92 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Unifi Air, is it good?

cjoenic
post Mar 30 2020, 03:20 AM

-
773 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Mar 29 2020, 09:48 AM)
Dear kvn4000,
Nothing got to do with your signal.
Its because your modem is connected to a base transceiver station, which is connected and shared with estimated 10-20 users.

Furthermore  now its MCO period, Muyideen cakap tolong duduk rumah diam diam.
Then everyone sits at home, diam diam, use their internet, just as you also.
So this is where the Base Transceiver Station is congested with 20 other users around your area, usually a radius of few KM.

So, no, booster wont help. Even you sit next to the station, wont help.
Another advice? Change DNS. that will help abit. but not drastically.
true that. im having the same issue, despite the tower being in sight, less than 500m, the speed is not consistent. definitely congestion issue.

my area, during days, eg 9am - 9pm, speed were below 10mbps,
during night, eg 11pm - 7am, speed can easily reach 20mbps, sometimes up to 60mbps.

i noticed something too, the cell id, if its ending xx034, the speed is slow, but bearable around 3-4mbps, but the ping is ok, if the cell id ending xx031, speed is ok, oing unstable. perhaps it is different tower? maybe, maybe not, cos the tower id seems the same, always 204

overall, compared to my digi infinite 150, unifi air nvr fails me, seldomly buffer on youtube/netflix streaming. online gaming kinda hit and miss. while digi infinite, speed always inconsistent, no matter days or night, sometimes 5mbps, sometimes 30mbps, thats the max ive got so far. ping is nightmare too. not to mention random dc/lost connectivity.

SleeplessEyes
post Apr 1 2020, 03:26 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(cjoenic @ Mar 30 2020, 03:20 AM)
true that. im having the same issue, despite the tower being in sight, less than 500m, the speed is not consistent. definitely congestion issue.

my area, during days, eg 9am - 9pm, speed were below 10mbps, 
during night, eg 11pm - 7am, speed can easily reach 20mbps, sometimes up to 60mbps.

i noticed something too, the cell id, if its ending xx034, the speed is slow, but bearable around 3-4mbps, but the ping is ok,  if the cell id ending xx031,  speed is ok, oing unstable. perhaps it is different tower? maybe, maybe not, cos the tower id seems the same, always 204

overall, compared to my digi infinite 150, unifi air nvr fails me, seldomly buffer on youtube/netflix streaming. online gaming kinda hit and miss. while digi infinite, speed always inconsistent, no matter days or night, sometimes 5mbps, sometimes 30mbps, thats the max ive got so far. ping is nightmare too. not to mention random dc/lost connectivity.
Currently I'm using 2 Yoodo lines. One as my Wireless Broadband (that means without any voice add one), another is my own personal line.

When you talk about different cell ID, its probably same tower, different antenna. Cause your last 2 digit is the same.
As you know, one tower may have 3-5 antennas.

I think for my case, its always at night that the speed is alot slower. Sometimes I have to resort to switching from 4G to 3G just to get acceptable speed. And now with MCO, its even worse on the 4G side. So I'm not going to complain to Yoodo, because it will be like shooting blank bullets, although I did feedback to them once , way before the 1st MCO . And they do acknowledge that one of the tower that I use, is consitently congested. Whether Celcom will get it fixed or not, it depends on them.

For me, I'm not into gaming so ping is not a criteria for me, though if it gets annoyingly slow for browsing or Youtube then I will notice that.

ahbenchai
post Apr 1 2020, 06:08 PM

what do you mean you people?
1,210 posts

sad to say during the MCO period, my speed has gone to shit tier (2Mbps~8Mbps)

anyone having the same issue?
skylinelover
post Apr 1 2020, 08:12 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

QUOTE(ahbenchai @ Apr 1 2020, 06:08 PM)

tower traffic very jam i guess laugh.gif rclxub.gif
al_madd
post Apr 1 2020, 09:05 PM

1,382 posts

everyone stay at home

all watch netflix 8k..haha
SleeplessEyes
post Apr 2 2020, 10:16 AM

2,429 posts

Bro, 2-8MBps is still tolerable.
Im on Yoodo and I'm not saying Celcom sucks and not recommended. Also same issue, except worse at night.
You have to remember that you are sharing tower with others like [skylinelover] mentioned . 1 station to cater 20 users. Backhaul at the station only 1 pipeline.
And probably Unifi Air, is sharing bandwidth with other Unifi Mobile LTE users, seeing from their website coverage map.

Sometimes my Yoodo will struggle to buffer at night, and "Youtube stats" will show bandwidth within 100KBits-500Kbits. Yes. You heard me.

BTW, read this:
Philippines asks Netflix to drop streaming quality to ease congestion

If you dont like the idea sharing bandwidth, then you have to get Unifi fibre. Your own private internet. Full speed, though I think now Unifi backhaul will be partially choked also.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Apr 2 2020, 10:19 AM
ahbenchai
post Apr 2 2020, 10:36 AM

1,210 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Apr 2 2020, 10:16 AM)
Bro, 2-8MBps is still tolerable.
Im on Yoodo and I'm not saying Celcom sucks and not recommended. Also same issue, except worse at night.
You have to remember that you are sharing tower with others like [skylinelover] mentioned . 1 station to cater 20 users. Backhaul at the station only 1 pipeline.
And probably Unifi Air, is sharing bandwidth with other Unifi Mobile LTE users, seeing from their website coverage map.

Sometimes my Yoodo will struggle to buffer at night, and "Youtube stats" will show bandwidth within 100KBits-500Kbits. Yes. You heard me.

BTW, read this:
Philippines asks Netflix to drop streaming quality to ease congestion

If you dont like the idea sharing bandwidth, then you have to get Unifi fibre. Your own private internet. Full speed, though I think now Unifi backhaul will be partially choked also.
i believe the people in this thread is using unifi air because there is no other option available haha

anyway hope MCO will end soon, please go back outside everyone and let me hog bandwidth
SleeplessEyes
post Apr 2 2020, 02:09 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(ahbenchai @ Apr 2 2020, 10:36 AM)
i believe the people in this thread is using unifi air because there is no other option available haha

Not true.
Like for me, my apartment has Unifi port. In fact the previous owner installed Unifi, so the port is already ready available in my house.
But no, I decide to go wireless. Slower nevermind. Importantly portability.
because I want to pay for subscription that I can bring to multiple places. Like to my mom's place or on a holiday trip whereby some hotel doesnt give free WIFI.

Per month I allocate on my Yoodo wireless BB, 40GB data and 20GB Youtube add on.
Every month, i use up 90% on both data and the Youtube add on. So thats why I am considering to see if I could switch to Unifi Air. But use my own modem. Dun want to be tied down on a contract and swear later.
RGRaj
post Apr 2 2020, 09:45 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Apr 2 2020, 02:09 PM)
Not true.
Like for me, my apartment has Unifi port. In fact the previous owner installed Unifi, so the port is already ready available in my house.
But no, I decide to go wireless. Slower nevermind. Importantly portability.
because I want to pay for subscription that I can bring to multiple places. Like to my mom's place or on a holiday trip whereby some hotel doesnt give free WIFI.

Per month I allocate on my Yoodo wireless BB, 40GB data and 20GB Youtube add on.
Every month, i use up 90% on both data and the Youtube add on. So thats why I am considering to see if I could switch to Unifi Air. But use my own modem. Dun want to be tied down on a contract and swear later.
So Unifi Air's modem is not geo-locked? But I guess it's relatively bulky to move around?
budi1413
post Apr 2 2020, 09:46 PM

1,607 posts

mco time, unifi air speed very slow from noon until midnight.
JJKTP
post Apr 3 2020, 01:29 AM

4,155 posts

QUOTE(budi1413 @ Apr 2 2020, 09:46 PM)
mco time, unifi air speed very slow from noon until midnight.
I see, as expected. Any ballpark figure for the average speed?
doket
post Apr 3 2020, 03:24 AM

26 posts

hello, may i ask some thing about unifi air? just start using unifi air around march. TM told me the monthly price for it will be RM79 + SST.
so, i assuming it will be 79 + 4.74 = 83.74 each month. TM want me to sign 2 years contract and i agree... and on the day i subscribe have to pay RM100 and be told that with deducted form next month bill...

but now, i check the new incoming bill, why it charge me RM150.36 per month and include sst it will become Rm 159.38. where is the promise on the site that RM79 per month
if i am not wrong after my calculate it should be 83.74 -100 = -16.26, i try to ask 100, and they told me it is pro rate.
so, i want to ask if my bil as picture below is correct?

thanks for the reply...
SleeplessEyes
post Apr 3 2020, 07:43 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(RGRaj @ Apr 2 2020, 09:45 PM)
So Unifi Air's modem is not geo-locked? But I guess it's relatively bulky to move around?
Sorry I am currently not using Unifi Air at the moment to answer your question.
But I believe it's not geo locked.
jsnhoh
post Apr 3 2020, 10:25 AM

Vinc
1,022 posts

QUOTE(doket @ Apr 3 2020, 03:24 AM)
hello, may i ask some thing about unifi air? just start using unifi air around march. TM told me the monthly price for it will be RM79 + SST.
so, i assuming it will be 79 + 4.74 = 83.74 each month. TM want me to sign 2 years contract and i agree... and on the day i subscribe have to pay RM100 and be told that with deducted form next month bill...

but now, i check the new incoming bill, why it charge me RM150.36 per month and include sst it will become Rm 159.38. where is the promise on the site that RM79 per month
if i am not wrong after my calculate it should be 83.74 -100 = -16.26, i try to ask 100, and they told me it is pro rate.

thanks for the reply...
unifi air need to pay in advance.

capcomfly
post Apr 4 2020, 05:54 PM

173 posts

does unifi air still available? it say coming soon on website
lagendakurus
post Apr 4 2020, 06:55 PM

QUOTE(doket @ Apr 3 2020, 03:24 AM)

thanks for the reply...
your first month bill is March prorated charge + April full month
ahbenchai
post Apr 5 2020, 10:14 PM

1,210 posts

do you know if we could restrict bandwidth for certain wireless user using our unifi air
Rudd
post Apr 7 2020, 10:13 AM

4,043 posts

any review on D-link DWR-920V,
it seem supported all unifi band.

but did the LTE locking function works?
lukemanz
post Apr 7 2020, 12:33 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(Rudd @ Apr 7 2020, 10:13 AM)
any review on D-link DWR-920V,
it seem supported all unifi band.

but did the LTE locking function works?
Maybe can be used. TM is using a quite similar model for their existing telephone customer that do not want to upgrade to unifi fiber for area that TM want to discontinue all of their copper services.
But the difference is the model that TM used have RJ11 socket to connect with normal telephone, other features are absolutely the same
Performance wise dont know as telephone only use small bandwidth, around 128 kbps I think
Rudd
post Apr 7 2020, 02:24 PM

4,043 posts

yes. it should works,
my concern whether it able to lock certain LTE band, like huawei.

92 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0360sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:58 PM