Travel All About Hong Kong, Info moved to Facebook Page now!!

fiolsn
post Oct 27 2007, 12:24 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(northasian @ Oct 26 2007, 11:32 PM)
My old thread was combined with an even older HK thread, the link is : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/251236

It's closed now becoz I wanna be the TS so I can edit the info on #1 post, I open a new HK thread. Hope you can still find anything you need from that combined closed thread...
thanks a lot northasian..you are really helpful
fiolsn
post Nov 6 2007, 09:09 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(BiteZ @ Nov 6 2007, 02:07 AM)
hey guys...im back from HK..wow..these 10 days vacation to HK was really memorable and enjoyable to me..i seriously love HK so much and the food there are so so good * i even thought of not coming back*..and northasian, I did go to the Halloween party in Lan Kwai Fong...many lengzhai ang moh there..hahahhaa...anyway, it was so so crowded and i just went one round and headed home..hehe... tongue.gif
welcome back...mind sharing to us your itinery and journey there?...hehe
fiolsn
post Nov 7 2007, 11:25 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(BiteZ @ Nov 7 2007, 09:30 PM)
I went to SUPER88 for dimsum during my trip in HK smile.gif
旺角洗衣街 is called SAI YEE ST., MONGKOK  smile.gif
Sai Yee ST, Mongkok wow..didnt know the food look so delicious in this cafe  drool.gif

Added on November 7, 2007, 9:33 pm
Not a big prob, just sharing with all forumers my trip in hongkong..hope those info did help a lil..haha..oh..i tot usually will have major firework display ga..hehe.. blush.gif
wow!...how to go to saiyee street?!?..near ladies street?
fiolsn
post Nov 19 2007, 07:45 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(dingyloo @ Nov 19 2007, 03:15 AM)
Hie Northasian, i really appreciate your effort in putting this thread up, this is a good thread indeed smile.gif

I'm going on a free and easy trip to HK on the Dec 13th with my family and relatives..
It will be a 6D5N tour..

We booked our flight tickets already and now we were having a headache on which hotel to stay..

We thought of booking our rooms in Metropark Mongkok Hotel.
Is that a good choice?
why not Dorssett Seaview?..is nearer to the shopping places ahh..
fiolsn
post Nov 22 2007, 12:50 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(northasian @ Nov 22 2007, 12:36 PM)
Dec is coming very soon ga la, just be a bit more patient la~ biggrin.gif

Everywhere is selling winter clothes now ar, your gf wanna buy also not suitable to wear in M'sia.... anyway I did see some girls wear winter clothes in KL which surprised me, haha... wear wool scarf under the temperature of 30'c, I really admire her "heat tolerance", haha~  thumbup.gif
when will winter season off?..coz im going end pf january..hopefully they start a new season of clothes o...
fiolsn
post Nov 23 2007, 12:48 PM

135 posts

nothasian, is there any buffet restaurant like JOGOYA in HK?..pay a decent price but can eat all range of foods...?
fiolsn
post Nov 23 2007, 02:32 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(northasian @ Nov 23 2007, 02:12 PM)
If you are looking for standard like JOGOYA, there is one in Tsim Sha Tsui called "Todai". Price is like HK$268 + 10% service charge per head, you can refer to their homepage : http://www.todai.com.hk
thanks a lot...wow!!..it looks so nice!..u been tehre b4?..the lunch is reasonable...lunch got japanese food also?..why the price is a big gap..haha.

This post has been edited by fiolsn: Nov 23 2007, 02:41 PM
fiolsn
post Nov 23 2007, 02:45 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(pucman @ Nov 23 2007, 02:41 PM)
I am looking for a good tour package to hong kong or shenzhen.

I am only one person. Can anybody recommend what's the best way to tour hong kong ?

Can I use chinese renminbi in Hong Kong ?
wow..alone follow tour is a more expensive le..why dun you use a map and tour there ownself?hk is very easy to get around...and then just join a local tour to shenzhen. This is wat my colleague did la..when she travel to hk shenzhen and macau alone. jsut my 2 cents.
fiolsn
post Nov 23 2007, 03:42 PM

135 posts

[quote=northasian,Nov 23 2007, 03:00 PM]
I haven't been there yet, but I heard many people have good comments on this buffet restaurant.

Lunch of coz got Japanese food as well la, 'coz this restaurant is a Japanese themed one. Price differents a lot between lunch and dinner becoz most people won't eat buffet during lunch, you know, only 1 hour lunch time how to enjoy a good buffet...?
wow..haha...quite true also..keke..then can go for the lunch de.hehe..thanks a lot northasian...wow!
fiolsn
post Nov 29 2007, 04:15 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(fiolsn @ Nov 23 2007, 02:32 PM)
thanks a lot...wow!!..it looks so nice!..u been tehre b4?..the lunch is reasonable...lunch got japanese food also?..why the price is a big gap..haha.
Norhtasian, how much is the tax if i were to eat in TODAI or other restaurant?
fiolsn
post Dec 7 2007, 12:18 PM

135 posts

Ahh.!..i found Park Hotel quite good...
fiolsn
post Dec 22 2007, 01:01 PM

135 posts

yay!..just confirm my tours in HK next month. Booked a night in Royal Macau for the first night. Then a free and easy 4D3N packeges which includes 3 nights stay in Rambler Oasis and a half day HK tour, which cost RM333 per person. Then book an additional night in TST - BP International house for only RM300 includes breakfast for 2.

But i my question now..where should i put my bag in macau during my last day?..i was thinking to tour around macau first before to airport take off to malaysia. Will all casino in macau offers luggage storage services there?..any charges?
fiolsn
post Dec 22 2007, 06:34 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(northasian @ Dec 22 2007, 03:03 PM)
When I travel I used to leave my luggage to the hotel I stayed after I checked out. Macau is not very big, take taxi/minibus going back to take your luggage will not spend you too much time...
My last night will be in HK., then abt afternoon only go Macau. cant left in hotel le...

Added on December 22, 2007, 6:35 pm
QUOTE(megatron007 @ Dec 22 2007, 05:44 PM)
u can stored at the macao airport

pretty safe

i tried b4  laugh.gif

Added on December 22, 2007, 5:45 pmmacao JAM?

waaa yawn.gif
ha?...put in airport then take cab go to town again?..wahh...taxi there really tat cheap?..mm

This post has been edited by fiolsn: Dec 22 2007, 06:35 PM
fiolsn
post Jan 23 2008, 11:44 PM

135 posts

Hi Northasian,

I wanna ask whats the different between Turbo Jet and First Ferry? Both also arrove at kowloon side right?

Added on January 24, 2008, 8:18 amhey northasian, may i knwo which outlet is this?

This post has been edited by fiolsn: Jan 24 2008, 08:18 AM
fiolsn
post Feb 24 2008, 07:41 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(april @ Feb 24 2008, 07:35 PM)
do we need visa from msia - macau? and from macau - hk do we need visa as well??
no visa needed as mentioned earlier...
fiolsn
post Mar 25 2008, 08:26 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(zoakies @ Mar 25 2008, 07:49 PM)
Hello northasian,

I just to know....how much is the entrance fees for Disneyland ya?

And how do i go to Disneyland if i am staying in Stanford Hotel....

Thanks.. and hope to meet u when i in HK... smile.gif
you can refer to the Disneyland Hong Kong website for the latest entrance fare.

Take MTR from Mongkok Station (Tsuen Wan Line) Lai King Station, Then interchange at Lai King station to Sunny Bay (Tung Chung Line) then from there you will interchange to in DisneyLand Resort Line. Very convenient don;t worry. All you need is money in the octopus card.

Disneyland MTR Station
The Disney Train...

fiolsn
post Mar 28 2008, 11:49 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Mar 28 2008, 11:23 AM)
Hi anyone know how much expected fees to spend in hong kong for 1 day?i mean just for eating..tq for answering my question
abt HKD100 for normal food.
fiolsn
post Apr 4 2008, 10:13 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(exshige @ Apr 4 2008, 09:28 AM)
thanks for your input.

1. end of aug.. hmm that will be a problem coz my trip is mid of aug.. there is a chance i will miss the sales omg....

2. any reason why mongkok is best? we almost book a hotel in yaumatei.

3. sorry sorry.. is not lap mei i mix up... yeah is roasted meat. is there a street will all the roasted meat stall?

4. coz u only link 1 in the first page which is the taoheong dimsum.. i went to the website and look at the picture of restaurant.. it looks like some 5 star hotel restaurant... very different from those found in Ipoh dimsum..  biggrin.gif

the price u qouted is the pricing for taoheong avg price? pricing seems ok not too expensive but ha gao at HKD20-25... is that normal price for all the dimsum shop in HK?
no worry..i went tao heong in mongkok for dim sum breakfast...is a chinese high class restaurant...comfy seats and environment...eat till veyr full each person only rm20++.... with all nice ncie dimsum... tats the most valuable meal i ever eat in my entire journey in hk..ehhee..will definitely go back again if i have the chance to go hk again...
fiolsn
post Apr 14 2008, 08:49 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(joycelsq @ Apr 14 2008, 12:32 AM)
hi all and northasian,

thanks for all your info and advice sharing...

i will be going to HK around end of June. Will be staying in Dorsett Seaview for 5d 4n... afraid not enuf for me to explore..

need your advice on the best place must visit in this short time and the best local food to eat.

we also plan to go macau too for one day... what will be the best place and food to try on?

and in June, is the summer sale on already? will the clothes there at the highest price now?

Is it summer in June? very hot? will it be cold in the night?

hi, i stayed in Dorsett Seaview for 5D4N during my last trip to HK last month. Be prepared, the rooms are so so small...bt overall is ok if just for some rest at night. Location is really good.

hui liu san dessert shop is a must try as it only opposite the hotel. And the Bou Zai Fan (clay port rice) near the hotel also a must try at night. You can drop by one dim sum stall opposite the 7-eleven as well at night...very nice the siu mai.... it most open at midnight around 11pm. All near the hotel. Tao heung dim sum (i went mongkok) which northasian posted in post #1 very worth to try...very nice and not expensive... 7-11 ginger soya bean (hot) also must try....any breakfast set in any char chan teng near hotel also nice...u can view the menu first before u go in.

I took a walk from hotel (yau ma tei) to Tsim Tsa Tsui harbour...a very nice walk plus good talk with fren to the harbour at night..as u get to see many things along the way..im not sure the time u go will be hot or not...but i went during end of winter..cool cool feeling..veyr nice...

my itinery is that i went to the further place first...like disneyland..ocean park..tung chung citygate outlet mall, stanley market. then 3rd /4th days go to the peak...lankwai fong...causeway bay..central..those in the middle de...then second alst day / last day only sapu berabis (shopping) in mongkok / TST. then check out...and sayonara...

the above info for your reference only....thanks.. hope u enjoy your trip...
fiolsn
post Apr 14 2008, 09:06 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(joycelsq @ Apr 14 2008, 08:53 AM)
thanks a lot for all the info fiolsn.

i dun plan to go to disney and ocean park... as i afraid not enuf time to shop and look around.

personally do u think it is worth to go to the 2 parks?

oh ic..then i think u should have enuf time to explore hk. For me..is my first time to HK...so i think i go the 2 park first..and explore bit of hk..and my next trip can fully concentrate on exploring only..no mroe theme park...but then...now i come back i miss disneyland..haha..i know the park cannot compare with japan / US/Paris...but is still worth to go...at least once in a life time.. as for Ocean Park..the park is big...and lotsa thing to see..but is too time consuming and tiring as there are two parts and connected by cable car... tats for me la..some ppl prefer ocean park ...

i went macau as well on my first day and last day..coz i went hk via macau...i stayed at Royal Hotel macao, location wise is not tat good but still walking distance to senado square...st pauls ruins..and those big casinos eg: Lisbao...Wynns... bcoz the weather is chilling..so we dun mind teh walking..there is a 7-11 next door only...so very convenient at night...if hungry. As for breakfast... there a street jsut walk across the hotel...(behind 7-11) a lot of nice breakfast..like beef soup noodle...yao char guai..portugese egg tart..) The main reason i choose royal hotel is bcoz the room is big..we book a room and can fit 4 oerson...ahh...is 5 times the room of Dorsett...hehe...(will update my blog and post some photo so u can have a look).

Another option u can opt for day trip to macau...if u scared u have not enuf time to explore hk...but i will say Macao itself has a lot to explroe as well..so my next trip will be exploring Macau itself only...Venetian is a must go!..

0.0230sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:02 PM