Bike Gear Talk, ATGATT? gloves, boots, pants etc.

lsm1991
post Jun 14 2023, 01:48 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 14 2023, 11:44 AM)
agreed.... exhaust upgrades are a vanitiy thing la... "loud pipes saves lives" is also just some crap someone came up with to justify having a loud exhaust...coz lets be honest.. the physics doesnt make sense.

mine oso i pasang coz i wanted to have the sound coz i love loud n rough sounding exhausts.

i did get a tune though but thats just mainly to ensure i didnt lean the bike out with the air filter + full system combo.

gained about 17bhp total (for about rm4K spent) but honestly, i cant tell the diff in before and after.

only diff i can tell is that the bike is more flickable coz the heavy stock exhaust system is gone.
To some extent i think you are more noticeable .... bought my bike with a cannon, effing loud and dont like it but i do notice, everything gives way. If they dont, blip sikit and they tend to do so
lsm1991
post Jun 14 2023, 04:21 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 14 2023, 03:57 PM)
everybody claims to "notice ppl giving way" or "ppl notice when im coming".

unfortunately that may only be placebo or even standard behaviour of drivers these days.....honestly...its placebo.

traffic around me has been the same before n after the exhaust (n my exhaust is loud n pops like crazy)....ppl still give way whether quiet or loud exhaust. of course i still have assholes who dont even notice im coming n just switch lanes... be it loud exhaust or stock... best part? most of the assholes that do this are on a kapchai...so much so that i look out more for kapchais than i do cars especially in traffic jams. if these riders with their open face MS88 helmets cant even notice loud exhausts, u really cant expect ppl in an enclosed - somewhat sound insulated, has other internal environmental noises (like radio n aircond) - enclosure to notice u or ur exhaust. so like i said.. the physics dont make sense.

as for blipping, if u have to blip, ur already too close n obviously they didnt notice u (or ur loud exhaust) BEFORE u arrived... which is the whole argument of "loud pipe saves lives".

problem with this is also that these "results" (both believers and non believers' claims) are not repeatable. waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyy too many variables to consider - different surrounding (internal/external) noise n noise levels, different car brand/types/models etc, different level of insulation, different person, different level of awareness, different urgency bla bla bla.

honestly, i think loud pipe saves lives is not something anyone should lean into. itll make u more complacent, gives u a false sense of security and less aware coz ur basically somewhat relying on that to help keep u safe as u expect ppl to hear u.

so as the saying goes, ride as if everyone (yes, everyone, including other bikes) are trying to kill u n ignore all other sayings that can make u complacent like the loud pipes argument.

so if u like loud exhaust, just say u like loud exhaust. no need to justify. if u get judged by some people... not their money.
hahaha not a bik fan of loud pipes... pekak tau.
lsm1991
post Jun 21 2023, 03:36 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jun 21 2023, 02:59 PM)
A loud horn and bright auxiliary light will attract attention more than a loud exhaust.
but aux lights legal x? or long as its off all close one eye kinda thing?
nak selit during jam, i should really consider aux lights, those stand out

This post has been edited by lsm1991: Jun 21 2023, 03:37 PM
lsm1991
post Jun 21 2023, 03:42 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jun 21 2023, 03:41 PM)
Not legal.. only your bike stock form is legal, but these days it's considered a lesser "sin" compare to loud exhaust and license plate.

Pay summon vs your life.. I rather pay...
haiyah... ok noted, aux lights i had intended to pasang, i guess it just means i have to hide them somewhere stockish looking

lsm1991
post Jun 21 2023, 03:50 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jun 21 2023, 03:49 PM)
Ensure you off it while going through roadblock-prone areas such as the Toll Plaza/Lorong Motorsikal, then after clearing.. on back.

Usually, I turn on my aux light when the traffic is heavy, lots of cars are present, and during bad weather, so it is not the whole time.. just pity your Stator coil, battery and ignition system.. some LEDs can draw lots of current if not regulated.
ah noted thumbup.gif
lsm1991
post Jan 29 2024, 09:38 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(bo093 @ Jan 29 2024, 07:18 AM)
Any inputs?
That's all I need to know.
Budget is an issue, just that with motowolf, rockbiker, star field, benkia and etc.
Are they all the same or is there one better than the other? Might as well ask around.

Helmet wise I'm lock into KYT TT and getting pin lock as well.
Thanks for the input.
Will look into Shark Ridill.
another helmet thats comparable, hjc c10, similar featureset, less colorful. if u like colors, then another option is bilmola.
lsm1991
post Jan 29 2024, 02:29 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jan 29 2024, 12:48 PM)
I think HJC C10 is a new generation of helmet with ECE 22.06 certification. RRP starts at RM5xx. Safety on par with Arai Quantic and Shoei NXR2 yo!
tried it that day, for the money cant complain. relatively modern, covers all the basics. best to go try the helmets ur interested in if ur in no rush to get it.
lsm1991
post Feb 4 2024, 11:45 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Feb 2 2024, 10:48 PM)
Damn man rarely do bikes end up in that good of a condition after crashing off the road into grass. Did you try to lean more when you realized you had underestimated the corner? For cornering do you lean in or do you corner with body upright type? Glad you're ok but damn your new helmet sakit hati sial.

Change sliders and bar end weights then the bike is as good as new laugh.gif

Wonder if it's an MT09 would it had cracked the frame in this type of accident hmm.gif
Not likely to fail so easily lah. Got a few fellas lowside or target fixate into ditches, no issue rim, tank all mangled. That said, one middle eastern fella, dont know what brand sider, looked quite long, whole thing just twist, that one frame patah, so not to say its wont ever happen. Lowside and slide i think will be fine... if it flips, then i have no confidence it will stay in one piece lel.
most of the images you see circulating, for some reason the engine mounting bolt is missing, even the tracer that snapped on genting recently. it didnt sheer cause u can see the engine block side, langsung no bolt in there

back to topic, helmets with rash like that, not safe to use again kan? best to change?
lsm1991
post Feb 5 2024, 10:28 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Feb 4 2024, 02:49 PM)
I'm still using it  laugh.gif

Felt the inner padding and didnt feel anything funny
no dent on the outer shell also, just the scratch marks

hmm.gif
its the eps layer kan that needs to be looked at?
lsm1991
post Feb 6 2024, 10:47 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Feb 6 2024, 07:19 AM)
Check tyre pressure as well.

I know one rider never check tyre air pressure for 4 months until he sees the tyre on low pressure ( flatten), then only he will check.
thats sort of me....... semalam found my front and backs at 12-15bar, only checked cause i realize didnt check pressure for a loooong time. it looked totally round and fine, imagine the heart attack i got.
lsm1991
post Feb 6 2024, 03:08 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Feb 6 2024, 02:58 PM)
That's very low pressure

After you mount on your bike,  I'm sure it will not be round anymore
for all i know the petrol station pump reading just read low, my pens showed bout 15-18... but i know my tool isn't very accurate.

i think the factory recommendation for the front and back is like 36/42
lsm1991
post Feb 28 2024, 02:55 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 28 2024, 04:25 AM)
I'm pretty much done with cfmoto/MForce also.

Minor mishap with the loaner CLX. A real stupid one at that. A minor lapse in good practice.

Sat on the bike ready to go out for dinner. Switched it on. Shows neutral. Pressed the starter. Bloody bike jumped forward. It was fucking in gear. Lost my balance and the bike fell on me. I mean WTF. That's a double failure.

Broken mirror..minor scuff on the bar end and exhaust heat shield. Nothing serious.

Nursing a bruised and slightly swollen palm from catching myself (I had not had my gloves on yet - was holding my gloves with my left hand, which is why I wasn't on the clutch like I usually do - was wanting to warm the bike up) and a slight bruise on my inner thigh from the bike falling in me.  Fortunately I had my riding pants (hip armour did its job) and boots on.

I'm returning the bike to cfmoto tmrw...regardless of if they had fixed my 800nk or not.
I was actually enjoying the CLX pretty much..but my soon to be posted 1000km review of the bike won't be so rosy now.

I've had hundreds of drops and falls off my dominar especially off road without getting hurt, except for DAY ONE practicing low speed maneuver (Ironically, at the exact same spot..slippery cement at my parking lot) ...and you know what, my dominar's mirrors are still fine save some scratches on the plastic back.
bangwall.gif

0.0311sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:52 AM