CREDIT Card Thread v2, Everything about the world of plastic
hye
Feb 6 2008, 10:36 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(ychwang @ Feb 6 2008, 10:05 PM) maybe ur limit already hit the ceilling No lah ... I know someone else with the same card type but yet higher credit limit than I am. Sometimes I think loyalty with cards does not pay off. But of course I think some of the guys here have better luck than me  Hahaha
WaCKy-Angel
Feb 6 2008, 11:02 PM
Can someone clarify for me whether Carrefour offers 4% rebate for minimum RM80 spending or RM100 spending?
Coz just now at Carrefour i paid like RM90++ and its indicated "earned RM0.00"
hye
Feb 6 2008, 11:07 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 6 2008, 11:02 PM) Can someone clarify for me whether Carrefour offers 4% rebate for minimum RM80 spending or RM100 spending? Coz just now at Carrefour i paid like RM90++ and its indicated "earned RM0.00" I think you are speaking about the UOB One card? 4% rebate only for purchases RM 50 and above (Till October '07 only. After Oct 2007, min of RM100 )
WaCKy-Angel
Feb 6 2008, 11:17 PM
QUOTE(hye @ Feb 6 2008, 11:07 PM) I think you are speaking about the UOB One card? 4% rebate only for purchases RM 50 and above (Till October '07 only. After Oct 2007, min of RM100 ) Damm i thought they reduced to RM80? Should have bought some candy to make it RM100 lol
hye
Feb 6 2008, 11:20 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 6 2008, 11:17 PM) Damm i thought they reduced to RM80? Should have bought some candy to make it RM100 lol This little problem is well mentioned in many threads. Well, the banks makes just 2-2.5% from the merchant, surely it's eventually unsustainable to give you the 4% rebate.
soitsuagain
Feb 7 2008, 12:02 AM
QUOTE(Chester @ Feb 6 2008, 06:10 PM) I got 15k limit but i never use more than 1k  which bank?
tiger63
Feb 7 2008, 09:00 AM
QUOTE(hye @ Feb 6 2008, 11:20 PM) This little problem is well mentioned in many threads. Well, the banks makes just 2-2.5% from the merchant, surely it's eventually unsustainable to give you the 4% rebate. Due to intense competition among banks merchant fees are on the downtrend. On average banks are charging between 1.6% - 1.8% for big merchants. Big merchants are those which can generate RM100,000-00 or more of credit card sales per month. Bear in mind that the acquiring bank (bank providing the credit card terminal) does not pocket 100% of the merchant fee. For every transaction the acquiring bank needs to pay Visa/Mastercard 0.2% for using their infrastructure. And if the credit card being used for the transaction belongs to a different bank (not credit card issued by the acquiring bank) the acquiring bank has to pay 1.2% to the bank that issued that credit card. So in this scenario the acquiring bank's revenue is only 0.2% if the merchant fee charged is 1.6%. So merchant acquiring business is basically a volume game. In Malaysia the major players in merchant acquiring business are Maybank and MBF.
soitsuagain
Feb 7 2008, 09:07 AM
So even if UOB One Platinum has 100% saturation, they will still make a lost. But I think they are looking at the bigger picture.
SUSkevin23
Feb 7 2008, 10:16 AM
Not trying to show off here but i have a friend who has a Titanium card.The credit limit? 100k...
So i was joking with him asking him to buy a car with that card...lol..
guanteik
Feb 7 2008, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 6 2008, 06:03 PM) if you pay in full on time everytime, the bank will not have problem increasing your credit limit. yea i think so... QUOTE(hye @ Feb 6 2008, 09:49 PM) I slightly disagree on this part because my bank (Citibank) never offer this to me at all ! what he said is, if you asked for an increase in credit limit... most likely the bank will not hesitate to do it
DDSFan8
Feb 7 2008, 11:50 AM
some cards do have high min credit when u rcv it because of the card feature itself. like Citibank ready cash, the starting limit is pretty high because u get checkbook.
SUSDavid83
Feb 8 2008, 09:04 PM
Does payment using Mastercard Paypass require signature? Tried Paypass at KFC and they asked me to signed the printout even though they used the Paypass terminal. Used Visa Wave at Carrefour and the approval is so slow! Decided to use the slot in method after minutes of waiting.
hye
Feb 8 2008, 09:26 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 8 2008, 09:04 PM) Does payment using Mastercard Paypass require signature? Tried Paypass at KFC and they asked me to signed the printout even though they used the Paypass terminal. Mastercard Paypass does not need a signature. I've used MC Paypass at Isetan outlets before (One of the early adopters before it fizzles out. Now don't see they use the terminals anymore) and they never ask for signature. Probably the KFC staff was unsure and asked for a signature anyway. David83 ... Happy New Year to You ! This post has been edited by hye: Feb 8 2008, 09:38 PM
ex660
Feb 8 2008, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(hye @ Feb 6 2008, 09:49 PM) I slightly disagree on this part because my bank (Citibank) never offer this to me at all ! I think that Shiity Bank CC is really shityy.. yea they never offer u... and the que to pay at the machines are so long.. don't use that card already... applied HLB & HSBC.. i tink 1 month+ also no reply... zzz
hye
Feb 9 2008, 08:17 AM
White Tiger
I'm still using Citibank though and it's perhaps the only bank with a comprehensive list of bill payment payees that you can pay your bills using your credit card. The next closest competitor would be M2U I think.
Normally I pay them using cheque so never need to queue up. Just drop the cheque and go. This card is already in my cancellation list for this year - will do so once I clear my EZ payments.
imr4n
Feb 9 2008, 09:12 AM

i'm using citibank, hsbc and direct access
so far, i think citibank provides u with the best service and constantly updated promotion.. and their online service is top notch
hsbc less better, but they give it to me free for life so i just keep it for emergency purpose
direct access is crap really... occasionally have trouble validating the card.. and eventhough it's free for life, i'm still gonna cancel it soon coz i don't have any use for it and i need space in my wallet for other cards...
hye
Feb 9 2008, 09:29 AM
White Tiger
QUOTE(imr4n @ Feb 9 2008, 09:12 AM) hsbc less better, but they give it to me free for life so i just keep it for emergency purpose direct access is crap really... occasionally have trouble validating the card.. and eventhough it's free for life, i'm still gonna cancel it soon coz i don't have any use for it and i need space in my wallet for other cards... Emm ... mind sharing why your HSBC is free for life ? I like Direct Access several years back, CS is good and not to mention you can convert your purchases into EZ payments (Flexi-Pay programme). Since they discontinue the Flexi-Pay programme, there's little reason for me to keep this card as well. Haven't made up my mind yet on what to do with this card Probably I'll want and see for the next 6 months on how does the other banks react to the new Petronas credit cards (CIMB & MBB). Most of my friends wants to cancel their existing cards and move to these 2 cards because no need to bother about annual fees anymore. Especially coz there's no conditions attached as compared to other banks.
imr4n
Feb 9 2008, 09:32 AM

hsbc gives free for life if u work in some companies... they say it's a corporate package..
i'm gonna cancel direct access card and get a maybank-petronas card ... it's free for life too and maybank got many promotions as wel
ychwang
Feb 9 2008, 12:06 PM
As i know Direct Acess quite quite high credit limit, apply master/visa can get 18k combine limit easily, But i like the design of cimb and wish to apply CIMB petronas card. Does the Direct Access and CIMB Gold limit are the same? Since both card also under CIMB bank. My concern is the credit limit, pls advise.
DDSFan8
Feb 9 2008, 02:01 PM
credit limit cannot simply offer for free la.