139 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Travel All About Hong Kong, Info moved to Facebook Page now!!

april
post Feb 24 2008, 07:35 PM

358 posts

do we need visa from msia - macau? and from macau - hk do we need visa as well??
fiolsn
post Feb 24 2008, 07:41 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(april @ Feb 24 2008, 07:35 PM)
do we need visa from msia - macau? and from macau - hk do we need visa as well??
no visa needed as mentioned earlier...
stalkie
post Feb 25 2008, 09:54 AM

Best thing of my life...
1,795 posts

hi, gonna travel to Macau and HK next week! Thanks for all the info provided at the first page! smile.gif

I will reach Macau at night estimated 9pm.... I would like to know the exact location of the ferry because I checked and it required to travel across the bridge to reach ferry station but I heard someone told me that the ferry is near the airport???

There is 2 ferry service, New World First Ferry and Turbo Jet but New World First Ferry do not have night service, am I right? I have to go for Turbo Jet and take MTR from Sheung Wan to Mong Kok as I have booked Dragon Hostel, am I right?

northasian, currently how's the weather there in HK? hot? cold? rainy? windy? dry? etc...

Thanks again for all the help smile.gif
Escudo
post Feb 25 2008, 10:42 AM

22 posts

Hi Guys..,

I am doing itinerary for Hong Kong trip this Dec 2008.., heheh., I know it's a long way to go, but I am going to attend a fren's wedding there.

I will go from 24th Dec return maybe on 4th Jan, so it will be around 12 days.

May I know where is the best place to go for 25th Dec and 1st Jan? Disneyland got any special attraction on that day?

TSnorthasian
post Feb 25 2008, 03:16 PM

QUOTE(stalkie @ Feb 25 2008, 09:54 AM)
hi, gonna travel to Macau and HK next week! Thanks for all the info provided at the first page! smile.gif

I will reach Macau at night estimated 9pm.... I would like to know the exact location of the ferry because I checked and it required to travel across the bridge to reach ferry station but I heard someone told me that the ferry is near the airport???

There is 2 ferry service, New World First Ferry and Turbo Jet but New World First Ferry do not have night service, am I right? I have to go for Turbo Jet and take MTR from Sheung Wan to Mong Kok as I have booked Dragon Hostel, am I right?

northasian, currently how's the weather there in HK? hot? cold? rainy? windy? dry? etc...

Hi stalkie,

For ferry pier <-> Airport in Macau, sorry I can't advise you on this 'coz I'm not familiar with Macau.

For ferry service, please refer to the schedule on each ferry website. If NWF doesn't got late nite service then I'm afraid you gotta take Turbojet to Sheung Wan, but I'm not sure if you can take MTR 'coz you've to aware the last MTR service as well. Please check the MTR website for last train.

It's winter in HK now. Weather is cool - cold, cloudy - drizzle this week. If you've read thru my #1 post, I'm sure you can find the weather forecast website as well. Please refer to that website before your departure for more accurate weather info. Cheers~

QUOTE(Escudo @ Feb 25 2008, 10:42 AM)
Hi Guys..,

I am doing itinerary for Hong Kong trip this Dec 2008.., heheh., I know it's a long way to go, but I am going to attend a fren's wedding there.

I will go from 24th Dec return maybe on 4th Jan, so it will be around 12 days.

May I know where is the best place to go for 25th Dec and 1st Jan? Disneyland got any special attraction on that day?
People seldom goes celebrate on 25th Dec, celebration activities mostly held on 24th Dec night, on Canton Road (Tsim Sha Tsui). On 1st Jan also, people normally go out celebrate on 31th Dec night instead. Go to Canton Road, or Lan Kwai Fong (Central), Time Square in Causeway Bay for countdown.

Disneyland HK usually do X'mas theme during the whole Dec.
terryykf
post Feb 25 2008, 10:10 PM

175 posts

hi....i really love this topic cause i plan to go Hong Kong one more time...

wanna go to hong kong for shopping,went last year during the month of November,not much things to buy,and not much time to explore Hong Kong,so this time will solely go to Hong Kong,yeah!!!

Northasian,can i know when is the time when Hong Kong got big big sales?is it during the end of August to September??cause the changing of season??
i want to go there to shop for phones,watches,clothes and etc.....
TSnorthasian
post Feb 27 2008, 11:18 AM

QUOTE(terryykf @ Feb 25 2008, 10:10 PM)
hi....i really love this topic cause i plan to go Hong Kong one more time...

wanna go to hong kong for shopping,went last year during the month of November,not much things to buy,and not much time to explore Hong Kong,so this time will solely go to Hong Kong,yeah!!!

Northasian,can i know when is the time when Hong Kong got big big sales?is it during the end of August to September??cause the changing of season??
i want to go there to shop for phones,watches,clothes and etc.....
Hi terryykf,

The longest sale period should be the year-end sale in Dec-Feb, but mostly winter item for fashion. Other than that should be the late summer sale in Aug-Oct. But I found the sale is not as crazy as before, price gone up a lot this year and the discount during sale is not so "big" as before.

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Feb 25 2008, 10:18 PM)
HK selling phone price are more expansive than malaysia
It depends on where you shop and the model.
RegentCid
post Feb 27 2008, 12:07 PM

グローãƒãƒ«é˜²è¡›æ§‹æƒ³
4,060 posts

i walk in Apliu Street..i see almost all type of handphone are expensive than malaysia...HK samsung are named anycall..
Heh..1 most important stuff..DUN buy any sony or samsung stuff in HK..they all made in malaysia so buy at malaysia are more more cheaper!!! I buy a Sony MP3 nw200 series 2G at HK 1400HK dollar Malaysia 700 and when i back malaysia i see malaysia sold 580 only....haiz ...

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Feb 27 2008, 12:11 PM
dream.angels
post Feb 27 2008, 01:02 PM

730 posts

QUOTE(stalkie @ Feb 25 2008, 09:54 AM)

hi hi..
was missing in action for a while.. wasn't feeling well.. d flu bug is everywhere..
weather in hk during cny was cold.. bearable n it was really nice to walk around in d cold weather..

stalkie,
think i can help u wif tat..

fr macau airport to macau jetty, it's about 10-15 mins.. quite near..
u can take d bus (bus no. AP1) tat goes to d jetty.. u check d sign at d front of d bus or u ask d driver..
tat would cost u abt MOP3.30 + MOP3 (for luggage)
i'm not sure wat time would be d last bus.. ?
if u take a taxi, i think it should cost abt MOP60 to d jetty..
u can use hkd currency in macau..

"i think" there would still be ferry service till midnite, 15 mins apart..
if u wanna go to Mongkok, then u need to take d New World First Ferry to Tsim Sha Tsui jetty..
from there, either take d MTR to Mongkok or taxi.. depending on ur budget..
Taxi should be abt HKD 30-40 (depending on ur luggages too, cos they charge extra for luggages.. )
tat's d fare to somewhere near Ladies' Market.. i dunno where exactly is dragon hostel, so d taxi fare might be different..

hope tat helps... enjoy ur trip!

TSnorthasian
post Feb 27 2008, 01:36 PM

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Feb 27 2008, 12:07 PM)
i walk in Apliu Street..i see almost all type of handphone are expensive than malaysia...HK samsung are named anycall..
Heh..1 most important stuff..DUN buy any sony or samsung stuff in HK..they all made in malaysia so buy at malaysia are more more cheaper!!! I buy a Sony MP3 nw200 series 2G at HK 1400HK dollar Malaysia 700 and when i back malaysia i see malaysia sold 580 only....haiz ...
sometimes you gotta ask staff for the best price they can offer instead of just looking at the price tag shown on the display... but of coz if it's only a hundred dollar difference, it'd be better to buy in M'sia 'coz including warranty.

not only samsung & sony, penasonic also got some products manufactured in M'sia~ When did you get that MP3?? Yesterday I saw a SONY mp3 4GB only HK$1,1xx...

QUOTE(dream.angels @ Feb 27 2008, 01:02 PM)
hi hi..
was missing in action for a while.. wasn't feeling well.. d flu bug is everywhere..
weather in hk during cny was cold.. bearable n it was really nice to walk around in d cold weather..

stalkie,

u can take d bus (bus no. AP1) tat goes to d jetty.. u check d sign at d front of d bus or u ask d driver..

if u wanna go to Mongkok, then u need to take d New World First Ferry to Tsim Sha Tsui jetty..
Taxi should be abt HKD 30-40 (depending on ur luggages too, cos they charge extra for luggages.. )
tat's d fare to somewhere near Ladies' Market.. i dunno where exactly is dragon hostel, so d taxi fare might be different..

thanks and happy to know you enjoy your trip here~
fujkenasai
post Feb 27 2008, 03:23 PM

1,137 posts

North Asia Zhe Zhe, do u know if it would be wise to do tux in Hong Kong or Shen Zhen? I herd that the work men ship in Shen Zhen is good and cheap.
stalkie
post Feb 27 2008, 03:40 PM

Best thing of my life...
1,795 posts

QUOTE(dream.angels @ Feb 27 2008, 01:02 PM)
hi hi..

stalkie,

Last checked on the website for New World First ferry do not have late night service... actually their schedule kinda confusing too... you sure NWF operate night too? I will reach Macau roughly 9pm+ (already including the delay for AirAsia, just in case)

My plan now is to take TurboJet to Sheung Wan then take MTR from Sheung Wan to Mongkok... if NWF have night service then I will go for it since it's nearer to my hostel...

Another thing is MOP60 is also HKD60? The conversion is the same?
TSnorthasian
post Feb 27 2008, 08:16 PM

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Feb 27 2008, 03:23 PM)
North Asia Zhe Zhe, do u know if it would be wise to do tux in Hong Kong or Shen Zhen? I herd that the work men ship in Shen Zhen is good and cheap.
yes, do it in Shenzhen la..

Added on February 27, 2008, 8:22 pm
QUOTE(stalkie @ Feb 27 2008, 03:40 PM)
Last checked on the website for New World First ferry do not have late night service... actually their schedule kinda confusing too... you sure NWF operate night too? I will reach Macau roughly 9pm+ (already including the delay for AirAsia, just in case)

My plan now is to take TurboJet to Sheung Wan then take MTR from Sheung Wan to Mongkok... if NWF have night service then I will go for it since it's nearer to my hostel...

Another thing is MOP60 is also HKD60? The conversion is the same?
from the NWF website, the last ferry from Macau to HK is 20:30 on weekdays, but the last one is 00:30 on Sat, Sun and HK Public Holidays.

exchange rate between MOP and HKD is a bit difference, but I don't know how much.. just a few dollars difference only.

This post has been edited by northasian: Feb 27 2008, 08:22 PM
fujkenasai
post Feb 27 2008, 09:07 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(northasian @ Feb 27 2008, 08:16 PM)
yes, do it in Shenzhen la..

from the NWF website, the last ferry from Macau to HK is 20:30 on weekdays, but the last one is 00:30 on Sat, Sun and HK Public Holidays.

exchange rate between MOP and HKD is a bit difference, but I don't know how much.. just a few dollars difference only.
Im goin to HK and goin back at macau, I wonder how am I gonna get my stuff back with air asia. @.@

Just complaining here @.@, bout my parents indecisive plans.

This post has been edited by fujkenasai: Feb 27 2008, 09:07 PM
dream.angels
post Feb 27 2008, 09:43 PM

730 posts

[/quote]

northasian, really enjoyed my trip.. d food was realli realli nice!
u r so lucky.. so of cos, comparatively to msia, d price is quite expensive..

one thing i would recommend.. to try d egg tarts in HK.. !
lotsa my frens din really try tat when they were in HK, cos they tot it was jus normal food..
but it's really a big difference.. cant find such a good tasting egg tart in msia.. hehehe..

stalkie,
according to northasian info, on weekdays, last ferry is 2030.. when r u arriving?
maybe u should go according to ur plan to take a ferry to sheungwan.. or maybe central..

one suggestion, if u wan a more scenic ride, u can try to take d Star Ferry fr central at Pier 7..
then u can see d wonderful night lights of both tsim sha tsui n central.. nice view..
but might be lesser light decorations as they would probably haf taken out the cny decoration lights ady..

like wat northasian mentioned.. MOP and HKD is slightly different.. but if it's MOP60, u would still have to pay HKD60..
hehehehe.. they will earn slightly more if u pay HKD... biggrin.gif

TSnorthasian
post Feb 27 2008, 10:44 PM

QUOTE(dream.angels @ Feb 27 2008, 09:43 PM)
northasian, really enjoyed my trip.. d food was realli realli nice!
u r so lucky.. so of cos, comparatively to msia, d price is quite expensive..

one thing i would recommend.. to try d egg tarts in HK.. !
lotsa my frens din really try tat when they were in HK, cos they tot it was jus normal food..
but it's really a big difference.. cant find such a good tasting egg tart in msia.. hehehe..

stalkie,
according to northasian info, on weekdays, last ferry is 2030.. when r u arriving?
maybe u should go according to ur plan to take a ferry to sheungwan.. or maybe central..

one suggestion, if u wan a more scenic ride, u can try to take d Star Ferry fr central at Pier 7..
then u can see d wonderful night lights of both tsim sha tsui n central.. nice view..
but might be lesser light decorations as they would probably haf taken out the cny decoration lights ady..

like wat northasian mentioned.. MOP and HKD is slightly different.. but if it's MOP60, u would still have to pay HKD60..
hehehehe.. they will earn slightly more if u pay HKD...  biggrin.gif
Yeh, in my #1 post I also included egg tarts in HK.. It's one of the normal food I have in HK, but after I've tried M'sian egg tart, I also recommend people to try egg tarts in HK~ thumbup.gif It's x1000000000 more delicious then the copied version in M'sia!! Anyway, egg tart of Macau version is good too~ One more thing, if you like egg tarts, you must also like steamed egg custard~ this is one of my favourite HK food too~~ highly recommend!!

Sheung Wan and Central is just next to each other, but from Sheung Wan Macau Ferry Pier, you can't walk to Central Ferry Pier to take ferry to Tsim Sha Tsui with luggage, you have to take taxi ga... So, for the fancy ferry ride at night, better wait for the other day of the trip la...

This post has been edited by northasian: Feb 27 2008, 10:47 PM
prez
post Feb 27 2008, 11:41 PM

127 posts

Back from HK. Had a great time over there.

Ps. Actually from Sheung Wan you can take the MTR or walk outside to the tram and take it to the Central. From there you need to walk up the bridge and to the pier. Kinda far if you are carrying your luggages. Its drizzling these few days. Better bring an umbrella if you need to, or a jacket with a hood.

This post has been edited by prez: Feb 27 2008, 11:43 PM
eric84cool
post Feb 29 2008, 03:35 PM

I'm BACK!!!
4,540 posts

Hi, to my fellow frenz.May I know which place can buy cheaper SENNHEISER headphone and Ipod MP3 player? Or maybe you guyz can help to suggest what to buy with cheap price during my trip to Hong Kong???
david tamiya
post Feb 29 2008, 08:41 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Feb 25 2008, 11:18 PM)
HK selling phone price are more expansive than malaysia
not really its cheap there all my phones bought there can get ori w910 for around 1300 , here ori also 1699 or 1799
if older model more cheap

Added on February 29, 2008, 8:44 pm
QUOTE(eric84cool @ Feb 29 2008, 04:35 PM)
Hi, to my fellow frenz.May I know which place can buy cheaper SENNHEISER headphone and Ipod MP3 player? Or maybe you guyz can help to suggest what to buy with cheap price during my trip to Hong Kong???
try sin tat building in mongkok can get very good bargain bought hp , nds , mp3 player there

This post has been edited by david tamiya: Mar 1 2008, 12:40 PM
laichong
post Mar 1 2008, 12:07 PM

Da Da Da Da Da
900 posts

for those who are travelling from Macau to HK using Ferry... better choose TurboJet as its faster and more stable then NWF..

im regret that i took NWF on my last trip in July '07; becoz i wanna get down from Kowloon and goto the hotel in Mongkok, its the only choice... the ferry is slow(compare to Turbojet), age older, and not that stable when the wave is higher.... u'll get dizzy....

i heard from my HK friend, they usually compare them as Public Bus(NWF) and Executive Coach(TurboJet).

for those who would like to stay in Mongkok, can try MetroPark Hotel Kowloon in Waterloo Road (窝打老道). its room is as spacious as our Hotel room in KL. the room is big enough to put 2 single bed + 1 extra bed + 2 small sofa and plenty of space to walk around with your luggage putting on floor.. its a 3 star hotel, and very near to "woman street", just 10~15min walks.

139 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:14 AM