20 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

tehoice
post Aug 7 2019, 07:52 PM

5,529 posts

New to SA.

What do you guys normally set for a start for your retirement? I mean in terms of risk profile.

I answered a few questions and accidentally clicked continue and it recommended me a 12.5% risk index thingy.

I think I can take more risk and i have more than 20 years to retirement. believe can take a much higher risk.
tehoice
post Aug 7 2019, 08:19 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Aug 7 2019, 07:59 PM)
Currently on 18%, I am fresh grad. Previously was on 36% but then from the graph the potential return growth tapers off after 18-20%.
Thanks for sharing. You mean you do a manual revision to your own risk appetite?

I'm also wondering their risk index would yield how many actual % in returns? (based on historical data).
tehoice
post Aug 8 2019, 11:52 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(ViktorJ @ Aug 7 2019, 08:23 PM)
Uh if the pix doesn't show properly, or I sux at interwebbingz, just clickity the little button on the bottom right of the quote.

Or you can just read through the last 10 or so pages for some results posted by other people.
QUOTE(honsiong @ Aug 7 2019, 08:33 PM)
They just wrote a blog post.
QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Aug 7 2019, 08:44 PM)
i got mine recommended 36%

they just published 2 year record. take a look if you still have some doubt
many thanks guys, let me take a look later.
I'm really figuring out. if time is on your side, won't you want to take as much risk as possible to maximise returns? as you have enough time for it to bounce, also given that the robo advisor will automatically switch the portfolio for you to minimise the losses, so i think it's okay to go with higher risk profiles.

but i may set up different portfolio to see what's their performance for each different risk index portfolio, just to test it out.
tehoice
post Aug 8 2019, 11:52 AM

5,529 posts

- too excited until double posted -

This post has been edited by tehoice: Aug 8 2019, 11:53 AM
tehoice
post Aug 8 2019, 03:28 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(cucumber @ Aug 8 2019, 02:26 PM)
True in theory but we humans are emotional creatures. I for one would be anxious if the numbers start dropping significantly over a period of time. I would rather take a lower risk so I could sleep better at night. It all depends on your risk appetite.
make perfect sense.

tehoice
post Aug 27 2019, 03:56 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(ollec @ Aug 27 2019, 03:43 PM)
A lot of us invest RM250 a week, how does that work with IBKR?
How long have you guys been investing?

I just started off a lumpsum deposits 2-3 weeks ago. and now I'm topping up between 200-400 a week depending on market and my mood. Anyway, I plan to invest at least 1k with SA a month. but just not very sure where will I be heading to.

When president trump speaks, then I will buy deposit a bit more on the same day. hahaha
tehoice
post Aug 27 2019, 05:19 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(jusTinMM @ Aug 27 2019, 05:13 PM)
currently my risk is 14%...possible to increase the risk for my next coming fund?
yes, you can adjust your risk profile for your portfolio.
tehoice
post Aug 30 2019, 04:52 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(neverfap @ Aug 30 2019, 09:32 AM)
Reply from StashAway:

Our management fee ranges from 0.2%-0.8% per annum. It is charged monthly, on a pro rata basis, on the average Assets under Management (AUM) of that month. Kindly note that the average AUM also includes any returns made on the portfolio. This fee includes the cost of executing the ETF transactions, rebalancing your portfolio and changing your asset mix when economic conditions change (re-optimization). There is no additional brokerage/ transaction fee or any other fee.

Please note that ETFs charge, on average, an expense ratio of 0.15%-0.25%. This is charged over the course of the year in the form of adjustments to the Net Asset Value. This is not an actual cash flow borne by you. It is offset by the EFT funds before distributing the returns back to you. This expense ratio is incurred regardless of what platform you use to purchase ETFs.

There is also a currency conversion fee of 0.1% on the spot rate charged by our broker. This fee is much lower than what you will get with most banks on the street. Also, just to share, 0.1% is 0.001. If you watch the way currencies move in any given day, it will probably move by more than that in any given day.

Besides those, there are no other charges charged to you. Hope this clarifies smile.gif
does this means that the number we see, the returns, be it +ve or -ve, has already taken into account of the mgmt fee?
tehoice
post Dec 23 2019, 10:27 AM

5,529 posts

i created a 36% risk profile portfolio and deposited some money into it, wanna see how would it perform the other 2 that I have. 20% and 30% respectively. just doing it for the lulz

although both of my portfolios are in greens, but wanna see how would SA perform in a bear market. if it can withstand those downturns, then really kudos to SA.

meanwhile, don't stop DCA-ing.
tehoice
post Dec 24 2019, 09:56 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(blur19755 @ Dec 24 2019, 09:54 AM)
so... if there's a downfall of US stocks.... many of here not gonna be happy because of overwhelmed few months of happiness..
happy also, means it's time to further DCA and put in more money. after many months later, you will be happy again.
tehoice
post Jan 21 2020, 11:11 AM

5,529 posts

anyone redeemed the stasahway CNY8, 88 etc promo thingy?
tehoice
post Jan 21 2020, 12:23 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Chounz @ Jan 21 2020, 11:54 AM)
some new promotion or voucher?
i think is CNY promotion, when you deposit RM1888 or more, then you get 1 month management fee waived for the amount you deposited

20,888 and then 30,888 for 2 and 3 months waiver respectively.
tehoice
post Jan 22 2020, 07:31 PM

5,529 posts

just sharing.
tehoice
post Jan 29 2020, 09:28 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 28 2020, 01:35 PM)
Whatever gains from MyTheo completely wiped and in negative region now haha.

SA still holding on.

Wahed not really affected. Thank goodness. Because Malaysia markets nothing much to wipe anymore lol
what's your take on Wahed compared to SA? their funds perform better?
tehoice
post Jan 29 2020, 09:42 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 29 2020, 09:33 AM)
Currently my Wahed accounts gains already close to 9% and SA almost got wiped due to coronavirus outbreak. MyTheo also in negative region now. That's the volatily you have to expect when you invest in overseas and in USD.

Wahed also invest in much lesser funds, only 4 at the moment compared to huge baskets compared to SA and MyTheo. Although investing in many baskets seem to dilute the risk when shit happens but when shit hits everybody the losses are even greater lol.

But for long time it's still always better to diversify, holding MYR and USD stuff. In my noob opinion based on observation on my own accounts.
Yeah, agree with you that we should diversify more as we are in for the long haul. in the longer term, the overseas market tends to perform better than our local market.

maybe i would skip wahed as i'm already quite heavily invested in local funds via kenanga growth fund and other funds as well as own stock investment. will focus more on SA for now.

thanks for your valuable opinion.
tehoice
post Jan 29 2020, 09:46 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 29 2020, 09:44 AM)
Well Wahed minimum investment is RM100, if got spare cash can throw also laugh.gif
lol. maybe i can also look into it....

but quite diversified in terms of investment platform already. PRS, FSM, SA and own trading a/c.

your 9% return is for how long (period/tenure)?

This post has been edited by tehoice: Jan 29 2020, 09:46 AM
tehoice
post Jan 29 2020, 10:21 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 29 2020, 09:59 AM)
started investing on 2nd November.

this one can just DCA and forget lah. for spare cash. then you won't have temptation buy unnecessary stuff tongue.gif
Haha, okay. maybe i can try with small amount monthly or so. just to test it out and see how it performs.
this is also regulated by the SC right? (haven't read anything on them yet).
tehoice
post Feb 18 2020, 02:56 PM

5,529 posts

not sure why you guys been telling losing market in UT, if you select the right fund, you shouldn't be seeing much losses.

i invested in KGF for quite some time and it gives me handsome profit over the past few years.

only starting in 2018 i DCA monthly and see the return becomes smaller (due to more expensive cost), but i'm sure it will bear fruits in a few years time.
tehoice
post Feb 18 2020, 05:25 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 18 2020, 02:59 PM)
talking about KGF....read somewhere that they started adding M'sia Banking stocks into their portfolio last year.....unlike previously.
seems like KGF series 2 is taking the previous mandate...
do check it out if you want....
been investing in KGF for a couple of years now and continue adding/DCA on FSM for this KGF, so far the return has been quite good. given that I have just started dca not too long ago. give it another 2-3 years to see it bear more fruits.
tehoice
post Feb 19 2020, 12:06 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Feb 19 2020, 10:21 AM)
so it is actually better to DCA even though there are more cost such as sales charge and etc in the long run?
DCA gives you peace of mind.
We should always remember, time in the market > time the market.

Unless you can time the market perfectly then you can maximise your profits. otherwise, I would think DCA is way to go.

QUOTE(Sammie7 @ Feb 19 2020, 10:54 AM)
Not everyone started smoothly in their investment lol gotta start somewhere and learn from mistake.
Just DCA nia, no need to see luck anymore, every will go through the same. DCA is good for someone who can never discipline oneself..

QUOTE(Syncing @ Feb 19 2020, 11:33 AM)
I have never invested in UT before but I'm planning to, however I don't quite understand the impact of sales charge if you put a lump sum vs DCA.

Scenario 1 :
Putting in 10k lump sum with 1.75% sales charge.
Total sales charge paid = RM175

Scenario 2 :
DCA 10k in 10 months with 1.75% sales charge.
One month sales charge paid = 1.75% of 1k = 17.50
After ten months, total sales charges paid = RM175

Hence, it doesn't matter whether you lump sum or DCA, in the end the sales charges paid are the same. Of course, annual management fees would be different in two of those scenarios.

Can someone tell me if I'm wrong or right?
Yes you're right sir, so in the end you will still incur the RM175 sales charge, the difference is just the timing.

20 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0348sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:50 PM