126 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Chubby Hamsters V6, Sleeping furballs of Fun!

malowie
post Feb 19 2008, 09:24 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(mars82 @ Feb 19 2008, 08:34 PM)
am so sad, all the babies dead  cry.gif when this afternoon. 5 of them. I also dunno y this happen. some part of babies eaten by the mummy. gross.. shocking.gif  others 3 are cold n hard..confirm death ...sigh
mayb the mummy too young and do not know how to take care of her babies..? the mummy juz 3-4mth olds
too many babies ? stress?

her grandma are good. she give birth to 3 of them and now healthy young hamsters.  (incl the mummy)

hope can get more babies soon.
ooow... so sad to hear that... did you touch the babies or change the bedding?

that might be the cause.. or maybe ur hamster is a new mummy i suppose?

anbusan
post Feb 19 2008, 09:55 PM

130 posts

this is my hamsters hehe my sister call them gemuk and kurus....but I don't know why huhu

djspinnet
post Feb 19 2008, 10:15 PM

532 posts

My two Winter Golds are sure very fussy eaters sad.gif

They're still small and hardly eat much, especially the kuaci. So I peeled the kuaci since they had trouble nibbling through it, and they even passed the peeled kuaci bye!

They're sooooooooooo different from my 2 Syrians, who eat everything under the sun 24/7. My WW only eats from the Sluis snack bar... and ocassionally their normal food (which I have to bury for them to dig up and eat. If don't bury they're more likely to just passover it only)

Is this normal for WW? I mean, the extreme fussiness with food?
Reanne
post Feb 19 2008, 10:25 PM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

They're not fussy, maybe because you may be giving them too many treats or other things to eat. Restrict anything other than the food, leave the food in a bowl. Using a bowl is a good way to tell whether they've eaten and how much they've eaten.

By giving only the food and water, they will definitely eat.
abang brother
post Feb 19 2008, 10:33 PM

4,967 posts

My mommy Syrian is getting lazier by the second. Like she sleep 24 hours. So does the children. So boring can;t see them playing the wheel. sad.gif
djspinnet
post Feb 19 2008, 10:33 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Feb 19 2008, 10:25 PM)
They're not fussy, maybe because you may be giving them too many treats or other things to eat. Restrict anything other than the food, leave the food in a bowl. Using a bowl is a good way to tell whether they've eaten and how much they've eaten.

By giving only the food and water, they will definitely eat.
The thing is... it was only after I put the snack bar in that I actually saw them munching on stuff from time to time. Before that I see them drinking water, sleeping or playing only, and usually end up throwing out the same volume of food I put into the bowl for them.

I guess maybe cos from their size they eat much much less, that it seems unnoticeable. Considering that I had 2 greedy Syrians before these WWs, who are bigger in size too, it's noticeable when they eat and the amount of food in the bowl decreases noticeably.
Reanne
post Feb 19 2008, 10:36 PM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

Hmmm.... They wouldn't eat so little that you wouldn't notice. My campbell alone can finish a big chinese soup spoon in a day or 2.

Try doing that, don't give anything else but their staple food. It's rare for a hamster to starve itself rather than eat a food they don't like. If it's worrying yu that much, you can try Prestige or Harry Hamster instead.

This post has been edited by Reanne: Feb 19 2008, 10:36 PM
djspinnet
post Feb 19 2008, 10:47 PM

532 posts

I'll remove their snack bar temporarily and see how it goes.

Do bear in mind mine are baby WWs. They're very very small still, that one chinese soup spoon is larger than them. But surely can't be until there's literally no difference in the food volume. I see them eat maybe a few grains of their staple food, and I have to throw out 99% of what I give them.
^MochI^
post Feb 19 2008, 10:54 PM

An Angel Living A Devil's Life
4,565 posts

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 19 2008, 11:22 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

am so sad, all the babies dead  cry.gif when this afternoon. 5 of them. I also dunno y this happen. some part of babies eaten by the mummy. gross.. shocking.gif  others 3 are cold n hard..confirm death ...sigh
mayb the mummy too young and do not know how to take care of her babies..? the mummy juz 3-4mth olds

her grandma are good. she give birth to 3 of them and now healthy young hamsters.  (incl the mummy)

Too young..... why did you breed her? It is not good to breed that young as it can cause health problems or shorten its lifespan.....

Stop breeding your hamsters for now, do not overbreed.

QUOTE(anbusan @ Feb 19 2008, 09:55 PM)
this is my hamsters hehe my sister call them gemuk and kurus....but I don't know why huhu

Nice Syrians.... do remember that they are solitary.
sOuLx
post Feb 20 2008, 01:58 AM

Ingenieur (Ir.)
1,358 posts

is that syrian?
i thought they are pudding..
i love solid color syrian.. nice
blurjoey
post Feb 20 2008, 02:03 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

Shasha is missing from her tank as of now. Think she have escaped some how when sangels was not at home. Not sure how a 4 weeks old syrian so small can climb out a 2 feet tank.

Hope that Shasha is still alive in the apartment building. Have put Shasha's food bowl outside the tank hoping she will come back when she is hungry.

Sangels is devastated over this.

cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Feb 20 2008, 02:05 AM
sangels
post Feb 20 2008, 02:05 AM

Too cute not to fall in love with
829 posts

cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

I lost my Shasha today when I came back from gathering. I don't know how she can escape or missing, but I really sad when I can't find her in the tank.

I miss her so much and really hope for miracle that she will come back to us. Or else I really hope someone who can take good care of her.

Will miss you - Shasha..... My girl...

This post has been edited by sangels: Feb 20 2008, 02:06 AM

sqwerk2
post Feb 20 2008, 08:42 AM

The Big One
1,799 posts

hello, this is my 2nd time having hamsters after many years.

2 clowns fighting for the wheel.
Sui Gao, lol, can't think of other names yet.
Har Gao sleeping on the wheel.
djspinnet
post Feb 20 2008, 08:50 AM

532 posts

QUOTE(sqwerk2 @ Feb 20 2008, 08:42 AM)
Sui Gao, lol, can't think of other names yet.
Har Gao sleeping on the wheel.
Hehe... my bf's neighbour used to have 2 dogs named Har Gao and Siu Mai too tongue.gif
anbusan
post Feb 20 2008, 09:59 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Feb 19 2008, 11:22 PM)
Nice Syrians.... do remember that they are solitary.
thanks...yup sometimes they will fight but not too long, will separate them soonest

won
post Feb 20 2008, 10:51 AM

shushu & kero
837 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Feb 20 2008, 02:03 AM)
Shasha is missing from her tank as of now. Think she have escaped some how when sangels was not at home. Not sure how a 4 weeks old syrian so small can climb out a 2 feet tank.

Hope that Shasha is still alive in the apartment building. Have put Shasha's food bowl outside the tank hoping she will come back when she is hungry.

Sangels is devastated over this.

cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
QUOTE(sangels @ Feb 20 2008, 02:05 AM)
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

I lost my Shasha today when I came back from gathering. I don't know how she can escape or missing, but I really sad when I can't find her in the tank.

I miss her so much and really hope for miracle that she will come back to us. Or else I really hope someone who can take good care of her.

Will miss you - Shasha..... My girl...
Sorry to hear about the news. sad.gif Hope you will find her soon.
sky388
post Feb 20 2008, 12:05 PM

127 posts

The Robo is it?
Too bad... sad.gif

R I P
sOuLx
post Feb 20 2008, 12:10 PM

Ingenieur (Ir.)
1,358 posts

shocking.gif shocking.gif
how come shahsha can climb the tank..its imposibble unless she jumped out..
i hope she'll comeback to you soon sangels...

blurjoey
post Feb 20 2008, 12:45 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

I think she climb the wheel and got out from the lid as it was opened to let air in. But didn't know she can reach so high up to the lid.

126 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0300sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:29 AM