49 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Bike Gear Talk, ATGATT? gloves, boots, pants etc.

TSJason
post Jun 12 2023, 02:24 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 12 2023, 02:11 PM)
ears felt like it was ringing for the rest of the night......

earplugs definitely a must.
not really, for heroes who preach no need for ear plugs, makes absolutely no difference for them. they are fine. wind noise not that great also.
I believe them, and they are not lying. Because they have already lost their hearing... ear plugs won't help you get it back magically.

it's like a blind man telling you don't need sunglasses.

This post has been edited by Jason: Jun 12 2023, 02:25 PM
jaycee1
post Jun 12 2023, 02:55 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

1250 comes with corded tak? one of the main reasons i stick to 1110 besides being easy to find, is for the corded versions...n they r practically everywhere... even easier to find than non corded.

agree with foamies... i triede them silicon ones beforee (which i got for free when i bought snorkeling goggles)... the ends were too damn long that it hurts my ear really badly. foamies when installed properly can be comfy for a whole day ride.
haz corded? macam insteresting
did a ride last weekend... kl-sg petani-kl....day trip.. avg cruising was about 140-160kmh

just installed helmet speakers... n i couldnt find my earplugs anywhere n i was late... so rushed out and did the entire ride without earplugs n music blasting....and also the lovely sound of my loud exhaust on my z900.

They have the 1250 in corded option also. Just shop online.
alexei
post Jun 12 2023, 05:01 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

1250 comes with corded tak? one of the main reasons i stick to 1110 besides being easy to find, is for the corded versions...n they r practically everywhere... even easier to find than non corded.
Corded 1250:

The FX, seems no longer selling.
Nightstalker1993
post Jun 12 2023, 11:31 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jun 12 2023, 08:56 AM)
mADmAN
3M 1110 foam earplugs - 29NRR

jaycee1 macam got two types...
3M 1250 - 23NRR (https://www.3m.com.au/3M/en_AU/p/d/v000057702/)
3M 1250 - 33NRR (https://www.3m.com/3M/en_US/p/d/v000057705/)

Nightstalker1993
https://shp.ee/98ipmym (Musician silicon earplugs) - 27 attenuation

As for me, I use small earplugs, Mack's purple (31) or pink (30)
- my exhaust got stock cat, and slip on with dB killer

Patent
helmets itself can cause noise, earplugs are a must. Do you use earbuds? Some earbuds come with different sized tips, which one you use?
For me, I usually need the smallest earbud tip, out of the 2 or 3 that usually come with earbuds. Based on this, I can't use standard size earplugs for too long. I've ordered these and try them before deciding on Mack's:
- unbranded blue earplugs (regular)
- 3M EAR classic, EAR taper, EAR express, EARsoft yellow, EARsoft FX (https://www.3m.com.au/3M/en_AU/p/c/ppe/hearing-protection/earplugs/)
- Macks Purple, Pink (both smaller size)
Unless you have some ridiculous exhaust, the major noisemaker is still the helmet and wind. I can't ride for long above 130kmh without earplugs else my ears would literally hurt. And I'm using one of the quietest helmets in the market(shoei neotec 2)and my head is in pretty clean air too.

agree with foamies... i triede them silicon ones beforee (which i got for free when i bought snorkeling goggles)... the ends were too damn long that it hurts my ear really badly. foamies when installed properly can be comfy for a whole day ride.
haz corded? macam insteresting
did a ride last weekend... kl-sg petani-kl....day trip.. avg cruising was about 140-160kmh

just installed helmet speakers... n i couldnt find my earplugs anywhere n i was late... so rushed out and did the entire ride without earplugs n music blasting....and also the lovely sound of my loud exhaust on my z900.

Damn how you tahan 140-160kmh without earplugs. I rode from genting karak exit to Subang and didn't put on my earplugs because initially was supposed to take sempah down but changed plans. My speed capped at 130kmh because any more and it hurts. Eventhough I capped at 130, when I reached my destination, my ears were noticeably affected for the next few hours as I had trouble hearing for that period.

QUOTE(Jason @ Jun 12 2023, 02:24 PM)
not really, for heroes who preach no need for ear plugs, makes absolutely no difference for them. they are fine. wind noise not that great also.
I believe them, and they are not lying. Because they have already lost their hearing... ear plugs won't help you get it back magically.

Yeah I'd like to preserve my hearing and also not get ringing ears. I read on reddit some guy actually killed himself because of it. Imagine hearing ringing in your ears which you can't stop, can drive people mad.
mADmAN
post Jun 12 2023, 11:35 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jun 12 2023, 11:31 PM)
Damn how you tahan 140-160kmh without earplugs. I rode from genting karak exit to Subang and didn't put on my earplugs because initially was supposed to take sempah down but changed plans. My speed capped at 130kmh because any more and it hurts. Eventhough I capped at 130, when I reached my destination, my ears were noticeably affected for the next few hours as I had trouble hearing for that period.
Years n years of blasting heavy metal on headphones.

Was also blasting heavy metal throughout the entire trip hahahaha
alexei
post Jun 13 2023, 09:29 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jun 12 2023, 11:31 PM)
I reached my destination, my ears were noticeably affected for the next few hours as I had trouble hearing for that period.
I was in your situation before, but I stopped, wet some tissue, and plugged my ears.

I know ppl who have tinnitus, some since childhood. When they using ANC headphones they can then hear the rings, so they cannot stand it. I suggest to them use white/pink/brown noise to drown it.

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 12 2023, 11:35 PM)
Years n years of blasting heavy metal on headphones.

Was also blasting heavy metal throughout the entire trip hahahaha
What kind? speed metal? trash?
alexei
post Jun 13 2023, 09:30 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jun 12 2023, 02:24 PM)

either they ride pretty slowly, or their hearing is gone
alexei
post Jun 13 2023, 09:54 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

Ok, just to add my experience with earplugs

Mack: purple or pink (small sized)
Type: slow expanding foam
NRR: 30~31 dB

When wear, is not comfortable especially first time. It needs to go in deep, and the outer edge of the earplug just barely showing. Otherwise, the tip will rub against the helmet, and make booming noise inside the ear canal. Or worse, create pressure fluctuations and causing ear canal pain and headache.

My preference is to leave some earwax in, means don't clean it totally. If ear canal too clean, when extract the earplugs at the end of the day, ear canal will be sore. Happened to me before, sore ear canal for a few days.

If you are going on first ride soon, and never use earplugs before, I would suggest to wear it at least a week before the actual day, walk around at home and get used to it first. Can start shallow first, then slowly ease in. Ear canal can get irritated and it's not easy to treat if inflammation happens there. ENT is a tricky subject.

With earplugs on, roughly all the noise and sound cut by 60%. So, some soft noise will not be heard at all.

For me, I am able to focus better on riding. Speed is less of an issue without the noise, and I can comfortably ride with the pack.

Also, I prefer a quiet bike. A noisy bike feels faster when it's actually slow just noisy.
TSJason
post Jun 13 2023, 09:58 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jun 13 2023, 09:54 AM)
Also, I prefer a quiet bike. A noisy bike feels faster when it's actually slow just noisy.
You let the secret out for freedom machines! Shhhh
alexei
post Jun 13 2023, 10:15 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jun 13 2023, 09:58 AM)
You let the secret out for freedom machines! Shhhh
Haha, not generalizing. Maybe I must add, only applies to my own bike.

Funny thing is, after putting back a stock exhaust for my friend's bike, he noticed the bike became more responsive than a full system.
mADmAN
post Jun 13 2023, 03:06 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jun 13 2023, 09:29 AM)
What kind? speed metal? trash?
practically any..... as long as i like the song ill layan
jaycee1
post Jun 13 2023, 07:54 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jun 13 2023, 10:15 AM)
Haha, not generalizing. Maybe I must add, only applies to my own bike.

Funny thing is, after putting back a stock exhaust for my friend's bike, he noticed the bike became more responsive than a full system.
The longer your exhaust track, the better the scavenging from increased exhaust velocity. Better torque and fuel economy. I really don't get the shorty mufflers.
alexei
post Jun 13 2023, 10:07 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jun 13 2023, 07:54 PM)
The longer your exhaust track, the better the scavenging from increased exhaust velocity. Better torque and fuel economy. I really don't get the shorty mufflers.
that's true in some cases

my friend switch from big diameter full system to the puny stock header with cat.
Quazacolt
post Jun 14 2023, 01:13 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jun 13 2023, 07:54 PM)
I really don't get the shorty mufflers.
High rpm power.

But recently MotoGP exhausts are elongated also laugh.gif
Rammygn
post Jun 14 2023, 10:45 AM

90 posts

Maybe if we are being totally honest, outside of like maybe the outliers when it comes to exhaust upgrades from stock (new v4R comes to mind) - I don’t think mortals such as us with names not rhyming with Sossi and Barkuez aren’t gonna be able to tell a few HP gained or NM torque in a specific rpm band.

I’ve always seen exhaust upgrades for what they are - just an exercise in vanity (so it looks good in our eyes) and wanting to have a sound that excites us while we ride (often louder than stock but sometimes also for enhancing the engine’s characteristic note).

I’ve never done a exhaust swap and tune expecting to go considerably faster because of it or improve performance in any meaningful manner - without severely compromising engine longevity or safety that is.
mADmAN
post Jun 14 2023, 11:44 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Rammygn @ Jun 14 2023, 10:45 AM)
Maybe if we are being totally honest, outside of like maybe the outliers when it comes to exhaust upgrades from stock (new v4R comes to mind) - I don’t think mortals such as us with names not rhyming with Sossi and Barkuez aren’t gonna be able to tell a few HP gained or NM torque in a specific rpm band.

I’ve always seen exhaust upgrades for what they are - just an exercise in vanity (so it looks good in our eyes) and wanting to have a sound that excites us while we ride (often louder than stock but sometimes also for enhancing the engine’s characteristic note).

I’ve never done a exhaust swap and tune expecting to go considerably faster because of it or improve performance in any meaningful manner - without severely compromising engine longevity or safety that is.
agreed.... exhaust upgrades are a vanitiy thing la... "loud pipes saves lives" is also just some crap someone came up with to justify having a loud exhaust...coz lets be honest.. the physics doesnt make sense.

mine oso i pasang coz i wanted to have the sound coz i love loud n rough sounding exhausts.

i did get a tune though but thats just mainly to ensure i didnt lean the bike out with the air filter + full system combo.

gained about 17bhp total (for about rm4K spent) but honestly, i cant tell the diff in before and after.

only diff i can tell is that the bike is more flickable coz the heavy stock exhaust system is gone.
alexei
post Jun 14 2023, 01:41 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

-

This post has been edited by alexei: Jun 14 2023, 02:09 PM
lsm1991
post Jun 14 2023, 01:48 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 14 2023, 11:44 AM)
agreed.... exhaust upgrades are a vanitiy thing la... "loud pipes saves lives" is also just some crap someone came up with to justify having a loud exhaust...coz lets be honest.. the physics doesnt make sense.

mine oso i pasang coz i wanted to have the sound coz i love loud n rough sounding exhausts.

i did get a tune though but thats just mainly to ensure i didnt lean the bike out with the air filter + full system combo.

gained about 17bhp total (for about rm4K spent) but honestly, i cant tell the diff in before and after.

only diff i can tell is that the bike is more flickable coz the heavy stock exhaust system is gone.
To some extent i think you are more noticeable .... bought my bike with a cannon, effing loud and dont like it but i do notice, everything gives way. If they dont, blip sikit and they tend to do so
mADmAN
post Jun 14 2023, 03:57 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jun 14 2023, 01:48 PM)
To some extent i think you are more noticeable .... bought my bike with a cannon, effing loud and dont like it but i do notice, everything gives way. If they dont, blip sikit and they  tend to do so
everybody claims to "notice ppl giving way" or "ppl notice when im coming".

unfortunately that may only be placebo or even standard behaviour of drivers these days.....honestly...its placebo.

traffic around me has been the same before n after the exhaust (n my exhaust is loud n pops like crazy)....ppl still give way whether quiet or loud exhaust. of course i still have assholes who dont even notice im coming n just switch lanes... be it loud exhaust or stock... best part? most of the assholes that do this are on a kapchai...so much so that i look out more for kapchais than i do cars especially in traffic jams. if these riders with their open face MS88 helmets cant even notice loud exhausts, u really cant expect ppl in an enclosed - somewhat sound insulated, has other internal environmental noises (like radio n aircond) - enclosure to notice u or ur exhaust. so like i said.. the physics dont make sense.

as for blipping, if u have to blip, ur already too close n obviously they didnt notice u (or ur loud exhaust) BEFORE u arrived... which is the whole argument of "loud pipe saves lives".

problem with this is also that these "results" (both believers and non believers' claims) are not repeatable. waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyy too many variables to consider - different surrounding (internal/external) noise n noise levels, different car brand/types/models etc, different level of insulation, different person, different level of awareness, different urgency bla bla bla.

honestly, i think loud pipe saves lives is not something anyone should lean into. itll make u more complacent, gives u a false sense of security and less aware coz ur basically somewhat relying on that to help keep u safe as u expect ppl to hear u.

so as the saying goes, ride as if everyone (yes, everyone, including other bikes) are trying to kill u n ignore all other sayings that can make u complacent like the loud pipes argument.

so if u like loud exhaust, just say u like loud exhaust. no need to justify. if u get judged by some people... not their money.
genesiscopy
post Jun 14 2023, 04:14 PM

37 posts

I usually just go with 'you are invisible' route, so always plan ahead and slow down if there's any obstacles or 'potential' obstacles ahead since they can't see me.

Now i need to change my nick to John Cena.

49 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0669sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:53 AM