1032 Pages « < 576 577 578 579 580 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

SUSyklooi
post Jan 31 2021, 10:04 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(YoungLee @ Jan 31 2021, 09:29 PM)
Hi, is it recommended for a fresh graduate that just started working to put his income into StashAway and invest?

Am planning to put 36% risk but thought maybe there are better ways to invest like the stock market.
i think is appropriate for you,....
from Wong Sui Jau

Sui Jau's ....
"The most important advice I would give to anyone who hasn't started (be it man or woman) and is being held back is to starting investing now, but use a small amount.
Something you are comfortable with even if you suffer losses. It can be as little as one thousand dollars because that is usually all you need to start investing into a unit trust (or Stashaway/Stock market in your case).

Then, as you invest, you will see how markets and such affect your returns and you will be able to learn from your experiences without suffering too much heartache compared to if you placed your entire life savings into the market and lose half of it in a market crash.

The key thing is you have to accumulate investing experience.
No amount of prior reading up and accumulating of knowledge can compare with actual investing experience which can only be built up by using your own money to invest.
You have to experience the emotional pull that comes from market ups and downs and learn how to handle your emotions during those times.
And learning from mistakes made is the greatest teacher."

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif SORRY to those regular forummers, that had read this some many times and so frequently...

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 31 2021, 10:04 PM
lee82gx
post Jan 31 2021, 10:26 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Jan 31 2021, 09:27 PM)
Sure ,this is all about "what if". We can also make a scenario of people starting to invest during the bubble or at the peak or even when it come crashing down. It is all " what if" and all these is just looking back at the data. Key takeaway is never to invest in a company blindly and follow the principle of DCA blindly.

Dont get me wrong i believe in DCA for etf and unit trust and of course not all etf and not all UTF.
One of the keys to investing is not just dca blindly. One must always know what one is buying. So, this also means to regularly check the pulse of the company you are investing in.

Even ETF and UTF, as you say does not guarantee a return if DCA blindly. BUT I recall my friend a PB Mutual agent (at the time, now no more) that guaranteed me if I DCA I was guaranteed to make a return. Alas, if I did, and I checked, that I did, today it would have given me slightly less than 8% per annum. But, I would have had to hold on for around 13 years IIRC, not to mention stagnate for more than 6 years. In that time, I exited, pivoted and changed don't know how many bloody portfolios until today.

In this manner, Stashaway is recommended because they try to take care for you. The reoptimization actions already occurred several times over this few years, removal of SPY, XLK (dumb dumb move lol) and added some KWEB (hooray), GLD and some others I cannot recall. They are only locked by the mandate of making return at the risk levels you choose and last I checked they give pretty good sharpe ratios. Not like some dungu UTF that will stick to a certain region, certain type of stock etc. The quote that Buffet famously says, active management will usually loose to passive indexing applies.

Therefore I reiterate, that among Stocks, UTF and ETF, Stashaway is actually very balanced in risk vs reward.
kelvinfixx
post Jan 31 2021, 10:30 PM

1,585 posts

QUOTE(racingboy123 @ Jan 31 2021, 09:33 PM)
Did anyone try DCA daily in stashaway? Meaning if i plan to invest about RM500 per month, setup daily recurring standing instruction to invest RM20 daily?
each deposit got conversion charges.
RichardSooria
post Jan 31 2021, 10:53 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(kelvinfixx @ Jan 31 2021, 10:30 PM)
damn bro, this is new to me. any idea how much exactly? or are you talking about currency exchange loss
AnasM
post Jan 31 2021, 10:59 PM

569 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Jan 31 2021, 07:14 PM)
With SA someone is handling the investment for you, of course there will be fund management charge.
unittrust managed by professional why they no charge monthly fee while SA charge monthly fee?
honsiong
post Jan 31 2021, 11:00 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(kelvinfixx @ Jan 31 2021, 10:30 PM)
QUOTE(RichardSooria @ Jan 31 2021, 10:53 PM)
damn bro, this is new to me. any idea how much exactly? or are you talking about currency exchange loss
~0.1% regardless of amount. So it doesn't matter if you deposit daily, weekly, monthly, annually.

I think I was the one recommending weekly deposit in this thread coz I was one of the first stashaway malaysia users before they even launched.
honsiong
post Jan 31 2021, 11:01 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(AnasM @ Jan 31 2021, 10:59 PM)
unittrust managed by professional why they no charge monthly fee while SA charge monthly fee?
Unit trusts charge way steeper management fee than StashAway doh.gif

Go find a Malaysia unit trust or mutual fund with expense ratio < 1.5%.

lee82gx
post Jan 31 2021, 11:09 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

It is 1% per annum, charged monthly ie split 12 times.. What is your problem with this charges thingy? Are you expecting it to be free?
victorian
post Jan 31 2021, 11:19 PM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,583 posts

Which unit trust fund does not charge management fee ? You think the fund manager work for free ah?

Anyway I think you are in the wrong subforum. No point barking here
TS[Ancient]-XinG-
post Jan 31 2021, 11:30 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jan 31 2021, 11:09 PM)
It is 1% per annum, charged monthly ie split 12 times.. What is your problem with this charges thingy? Are you expecting it to be free?
QUOTE(victorian @ Jan 31 2021, 11:19 PM)
Which unit trust fund does not charge management fee ? You think the fund manager work for free ah?

Anyway I think you are in the wrong subforum. No point barking here
Haha

Surprising people still think UT charge little bit oni
vanitas
post Jan 31 2021, 11:44 PM

785 posts

Please don't be penny wise, pound foolish.

If you think it is a good investment, go for it. Whether stock, UT, stashaway or anything else.

Imagine 10 years ago, you got a choice, but because of high fee, you missed AAPL.

For unit trust, it is higher fee, but there are still some sector/regional funds available only on UT currently. If you want concentrate on those areas, it is still a good choice.

This post has been edited by vanitas: Jan 31 2021, 11:47 PM
JackMao P
post Feb 1 2021, 12:00 AM

Probation
22 posts

I recommend the SAFEST & FREE investment you can do is under you bantal and bed. No charges. No risk. Unless your house kenapa rompak and your bed got bed bug.
djhenry91
post Feb 1 2021, 12:36 AM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

got one..no fees involve..

FD lo..

u think like stock market meh

each transaction u do only charge brokerage,clearing fees,stamp duty and SST
SUSxander83
post Feb 1 2021, 01:16 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jan 31 2021, 07:58 PM)
Thanks for replying and sharing your view.
I'm sure it's been answered before, but just want to be certain, I can transfer my lump sum to Simple, and when ready to put into Investing, I transfer from Simple to Investing...that way, it's immediate, yes?

Lol, I did as well... everyday the generation gap keeps increasing, haih
Simple to Investing will take a week to reflect because of the settlement, conversion and buy order which takes time execute unless you want to time the market in weekly basis which is hard when on bullish run

If you want quick direct debit fastest within the same day on Monday morning before 10am with the exception of public holiday in Malaysia so that it can execute order on Monday in US markets

The reason why it takes because they have to sell your money market units in Malaysia which takes 3 days, conversion is quick and buy order will be reflected the next day depending on market price buy order execution

Tomorrow will be interesting for KWEB and IJR in terms on catalyst whether to see the trend will reversing or not rclxms.gif
stormseeker92
post Feb 1 2021, 01:23 AM

689 posts

Just got my bonus. and ready for the dips smile.gif

Same amount of DCA with extra bullets for buying more starting Tuesday 2nd. Prob chump change for most of sifus here but I am ready haha

This post has been edited by stormseeker92: Feb 1 2021, 01:24 AM
pinksapphire
post Feb 1 2021, 01:36 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Jan 31 2021, 08:07 PM)
Transfer straight to Investing could be faster.
QUOTE(xander83 @ Feb 1 2021, 01:16 AM)
Simple to Investing will take a week to reflect because of the settlement, conversion and buy order which takes time execute unless you want to time the market in weekly basis which is hard when on bullish run

If you want quick direct debit fastest within the same day on Monday morning before 10am with the exception of public holiday in Malaysia so that it can execute order on Monday in US markets

The reason why it takes because they have to sell your money market units in Malaysia which takes 3 days, conversion is quick and buy order will be reflected the next day depending on market price buy order execution

Tomorrow will be interesting for KWEB and IJR in terms on catalyst whether to see the trend will reversing or not  rclxms.gif
Thank you very much for your responses. No wonder I see most are not that pleased with the waiting time, lol
SUSxander83
post Feb 1 2021, 01:48 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Feb 1 2021, 01:36 AM)
Thank you very much for your responses. No wonder I see most are not that pleased with the waiting time, lol
Waiting time is important because too long waiting time missed on opportunity to make money

Anyway, the time is because of our financial system which the clearance, trading and execution are slow compared to developed financial hubs in NY, London, HK, SG, Tokyo or Sydney which way quicker hence you can see those are markets to trade because the movements are quick

Malaysia are slow like a snail only know how to copy the gamestonk which Tuesday won’t panned to those who try short squeeze the institutional investors on Glove shares

Park short term money on Simple and the long terms on investing to maximise gains which how SA is designed for rclxms.gif
tsutsugami86
post Feb 1 2021, 06:54 AM

524 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Feb 1 2021, 12:36 AM)
got one..no fees involve..

FD lo..

u think like stock market meh

each transaction u do only charge brokerage,clearing fees,stamp duty and SST
Maybe he feel buy / sell share only charge 1 time fees but SA charge monthly fees.

Not only FD, EPF & SSPN also no fees involve.
poooky
post Feb 1 2021, 09:54 AM

824 posts

just put some cash into stashaway.my. 80/20% split into core/higher risk. the UI is incredibly simple.

will report back in a couple months to report on progress.
tehoice
post Feb 1 2021, 10:16 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Feb 1 2021, 01:23 AM)
Just got my bonus. and ready for the dips smile.gif

Same amount of DCA with extra bullets for buying more starting Tuesday 2nd. Prob chump change for most of sifus here but I am ready haha
same same, gonna allocate a portion of the vitamin B into stashaway couple with regular DCA amount. can't believe i've deposited so much into stashaway for myself already, first milestone reached.

Is there anyone here plan to make this one of your largest portfolio after your EPF? or is it just me?

1032 Pages « < 576 577 578 579 580 > » Top

0.0219sec    1.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:57 AM