Unifi Internet stop working then pop up paynothing promo, TM Unifi make DC every 3 hours show Ads

TSPointOfSale
post Oct 25 2019, 12:17 AM, updated 7y ago

164 posts

Anyone facing this issue when suddenly you are browing your internet and playing games, your internet connection stop but IP stays the same, never dc and router never restart by its own

Opening chrome/IE/Firefox on PC and phone will bring and direct u to paynothing page

https://unifi.com.my/yearendpromoeligible

damn shit...after keep call and complain TM 100 line for 8th time and livechat 12th time, and keep spamming unifi FB...this problem arise.

This post has been edited by PointOfSale: Oct 29 2019, 12:11 AM
SilentVampire
post Oct 25 2019, 12:42 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(PointOfSale @ Oct 25 2019, 12:17 AM)
Anyone facing this issue when suddenly you are browing your internet and playing games, your internet connection stop but IP stays the same, never dc and router never restart by its own

Opening chrome/IE/Firefox on PC and phone will bring and direct u to paynothing page

damn shit...after keep call and complain TM 100 line for 8th time and livechat 12th time, and keep spamming unifi FB...this problem arise.
Time to change router and change DNS. Never had this issue.
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 25 2019, 01:02 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Oct 25 2019, 12:42 AM)
Time to change router and change DNS. Never had this issue.
using asus router 3x3 and using google dns la
soonwai
post Oct 25 2019, 01:58 AM

11,455 posts

Never heard of this before. Check that you've paid your bill.
acco2
post Oct 25 2019, 02:08 AM

32 posts

im same problem with u , with connect my phone keeep promt this and need press only can continue wifi access
soonwai
post Oct 25 2019, 02:14 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(acco2 @ Oct 25 2019, 02:08 AM)
im same problem with u , with connect my phone keeep promt this and need press only can continue wifi access
What router and what DNS are you using?
acco2
post Oct 25 2019, 02:23 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 25 2019, 02:14 AM)
What router and what DNS are you using?
mine is still the same Dlink DIR 850L
with 8.8.8.8

in this week start, randomly phone will force stop my internet and promtp this fking website, have to clcik and prompt another 1 blank plage with connectivityxxx only can access back internet.
totally A Rogue act
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 25 2019, 03:37 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(acco2 @ Oct 25 2019, 02:08 AM)
not only phone, same goes to pc..jz now playing dota 2 suddenly internet stop for 10 seconds, tot line dc..so i open chrome n type google...direct to paynothing page...then go inside router..no error n ip never change . use phone .wifi top bar prompt no internet connection but show paynothing picture..after 10 seconds google back to normal . ..router log shows nothing

dota 2 dc . me rampage n owning got dc...haizz

same shit just like me..its like using free public wifi when connected to it then pop up a page asking u to login ...exactly the same like u connected to home wifi...but the internet connection get disconnected..ur phone wifi top menu bar will show, no internet connection when u click on it..it dorrct u to router page 192.168.1.1

.im not using tm router n using google dns.

i knew ppl facing this issue

This post has been edited by PointOfSale: Oct 25 2019, 03:49 AM
yhcyber
post Oct 25 2019, 03:44 AM

482 posts

Nope, nothing changed before and after

Will keep monitoring on this
Buffalo Soldier
post Oct 25 2019, 03:49 AM

444 posts

Nothing like this happened yet. But thanks for the heads up.

But this is so wrong. It's like man in the middle attack. It should be illegal for an ISP to do this kind of things.
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 25 2019, 03:51 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(Buffalo Soldier @ Oct 25 2019, 03:49 AM)
Nothing like this happened yet. But thanks for the heads up.

But this is so wrong. It's like man in the middle attack. It should be illegal for an ISP to do this kind of things.
confirm i kena and they doin it..its like they are pushing advert to u
Buffalo Soldier
post Oct 25 2019, 03:55 AM

444 posts

If you are already using Google or CloudFlare DNS but still kena hijack... Could it be TM is using a transparent DNS proxy to capture all DNS (port 53) outgoing traffic?

If yes, should make consumer report.

https://www.dnsleaktest.com/what-is-transpa...-dns-proxy.html
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 25 2019, 05:13 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(Buffalo Soldier @ Oct 25 2019, 03:55 AM)
If you are already using Google or CloudFlare DNS but still kena hijack... Could it be TM is using a transparent DNS proxy to capture all DNS (port 53) outgoing traffic?

If yes, should make consumer report.

https://www.dnsleaktest.com/what-is-transpa...-dns-proxy.html
i still can go chat bate n pon hub ...they confirm hijack
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 25 2019, 06:12 AM

164 posts

happenned again...internet just freeze 15 second, press refresh blank page...then paynothing promo page appear...

tested with dnsleak..all google dns...whats wrong then
mamakap
post Oct 25 2019, 07:18 AM

403 posts

It happened to me too, now I m facing constant disconnects from Unifi this few days. I checked my router log, it seem TM Unifi disconnect every few hours. I need to report to TM unifi.

This post has been edited by mamakap: Oct 25 2019, 09:49 AM
acco2
post Oct 25 2019, 09:21 AM

32 posts

Use tm over 6 years this is first time feel dam bullshit, playing game force DC... Slow internet can endure, bull this totally can't tahan, mine is 100mb packages.
altuser
post Oct 25 2019, 09:22 AM

66 posts

I didn't notice my internet stopped working, but I often leave my PC to idle, so when I come back to my PC suddenly a new tab has opened in my Firefox browser and that ad is displayed.

Memang nak kena complain ni. How do I go about making an official complaint and to which authority should it be made?
xCryptik
post Oct 25 2019, 10:15 AM

584 posts

They can monitor all your usage even with different DNS usage.
But srsly they can't push those ads to force people to bind with 2 years unless those ads appear if you didn't pay your bill.
misspinky
post Oct 25 2019, 10:37 AM

309 posts

So, this problem for those already applied the promo? never got this problem. I used cloudflare dns, opendns and redtone dns. google dns never give me good response. TM again very itchy to change their concept of plan. I'm waiting next movement from them early next year. They might change the price again. I wonder they will came out again new price for speed 100Mbps above.
Newt0n
post Oct 25 2019, 10:59 AM

56 posts

This exact same thing happened to me. Intrusive pop up one thing, connection freeze another thing. Moving house soon, bye bye TMNut.

Using Google DNS BTW.

This post has been edited by Newt0n: Oct 25 2019, 11:00 AM
klckm88
post Oct 25 2019, 12:16 PM

71 posts

I also facing this issue since oct 22,everynight when i play LOL, confirmed will get disconnected for 15 seconds and then chrome will pop-up automatically and displays the advertisement. Taught my pc is infected, scan pc but get nothing
Invince_Z
post Oct 25 2019, 12:38 PM

!M4 !3eY0nC! 1337!!!!
2,748 posts

QUOTE(klckm88 @ Oct 25 2019, 12:16 PM)
I also facing this issue since oct 22,everynight when i play LOL, confirmed will get disconnected for 15 seconds and then chrome will pop-up automatically and displays the advertisement. Taught my pc is infected, scan pc but get nothing
lol sea or na?
klckm88
post Oct 25 2019, 01:56 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Invince_Z @ Oct 25 2019, 12:38 PM)
lol sea or na?

Sea
iguana_dude_619
post Oct 25 2019, 04:13 PM

Xbox GT, PSN & Steam ID: iguanadude626
1,141 posts

Nope never kena. is it cause i apply for paynothing offer. deswai got exempted hmm.gif
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 25 2019, 07:03 PM

164 posts

User already start complain in unifi fb about this issue
acco2
post Oct 26 2019, 09:54 PM

32 posts

U can see, my wifi is connect, but game force disconnected

TSPointOfSale
post Oct 26 2019, 10:00 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(acco2 @ Oct 26 2019, 09:54 PM)
U can see, my wifi is connect, but game force disconnected

same la

TM purposely disconnect ur internet..then IP change already to show you advertisement. I play dota 2 also dc
klckm88
post Oct 26 2019, 11:29 PM

71 posts

Until now the issue still persists,keeping get disconnect and popup the advertisement,is so annoying,dunno if lodge a complain to live chat works or not..
PJng
post Oct 26 2019, 11:35 PM

12,039 posts

Pop up random time?
I did not apply paynothing, not yet see it happen
klckm88
post Oct 26 2019, 11:45 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Oct 26 2019, 11:35 PM)
Pop up random time?
I did not apply paynothing, not yet see it happen
yes is random,normally after 2-3 hours will sure disconnect and popup will sure come
blackbox14
post Oct 27 2019, 01:23 AM

346 posts

Interesting issue. I've had weird disconnects in my router's log lately that come pretty much on-schedule every 2 or 3 hours like in this thread, but I've not seen this popup ad.

The disconnects started happening around the same time as the ads in this thread reported too.

EDIT: It's definitely not my router, because the system log list would be reset as well. After the disconnect, IP address changes. So it's either a BTU problem or I'm being affected by this ad.

This post has been edited by blackbox14: Oct 27 2019, 01:32 AM
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 27 2019, 06:09 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(klckm88 @ Oct 26 2019, 11:45 PM)
yes is random,normally after 2-3 hours will sure disconnect and popup will sure come
yes every 2 3 hours...cant online game coz sure dc
island
post Oct 27 2019, 06:29 AM

1,731 posts

sound familiar, like some script monkey is hijacking the router or either it's isp monkey business, saw the same issues in streamyx long time ago. because it's static ip address, easy target lol. So, try to disbale some access control services in your router, better reset your router first, disable TELNET, remote access and anything you not using it like ftp etc etc. some serious things in router access controls serives. damn, internet security forensics lol.

take a moment checking this https://www.f-secure.com/en/web/labs_global/router-checker

just check it out, it's your router in the list of security risks of back door. many router firmware not updated for years!

This post has been edited by island: Oct 27 2019, 06:44 AM
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 27 2019, 06:44 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(island @ Oct 27 2019, 06:29 AM)
sound familiar, like some script monkey is hijacking the router or either it's isp monkey business, saw the same issues in streamyx long time ago. because it's static ip address, easy target lol. So, try to disbale some access control services in your router, better reset your router first, disable TELNET, remote access and anything you not using it like ftp etc etc. some serious things in router access controls serives. damn, internet security forensics lol.

take a moment checking this https://www.f-secure.com/en/web/labs_global/router-checker
all secure la...still getting it ..unifi problem
soonwai
post Oct 27 2019, 07:03 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(klckm88 @ Oct 25 2019, 12:16 PM)
What router are you using?

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Oct 27 2019, 01:23 AM)
Interesting issue. I've had weird disconnects in my router's log lately that come pretty much on-schedule every 2 or 3 hours like in this thread, but I've not seen this popup ad.

The disconnects started happening around the same time as the ads in this thread reported too.

EDIT: It's definitely not my router, because the system log list would be reset as well. After the disconnect, IP address changes. So it's either a BTU problem or I'm being affected by this ad.
The disconnect/reconnect happens rarely. Not sure why. Sometime they're so frequent that the internet will be unusable. Here's an example from a few days ago.
Each of the above is an IP address change cause by pppoe reconnecting. Why it is doing it, I don't know.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Oct 27 2019, 07:08 AM
island
post Oct 27 2019, 09:11 AM

1,731 posts

TM router came with many hidden settings. also clear the cache ARP table
soonwai
post Oct 27 2019, 09:31 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(island @ Oct 27 2019, 09:11 AM)
TM router came with many hidden settings. also clear the cache ARP table
Why clear ARP? Are you sure you know what you are talking about?

And how do you that? For which TM router?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Oct 27 2019, 09:32 AM
blackbox14
post Oct 27 2019, 11:25 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 27 2019, 07:03 AM)
The disconnect/reconnect happens rarely. Not sure why. Sometime they're so frequent that the internet will be unusable. Here's an example from a few days ago.
Each of the above is an IP address change cause by pppoe reconnecting. Why it is doing it, I don't know.
Mine has been going since the 25th. Still going on today and consistently every 3 hours. Here's bits of the log each time the IP address changes.

2019-10-27 04:06:42 nat[22292]: <6> 211501 Initialization succeeded
2019-10-27 04:06:41 nat[22292]: <6> 211501 Initialization succeeded
2019-10-27 07:06:50 nat[2477]: <6> 211501 Initialization succeeded
2019-10-27 07:06:49 nat[2477]: <6> 211501 Initialization succeeded
2019-10-27 10:06:59 nat[12578]: <6> 211501 Initialization succeeded
2019-10-27 10:06:58 nat[12578]: <6> 211501 Initialization succeeded

The addresses have also not switched from a certain range.

This might be a separate problem entirely though, so I'll open a new thread on it.
soonwai
post Oct 27 2019, 11:46 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Oct 27 2019, 11:25 AM)
Mine has been going since the 25th. Still going on today and consistently every 3 hours. Here's bits of the log each time the IP address changes.

2019-10-27 04:06:42 nat[22292]: <6> 211501 Initialization succeeded
2019-10-27 04:06:41 nat[22292]: <6> 211501 Initialization succeeded
2019-10-27 07:06:50 nat[2477]: <6> 211501 Initialization succeeded
2019-10-27 07:06:49 nat[2477]: <6> 211501 Initialization succeeded
2019-10-27 10:06:59 nat[12578]: <6> 211501 Initialization succeeded
2019-10-27 10:06:58 nat[12578]: <6> 211501 Initialization succeeded

The addresses have also not switched from a certain range.

This might be a separate problem entirely though, so I'll open a new thread on it.
Better report to TM. Try your best to explain. For this type of problem, it's really difficult to get through to them. 2 years ago I had the same problem in my shop in Bangi for about 3 weeks. The router is Mikrotik. Off and on, its PPPoE would disconnect and reconnect, sometimes 4-5 times in a row, multiple times a day. It wasn't critical, I dillydallied and by the time I got the router logs to make a report to TM, it stopped.

Yeah, different problem altogether.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Oct 27 2019, 11:47 AM
neogeocdz
post Oct 27 2019, 07:47 PM

698 posts

Same issue here, is this done by Unifi on purpose, or they actually got hacked? If they do this on purpose this is very shady, annoying and unprofessional.
kokill
post Oct 27 2019, 08:40 PM

170 posts

Recently also got this message
Feel my home fiber become like commercial WIFI ==''
neogeocdz
post Oct 27 2019, 09:03 PM

698 posts

Their FB page is starting to have people complaining about it, I think they did it on a large scale, flooding everyone with pop-up ad and stopping internet. This feels more like a hacker job, than a moronic ad-campaign.
koopa
post Oct 27 2019, 09:41 PM

594 posts

Holy shit. I kena this also. Keep dc everyday. Then this 2 days i got this popup
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 27 2019, 09:44 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(neogeocdz @ Oct 27 2019, 09:03 PM)
Their FB page is starting to have people complaining about it, I think they did it on  a large scale, flooding everyone with pop-up ad and stopping internet. This feels more like a hacker job, than a moronic ad-campaign.
can post the FB screenshot here? They block me coz i keep complain in their fb page
noctngu
post Oct 27 2019, 09:44 PM

21 posts

ME TOO! happening since early this week, literally happened two times already just tonight

TSPointOfSale
post Oct 27 2019, 09:45 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(noctngu @ Oct 27 2019, 09:44 PM)
ME TOO! happening since early this week, literally happened two times already just tonight

do your responsibility and post it in FB unifi page la
neogeocdz
post Oct 27 2019, 10:00 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(PointOfSale @ Oct 27 2019, 09:45 PM)
do your responsibility and post it in FB unifi page la
Yea, I just did.
They ask me to PM my ID to them, but when I did, they ignored me.
They have always been pretty terrible, but this one is almost a moronic show-off on how they can intrude into our privacy, and show us ad.
ohp201711 P
post Oct 28 2019, 12:24 AM

Probation

Same here, been getting constant dc and promotion when connecting back. Since 27th OCT midnight. Checked twitter etc, complained, they just ask for account verification and it doesn't solve anything. Isn't this illegal for them to hijack ur browser ?
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 28 2019, 01:04 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(ohp201711 @ Oct 28 2019, 12:24 AM)
Same here, been getting constant dc and promotion when connecting back. Since 27th OCT midnight. Checked twitter etc, complained, they just ask for account verification and it doesn't solve anything. Isn't this illegal for them to hijack ur browser ?

post your problem in unii fb n let user aware
reddevils500
post Oct 28 2019, 03:24 AM

182 posts

Oct 28 02:23:21 daemon.notice: pppd[]: Modem hangup
Oct 28 02:23:20 daemon.notice: pppd[]: Connection terminated.
Oct 28 02:23:17 daemon.info: pppd[]: Connect time 180.0 minutes.
Oct 28 02:23:17 daemon.info: pppd[]: LCP terminated by peer
Oct 28 02:12:20 user.warn: kernel: wlan0: Open and authenticated

Looks like I'm not the only one. Internet kept DC every 3 hours.
But I don't have this ads though.

TM really needs to stop this intrusive ads. Need to report this to MCMC.
blackbox14
post Oct 28 2019, 04:45 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(reddevils500 @ Oct 28 2019, 03:24 AM)

Your case is like mine. No ads appear, and not as easy to solve.

Other thread has people saying that they did port reset and the DC and ads stopped for them. Did not work for me.

As a note, I have a friend who stays in my neighborhood (within 500m of my house), and one who stays a bit further out. Neither of them have this issue.

I'm also adding here that my ONU/BTU is the Alcatel one (silver unit), and my router is Archer C7 v4.

This post has been edited by blackbox14: Oct 28 2019, 04:49 AM
SUSraynman
post Oct 28 2019, 06:48 AM

4,333 posts

Funny, I have not encountered this problem with my Unifi.

I am on OpenDNS and my YEP submission is not activated yet.

Are those who encountered this problem on YEP already?
SUSraynman
post Oct 28 2019, 06:54 AM

4,333 posts

My router has been up continuously for 45 days already with absolutely no issues at all.

I am on 300Mbps Turbo Upgrade 2018.

This post has been edited by raynman: Oct 28 2019, 06:55 AM

Buffalo Soldier
post Oct 28 2019, 07:04 AM

444 posts

For those affected... have you tried DNS over HTTPS (DOH) or DNS over TLS (DOT)?

When you use that... any difference?
altuser
post Oct 28 2019, 07:31 AM

66 posts

What's funny is I'm on the 500Mbps Turbo Upgrade, so my package doesn't even qualify for their promo since it's only for packages up to 300Mbps, yet I'm getting spammed by this stupid ad.
SUSraynman
post Oct 28 2019, 08:18 AM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(altuser @ Oct 28 2019, 07:31 AM)
What's funny is I'm on the 500Mbps Turbo Upgrade, so my package doesn't even qualify for their promo since it's only for packages up to 300Mbps, yet I'm getting spammed by this stupid ad.
That is not true. You can redeem your 500 Mbps Turbo Upgrade package to YEP using Self-Care (Web). No change in price and specification.

reddevils500
post Oct 28 2019, 09:11 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Oct 28 2019, 06:54 AM)
My router has been up continuously for 45 days already with absolutely no issues at all.

That is if you don't reset your router.

I had no problem at all (my connection was 57 days) until a power outage happened in my area yesterday afternoon, turning off my router. Once the power is back, this 3 hrs DC happened.

This post has been edited by reddevils500: Oct 28 2019, 09:12 AM
SUSraynman
post Oct 28 2019, 09:13 AM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(reddevils500 @ Oct 28 2019, 09:11 AM)

I had no problem at all (my connection was 57 days) until a power outage happened in my area yesterday afternoon, turning off my router. Once the power is back, this 3 hrs DC happened.
Well. my system log shows no disconnections at all. smile.gif

blackbox14
post Oct 28 2019, 09:57 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(Buffalo Soldier @ Oct 28 2019, 07:04 AM)
For those affected... have you tried DNS over HTTPS (DOH) or DNS over TLS (DOT)?

How do I go about doing this?

This issue started for me after I restarted my router some time last week, so that might be it. TM actually has a record of when the disconnecting started for every affected account, but it seems they're denying all responsibility or have no idea what their administration team did.

The support staff are quick to blame it on me and mention potential charges instead of thoroughly investigating their side first. I'm not sure what good sending technicians here is going to do at all.
SUSraynman
post Oct 28 2019, 10:14 AM

4,333 posts

So this thing happens AFTER your router is rebooted?

I'll make sure mine doesn't. Haha!
dayojah
post Oct 28 2019, 10:22 AM

1,276 posts

I've not seen this advert, but have had freezing Internet sporadically since last week
SUSCrimsonKing
post Oct 28 2019, 10:48 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(dayojah @ Oct 28 2019, 10:22 AM)
I've not seen this advert, but have had freezing Internet sporadically since last week
Weird. I don't have this freezing problem. Everything is normal. No disconnections. No ads. smile.gif

island
post Oct 28 2019, 11:07 AM

1,731 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Oct 28 2019, 09:57 AM)
This issue started for me after I restarted my router some time last week, so that might be it. TM actually has a record of when the disconnecting started for every affected account, but it seems they're denying all responsibility or have no idea what their administration team did.

The support staff are quick to blame it on me and mention potential charges instead of thoroughly investigating their side first. I'm not sure what good sending technicians here is going to do at all.
site allowance rclxm9.gif
Schadenfreude
post Oct 28 2019, 11:16 AM

27 posts

Popping in to add to the chorus of voices. I have had the ads occasionally, even with Cloudflare/Google DNS set on the router level and my own router, but the regular disconnects every 3 hours is what's getting me. Internet should not be disconnecting regularly every 3 hours on the dot, really. I can't say for certain but this DC issue, and a number of other online gaming-related issues (rampant connection errors in Destiny 2, for instance) did start to become a real problem after a power loss last week... anecdotal, but might lend more credence to the theory of a router power cycle causing it. Thing is, I changed routers in the meantime and it's solved some issues but these ones remain frustratingly present.

Anybody had any success talking to TM about this?

This post has been edited by Schadenfreude: Oct 28 2019, 11:21 AM
soonwai
post Oct 28 2019, 12:59 PM

11,455 posts

Yeah, damn TM support is always like that. They always blame the customer first. Real stupid. I guess it works with laypeople.

But back to the 3hr DC issue, this is definitely a TM problem. It sounds like someone at TM accidentally configured 3hours for the pppoe session time. If you were connected before they configured it and you don't disconnect then you'll be fine but as soon as you disconnect and reconnect, the new session time comes into effect.

I haven't seen it myself yet and neither has my neighbours so it's limited to affected pppoe concentrators. Maybe post your location or, if possible, pppoe server id if it's happening to you.

For example, mine is ibse01.bgi which is Bangi. You may see this in your router logs. On Mikrotik routers, it's in PPPoE status.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Oct 28 2019, 04:29 PM
Schadenfreude
post Oct 28 2019, 01:14 PM

27 posts

I'm in Kelana Jaya, for the record. Can't seem to find the pppoe server id in my ASUS router logs though, although maybe I'm not looking in the right spots...

This post has been edited by Schadenfreude: Oct 28 2019, 01:14 PM
Buffalo Soldier
post Oct 28 2019, 01:26 PM

444 posts

https://www.linuxbabe.com/ubuntu/ubuntu-stubby-dns-over-tls

I have not been affected yet... But I have been using DOT since I visited this thread as extra safety/privacy precaution. So far seems OK.

If for Ubuntu got, for sure other OS mesti ada.
blackbox14
post Oct 28 2019, 01:49 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 28 2019, 12:59 PM)
Yeah, damn TM support is always like that. They always blame the customer first. Real stupid. I guess it works with laypeople.

But back to the 3hr DC issue, this is definitely a TM problem. It sounds like someone at TM accidentally configured 3hours for the pppoe lease time. If you were connected before they configured it and you don't disconnect then you'll be fine but as soon as you disconnect and reconnect, the new lease time comes into effect.

I haven't seen it myself yet and neither has my neighbours so it's limited to affected pppoe concentrators. Maybe post your location or, if possible, pppoe server id if it's happening to you.

For example, mine is ibse01.bgi which is Bangi. You may see this in your router logs. On Mikrotik routers, it's in PPPoE status.
QUOTE(Schadenfreude @ Oct 28 2019, 01:14 PM)
I'm in Kelana Jaya, for the record. Can't seem to find the pppoe server id in my ASUS router logs though, although maybe I'm not looking in the right spots...
Yeah, my friends in the area have not disconnected and I have warned them not to disconnect until the problem is solved.

I can't find the pppoe ID entry in my logs either. But like Schadenfreude, I'm in Kelana Jaya.

QUOTE(Buffalo Soldier @ Oct 28 2019, 01:26 PM)
https://www.linuxbabe.com/ubuntu/ubuntu-stubby-dns-over-tls

I have not been affected yet... But I have been using DOT since I visited this thread as extra safety/privacy precaution. So far seems OK.

If for Ubuntu got, for sure other OS mesti ada.
Thanks. I did try to use Cloudflare DNS which has DNS over https and DNS over TLS to no avail.

I don't think you need to worry as long as your pppoe stays connected. If you've restarted your network equipment in the past few days and are unaffected, then you're safe.
Schadenfreude
post Oct 28 2019, 02:06 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Oct 28 2019, 01:49 PM)
Yeah, my friends in the area have not disconnected and I have warned them not to disconnect until the problem is solved.

I can't find the pppoe ID entry in my logs either. But like Schadenfreude, I'm in Kelana Jaya.
Haha whereabouts in Kelana Jaya? Most of my friends have moved out of KJ or are still in KJ but completely technically unaware, so I haven't been able to check if it's location-specific.

Driving over and asking to check their router logs might be a bit much, really... haha.
alexleow81
post Oct 28 2019, 02:33 PM

Liverpool FC
2,782 posts

PC Kena virus la ni
neogeocdz
post Oct 28 2019, 03:36 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(Schadenfreude @ Oct 28 2019, 11:16 AM)
Popping in to add to the chorus of voices. I have had the ads occasionally, even with Cloudflare/Google DNS set on the router level and my own router, but the regular disconnects every 3 hours is what's getting me. Internet should not be disconnecting regularly every 3 hours on the dot, really. I can't say for certain but this DC issue, and a number of other online gaming-related issues (rampant connection errors in Destiny 2, for instance) did start to become a real problem after a power loss last week... anecdotal, but might lend more credence to the theory of a router power cycle causing it. Thing is, I changed routers in the meantime and it's solved some issues but these ones remain frustratingly present.

They did not get back, I've contacted them since yesterday.
I've filed a complain here anyway https://aduan.skmm.gov.my/
What they did is just too moronic.

Today they inject an Ad into our face, what are they going to do tomorrow?
Take over our PC to mine bitcoin?? Scan our HD and sell the findings for targeted Ad??
This is too moronic.

I have my Skype call & even Offline game disrupted just because they want to show that bloody Ad.
This feels like 1992 when I'm watching TV2.
reddevils500
post Oct 28 2019, 04:12 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Oct 28 2019, 10:14 AM)
So this thing happens AFTER your router is rebooted?

I'll make sure mine doesn't. Haha!
Just pray your area doesn't get hit by the power outage. Or else goodbye to your unlimited Internet time. tongue.gif
soonwai
post Oct 28 2019, 04:30 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(alexleow81 @ Oct 28 2019, 02:33 PM)
PC Kena virus la ni
Also possible to cause the same symptoms. But not the same cause.
Buffalo Soldier
post Oct 28 2019, 04:39 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Oct 28 2019, 01:49 PM)
I don't think you need to worry as long as your pppoe stays connected. If you've restarted your network equipment in the past few days and are unaffected, then you're safe.
I set my router to auto restart everyday at 5am.

To those affected... what's the common factor? Geographical location? Package? Modem/router brand?

This post has been edited by Buffalo Soldier: Oct 28 2019, 04:40 PM
neogeocdz
post Oct 28 2019, 04:54 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(Buffalo Soldier @ Oct 28 2019, 04:39 PM)
I set my router to auto restart everyday at 5am.

To those affected... what's the common factor? Geographical location? Package? Modem/router brand?
I think, suspect, its Firefox.
It get so annoying, I switch over to Yes 4G Wifi.
And my Firefox got triggered, does a TLS hanshake with Unifi / TM,
and behold the damn Unifi Ad appeared again.

I'm not even on Unifi network anymore, what have Unifi done to my PC?

This post has been edited by neogeocdz: Oct 28 2019, 04:55 PM
soonwai
post Oct 28 2019, 04:56 PM

11,455 posts

This router seems to be having recurring PPPoE disconnects for 2 days. But not 3 hr intervals. Shah Alam Sek 7. Concentrator: ibse02.klg
It has stopped for now.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Oct 28 2019, 04:58 PM
blackbox14
post Oct 28 2019, 05:49 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(Schadenfreude @ Oct 28 2019, 02:06 PM)
Haha whereabouts in Kelana Jaya? Most of my friends have moved out of KJ or are still in KJ but completely technically unaware, so I haven't been able to check if it's location-specific.

Driving over and asking to check their router logs might be a bit much, really... haha.
I'm wary of mentioning specific area but I'm quite near to paradigm mall.

Just got an update from a friend nearby that his house also lost PPPoE connection. This person was one of the people I warned not to turn off or reset their network.

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 28 2019, 04:30 PM)
Also possible to cause the same symptoms. But not the same cause.
We can't dismiss the possibility that TM got hacked somehow. They seem completely clueless about all this, and it's within service provider SOP in Malaysia to keep the truth hidden.
Schadenfreude
post Oct 28 2019, 06:01 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Oct 28 2019, 05:49 PM)
As am I. Hmmm. I'll ask if any of my (few) friends closer to the Kampung Tunku area etc have been having issues, or if it's this particular area around Paradigm...

I didn't mean to snoop, was just trying to see how localised the issue is.

This post has been edited by Schadenfreude: Oct 28 2019, 06:04 PM
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 28 2019, 08:24 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(neogeocdz @ Oct 27 2019, 10:00 PM)
Yea, I just did.
They ask me to PM my ID to them, but when I did, they ignored me.
They have always been pretty terrible, but this one is almost a moronic show-off on how they can intrude into our privacy, and show us ad.
I already ask them to reset my port ( reset port actually does nothing by just restart the ip connection) which will do nothing and lodge a report for me . They never ask me anything.

The problem now, every 2 to 3 hours, Internet freeze 10 seconds with PC and phone or Ip change only or Ip change and unifi paynothing ad pops up. Confirm not BTU and router problem

Do you part by post in their unifi fb, i kena block by them already.

I already ask them to reset my port ( reset port actually does nothing by just restart the ip connection) which will do nothing and lodge a report for me . They never ask me anything.

The problem now, every 2 to 3 hours, Internet freeze 10 seconds with PC and phone or Ip change only or Ip change and unifi paynothing ad pops up. Confirm not BTU and router problem

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Oct 28 2019, 04:45 AM)
Your case is like mine. No ads appear, and not as easy to solve.

Other thread has people saying that they did port reset and the DC and ads stopped for them. Did not work for me.

As a note, I have a friend who stays in my neighborhood (within 500m of my house), and one who stays a bit further out. Neither of them have this issue.

I'm also adding here that my ONU/BTU is the Alcatel one (silver unit), and my router is Archer C7 v4.
Random user kena

QUOTE(raynman @ Oct 28 2019, 06:54 AM)

My asus router can up to 60 days in asus log but doesnt means Ip and ppoe never reconnect and change.

QUOTE(Buffalo Soldier @ Oct 28 2019, 07:04 AM)

How to use? teach and guide la.

They route u to DNS page and make u dc so u can watch the paynothing ad

SUSraynman
post Oct 28 2019, 08:30 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(PointOfSale @ Oct 28 2019, 08:24 PM)
My asus router can up to 60 days in asus log but doesnt means Ip and ppoe never reconnect and change.
How come my Unifi connection does not have this 3 hourly disconnection like yours?

My WAN IP address has not changed for 45 days.
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 28 2019, 08:39 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(dayojah @ Oct 28 2019, 10:22 AM)
Random user kena

QUOTE(Schadenfreude @ Oct 28 2019, 11:16 AM)

Random user kena

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 28 2019, 12:59 PM)

But back to the 3hr DC issue, this is definitely a TM problem. It sounds like someone at TM accidentally configured 3hours for the pppoe session time. If you were connected before they configured it and you don't disconnect then you'll be fine but as soon as you disconnect and reconnect, the new session time comes into effect.

COnlanfirm TM problem la.

QUOTE(Schadenfreude @ Oct 28 2019, 01:14 PM)
Only mikrotik got and also pfsense

QUOTE(neogeocdz @ Oct 28 2019, 03:36 PM)
They did not get back, I've contacted them since yesterday.
I've filed a complain here anyway https://aduan.skmm.gov.my/
What they did is just too moronic.

Today they inject an Ad into our face, what are they going to do tomorrow?
Take over our PC to mine bitcoin?? Scan our HD and sell the findings for targeted Ad??
This is too moronic.

I have my Skype call & even Offline game disrupted just because they want to show that bloody Ad.
This feels like 1992 when I'm watching TV2.
Random user kena

QUOTE(neogeocdz @ Oct 28 2019, 04:54 PM)
I think, suspect, its Firefox.
It get so annoying, I switch over to Yes 4G Wifi.
And my Firefox got triggered, does a TLS hanshake with Unifi / TM,
and behold the damn Unifi Ad appeared again.

I'm not even on Unifi network anymore, what have Unifi done to my PC?
you forgot to clear the browser cache. Perhaps Yes 4g is using TM unifi DNS or line as backbone

Random user kena

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Oct 28 2019, 05:49 PM)

Just got an update from a friend nearby that his house also lost PPPoE connection. This person was one of the people I warned not to turn off or reset their network.
We can't dismiss the possibility that TM got hacked somehow. They seem completely clueless about all this, and it's within service provider SOP in Malaysia to keep the truth hidden.
Not kena hack la.If kena hack wont put paynothing ad already la.

Random user kena

TSPointOfSale
post Oct 28 2019, 08:42 PM

164 posts

mylinear @mylinear

soonwai @soonwai

This user need your guide.

Who say cannot apply for 500 and 800 mbps? Both of them say can apply and able to apply. Anyway..user in unifi FB scold and report 100 /300/ 500/ 800 cannot apply as well. But @soonwai able to
LKokWei
post Oct 28 2019, 08:55 PM

29 posts

I'm having the same problem here Unifi disconnect and reconnect back every 3 hours after i restart my router since last week. I only notice after check my router system log. Not sure why and how it happened? I already lodge a report with CS, CS told me will send technician over for checking but RM53.00 inclusive SST will be charged to bill account if it is customer fault.

Between my area next to Kelana Jaya. I swapped all 3 router available at home ASUS, DLINK & TPLINK. All having the same symptoms. Disconnect and reconnect WAN IP address every 3 hours. No early or late, exactly 3 hours. Like someone setup it to renew IP address every 3 hours. I think it is TM Unifi fault.

This post has been edited by LKokWei: Oct 28 2019, 08:56 PM
Buffalo Soldier
post Oct 28 2019, 09:00 PM

444 posts

Same issue as this thread... maybe should merge? Hopefully get better exposure.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4655543/all
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 28 2019, 09:03 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(Buffalo Soldier @ Oct 28 2019, 09:00 PM)
Same issue as this thread... maybe should merge? Hopefully get better exposure.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4655543/all
Dont merge... Yours altho similiar but different ..something like dns redirect or inject...and it has being solved

this topic problem is different... TM disconnect user every 2 3 hours to show advertisement
neogeocdz
post Oct 28 2019, 09:09 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(PointOfSale @ Oct 28 2019, 09:03 PM)
Dont merge... Yours altho similiar but different ..something like dns redirect or inject...and it has being solved
this topic problem is different... TM disconnect user every 2 3 hours to show advertisement
I deleted Firefox, the disconnect still happened, but Ad is not triggered anymore.
On another PC that I still have Firefox installed, same issues.

Unifi responded and said that their technician has looked at the issue (Whatever that means),
and asked me whether issues persist.
It still does. Gosh, this is frustrating.
Mr.7
post Oct 28 2019, 09:14 PM

1,242 posts

Faced this issue as well, but following the troubleshoot at other forum, the ad does not show up now. Changed to cloudfare dns. Hopefully it wont occur again
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 28 2019, 09:17 PM

164 posts

Still dc but no advert pop up

but now 210.187.223.254 exchange or server got time out issue...

u guys using what ip server? ur own ip then to exchange server ip?
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 28 2019, 09:21 PM

164 posts

Tulan..now keep timeout....cannot play online games

Time to bring out my IBM server Pfsense firewall router with load balancing triple play , UNIFI, TIME and maxis mobile line
blackbox14
post Oct 28 2019, 09:26 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(PointOfSale @ Oct 28 2019, 08:39 PM)
Not kena hack la.If kena hack wont put paynothing ad already la.

Random user kena

I understand you're frustrated, but was it really necessary to multi quote me with the same copypasta reply and demand people to post on fb?

Anyone who has contacted TM is doing their part already.

Also anything is possible until TM reveals the cause. I need only point you to the CIMB Clicks incident that happened several months ago where they were hacked. They still never admitted to it.

Let's just try to keep people updated on the issue here first and foremost.
neogeocdz
post Oct 28 2019, 09:27 PM

698 posts

QUOTE(Mr.7 @ Oct 28 2019, 09:14 PM)
Faced this issue as well, but following the troubleshoot at other forum, the ad does not show up now. Changed to cloudfare dns. Hopefully it wont occur again
I am on Cloudfare DNS, it didn't help at all.
soonwai
post Oct 28 2019, 10:23 PM

11,455 posts

Regarding the 3hr disconnect problem, I bet it's because TM installed a new PPPoE Concentrator and its defaults for PPP Session Time is 10800 secs.

Or some intern at TM thought it would be a good idea to change it to that.

QUOTE(neogeocdz @ Oct 28 2019, 09:27 PM)
I am on Cloudfare DNS, it didn't help at all.
The paynothing ad problem is not due to DNS. I'm quite sure of that but I can't check further as my area is not affected by it. If it happens, it'll happen with any router.
soonwai
post Oct 28 2019, 10:35 PM

11,455 posts

Should be no problem for Turbo500 to get it.

1. Sign-in to unifi.com.my
2. Click the paynothing banner (the small one above "Billing")
3. Scroll down to "How to enjoy promotion?"
4. Under "Existing Customer" ,click "via self-care"
5. Hopefully under "Select any of the eligible plans below for redemption", you'll see your Turbo 500 package.
reddevils500
post Oct 28 2019, 11:20 PM

182 posts

Have to set 3hrs alarm countdown timer, 5mins before the DC, so that I know when to direct download or doing online game stuffs after the reconnection.

This post has been edited by reddevils500: Oct 28 2019, 11:20 PM
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 28 2019, 11:36 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(reddevils500 @ Oct 28 2019, 11:20 PM)
Have to set 3hrs alarm countdown timer, 5mins before the DC, so that I know when to direct download or doing online game stuffs after the reconnection.
wtf lol..
blackbox14
post Oct 28 2019, 11:38 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(LKokWei @ Oct 28 2019, 08:55 PM)
I'm having the same problem here Unifi disconnect and reconnect back every 3 hours after i restart my router since last week. I only notice after check my router system log. Not sure why and how it happened? I already lodge a report with CS, CS told me will send technician over for checking but RM53.00 inclusive SST will be charged to bill account if it is customer fault.

Between my area next to Kelana Jaya. I swapped all 3 router available at home ASUS, DLINK & TPLINK. All having the same symptoms. Disconnect and reconnect WAN IP address every 3 hours. No early or late, exactly 3 hours. Like someone setup it to renew IP address every 3 hours. I think it is TM Unifi fault.
So that makes you the 3rd Kelana Jaya user here. My issues also started since last week and I'm in the same area. And thanks for taking the time to test with different routers; I only have one on hand, so I wasn't able to do this.

The reply you got from TM was the same as mine. I plan to tell them off if they try to visit and blame me for it. They even had the balls to tell me to prepare to pay for a router replacement, lol.

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 28 2019, 10:23 PM)
Regarding the 3hr disconnect problem, I bet it's because TM installed a new PPPoE Concentrator and its defaults for PPP Session Time is 10800 secs.

Or some intern at TM thought it would be a good idea to change it to that.
And Deepavali was yesterday, so most of the staff are probably on vacation. We'll see if they start acting tomorrow, because it's the first working day since this issue has been mass reported.

I'll keep reporting here if I notice any changes, since it's confirmed my issue is somehow related to this despite the lack of popup ad. For now the disconnects remain consistent at 3 hours.
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 28 2019, 11:42 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Oct 28 2019, 11:38 PM)
So that makes you the 3rd Kelana Jaya user here. My issues also started since last week and I'm in the same area. And thanks for taking the time to test with different routers; I only have one on hand, so I wasn't able to do this.

The reply you got from TM was the same as mine. I plan to tell them off if they try to visit and blame me for it. They even had the balls to tell me to prepare to pay for a router replacement, lol.
And Deepavali was yesterday, so most of the staff are probably on vacation. We'll see if they start acting tomorrow, because it's the first working day since this issue has been mass reported.

I'll keep reporting here if I notice any changes, since it's confirmed my issue is somehow related to this despite the lack of popup ad. For now the disconnects remain consistent at 3 hours.
If this problem feature in LYN main page...TM unifi sure kecut
LeCpt_Nex P
post Oct 28 2019, 11:59 PM

Probation

I registered LYN just for this thread.

WTF Man. I thought i was the only one. Me and my housemates are both working from home , both IT in Network Engineering.

We got so frustrated last 2 days we ran troubleshooting.

And i can assist to confirm this is on TM side.

We ran 2 benchmark pc and 1 benchmark phone to help diagnose.
We ran cont-ping to our router gw , to the int-GW , to the WAN IP and 8.8.8.8

The moment the ping enter losses ( at least 3 ticks ) , our int-GW and WAN IP changes , and either 2 things will happen , our ping spikes or totally disconnected.

The Benchmark PCs one of them will receive "Log In Authentication" while the benchmark phone receives the login notification.

I have reported to TM , yet they are asking an Engineer to come over to my house when it has nothing to do with our router.
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 29 2019, 12:08 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(LeCpt_Nex @ Oct 28 2019, 11:59 PM)

WTF Man. I thought i was the only one. Me and my housemates are both working from home , both IT in Network Engineering.

The moment the ping enter losses ( at least 3 ticks ) , our int-GW and WAN IP changes , and either 2 things will happen , our ping spikes or totally disconnected.

The Benchmark PCs one of them will receive "Log In Authentication" while the benchmark phone receives the login notification.

I have reported to TM , yet they are asking an Engineer to come over to my house when it has nothing to do with our router.
Confirm TM unifi problem already set 3 hours disconnect interval and make user Disconnect and DNS inject show you the paypromo advertisement. Please go help post in Unifi FB as i kena ban buy them

Im using Server PfSense with triple play load balancing, Unifi just disconnect, using time fibre now with maxis mobile as back up. If triple play load balancing also DC, then nothing to say

This post has been edited by PointOfSale: Oct 29 2019, 12:10 AM
soonwai
post Oct 29 2019, 03:29 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(LeCpt_Nex @ Oct 28 2019, 11:59 PM)

Which area? Also Kelana Jaya? What's the ID for the pppoe concentrator?

Just to clarify, which problem are you facing??

This post has been edited by soonwai: Oct 29 2019, 03:37 AM
altuser
post Oct 29 2019, 05:57 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 28 2019, 10:35 PM)
Should be no problem for Turbo500 to get it.

1. Sign-in to unifi.com.my
2. Click the paynothing banner (the small one above "Billing")
3. Scroll down to "How to enjoy promotion?"
4. Under "Existing Customer" ,click "via self-care"
5. Hopefully under "Select any of the eligible plans below for redemption", you'll see your Turbo 500 package.
Which is weird, because it's not in their T&C https://unifi.com.my/lsds/assets/documents/...gn_Consumer.pdf

Oh well.

island
post Oct 29 2019, 06:01 AM

1,731 posts

for a testing purposes. any of you having disconnected, sexy ads popup. try to install a kind of app to simulate [web] surfing in an interval, tell the isp system you're on web browsing. I see same issues in western world too, the isp managing the bandwidth usage. does you know to show you an ads other than what you're surfing. it;s illegal activities. for it to work, the person in the middle have to hijackings the tcp package and modify and injects replace with harmful data, most firewall at end user can detects the change. long story...

This post has been edited by island: Oct 29 2019, 06:02 AM
altuser
post Oct 29 2019, 06:02 AM

66 posts

Sorry for double post, I can't seem to edit my previous one (maybe because I'm still probie status?)

Something else to ponder about those who are affected and those who aren't: are you still contracted with TM?

I'm wondering if they're targeting people whose contracts have expired or are about to expire. When I upgraded to Turbo500 I opted to not renew my contract (expired some years ago).

I think TM is being extremely aggressive at trying to get their customers to renew their contract, but this is definitely not winning me over.
SUSCrimsonKing
post Oct 29 2019, 06:14 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(raynman @ Oct 28 2019, 08:30 PM)
How come my Unifi connection does not have this 3 hourly disconnection like yours?

My WAN IP address has not changed for 45 days.
I never encountered this 3-hourly DC too.

I wonder what we did right. tongue.gif

island
post Oct 29 2019, 06:39 AM

1,731 posts

QUOTE(altuser @ Oct 29 2019, 06:02 AM)
Sorry for double post, I can't seem to edit my previous one (maybe because I'm still probie status?)

Something else to ponder about those who are affected and those who aren't: are you still contracted with TM?

I'm wondering if they're targeting people whose contracts have expired or are about to expire. When I upgraded to Turbo500 I opted to not renew my contract (expired some years ago).

I think TM is being extremely aggressive at trying to get their customers to renew their contract, but this is definitely not winning me over.
same thing happened in Streamyx age too. sweat.gif forced user to upgrades to higher packages
blackbox14
post Oct 29 2019, 09:11 AM

346 posts

Update: My connection has remained up for the last 12 and a half hours. Last time it did the 3 hour disconnect was 8:37 PM yesterday.
SUSraynman
post Oct 29 2019, 09:20 AM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Oct 29 2019, 09:11 AM)
Update: My connection has remained up for the last 12 and a half hours. Last time it did the 3 hour disconnect was 8:37 PM yesterday.
That is good news. Hope TM has resolved the problem. smile.gif

neogeocdz
post Oct 29 2019, 09:36 AM

698 posts

TM replied. Their brilliant solution is ask me to install pop up ad blocker. I've sent them this forum discussion, and stop blaming the user.
LeCpt_Nex P
post Oct 29 2019, 09:42 AM

Probation

QUOTE(soonwai @ Oct 29 2019, 03:29 AM)
Which area? Also Kelana Jaya? What's the ID for the pppoe concentrator?

Just to clarify, which problem are you facing??
I am in Cheras , Pandan Indah.

Same as original poster , everytime we get the advertisement from TM , we get Disconnected.
Schadenfreude
post Oct 29 2019, 10:12 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Oct 29 2019, 09:11 AM)
Same here. I haven't checked to see if the connection still stays up when I play stuff like Destiny 2 (not sure if losing connection every 30 minutes is part of it, but it seems like it is/was), but my router log doesn't show any disconnects since 10.20pm last night. Let's see if I can make the 12 hour mark...

This post has been edited by Schadenfreude: Oct 29 2019, 10:14 AM
Mr.7
post Oct 29 2019, 10:15 AM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(Schadenfreude @ Oct 29 2019, 10:12 AM)
Same here. I haven't checked to see if the connection still stays up when I play stuff like Destiny 2 (not sure if losing connection every 30 minutes is part of it, but it seems like it is/was), but my router logs no longer show a regular disconnect every 3 hours.
Whenever my destiny 2 disconnects, the unifi ad will pop up in my phone's browser, none on my pc though

This post has been edited by Mr.7: Oct 29 2019, 10:15 AM
blackbox14
post Oct 29 2019, 10:57 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(Schadenfreude @ Oct 29 2019, 10:12 AM)
Same here. I haven't checked to see if the connection still stays up when I play stuff like Destiny 2 (not sure if losing connection every 30 minutes is part of it, but it seems like it is/was), but my router log doesn't show any disconnects since 10.20pm last night. Let's see if I can make the 12 hour mark...
The technicians who came to my house still thought the problem was on my end, with my router specifically. They were ready to replace the router... sweat.gif

I wasn't able to cancel my report before they came, so will probably still incur the RM 53 visiting charge.
reddevils500
post Oct 29 2019, 12:06 PM

182 posts

So far no 3hrs DC.

I'll keep monitoring this for 2-5 days.

LKokWei
post Oct 29 2019, 01:08 PM

29 posts

For those who lodged report to TM Unifi CS. Please do check back your router system log. I notice midnight 12am my TM modem & router disconnected and reconnect back. Since than until now, no more disconnect problem. TM fixed it i guess.

This post has been edited by LKokWei: Oct 29 2019, 01:09 PM
dexeric
post Oct 29 2019, 01:11 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(PointOfSale @ Oct 25 2019, 03:37 AM)
not only phone, same goes to pc..jz now playing dota 2 suddenly internet stop for 10 seconds, tot line dc..so i open chrome n type google...direct to paynothing page...then go inside router..no error n ip never change . use phone  .wifi top bar prompt no internet connection but show paynothing picture..after 10 seconds google back to normal . ..router log shows nothing
dota 2 dc . me rampage n owning got dc...haizz

same shit just like me..its like using free public wifi when connected to it then pop up a page asking u to login ...exactly the same like u connected to home wifi...but the internet connection get disconnected..ur phone wifi top menu bar will show, no internet connection when u click on it..it dorrct u to router page 192.168.1.1

.im not using tm router n using google dns.

i knew ppl facing this issue
Did you subscribe to pay nothing campaign?
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 29 2019, 01:17 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(LKokWei @ Oct 29 2019, 01:08 PM)
For those who lodged report to TM Unifi CS. Please do check back your router system log. I notice midnight 12am my TM modem & router disconnected and reconnect back. Since than until now, no more disconnect problem. TM fixed it i guess.
I think since 12 am just now, no more pop up paynothing advert but not sure ppoe dc or got ip change or not...tonite monitor

QUOTE(dexeric @ Oct 29 2019, 01:11 PM)
Did you subscribe to pay nothing campaign?
not yet
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 29 2019, 01:23 PM

164 posts

Lol, FB unifi private message me in FB and ask me what is my problem. Thank you to everyone posting in their unifi FB. I guess this problem will be solve soon and perhaps solved.

Still need to check on the Ip change/PPOE Disconnect issue as Fibre optic wont dc so easily like streamyx copper line
dexeric
post Oct 29 2019, 01:23 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(PointOfSale @ Oct 29 2019, 01:17 PM)
I think since 12 am just now, no more pop up paynothing advert but not sure ppoe dc or got ip change or not...tonite monitor
not yet
I also didn't subscribe... but i don't have the issue you faced yesterday... maybe it is location related... i am staying at sg besi area
wkc5657
post Oct 29 2019, 01:49 PM

557 posts

whoa....your tm/unifi relationship very drama....something even more annoying...hope it is resolved for you
soonwai
post Oct 29 2019, 01:57 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(altuser @ Oct 29 2019, 05:57 AM)
Which is weird, because it's not in their T&C https://unifi.com.my/lsds/assets/documents/...gn_Consumer.pdf

Oh well.
Don't worry about the TnC, it doesn't include Turbo users but it doesn't exclude them either. TM would be a fool not to allow all their Turbo users to renew to a 2-yr contract.
Schadenfreude
post Oct 29 2019, 02:05 PM

27 posts

Status update: no PPPoE disconnect/reconnects since 1020pm last night, and I've managed to play an hour of Destiny 2—ah, the joys of working from home—without getting disconnected. I'm wary of saying it's totally fixed but it definitely not showing any of the issues I was suffering from over the past few days.

This post has been edited by Schadenfreude: Oct 29 2019, 02:06 PM
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 29 2019, 03:33 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(Schadenfreude @ Oct 29 2019, 02:05 PM)
Status update: no PPPoE disconnect/reconnects since 1020pm last night, and I've managed to play an hour of Destiny 2—ah, the joys of working from home—without getting disconnected. I'm wary of saying it's totally fixed but it definitely not showing any of the issues I was suffering from over the past few days.
see, must complain to them kau kau only they do work. I even complain in their unifi fb until they block me.

hopefully no more problem
LeCpt_Nex P
post Oct 29 2019, 07:48 PM

Probation

Tell me if this is not stupid. How the fuck can unifi send a push notification like this and then resulting in a network disconnection?

@all

https://pictr.com/images/2019/10/29/5nIrEg.md.jpg
https://pictr.com/images/2019/10/29/5nINLX.md.jpg
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 29 2019, 07:54 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(LeCpt_Nex @ Oct 29 2019, 07:48 PM)
when it happennned? today i no notice pop up..later online game will know if dc

told u..they purposely make u dc then when wanna connect back they make u watch advert

perbuatan keji

LeCpt_Nex P
post Oct 29 2019, 07:55 PM

Probation

QUOTE(PointOfSale @ Oct 29 2019, 07:54 PM)
when it happennned? today i no notice pop up..later online game will know if dc

told u..they purposely make u dc then when wanna connect back they make u watch advert

perbuatan keji
this happened today...... mates at home are still monitoring on this...
SUSCandy12
post Oct 29 2019, 09:16 PM

1,878 posts

I believe this ad server which TM employs to push their ads is infected with some sort of trojan or malicious coding.

It'll DDoS the targeted Unifi IPs and disconnect you temporarily by their DPI firewall at their headend for suspiscious activity,

Can anyone trace the source link of their ad server or IP? Maybe can implement hosts blacklisting and block that particular IP in your firewall?
weikee
post Oct 29 2019, 09:26 PM

12,019 posts

I had PPPoE disconnection yesterday at few hours interval, hypptv was ok. Saw this in the router log it try reconnect. Have to reboot the fiber modem each time it happen. Did that few time, and last reboot of the modem around 4pm yesterday. After that all good.
SUSCandy12
post Oct 29 2019, 09:36 PM

1,878 posts

Try to find the source of the ad server linked to pushing this TM related ads and blacklist/block it.

Also try using a VPN to see if this sudden disconnection re-occurs.

TM is known to employ one of the nastiest surveillance equipment in their data centres in the world due to Malaysia's political scene which gets triggered very easily. We've been making news in the world for this to the level that we've even exceeded Singapore in this field.

This is similar to using torrents when you overload too many connections(deluge) until your ISP will temporarily block/disconnect you suspecting of malicious activity.
Somehow this adserver is getting red flagged by their DPI firewall causing their concentrators to disconnect their users.
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 29 2019, 10:37 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Oct 29 2019, 09:36 PM)
Try to find the source of the ad server linked to pushing this TM related ads and blacklist/block it.

Also try using a VPN to see if this sudden disconnection re-occurs.

TM is known to employ one of the nastiest surveillance equipment in their data centres in the world due to Malaysia's political scene which gets triggered very easily. We've been making news in the world for this to the level that we've even exceeded Singapore in this field.

This is similar to using torrents when you overload too many connections(deluge) until your ISP will temporarily block/disconnect you suspecting of malicious activity.
Somehow this adserver is getting red flagged by their DPI firewall causing their concentrators to disconnect their users.
This post has been edited by PointOfSale: Oct 29 2019, 10:38 PM

LeCpt_Nex P
post Oct 30 2019, 11:52 AM

Probation

QUOTE(PointOfSale @ Oct 29 2019, 10:37 PM)

bro , how you trace that? what tools?
LeCpt_Nex P
post Oct 30 2019, 12:12 PM

Probation

TM came to my house today and i've shown all the logs.
They are now pushing to L2 , L2 will come over to my house with their own router to properly log the case.

I've contacted my company TM Account manager as we are on Enterprise package ( not the biz/small medium package ). He also is quite shocked on this finding and now escalating to top management.
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 30 2019, 01:05 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(LeCpt_Nex @ Oct 30 2019, 11:52 AM)
bro , how you trace that? what tools?
QUOTE(LeCpt_Nex @ Oct 30 2019, 12:12 PM)
They are now pushing to L2 , L2 will come over to my house with their own router to properly log the case.

I've contacted my company TM Account manager as we are on Enterprise package ( not the biz/small medium package ). He also is quite shocked on this finding and now escalating to top management.
No more disconnect and advert pop up for me already.

Good then. The log posted by other use using Tenda router.

WTF, Enterprise user also facing this issue? Perhaps all the bank that use unifi also facing the same issue. Actually quite hard to log the user unless you use their technical router to log for few days.

Are you still facing the issue? As FB unifi blocked me, i posted in TM fb. I think they aware of this problem and will not admit is their problem
blackbox14
post Oct 30 2019, 03:01 PM

346 posts

There were actually some CIMB Bank branches and ATMs here that were closed on Monday while this issue was still affecting my area. Could be coincidence but I would not surprised if they got hit by it too.
amirsubhi
post Oct 30 2019, 10:42 PM

The Power Is IN Your Hand!
1,472 posts

seem like it does not effect my Asus router
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 30 2019, 10:47 PM

164 posts

Whole day no more disconnect and no more advert pop up

Tm even call me and ask.
TSPointOfSale
post Oct 30 2019, 10:48 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(LeCpt_Nex @ Oct 30 2019, 12:12 PM)

Remember to post updates about your enterprise acccount with L2 coming over to log and check.

stark4321
post Nov 9 2019, 02:50 PM

78 posts

I've complained and they just do reset port and ask restart modem.
Reported again the next day, and the TM technician called, explained the problem to him, and he can't understand, want to come reset my modem config and charged RM53, I said NO as this is obviously TM problem, and the technician ask what I want now??? WTF!
island
post Nov 10 2019, 07:54 AM

1,731 posts

QUOTE(stark4321 @ Nov 9 2019, 02:50 PM)
Reported again the next day, and the TM technician called, explained the problem to him, and he can't understand, want to come reset my modem config and charged RM53, I said NO as this is obviously TM problem, and the technician ask what I want now??? WTF!
devil.gif smells fishy. Many peoples dealing the similar issues. hmm.gif
stark4321
post Nov 10 2019, 12:22 PM

78 posts

so many people complaining same issues, they don't bother to fix it? seriously TM???
TSPointOfSale
post Nov 10 2019, 10:13 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(stark4321 @ Nov 9 2019, 02:50 PM)
The problem solved itself after i asked them to reset the port which does nothing and lodge a report and keep spam unifi fb. Still getting dc and advert. Then after 2 days, no more problem. Then technician came and i told him the problem, dont come in my house as the problem is not from my side and dont charge me rm 53. Then no more dc and advert problem. TM called me the next day and asked how is the problem. I said it is their side problem spamming advert and make ppl dc every 3 hours.

stark4321
post Nov 17 2019, 09:08 PM

78 posts

reported to skmm, until now still unable to solve this problem... the TM technician came and change dns, change nat??? they seems first time encounter this problem and don't know at all!!!

now still want to send another team come to my house, how come they never check on their side? telekom malaysia boleh!!!
JuneResources
post Nov 18 2019, 09:30 AM

ONE Stop Resources
4,167 posts

QUOTE(stark4321 @ Nov 17 2019, 09:08 PM)
reported to skmm, until now still unable to solve this problem... the TM technician came and change dns, change nat??? they seems first time encounter this problem and don't know at all!!!

now still want to send another team come to my house, how come they never check on their side? telekom malaysia boleh!!!
There are 3 things that they might not know about it.

1) Lazy to check and taichi to you that might your game server problem.
2) Their system kinda poor and lousy using 1990 century.
3) Technician might be newbies, no experience (Because cheap labor, save cost.. That why campaign pay nothing to you..)

This post has been edited by JuneResources: Nov 18 2019, 09:30 AM
zomok
post Jan 7 2020, 12:01 PM

guys sorry for bring up old thread
anyone have solution for this? i'm getting https://unifi.com.my/SPA

i ask tm and they just ask me install adblock, and reset port but still kena this, happen since first day of 2020.
al3xband
post Jan 28 2020, 11:20 AM

99 posts

i also kena..... internet is connected but no bandwidth or traffic then i restart router can everything back to normal and suddenly this pop up appear in chrome new tab.... fark!

TrollNoob
post Jan 28 2020, 11:23 AM

627 posts

QUOTE(al3xband @ Jan 28 2020, 11:20 AM)
i also kena..... internet is connected but no bandwidth or traffic  then i restart router can everything back to normal and suddenly this pop up appear in chrome new tab.... fark!
Edit

Always no internet around 12 am - 6 am.

This post has been edited by TrollNoob: Jan 28 2020, 11:23 AM
a_capybara
post Jan 28 2020, 04:48 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(zomok @ Jan 7 2020, 12:01 PM)
guys sorry for bring up old thread
anyone have solution for this? i'm getting https://unifi.com.my/SPA

i ask tm and they just ask me install adblock, and reset port but still kena this, happen since first day of 2020.
I had to reset my modem a week back and got this bullshit. Only saw the ad once but since all my DNS queries go through my own server via DoH I can confirm it's not a DNS hijack and something more nefarious (port 80/443 hijack?). Is this even legal? Does the SKMM have any jurisdiction in the matter?

Update: Even worst is that I have to live with a link loss at the same time everyday which breaks all my connections.

This post has been edited by a_capybara: Feb 1 2020, 12:09 PM
KenAragorn
post Nov 3 2020, 02:17 PM

144 posts

Hi, in need of recommendation for current house WIFI setting.

Unifi package: 100mbps
Devices:
Modem: Alcatel 1-240G-P (since 2012)
Router: D-Link DIR-842 C2 (since 2018 as previously used another D-Link router for older package before changed to this package)

Problems:
1. Once or Twice a day, the WIFI speed will dropped from 100mbps to 45/50 mbps and need to restart both modem/router to get back the optimum speed.
2. Stayed in double storey, modem+router located at ground floor. Hence, the speed will drop further by 50% or more for upstairs rooms. I think this is for sure due to the distance and walls that further interfere with the quality of the WIFI.

Was recommended to fix the dead zone area or boost the WIFI signal (problem statement no.2 above) using mesh device. From Unifi add-on package, there was this device TP-Link Deco M4. For a double storey house with about 1.8k built up space, is it recommended to get this device Deco M4 or alternative?

Also, is it better to get it from shop/online vs TM?

Thanks a lot notworthy.gif

jacktiew
post Nov 3 2020, 02:33 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Nov 3 2020, 02:17 PM)
Hi, in need of recommendation for current house WIFI setting.

Unifi package: 100mbps
Devices:
Modem: Alcatel 1-240G-P (since 2012)
Router: D-Link DIR-842 C2 (since 2018 as previously used another D-Link router for older package before changed to this package)

Problems:
1. Once or Twice a day, the WIFI speed will dropped from 100mbps to 45/50 mbps and need to restart both modem/router to get back the optimum speed.
2. Stayed in double storey, modem+router located at ground floor. Hence, the speed will drop further by 50% or more for upstairs rooms. I think this is for sure due to the distance and walls that further interfere with the quality of the WIFI.

Was recommended to fix the dead zone area or boost the WIFI signal (problem statement no.2 above) using mesh device. From Unifi add-on package, there was this device TP-Link Deco M4. For a double storey house with about 1.8k built up space, is it recommended to get this device Deco M4 or alternative?

Also, is it better to get it from shop/online vs TM?

Thanks a lot notworthy.gif
Get it from Shopee OOKAS. Only RM350.
https://shopee.com.my/TP-LINK-Deco-M4-AC120...2485.2239480188

If you buy from TM, RM360, need to pay the SST as well. (If not mistaken)

Unless you're short of budget, then only I recommended TM buy from TM.
KenAragorn
post Nov 3 2020, 02:55 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(jacktiew @ Nov 3 2020, 02:33 PM)
Get it from Shopee OOKAS. Only RM350.
https://shopee.com.my/TP-LINK-Deco-M4-AC120...2485.2239480188
If you buy from TM, RM360, need to pay the SST as well. (If not mistaken)

Unless you're short of budget, then only I recommended TM buy from TM.
Ok thanks a lot for shared info and link.

So, setting it up, using existing router and connect 1st Deco unit wired next to it, and then position the other Deco unit to upstairs - somewhere center in between the rooms and main unit?

With this setup, do I need to provide the username/password of my current Unifi account?
jacktiew
post Nov 3 2020, 03:20 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Nov 3 2020, 02:55 PM)
Ok thanks a lot for shared info and link.

So, setting it up, using existing router and connect 1st Deco unit wired next to it, and then position the other Deco unit to upstairs - somewhere center in between the rooms and main unit?

With this setup, do I need to provide the username/password of my current Unifi account?
I would suggest straight away replace the router provided by the TM.

If you know how to access your unifi router, you can just take the username and password from your router. Otherwise, just contact unifi customer service.

Just follow blacktubi's guide.
https://www.blacktubi.com/guide/deco-m4-unifi-setup/

KenAragorn
post Nov 3 2020, 06:36 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(jacktiew @ Nov 3 2020, 03:20 PM)
I would suggest straight away replace the router provided by the TM.

If you know how to access your unifi router, you can just take the username and password from your router. Otherwise, just contact unifi customer service.

Just follow blacktubi's guide.
https://www.blacktubi.com/guide/deco-m4-unifi-setup/
Ok got it. Thanks a lot. Just purchase it, awaiting the item.
jacktiew
post Nov 3 2020, 09:11 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Nov 3 2020, 06:36 PM)
Ok got it. Thanks a lot. Just purchase it, awaiting the item.
No problem. Looking forward to your update.
aa123aa
post Nov 3 2020, 09:55 PM

180 posts

contact tm customer service

This post has been edited by aa123aa: Nov 3 2020, 10:14 PM
KenAragorn
post Nov 6 2020, 10:38 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(jacktiew @ Nov 3 2020, 09:11 PM)
No problem. Looking forward to your update.
Hello,

Setup and done default configuration in which both TP-Link M4 is currently set as AP for both.

The first AP is just 30cm away connected to existing D-Link router wired. The second AP is upstairs center small hall.

Initial review after 2 days:
1. Ground floor
- By making sure the initial router speed is at the most optimum (restarted first and get 100 Mbps in average download speed - my current package), I manage to get this speed the same from the ground floor connected to 1 of the AP device. However, after a while, I think around 10 mins plus (not so sure), then the speed drop and further check on Speedtest confirm connection dropped to be around 10 Mbps for download speed.
- Since the original router is still running, connect it and check using Speedtest, confirm the speed it is still 100 Mbps. Then, decided to change back the wifi connected to the 1 from TP Link, the connection went back to 100Mbps. confused.gif . So, it can't get to maintain the same with TP M4 link mesh on ground floor.
- And then, if I went down again from master bedroom, upon reaching AP 1 at the ground floor, i get back the 10 Mbps again. Try to reconnect to old wifi, confim the speed is 100Mbps download speed. sweat.gif

2. Upstairs
- By making sure the initial router speed is at the most optimum (restarted first and get 100 Mbps in average download speed - my current package), I manage to get about 30Mmps of the speed consistently. Still I remember last night I can get higher (about 50 Mbps). Still, for upstairs, it is much better overall in my master bedroom. Still, due to the position, AP 1 next to router is just exactly below of my laptop on my master bedroom. 90 degree. But, at upstairs hall area where the AP 2 is present, not sure which AP did the laptop is connecting.

So, some advice?

This are the settings I see it is listed in the Deco app:
IPv4 is Dynamic IP
IPv6 is disabled
Operation Mode is Router (which is weird, currently is setup as AP, but I didnt bother to change this, as wifi is working just the speed weird, this can be issue?)

Also, there is a new update from the Deco app, for the new version: 1.4.3 Build 20200918 Rel. 74289. Should I update it since i see some bad review on this? So far my Zoom online session no issue as shared by certain group of people in TP-Link forum for M4.

cannavaro
post Nov 6 2020, 10:59 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Nov 6 2020, 10:38 AM)
Hello,

Setup and done default configuration in which both TP-Link M4 is currently set as AP for both.

The first AP is just 30cm away connected to existing D-Link router wired. The second AP is upstairs center small hall.

1. Ground floor
- By making sure the initial router speed is at the most optimum (restarted first and get 100 Mbps in average download speed - my current package), I manage to get this speed the same from the ground floor connected to 1 of the AP device. However, after a while, I think around 10 mins plus (not so sure), then the speed drop and further check on Speedtest confirm connection dropped to be around 10 Mbps for download speed.
- Since the original router is still running, connect it and check using Speedtest, confirm the speed it is still 100 Mbps. Then, decided to change back the wifi connected to the 1 from TP Link, the connection went back to 100Mbps.  confused.gif . So, it can't get to maintain the same with TP M4 link mesh on ground floor.
- And then, if I went down again from master bedroom, upon reaching AP 1 at the ground floor, i get back the 10 Mbps again. Try to reconnect to old wifi, confim the speed is 100Mbps download speed. sweat.gif
2. Upstairs
- By making sure the initial router speed is at the most optimum (restarted first and get 100 Mbps in average download speed - my current package), I manage to get about 30Mmps of the speed consistently. Still I remember last night I can get higher (about 50 Mbps). Still, for upstairs, it is much better overall in my master bedroom. Still, due to the position, AP 1 next to router is just exactly below of my laptop on my master bedroom. 90 degree. But, at upstairs hall area where the AP 2 is present, not sure which AP did the laptop is connecting.
So, some advice?

IPv4 is Dynamic IP
IPv6 is disabled
Operation Mode is Router (which is weird, currently is setup as AP, but I didnt bother to change this, as wifi is working just the speed weird, this can be issue?)

Also, there is a new update from the Deco app, for the new version: 1.4.3 Build 20200918 Rel. 74289. Should I update it since i see some bad review on this? So far my Zoom online session no issue as shared by certain group of people in TP-Link forum for M4.
Check which deco your device is connected to using the deco app.
From my experience using 2 x Deco M4, sometimes , it will not connect to the nearest deco but the further one. From what I read in the official tp link community forums, tp link claims it depends on your device, some are not so smart to auto switch, lol. Also try to disconnect and reconnect to the wifi to make sure the device is connected to the closest deco.

BTW, why not ditch the dlink or use it in ap mode and use the deco as the main router?
jacktiew
post Nov 6 2020, 11:03 AM

289 posts

Hello,

1. Ground floor
- Since the original router is still running, connect it and check using Speedtest, confirm the speed it is still 100 Mbps. Then, decided to change back the wifi connected to the 1 from TP Link, the connection went back to 100Mbps.  confused.gif . So, it can't get to maintain the same with TP M4 link mesh on ground floor.
2. Upstairs
So, some advice?

IPv4 is Dynamic IP
IPv6 is disabled

You can actually view the which AP you're connecting to in the deco app by pressing the globe icon in the middle of the app.

1. Try change the operation mode to AP mode and

2. Turn off the wifi in your original router to reduce interference.

3. Try set the wifi to 5ghz band only and see the result and move the node closer to each other. Then see the speed got better or not.

Which firmware build number are you on now?

This post has been edited by jacktiew: Nov 6 2020, 11:06 AM
ks1230
post Nov 6 2020, 01:02 PM

91 posts

Hello,

1. Ground floor
2. Upstairs
So, some advice?

IPv4 is Dynamic IP
IPv6 is disabled

Are you using the deco as AP instead of replacing the router provided by TM? I would recommend to just replace the router provided by TM by following blacktubi's guide. smile.gif
KenAragorn
post Nov 6 2020, 03:26 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(jacktiew @ Nov 6 2020, 11:03 AM)
You can actually view the which AP you're connecting to in the deco app by pressing the globe icon in the middle of the app.

1. Try change the operation mode to AP mode and

2. Turn off the wifi in your original router to reduce interference.

3. Try set the wifi to 5ghz band only and see the result and move the node closer to each other. Then see the speed got better or not.
Which firmware build number are you on now?
I see. I didn't know we can view which AP is connecting. Thanks.

Ok, I will change the operation mode to AP, hopefully wont disconnect.

Ok, I will also change the wifi to 5ghz band only.

Firmware build number? How to check? I cant find anywhere. However, under Update Deco, it detected both my AP is Deco M4R and stated there is a new firmware version to be updated. Ignore? Also, now I recall, when setting up, first AP I can choose M4 model but second AP, there is no M4 except M4R from the Deco app. Normal?

How to turn off the wifi? I cant off the router right as now the first main AP is connecting to the router. So, have to make the AP main as router?

KenAragorn
post Nov 6 2020, 03:30 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Nov 6 2020, 10:59 AM)
Check which deco your device is connected to using the deco app.
From my experience using 2 x Deco M4, sometimes , it will not connect to the nearest deco but the further one. From what I read in the official tp link community forums, tp link claims it depends on your device, some are not so smart to auto switch, lol. Also try to disconnect and reconnect to the wifi to make sure the device is connected to the closest deco.
BTW, why not ditch the dlink or use it in ap mode and use the deco as the main router?
I see. But, how to check whether my phone and laptop, is smart enough or not so smart to auto switch AP devices?

About the ditching the d-link, at first I thought of having a better coverage, which 1st main deco will be connecting to dlink by wired and pull longer - so it get nearer to the 2nd deco for better coverage. But then, after reading other suggestion here, maybe setup not optimum and dlink wifi may have interfere with the signal.

jacktiew
post Nov 6 2020, 03:42 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Nov 6 2020, 03:26 PM)
Firmware build number? How to check? I cant find anywhere. However, under Update Deco, it detected both my AP is Deco M4R and stated there is a new firmware version to be updated. Ignore? Also, now I recall, when setting up, first AP I can choose M4 model but second AP, there is no M4 except M4R from the Deco app. Normal?
Firmware build number can be found after pressing the globe button I mentioned just now, then choose the node you want see. Then you will find the small text at the middle bottom when you scroll down.

QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Nov 6 2020, 03:26 PM)
How to turn off the wifi? I cant off the router right as now the first main AP is connecting to the router. So, have to make the AP main as router?
Login to your main router, and find the wifi settings at the router.

Or you can do like what others say. Set Deco as router instead. That will be better.
KenAragorn
post Nov 7 2020, 12:00 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(jacktiew @ Nov 6 2020, 03:42 PM)
Firmware build number can be found after pressing the globe button I mentioned just now, then choose the node you want see. Then you will find the small text at the middle bottom when you scroll down.
Login to your main router, and find the wifi settings at the router.

Or you can do like what others say. Set Deco as router instead. That will be better.
Ok. Deco version: 1.4.2 Build 20200727 Rel. 37987

Ok, will set it up as router. Do i need to reset both AP set before restarting? Just go to the Deco app and remove both and then add again?

jacktiew
post Nov 7 2020, 10:18 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Nov 7 2020, 12:00 AM)
Ok. Deco version: 1.4.2 Build 20200727 Rel. 37987

Ok, will set it up as router. Do i need to reset both AP set before restarting? Just go to the Deco app and remove both and then add again?
Yes. Remove the node first, then only remove main deco.
KenAragorn
post Nov 7 2020, 10:31 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(jacktiew @ Nov 7 2020, 10:18 AM)
Yes. Remove the node first, then only remove main deco.
Ok, recommended to update the firmware?

Till now, the devices is still not smart enough to change AP. confused.gif
jacktiew
post Nov 7 2020, 11:38 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Nov 7 2020, 10:31 AM)
Ok, recommended to update the firmware?

Till now, the devices is still not smart enough to change AP.  confused.gif
The older devices are not smart enough to change AP. My suggestion is to split the band to 5Ghz and 2.4Ghz using different SSID by using the guest network. Just connect those that are capable of 5Ghz to the respective band.

You can upgrade the firmware if you have Apple devices that uses iOS 14.
KenAragorn
post Nov 9 2020, 09:16 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(jacktiew @ Nov 7 2020, 11:38 AM)
The older devices are not smart enough to change AP. My suggestion is to split the band to 5Ghz and 2.4Ghz using different SSID by using the guest network. Just connect those that are capable of 5Ghz to the respective band.

You can upgrade the firmware if you have Apple devices that uses iOS 14.
Ah ok. So, for example, main WIFI network set to 5Ghz, and create a separate Guest network that used 2.4Ghz - both using diff SSID.

As for firmware, so if I only have Google Android devices, recommended not to update?

jacktiew
post Nov 9 2020, 12:36 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Nov 9 2020, 09:16 AM)
Ah ok. So, for example, main WIFI network set to 5Ghz, and create a separate Guest network that used 2.4Ghz - both using diff SSID.
Yes.

QUOTE(KenAragorn @ Nov 9 2020, 09:16 AM)
As for firmware, so if I only have Google Android devices, recommended not to update?
I think is better to update it, cause in 1.4.3, they now support WPA-2 AES encryption which is safer compare to 1.4.2.
KenAragorn
post Nov 10 2020, 09:06 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(jacktiew @ Nov 9 2020, 12:36 PM)
Yes.
I think is better to update it, cause in 1.4.3, they now support WPA-2 AES encryption which is safer compare to 1.4.2.
Ok noted. So far, only the smart phone is not smart enough to change AP, but at least the main concern with the laptop that hardly move, maintain a good quality connection. For now, won't be doing the additional SSID. But, good to know.

Okok, thanks. Will do the updates. smile.gif

Really appreciate you guys for the advice. notworthy.gif
Kedekut
post Aug 22 2021, 12:24 AM

140 posts

Once awhile sure got these ads anyway to block it or have to wat until the ads finish time out?

0.0582sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:14 AM