
onelove89
post May 30 2008, 04:39 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

haha thanks cello, I'll try master it a bit better. ><
kerazul
post Jun 3 2008, 08:39 AM

1,176 posts

Hi franstormer,

What I do is I play scales before playing anything else to sort of "warm up". I find it helps a lot.

Speaking of spiccato, I have great difficulty in controlling my bow - it bounces around WAY to much and I can't get the timing right either.
franstormer
post Jun 3 2008, 11:01 AM

290 posts

Yeah, i often do that when i missed my key n string, then i'll go back to where i stopped XD it really helps alot. But i cant seems to play my song smoothly >_<"
kerazul
post Jun 8 2008, 06:33 PM

1,176 posts

hi all,

does using a shoulder rest affect the sound of the violin?
jikolo
post Jun 8 2008, 07:19 PM

124 posts

lol. i dun think so. but i think a shoulder rest does affect ur comfortability and thus maintain your standard?
little ice
post Jun 8 2008, 07:50 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(kerazul @ Jun 8 2008, 06:33 PM)
hi all,

does using a shoulder rest affect the sound of the violin?
if you clamp the shoulder rest too hard/tight on the violin, it will some how affect the sound a little..
kerazul
post Jun 8 2008, 09:33 PM

1,176 posts

yeah... noticed that too. My violin seems to sound brighter without the shoulder rest. But after a few minutes of practicing, my collar bone hurts like hell.
jikolo
post Jun 9 2008, 08:24 AM

124 posts

im wondering. is there a standard place to clamp the shoulder rest?

and another question.

is there a website that i can find the score of classical music? some easy 1 for violin

This post has been edited by jikolo: Jun 10 2008, 05:57 PM
justbee
post Jun 11 2008, 01:08 PM

do u guys hang out to play your violins together?
Cello
post Jun 11 2008, 09:10 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ May 30 2008, 12:36 AM)

Ahhh...alright, I am not familiar with Malaysia places yet. Where is Hartamas?

There will be another research for me about violin pickups before I buy any. I am guessing most violinist out there have to get used to the weight of the electric violins, no?

Unbelievable, there is Zeta for that price? I have not been to any store to check electric violins except their official product website. I have to shout around now..

Your violin is...weird? Or maybe the background loudness frequency "copes" the sound vibration in your violin to scream louder? Wow, this is weird. This is blasphemy, this is MADNESS!!

QUOTE(gbonE @ May 30 2008, 02:04 AM)
i play cello..for keroncong
it needs no bow..pluck

and it use nylon strings
Huh?? Nylon strings??? May I know how is the music goes?

QUOTE(onelove89 @ May 30 2008, 04:39 PM)
haha thanks cello, I'll try master it a bit better. ><
You are welcome. smile.gif

QUOTE(franstormer @ Jun 3 2008, 11:01 AM)
But i cant seems to play my song smoothly >_<"
Told you a lot of time, relax. Before putting the bow on the string, make sure you do not put it hard or else you will make the bow jump. Put it softly and play with confidence, all you need is focus and relaxation or else you cannot play smoothly not matter how.

QUOTE(kerazul @ Jun 8 2008, 09:33 PM)
yeah... noticed that too. My violin seems to sound brighter without the shoulder rest. But after a few minutes of practicing, my collar bone hurts like hell.
Do not grip the violin.

QUOTE(jikolo @ Jun 9 2008, 08:24 AM)
im wondering. is there a standard place to clamp the shoulder rest?

and another question.

is there a website that i can find the score of classical music? some easy 1 for violin
No rules about where to put, it is depends on the position that we are comfortable with.

QUOTE(justbee @ Jun 11 2008, 01:08 PM)
do u guys hang out to play your violins together?
For me, none of my friends play music. They just say guitar is better and they also said orchestral, classical and modern songs with string instrument is uncool. sad.gif

--------------------

There is a promotion at my music school for those who wants to learn music. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Cello: Jun 11 2008, 09:15 PM
little ice
post Jun 12 2008, 04:33 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(Cello @ Jun 11 2008, 09:10 PM)
Ahhh...alright, I am not familiar with Malaysia places yet. Where is Hartamas?

There will be another research for me about violin pickups before I buy any. I am guessing most violinist out there have to get used to the weight of the electric violins, no?

Unbelievable, there is Zeta for that price? I have not been to any store to check electric violins except their official product website. I have to shout around now..

Your violin is...weird? Or maybe the background loudness frequency "copes" the sound vibration in your violin to scream louder? Wow, this is weird. This is blasphemy, this is MADNESS!!

em, not sure how to describe, but it's inside Hartamas Shopping Center to be exact. maybe you can ask around for the exact direction from where you stay.

i assumed, it's like acoustic guitar vs electric guitar. so if one want so to play electric violin he/she has to deal with the weight. there're many other electric violin manufacturer/maker out there, and I remember seeing a violin that looks like a hugh chocolate bar - from tail -> bridge -> fingerboard. no pegbox.

yes, at least you can have a look at ebay for reference, or around the net. there's no dealer here in malaysia afaik, you can try your luck at singapore though.

ha, i also don't know what happened to my violin. since it can be easily heard so i'm satisfied. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by little ice: Jun 14 2008, 11:14 PM
little ice
post Jun 14 2008, 11:14 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

Check out an exhibition held in MPO recently, until next Friday.

The content is about Italian violins - those old master (multi million US dollars) like Stradivarius and Guarnerius, and also the modern Italians. There's also a concert consist of all these wonder instruments, played in a chamber setting.

Don't miss it, wonder how a piece of wood that can buy you the whole shopping mall looks like? Don't miss it!

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Fri...cle/indexF_html
jazranwajdi
post Jun 15 2008, 12:59 PM

85 posts

i need fingerplace sticker btw(is that a correct name?)

and hye.
new member here...ive purchased a beginner violin about 2 months ago (valencia somethin;) and after several pre-practices i think i need THAT sticker..every notes ive played sounds scary to me,bwahahah.
little ice
post Jun 15 2008, 02:38 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

it's strongly recommended not to learn with sticker, you'll grow into the habit of looking at the sticker all the time. but that's just my opinion anyway.

if you really want, you can learn with stickers on maybe a few months, to learn the right hand bowing first and less concentration on the left hand. then then when you start to concentrate on your left hand, you can do this: close your eyes, feel the finger position, and listen to the pitch instead, then open your eyes once every while to check if you're landing on the correct spot. however it's best to completely remove the stickers, and check with open string often to see if you're out of tune, or play with piano accompaniment often, you'll improve your intonation.
onelove89
post Jun 15 2008, 07:41 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

my teacher din let me use the stickers =/ but he let other beginners use. then I have to thank him, cos it's easy for me to find the notes now =)

92 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0330sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:34 AM