Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

47 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 >Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Windows 11, To be announce on 24 June 2021

views
     
PJng
post May 18 2022, 01:43 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
8,217 posts

Joined: Oct 2017


QUOTE(xxboxx @ May 17 2022, 08:31 PM)
I also have my Win license tied to my MS account so to reactivate is only pressing a button. I thought since I'm using all the other component back, Win will detect it as same PC. I guess they detect it on motherboard ID.
*
My current 10 years old pc, already replace all part except CPU and motherboard never replace, format several time using same windows 7 key to install windows 10
Never trigger reactivate again even on windows 10, nope i did not sign in ms account, use local account
FlierMate
post May 18 2022, 05:58 PM

Casual
***
Validating
483 posts

Joined: Nov 2020

Just got my Windows 11 Home Single Language today with new laptop!

I adjust the taskbar icon to the left, not feeling easy with centered taskbar. biggrin.gif

I set up my PIN for Windows, but after a security patch a short while later, it says I need to set up my PIN again -- not a friendly experience for me.

Anyway, my laptop is 12GB, but it says 2.1GB RAM is reserved, only 9.9GB usable. ranting.gif
Does anyone know why?

user posted image

This post has been edited by FlierMate: May 18 2022, 05:58 PM
PJng
post May 18 2022, 06:21 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
8,217 posts

Joined: Oct 2017


QUOTE(FlierMate @ May 18 2022, 05:58 PM)
Just got my Windows 11 Home Single Language today with new laptop!

I adjust the taskbar icon to the left, not feeling easy with centered taskbar.  biggrin.gif

I set up my PIN for Windows, but after a security patch a short while later, it says I need to set up my PIN again -- not a friendly experience for me.

Anyway, my laptop is 12GB, but it says 2.1GB RAM is reserved, only 9.9GB usable.  ranting.gif
Does anyone know why?

user posted image
*
Internal GPU using it?
FlierMate
post May 18 2022, 06:25 PM

Casual
***
Validating
483 posts

Joined: Nov 2020
QUOTE(PJng @ May 18 2022, 06:21 PM)
Internal GPU using it?
*
Yes. I just found it in BIOS setting can set UMA buffer size (factory default 2GB), after also asking a computer shop friend.

I might want to set it to 1GB only.
PJng
post May 18 2022, 06:35 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
8,217 posts

Joined: Oct 2017


QUOTE(FlierMate @ May 18 2022, 06:25 PM)
Yes. I just found it in BIOS setting can set UMA buffer size (factory default 2GB), after also asking a computer shop friend.

I might want to set it to 1GB only.
*
Form factor, row of c... what? Never seen it
FlierMate
post May 18 2022, 06:38 PM

Casual
***
Validating
483 posts

Joined: Nov 2020
QUOTE(PJng @ May 18 2022, 06:35 PM)
Form factor, row of c... what? Never seen it
*
I expand the window, the full sentence is "Form factor, row of chips", no idea what it is.
JonathanHanYT
post May 19 2022, 04:14 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
103 posts

Joined: Nov 2021
From: Penang, Malaysia


QUOTE(PJng @ May 18 2022, 06:21 PM)
Internal GPU using it?
*
Yes, AMD APU which has a integrated Radeon graphics shares some memory directly from the RAM to provide a “shared VRAM” feature. You can adjust it but it will also impact if you run any 3D games that required more GPU memory then it would apparently crash occasionally or not run-able or lagging. Since you have 12GB RAM, allocate 2GB or 4GB for the integrated Radeon graphics is strongly recommended. Most Windows application is working fine with 8GB RAM without causing any slow performance on your computer. Unless you are running on Adobe Premiere Pro or Autodesk AutoCAD application.
xxboxx
post May 20 2022, 11:48 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
*******
Senior Member
4,855 posts

Joined: Oct 2004
From: J@Y B33


QUOTE(soonwai @ May 18 2022, 12:27 AM)
Mine everything changed except PSU, keyboard, mouse & monitor so was afraid will burn the license but luckily still can use back. Quite generous this Microsoft. That license was originally activated Win 7 Pro OA from Lenovo Thinkcentre M73 (now using as Linux server). Then I use the license on my 7th gen i5 (fresh Win 7 Pro then upgrade Win 10 Pro) and now the new 12th gen (fresh install Win 11 Pro.)
*
I also have changed hardware 2 times, this is the third machine using the same license. Now really easy to move license between hardware.

QUOTE(PJng @ May 18 2022, 01:43 PM)
My current 10 years old pc, already replace all part except CPU and motherboard never replace, format several time using same windows 7 key to install windows 10
Never trigger reactivate again even on windows 10, nope i did not sign in ms account, use local account
*
So maybe really MS check only on the motherboard.
FlierMate
post May 22 2022, 03:03 PM

Casual
***
Validating
483 posts

Joined: Nov 2020
I don't like the taskbar and start menu style in Win11. Windows 10 is better, I like the old tiles.

How to hide the Recommended section in start menu, it is completely a waste (after I turn off recent files, it is still there).

user posted image
Human Nature
post May 22 2022, 10:55 PM

- student of human nature -
*********
All Stars
22,999 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
After several months of struggling with the inability to not combine icons at the taskbar, decided to install trial version of StartAllBack. Usability significantly improves back to pre-win 11.

This post has been edited by Human Nature: May 22 2022, 10:57 PM
Andrewtst
post May 23 2022, 01:10 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
*********
All Stars
26,819 posts

Joined: Jan 2009
From: Johor, Malaysia.


QUOTE(FlierMate @ May 18 2022, 06:25 PM)
Yes. I just found it in BIOS setting can set UMA buffer size (factory default 2GB), after also asking a computer shop friend.

I might want to set it to 1GB only.
*
If you don't have external GPU, you should not set as 1GB as it will impact to overall performance especially if you have higher resolution display.
Keep it 2 GB or higher 4 GB if this internal GPU is the only GPU you have now and using it.

QUOTE(FlierMate @ May 22 2022, 03:03 PM)
I don't like the taskbar and start menu style in Win11. Windows 10 is better, I like the old tiles.

How to hide the Recommended section in start menu, it is completely a waste (after I turn off recent files, it is still there).

user posted image
*
You can't total hide the recommendation section but in future Windows 11 (build 22H2) will let you reduce the recommendation.

22H2 is in beta testing now and it is near RTM now, means final is out soon by this year, tentative target release by October 2022.
Beside this new customization, more changes is coming for 22H2 which make Windows 11 even better and more complete product.

Start Menu Personalize in future Windows 11 build 22H2
user posted image

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 23 2022, 01:13 AM
Andrewtst
post May 23 2022, 01:19 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
*********
All Stars
26,819 posts

Joined: Jan 2009
From: Johor, Malaysia.


25120 - Dev Channel (18 May 2022)
  • interactive content on the desktop - search bar (A reboot is required after updating to this build to trigger this experience but please note that not all Windows Insiders will have this experience enabled even after reboot.)
  • New Sound Recorder. (released on 10 May for dev build)
https://blogs.windows.com/windows-insider/2...ew-build-25120/

user posted image

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 23 2022, 01:31 AM
JonathanHanYT
post May 25 2022, 11:46 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
103 posts

Joined: Nov 2021
From: Penang, Malaysia


New Sound Recorder look nicer.
khanming
post May 28 2022, 02:23 AM

Getting Started
**
Validating
67 posts

Joined: Nov 2017
....

This post has been edited by khanming: May 28 2022, 02:21 PM
TMA_Talks P
post May 28 2022, 03:42 PM

New Member
*
Probation
10 posts

Joined: May 2022
I'm thinking of upgrading the Windows 11 Home license that I have with this new laptop to Pro license, would that be a good idea?
soonwai
post Jun 2 2022, 10:30 PM


*******
Senior Member
8,669 posts

Joined: Oct 2007
From: KL


QUOTE(TMA_Talks @ May 28 2022, 03:42 PM)
I'm thinking of upgrading the Windows 11 Home license that I have with this new laptop to Pro license, would that be a good idea?
*
Sure, Pro better than Home. One system feature I use from Pro version is Remote Desktop.
FlierMate1
post Jun 7 2022, 10:43 PM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
58 posts

Joined: Jun 2022
I read on Twitter that Windows 11 will be running on Apple M1 chip.
soonwai
post Jun 8 2022, 03:07 AM


*******
Senior Member
8,669 posts

Joined: Oct 2007
From: KL


QUOTE(FlierMate1 @ Jun 7 2022, 10:43 PM)
I read on Twitter that Windows 11 will be running on Apple M1 chip.
*
Win 10 ARM runs virtualised on the M1. I expect Win 11 ARM also can.
akhito
post Jun 10 2022, 11:40 AM

Casual
***
Junior Member
301 posts

Joined: Jul 2016


folder preview and drag and drop will be finally back in 22H2.
typical of we take then user bising ok we give back
Andrewtst
post Jun 10 2022, 09:54 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
*********
All Stars
26,819 posts

Joined: Jan 2009
From: Johor, Malaysia.


Dev Channel - 25136 (9 June 2022)

Main changes- File Explorer with Tabs

https://blogs.windows.com/windows-insider/2...ew-build-25136/

user posted image

47 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 >Top
 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0646sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th June 2022 - 02:19 PM