247 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Bottom

Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V43, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO!

tng55
post Jun 16 2025, 02:45 PM

1,440 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jun 16 2025, 02:03 PM)
Let me explain it in a clearer way

Public IP will allow faster torrent speed because it enables you to open ports for direct peer-to-peer connections.
- P2P users with public IP can connect to both private and public IP peers.
- P2P users with private IPs cannot connect to other private IP peers, because neither side can accept incoming connections.

However, most of the time, the difference is minimal as usually high quality P2P peers have a public IP.

Public IP also allow you to host your own server, NAS and etc. That's because public IP can have a direct public facing open port to allow incoming connection.

Apart from P2P, most modern apps and pretty much every online game do not care about private IP these days. A lot of ISPs in other countries do not even offer public IP anymore.

In the case of TM, I don't see a difference in routing or network policy between public or private IP AS LONG AS they are within the same IP range.
yah you are correct i know
that i prefer public ip hehehe
PJng
post Jun 16 2025, 02:55 PM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jun 16 2025, 02:03 PM)
Let me explain it in a clearer way

Public IP will allow faster torrent speed because it enables you to open ports for direct peer-to-peer connections.
- P2P users with public IP can connect to both private and public IP peers.
- P2P users with private IPs cannot connect to other private IP peers, because neither side can accept incoming connections.

However, most of the time, the difference is minimal as usually high quality P2P peers have a public IP.

Public IP also allow you to host your own server, NAS and etc. That's because public IP can have a direct public facing open port to allow incoming connection.

Apart from P2P, most modern apps and pretty much every online game do not care about private IP these days. A lot of ISPs in other countries do not even offer public IP anymore.

In the case of TM, I don't see a difference in routing or network policy between public or private IP AS LONG AS they are within the same IP range.
As old timer 100mbps public IP and now 300mbps private IP. Still can max speed for good seed torrent
Just starting download slower a bit

And torrent client will show port blocked

This post has been edited by PJng: Jun 16 2025, 03:01 PM
HappyHome217 P
post Jun 16 2025, 04:10 PM

Probation

Thanks @fruitie @tng55 and @blacktubi for the explanation.
Seems like public IP is better. I only know there was static and random IP last time haha..
Nowadays with Netflix and other app and streaming website, still got ppl torrent? I see BT website mostly gone already with RARBG. China ppl likes to use their own version of cloud storage "pan".
fruitie
post Jun 16 2025, 04:21 PM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(HappyHome217 @ Jun 16 2025, 04:10 PM)
Seems like public IP is better. I only know there was static and random IP last time haha..
Nowadays with Netflix and other app and streaming website, still got ppl torrent? I see BT website mostly gone already with RARBG. China ppl likes to use their own version of cloud storage "pan".
I stopped using torrents more than 10 years ago, so as a regular user, I'm OK with any IP address. laugh.gif
I used to have public IP on Maxis but since they started charging RM 10 every month, so I stopped it and experienced no difference in speed. I suppose I fall under the typical user category, rather than the advanced users.
hsbb
post Jun 16 2025, 04:34 PM

447 posts

How did u make the 'P' at ur username? Seem u got invitation code from someone.
fruitie
post Jun 16 2025, 04:35 PM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(hsbb @ Jun 16 2025, 04:34 PM)
How did u make the 'P' at ur username? Seem u got invitation code from someone.
That is for probation users.
PJng
post Jun 16 2025, 04:58 PM

12,039 posts

I mostly torrent ahem game, if ok then buy
Yes as nornal user i don see any different with public private IP
kwss
post Jun 16 2025, 05:10 PM

1,207 posts

The original argument was that public IP will be given depending on monthly payment in the 500Mbps plan.

This is very unlikely because technically the profile is configured by plan. There's no definition of pricing during the technical configuration.

So everyone, go get the 500Mbps at RM90.
Torrent client has support IPv6 for a long time. IPv4 isn't as useful as it sounds today.
dannychen
post Jun 16 2025, 05:13 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(idoloveyou @ Jun 9 2025, 08:16 PM)
bro the upfront i think will reflect in your next bill, when I sign up for swu 3.0 got forced to take the postpaid package too, when swu3.0 activated i straight away terminate the line at unifi app and they will auto prorate the fee, for eg u used the line for 9days then they will refund 21days fee in your next bill.
finally got my Unifi Mobile first and last bill today. They took my advanced payment upfront immediately at counter. but refund will take 90 days accordingly to Live Chat. Anyway, I can wait as this is Bolehland.

UNI5G Postpaid 39 Individual
Description Start Date End Date Gross (RM) Discount (RM) Amount (RM)
UNI5G Postpaid 39 (ST) 06/06/2025 08/06/2025 3.77 0.00 3.77
fruitie
post Jun 16 2025, 05:17 PM

Rise and Shine
72,803 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Jun 16 2025, 05:10 PM)
The original argument was that public IP will be given depending on monthly payment in the 500Mbps plan.

This is very unlikely because technically the profile is configured by plan. There's no definition of pricing during the technical configuration.

Torrent client has support IPv6 for a long time. IPv4 isn't as useful as it sounds today.
Exactly my point. Just don't fearmonger others based on one's self-assumed theory. If they want to give or remove, it is for everyone on the same plan, not about how much you are paying.
PJng
post Jun 16 2025, 06:34 PM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(dannychen @ Jun 16 2025, 05:13 PM)
finally got my Unifi Mobile first and last bill today. They took my advanced payment upfront immediately at counter. but refund will take 90 days accordingly to Live Chat. Anyway, I can wait as this is Bolehland.

UNI5G Postpaid 39 Individual
Description Start Date End Date Gross (RM) Discount (RM) Amount (RM)
UNI5G Postpaid 39 (ST) 06/06/2025 08/06/2025 3.77 0.00 3.77
So mean unifi mobile can terminate online? This week or next week i gonna try 500mbps RM90, if force unifi mobile, will terminate next day or 2
hsbb
post Jun 16 2025, 07:08 PM

447 posts

not a problem, then why make it such a problem. understand this.
dannychen
post Jun 16 2025, 07:28 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Jun 16 2025, 06:34 PM)
So mean unifi mobile can terminate online? This week or next week i gonna try 500mbps RM90, if force unifi mobile, will terminate next day or 2
I have terminated on the same day. Some how need HQ to approve for termination. Termination done at another TM point on same day. Don’t want any risk to visit if can’t settle online or call center.
PJng
post Jun 16 2025, 07:32 PM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(dannychen @ Jun 16 2025, 07:28 PM)
I have terminated on the same day. Some how need HQ to approve for termination. Termination done at another TM point on same day. Don’t want any risk to visit if can’t settle online or call center.
Lazy need go 2 TM point on same day
YoungMan
post Jun 16 2025, 09:12 PM

6,796 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 16 2025, 04:21 PM)
I stopped using torrents more than 10 years ago, so as a regular user, I'm OK with any IP address. laugh.gif
I used to have public IP on Maxis but since they started charging RM 10 every month, so I stopped it and experienced no difference in speed. I suppose I fall under the typical user category, rather than the advanced users.
In fact people use hotspot, 4g/5g sim on legal and mod modem yet they still survive. This shows that many actually do not need public IP.

Well said.
pokchik
post Jun 16 2025, 10:32 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

Currently paying RM119 for 500Mbps.
Waiting for contract ending by August to try luck for RM90.

But then.. why does my 'Service Start Date' showing May 2018 in the Unifi dashboard?
I am confident that I re-contracted myself for 500Mbps back in August 2023.
idoloveyou
post Jun 16 2025, 11:12 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Jun 16 2025, 10:32 PM)
But then.. why does my 'Service Start Date' showing May 2018 in the Unifi dashboard?
go to livechat and check with Cs
kwss
post Jun 16 2025, 11:25 PM

1,207 posts

Maybe system error? You could be the lucky one.
If you can afford the time to crash TM, go act like your contract expired and ask for 500Mbps RM90.
PJng
post Jun 16 2025, 11:28 PM

12,039 posts

since that free upgrade speed, Service Start Date is wrong, mine is correct before 2023 free speed upgrade, after free speed upgrade mine now show May 2015
PJng
post Jun 16 2025, 11:54 PM

12,039 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Jun 16 2025, 01:39 PM)
private ip torrent will slow too compare public ip torrent faster

i already compare my friend 100mbps private ip fell abit slow and torrent can't get speed full
let say few seed private ip speed become 200kb/sec or 650kb/sec sometime drop 50kb/sec

public ip fell stable and torrent can get faster speed full
let say few seed public ip speed become 2mb/sec or 10mb/sec or 20mb/sec no much drop like 5mb/sec
see faster public ip

300mbps, private IP, torrent full speed, some ahem pirate torrent

upload slow because mostly complete, seed 72 peer 80
no idea what you mean 100KB/s 200KB/s

my router up time

look like will be reset if i apply SWU, as need restart

avd speed a bit low, as starting download is slow

This post has been edited by PJng: Jun 17 2025, 12:30 AM