Radeon HD 3870 and HD 3850 On The Horizon, The Dark Side is POWERFUL . come join

irenic
post Nov 13 2007, 03:55 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

wah so fast.. where did u get it?
irenic
post Nov 13 2007, 06:45 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

the hd 3870 is the highest end rite? i thought it can perform better than that.. it looks like around 2900xt cf only.. hopefully just bcoz of inmature driver

cstkl1, so far whats ur impression about the new cards?
irenic
post Nov 13 2007, 07:08 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(ncool15 @ Nov 13 2007, 06:59 PM)
I saw in [H]Forum that another model which is HD3880 will be released by ATI.
Yeah,ATi always like that.When they launch new card they never have a perfect driver.

So cstkl1,
Any DX10 game benchmark?

Looks like you are the first 3870 owmner in LYN. brows.gif
How much you bought it?
owh ok.. hehe i dun think he bought it rolleyes.gif .. but of coz he deserves it notworthy.gif

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Nov 13 2007, 07:03 PM)
Ugh... [H]ardOCP. Don't trust those nVidia shills.

I thought I saw a higher 3DMark score with a simillar CF rig. Care to turn Overdrive on? From what I've heard, the card is very cool and silent. 100% is of course noisy, but normal use it should be very silent.
yeah the the main advantage of this new card over the 2900xt is not the performance, but the temperature and its oc potential smile.gif
irenic
post Nov 14 2007, 03:38 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Nov 14 2007, 12:29 AM)
bro cstkl1

why both of ur benchmark teh GPU core running at 300MHz only?
is it true or have bug?

if only 300mhz,then this card is real god-like notworthy.gif

ROFLMAO 3DMark06 detect ur cpu @ notworthy.gif 4500MHz notworthy.gif

and one thing,why u never give a try on all stock speed?
ram,proc,gc,all stock speed.

and see how well it performs cause not everyone like oc. flex.gif
it's bcoz 3dmark cant detect if u lower down ur multiplier.. they just calculate ur current fsb x stock multiplier ..

for current benchmark, i think 8800gt is better.. at stock clock + 3.6 quadcore will gives u around 14k score in 3dmark06..

for current gaming, i think both shud be on par.. maybe some game gt wins and some games 3870 wins..

for future gaming / benchmark, esp dx 10.1 supported benchies or games.. surely 3870 will wins..

and why is the price is lower than 2900xt? bcoz the performance is almost the same between these two.. summore they are not really win the GT in terms of performance.. so they must ensure the price remains competetive..

the benefits goes to us the end user thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by irenic: Nov 14 2007, 03:39 AM
irenic
post Nov 14 2007, 04:56 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

act both are considered mid end only.. the true high end for both ATi and nvidia is coming i think.. why? bcoz both cards cannot really beat their previous best cards.. the 8800ultra and 2900xt..

irenic
post Nov 14 2007, 05:26 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 14 2007, 05:13 AM)
Errr.... was talking about prices la.....  smile.gif

When the 8800GT came out, due to it's good performance + cheap price, 2nd hand prices of the 8800GTS came crashing down....... next time when people want to sell their GTX/Ultra, the loss would probably be quite a lot too. Looks like the same thing is happening to ATI cards. Not that surprising as this is "normal" in the computer world.....
owh sorry haha..

yeah its a nightmare for those high end gfx users to sell their cards.. esp 8800 ultra coz the price differences is damn big while the performance (vs 8800gt) is not soo big..

but for 2900xt user i dun think they shud press the alarm button by selling their cards.. the performance for now is almost on par with the new 3870.. so just use it.. my best tip is to avoid internet esp hardware forum, review website and other stuffs that can make u feel the itchiness to upgrade laugh.gif
irenic
post Nov 14 2007, 12:19 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

how many cf users for 2900xt here.. and in most cases i always seems the multiple card is a waste of money.. thats what i think. i tried it before n i dun think i wanna buy 2 cards again.. reasons are, performance not justify the money u spend and the next generation high end card will always be better than current dual cards, but at the price of one card..

btw u r rite bout the crossfire X.. smile.gif

irenic
post Nov 14 2007, 02:21 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

typical nvidia .. haha

somehow i still feel lucky manage to let go my 2900xt before 3870 comes out.. it was unplanned, i honestly dunno anything bout the new radeon until i bought 8800gt .. LOL .. hopefully this GT still can survive along the 3870 wink.gif
irenic
post Nov 14 2007, 03:17 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Nov 14 2007, 02:38 PM)
Not only that, CF can do on P35, X38, 965, and 975 those motherboard as long as there are 2 PCI-E slot.

Quote from http://iax-tech.com/video/3870/38704.htm

Means i use SLI board do CF ? LoL...isit true ?

Added on November 14, 2007, 2:41 pm
man, don't worry...the card can last you for few season  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
nope.. only those with intel chipset..

well neway i doubt that i'll be using this card for that long unsure.gif haha
irenic
post Nov 15 2007, 02:13 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

from Legion hardware..

Anyway, the battle between the Radeon HD 3870 and the GeForce 8800 GT was over almost before it began really, with the 8800 GT dominating right from the word go. In most games the 8800 GT is a fair bit faster and at this stage it is our understanding that users will only pay slightly less for the Radeon HD 3870. Those that have already invested in a GeForce 8800 GT graphics card will be relieved to know that they have not wasted their money, as the Radeon HD 3870 does nothing to hurt that investment. While the performance offered by the Radeon HD 3870 is quite impressive given the price tag, we think it is about time for AMD/ATI to move on and develop a real next-gen product!

it looks like 8800gt all the way here in m'sia since 3870 costs more than the gt.. wink.gif
irenic
post Nov 18 2007, 01:27 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Nov 18 2007, 09:40 AM)
Great. Thanks for the explanation there. I guess all the assumptions of mine had just gone to dust. LOL..

Well, its tough decision saying 256bit 512mb is sufficient. Its just a few months ago when people are saying how great the 320MB 8800GTS is and how enough it will be to last another year or so. Now, its barely enough..

With that being said, i am really tempted to let go of my 8800GTS and go the ATI way of HD3870 depending on the pricing.  tongue.gif
if cstkl is rite, than i suggest if u ever thinking of changing card, go for 8800gt, unless u wanna use multigpu then only u choose 3870..

QUOTE(raigores @ Nov 18 2007, 12:50 PM)
wah~~~~~ just one month i dint come lowyat forum~~ another ati release!!ehehehehe

i GOT quesTIONSS!!!!!  rclxm9.gif

1. Is (HD3870 and 3850 series) better than (HD2900 series) in term of performance???
2. What things make IT better?
3. IS HD2950  Going to release SOON? when??~~~

PLS plS~~ me wanna know
hehehee... biggrin.gif
1. generally yes. better performance than 2900xt
2. new core and architecture that is better than the R600.. it has lower watt consumption.. thus making it runs cooler..
3. never heard of 2950.. i doubt ati gonna release any 2xxx series gfx.. wink.gif
irenic
post Nov 18 2007, 11:30 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

well it's nice if the newer driver can show the true color of the new radeon..

i hate to spend so many on gfx after just spend near 900 for 8800gt.. but i feel tempted to buy the new 3850 to do cf..
irenic
post Nov 21 2007, 10:44 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

i feel like wanna give this 3870 a try.. manage to get a really cheap price for it.. biggrin.gif cheaper than my 8800gt..

i know the performance is slower than 8800gt.. so guys, any suggestion? esp those who has try both cards like bst_dude and cstkl..

thx
irenic
post Nov 22 2007, 01:05 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(bst dude @ Nov 22 2007, 12:11 AM)
cant say much about cf now coz running on am2 5000 be (3d mark 2006 only 13k
try crossfire x with msi 790fx mobo,cant get all 3870 running.need ccc beta 8.44 or 8.46 like the above photo
well i dun plan on cf yet.. bcoz of 3870x2 is coming out.. do u guys think cfx can run with 3870x2 + 3870? laugh.gif ?

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Nov 22 2007, 12:19 AM)
uik i thought u retired tongue.gif
hehe back from retirement.. rolling contract..
irenic
post Nov 26 2007, 11:06 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

i'm using rivatuner to adjust the fan speed.. oc to 891/1315, the core remains at 40c idle.. hehe.. dropped from 62c idle @ 25c fan speed
irenic
post Nov 26 2007, 11:40 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

act i wonder what is the pc spec for both 8800gt sli and 3870cf for the benchies.. and whats the setting details..

so far my best score for oced 8800gt single card @ default 3dmark06 setting is 15k+ while oced 3870 @ default 3dmark06 setting is 14k+

irenic
post Nov 26 2007, 03:18 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Nov 26 2007, 01:07 PM)
3870 CF vs 8800GT SLI: 3dmark06 score @ here
sorry.. somehow i doubt the result is true.. unsure.gif

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Nov 26 2007, 01:54 PM)
brand saphire my bet??

hmm i cant do that high stable on crossfire on that overvoltaged bios card
another guy in XS also had the same issue

now testing the 860/1200 bios...

i still wish somebody gets the gecube oc2 bios
yups saphire.. hehe.. erm act i manage to stable at 904 / 1367 but then it will set the oc automatically max at 891/1314 (according to GPUZ).. why eh?
irenic
post Nov 26 2007, 09:08 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Nov 26 2007, 08:04 PM)
hmm .. seems like this could confirm my purchase of 3870 ....

heheh ... lucky this time I wasn't the pioneer like what I did when 2900XT hit the shelf ...

wait and decide ... now where to look for money to grab this little babe .... hmm
based on 2 days chance playing with 3870.. i could only notice 1 advantage of this 3870 over the 8800gt in single card config.. which is movie playback quality.. i'd tested playing transformers in hd format and the image is far2 i can say a lot better than the 8800gt.. the color is richer, more details etc..

but in terms of gaming, and benching, i can say it disappoint me.. yeah it might be good in gaming, but not as good as 8800gt.. i played 3 games.. which are crysis, nfs pro street and pes2008.. using fraps, i dun notice any major area where this 3870 manage to has higher fps than 8800gt.. even in pes2008 i got a flickering screen in certain period.. i dunno.. hopefully it will be solved in the next driver..

for benchies.. as we all shud know already, single 8800gt is better than the 3870.. by quite a margin.. not really sure bout dual card setup.. would love to try it but the only thing that holding me is there's no good c2d board that support SLI that i think is worth to buy.. sad.gif
irenic
post Dec 1 2007, 03:04 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

my new cards.. biggrin.gif

this is first time i used crossfire.. and the 3rd time i used dual gfx .. last time only SLI (7800gtx SLI and 7900gtx SLI)

3dmark06:

everything at default (q6600 @ 2.4ghz, 3870 CF @ default, ram underclocked)

OC.. q6600 @ 4.01ghz, ram @ 1339mhz, 3870 slightly oc @ 820/1250..

This post has been edited by irenic: Dec 1 2007, 03:05 AM
irenic
post Dec 1 2007, 03:25 AM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Dec 1 2007, 03:16 AM)
dude no offense
ure mobo sux...

u know that right..
look at the crossfire scores...
and ure mobo proc scores..

something aint right.

theres like 200 points missing from ure proc again...
and ure sm3 scores also totally wrong
heck ure scores around the same as my cards at 860/2400
http://www.iax-tech.com/video/3800biosmod/03.htm ... confirm can work no probs on stock cooler...
also irenic advice
dont install catalyst control
use ati tray tools.
the catalyst control temp also wrong...
no prob about the mobo.. i dun used my pc for 24/7 benchies.. but more for my work and for my living.. it never failed me.. unlike the great asus.. who made me begging my lecturer for submitting assignment late due to superb oc but unstable board.. hmm so i feel better i use 1 board that is multipurpose and has balance in all.. gaming oc.. working..
the proc lose 200 points compare to my previous score? look at the setting.. it's different.. last time my ram is much more higher than this.. at higher fsb and same timing.. now running 13xx fsb @ cl7.. of coz sux than ddr2 that can run 1200 @ cl4 or cl5..

btw thx for the suggestion.. will try it later during the weekend..

This post has been edited by irenic: Dec 1 2007, 03:30 AM

0.0205sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:26 PM