125 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Radeon HD 3870 and HD 3850 On The Horizon, The Dark Side is POWERFUL . come join

irenic
post Dec 1 2007, 03:38 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Dec 1 2007, 03:33 AM)
err ure running
16x on first card 4x on second card...which is y i think around 200-300 points missing from sm3..

but on x38 definately ure in the 20-21k...

Added on December 1, 2007, 3:36 amsorry make that around 800 points in sm3...
owh ya.. forgot bout that ... sad.gif but i'm so lazy to swap board.. sad.gif

erm do u think in gaming the x16 vs x4 will effects a lot?

well the other reason i dun want to use the x38 is bcoz i dun have good ddr2 ram.. i only have one value ram and i think it gonna disappoint me haha..

i just wish i can find a good ddr3 mobo out there.. sad.gif

This post has been edited by irenic: Dec 1 2007, 03:39 AM
cstkl1
post Dec 1 2007, 03:40 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Dec 1 2007, 03:38 AM)
owh ya.. forgot bout that ... sad.gif but i'm so lazy to swap board.. sad.gif

erm do u think in gaming the x16 vs x4 will effects a lot?
hmm well
ppl have tested
they said in 3dmark shows difference
but gaming .. marginally... negligible..

so if this ure gaming rig.. than sweet bro...
ure running 4ghz 24/7 quad??
nice..

till i can find a 500fsb quad.. doesnt matter 45nm or 65..
wont be making that transition...

irenic
post Dec 1 2007, 03:45 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Dec 1 2007, 03:40 AM)
hmm well
ppl have tested
they said in 3dmark shows difference
but gaming .. marginally... negligible..

so if this ure gaming rig.. than sweet bro...
ure running 4ghz 24/7 quad??
nice..

till i can find a 500fsb quad.. doesnt matter 45nm or 65..
wont be making that transition...
erm well i have only 1 complete rig and 1 laptop.. this rig is used for gaming, benching and doing work (mostly editting, n designing)

erm no 4ghz daily for me.. i had to run it at 1.7vcore (bios) to run benchmark at 4.01ghz and eventhough temp remains cool, around 35-43c idle and 50-55 load, but i dun dare to use such a high vcore .. running daily at 3.2ghz @ stock voltage..

btw thx for the info and suggestion.. i doubt i will notice myself bout the poor sm3 score.. notworthy.gif
Irzani
post Dec 1 2007, 08:28 AM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

AMD to lower Radeon 3000 series pricing

20$ multiply 3.4~ = at least Rm 70.. icon_idea.gif
sniper69
post Dec 1 2007, 08:50 AM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

pardon me... just want to share the HD2900XT score in 3DMark06, doh.gif, guess. it's CPU bottleneck tongue.gif sad.gif

PC Specs :
Silverstone ST56ZF
AMD Athlon FX-60 2.8GHz
2x1GB Aeneon PC3200

3DMark06 setting - Default
HD2900XT - no overclocking

Catalyst 7.11 @8x Anti-Aliasing (AA) + 8x Box; 16x Anisotropic Filtering (AF)

Catalyst 7.11 @0x Anti-Aliasing (AA) + 0x Box; 0x Anisotropic Filtering (AF)

This post has been edited by sniper69: Dec 1 2007, 08:51 AM
rsangel
post Dec 1 2007, 09:17 AM

No Smoking pls @_@
1,487 posts

wow... ATI slash price till $219.... around RM700++ that is a good bargin
clayclws
post Dec 1 2007, 04:29 PM

2,659 posts

QUOTE(rsangel @ Dec 1 2007, 09:17 AM)
wow... ATI slash price till $219.... around RM700++ that is a good bargin
Correction, they slashed FROM USD219 to USD199 for HD3870.
arjuna_mfna
post Dec 1 2007, 04:36 PM

**Towards Justice World**
1,496 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Dec 1 2007, 04:29 PM)
Correction, they slashed FROM USD219 to USD199 for HD3870.
if convert to RM it ~ RM700, good price, when the official slashed? but can we get ~RM700 soon? crossfiring those hd3870 drool.gif
cvshi515
post Dec 1 2007, 05:01 PM

1,188 posts

Hmmm, friend told me that he saw lowyat selling SAPPHIRE 3850 256MB at RM599 for this week. Said was promotion.... hope the price drop lower after the announcement for the price slash is truth. Hehe then can consider the 3850 512MB with heatpipe!!!!
Nemesis181188
post Dec 1 2007, 06:46 PM

635 posts

It's really gonna be a good buy for the HD2870 if they're about to slash the price.When is it taking place?
X.E.D
post Dec 1 2007, 07:13 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Dec 1 2007, 06:51 PM)
can1 tell 1 which is more better :
1) MSI 3870 OC Edition (RX3870-T2D512E-OC) - RM 8++

2) ATI Radeon 3870 512MB GDDR4 - RM 900

3) Asus EAH3870/G/HTDI/512M - RM 969

moneyflies.gif  moneyflies.gif  moneyflies.gif  moneyflies.gif ma de my bonus gone becos of 1 card..........................  sweat.gif
Definitely the MSI. Should be closer to the GT in speed while costing less.
Every card is actually the same, built by ATI/Foxconn (?).
vearn27
post Dec 1 2007, 08:54 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

Guys... I'll be getting a gfx soon in 2~3 weeks time... At first, the Nvidia's 8800GT and 8800GTS on my mind at the moment, I wonder if actually the Ati 3870 HD will outperform the Nvidia's? unsure.gif

I only opting for single card operation and not going for CF smile.gif
TSnagflar
post Dec 1 2007, 09:03 PM

1,813 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Dec 1 2007, 08:54 PM)
Guys... I'll be getting a gfx soon in 2~3 weeks time... At first, the Nvidia's 8800GT and 8800GTS on my mind at the moment, I wonder if actually the Ati 3870 HD will outperform the Nvidia's? unsure.gif

I only opting for single card operation and not going for CF smile.gif
single card 8800GT is out perform HD3870 . but for CF HD 3870 is better then 8800GT.

but if u want better 3d image quality ATI alway better then Nvidia . if u dont mind few FPS behind compare to Nvidia
la

my X1900xtx the quality of 3D rendering image still beter then my 8800GT . @@

anyway just my personal opinion . biggrin.gif

vearn27
post Dec 1 2007, 09:23 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Dec 1 2007, 09:03 PM)
single card 8800GT is out perform HD3870 . but for CF HD 3870 is better then 8800GT.

but if u want better 3d image quality ATI alway better then Nvidia . if u dont mind few FPS behind compare to Nvidia
la

my X1900xtx the quality of 3D rendering image still beter then my 8800GT . @@

anyway just my personal opinion .  biggrin.gif
Oh, single card wise 8800GT will outperform the HD3870 but it will be vice versa if it is 8800GT SLi vs HD3870 CF?

Would the performance differ significant or wouldn't be to visible? How about the power consumption? I read from Irenic that even HD3870 CF wouldn't as much as single 8800GT? Or he mean not as much as 8800GT SLi? blink.gif

However, most lately games all optimized for Nvidia's sad.gif
TSnagflar
post Dec 1 2007, 09:30 PM

1,813 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Dec 1 2007, 09:23 PM)
Oh, single card wise 8800GT will outperform the HD3870 but it will be vice versa if it is 8800GT SLi vs HD3870 CF?

Would the performance differ significant or wouldn't be to visible? How about the power consumption? I read from Irenic that even HD3870 CF wouldn't as much as single 8800GT? Or he mean not as much as 8800GT SLi? blink.gif

well i just amatuer acuatly . let the expert answer your question biggrin.gif
vearn27
post Dec 1 2007, 09:38 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Dec 1 2007, 09:30 PM)
well i just amatuer acuatly . let the expert answer your question  biggrin.gif
Hehe, if u r amatuer... then I'm noobie sweat.gif. Thanks for injecting some info and ur view anyway biggrin.gif

QUOTE(UPM_Parasite @ Dec 1 2007, 09:32 PM)
i hear that ATI HD card performance is less Nvidia behind, but if count on card temperature, Nvidia is more hotter since it need more power. right???  hmm.gif  that y i think i only can choose ATI HD since my computer is open 24 hour a day... only will close when raining (my old laptop gone b cos of lighting ma  sweat.gif ).......
I do read the same thing as well... but if the differ really ain't that significant, I may opt for HD3870 which offer lesser heat and power consumption. Nowdays games optimized for Nvidia's, nothing weird if their FPS and score higher than ATi's in benchies sweat.gif
X.E.D
post Dec 1 2007, 09:43 PM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Dec 1 2007, 09:23 PM)

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Normally there's a 15% (give or take 5% more) difference between the 8800 and 3870 stock. For what you pay and potential improvement that's not bad (in the US at least, where pricing is fair).

But in Crossfire, most tests show the 3870 catching up to 8800GT SLI (from leading by 5-10% to trailing 5+%; depends) so you pay less (USD40-80 for 2 cards) for a little less. Plus, you can use X38/48/P975 boards while you're stuck with dreaded nForces for SLI.

If you like the "optimization" brought to nVidia's cards for speeds (which are really a non-issue on a dual card setup) then get the 8800GT. If you don't really care for benchmark scores, both are great (HD 3800s have added support for the "2008" Folding@Home GPU client, which might be a nice extra) and mostly depends on other factors (especially the motherboard, where current nForces can't support Penryns nicely)

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Dec 1 2007, 09:44 PM
choyster
post Dec 1 2007, 09:53 PM

1,802 posts

3850 does not beat the old 8800gts right?
X.E.D
post Dec 1 2007, 10:04 PM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(choyster @ Dec 1 2007, 09:53 PM)
3850 does not beat the old 8800gts right?
3850 is ~90% of a HD2900XT, which is 105-110% of a 8800GTS (excluding AA)
Plus, 256MB of RAM = no go.

However, the Powercolor OCed 3850 512MB definitely beats a GTS (99% of a 2900XT, and AA is a bit better in some cases)

vearn27
post Dec 1 2007, 10:15 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Dec 1 2007, 09:43 PM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Normally there's a 15% (give or take 5% more) difference between the 8800 and 3870 stock. For what you pay and potential improvement that's not bad (in the US at least, where pricing is fair).

But in Crossfire, most tests show the 3870 catching up to 8800GT SLI (from leading by 5-10% to trailing 5+%; depends) so you pay less (USD40-80 for 2 cards) for a little less. Plus, you can use X38/48/P975 boards while you're stuck with dreaded nForces for SLI.
If you like the "optimization" brought to nVidia's cards for speeds (which are really a non-issue on a dual card setup) then get the 8800GT. If you don't really care for benchmark scores, both are great (HD 3800s have added support for the "2008" Folding@Home GPU client, which might be a nice extra) and mostly depends on other factors (especially the motherboard, where current nForces can't support Penryns nicely)
So, yet the 8800GT still p@wn this HD3870 in single-card battle smile.gif. I wonder if the new 8800GTS will be a better pick than 8800GT. Yeah, the additional top-up price might not value for just a few fps+, but the noise and temp lower than 8800GT as well hmm.gif

HIS not releasing IceQ Turbo version for this HD3870? unsure.gif

125 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:34 PM