just put some cash into stashaway.my. 80/20% split into core/higher risk. the UI is incredibly simple.
will report back in a couple months to report on progress.
Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!
Feb 1 2021, 09:54 AM
825 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
just put some cash into stashaway.my. 80/20% split into core/higher risk. the UI is incredibly simple.
will report back in a couple months to report on progress. |
Feb 11 2021, 12:58 PM
Anyone park cash into into SA Simple? the advertised returns of 2.4% p.a are better than most FD available.
Feb 11 2021, 04:01 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(cucumber @ Feb 11 2021, 01:06 PM) I do. I park bulk of my cash in Simple & auto DCA weekly to my other portfolios. Love the convenience & simplicity. Cool, if you don't mind me asking, why weekly instead of monthly? Is there a strategy behind it?QUOTE(honsiong @ Feb 11 2021, 01:29 PM) Good to know. ThanksQUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Feb 11 2021, 02:05 PM) I am parking 1 month salary in Versa and 1 month salary in SA Simple, so far "personally" Versa less hassle and way faster/smoother in and out. Returns remains to be seen so no comment yet, early indication too biased towards one side that it doesn't make sense... What's Versa? |
Feb 11 2021, 04:53 PM
QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 11 2021, 04:15 PM) Thanks. So it's similar to SA Simple. I guess I'll pass on it for the time being until there's a need to diversity from SAMY. Too many Apps and accounts to keep track of. QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Feb 11 2021, 04:27 PM) Its basically just like SA Simple... money market fund sold as an FD alternative, pushing liquidity as its selling point. Versa's direction is trying to make MMF as liquid as possible, so you can deposit and withdraw quickly. Stashaway's view is that SA Simple's delay in withdrawal is great for investor self control. Hmm ok, thanks for the explanation. I'll stick to manual lump sum every other couple of months or so as I don't make enough for weekly DCAs.SA Simple underlying fund: https://www.eastspring.com/my/funds-and-sol...s?fundcode=E026 Versa underlying fund: https://affinhwangam.com/invest-with-us/lis...etails?q=EDFHCF In practice, while Versa advertises T+1 withdrawal, realistically speaking its more like T+2, so its only a slight improvement over SA simple for withdrawal. Versa also offer overnight interest for deposit processing delays. In future, Versa seems to hint at a card that can spend your funds in Versa directly, but I'll believe it when I see it. --- I also believe in weekly DCA too since the ... for the lack of proper terms since I am somewhat newbie too - "resolution" of the DCA is better. But if I am really honest? DCA weekly just make me feels better it scratch that "money spending" itch. So overall I save more. But anyway, I am not DCA-ing by choice, I'm DCA-ing because I am investing a portion of my income. if I had 100k lying around you can be sure I am lump-sum-ing them hahaha. This post has been edited by poooky: Feb 11 2021, 04:57 PM |
Feb 12 2021, 09:36 AM
QUOTE(xander83 @ Feb 12 2021, 01:08 AM) I will calculate to withdraw small amounts when the ringgit is weak and it depends on a week to week calculation based on USDMYR movements just like last week because I hit my target profit with my gains only not the base investments How do you time your withdrawals to maximise the exchange rate gains? It is based on spot spot price at the time of submitting the withdrawal?Yes I withdraw small amounts on the gains only when MYRUSD hit a certain target point just like last week it was trading at 4.0621 Ringgit has never hit below 0.26usd as it means it was trading at USDMYR at 3.846 which it has been never been hit for almost 3 years last week rate was at 0.2462 which is a total 4.06 when my entry was at 0.2496 on Jan 2 You have to buy when ringgit is strong and withdraw when the ringgit is weak to maximise the gains as you can see these 2 days price gains are small as compared due to strengthening ringgit which takes off almost 1% gains compared to price of ETFs |
Feb 12 2021, 03:28 PM
QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Feb 12 2021, 02:31 PM) I'm planning to move bulks once I hit 30K since it's more cost effective to move into overseas brokerage / currency exchange when doing it in bulks Any specific reasoning for 30k? or is this an arbitrary goal?Problem is the rebalancing part - with SA the rebalance is automatically done during monthly DCA but I doubt that I'll have transactions that frequently in my foreign brokerage |
Feb 17 2022, 06:56 AM
Feb 19 2022, 09:10 PM
Feb 20 2022, 08:47 AM
Feb 20 2022, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(sgh @ Feb 20 2022, 10:39 AM) When I start to read posts in forum about quitting platform, stop DCA etc reminds me back in 2008 Lehman Brothers crisis. I guess all investors are the same including me also. I thought the idea is to buy more during bear markets? in any case, the issue with SA is the advisors doubling down on kweb despite chai na going full on 1984.History and experience has told me it is a big mistake so now I am more prepared. I am not quitting. I just paced my DCA frequency longer say every 3-6 months with smaller DCA amount each time. I stay on but cautiously becuz the bounce back can be super fast and you may not have enough time to join in. Individual stock ok as it is traded on the spot but mutual fund and robo-advisor need time lag. Alternatively during this down period look for dividend paying stock,mutual fund or money market fund those can see can withdraw and use. Dividend paying ETF I just started but quarterly, half yearly, yearly too long so I buy more on mutual fund with monthly instead. |
Mar 17 2022, 07:07 AM
20% realized loss on 36 portfolio. SA has played out the Buy high sell low meme perfectly while still diam2 collect management fees.
I thank SA for the investment lesson. Going to decrease, maybe even stop dca'ing into SA, and go DIY route instead and just stack vwra. |
Mar 17 2022, 01:23 PM
Jul 2 2022, 07:20 AM
QUOTE(honsiong @ Jul 2 2022, 02:03 AM) I did the math, there is very little difference in interest earned whether you pick 1 month or 12, with auto renewal on. Curious, how are you losing on endowus cash smart? Isn't it like kdi save? With less than RM 5000, let it compound every 2-3 months. If 5000 and above just do 1 month auto renewal. Why would you put 12 months? Unless you are betting the int rate will fall. In that case, you will not earn as much with MMF bcoz their int rates are more fluid. Hell, I am losing $ on endowus cash portfolios (similar to stashaway simple). Also, where do you recommend to stash sgd fiat for msians not in sg. SA simple or endowus cash smart core? thinking of holding a small rainy day fund in sgd, and would like for it to be earning some interest. |
Jul 2 2022, 07:28 AM
Jul 25 2025, 02:11 PM