672 Pages « < 494 495 496 497 498 > » Bottom

TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v4, Experience the ONE TRUE 2Gbps

kmrdeva
post Apr 6 2023, 05:45 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ Apr 6 2023, 05:41 PM)
RT-86U
RT-AC86U or RT-AX86U?

Never heard of an RT-86U before.
e_mc_square
post Apr 6 2023, 05:47 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(faizyunus @ Apr 6 2023, 01:04 PM)
Just out of curiosity, you mentioned ping your house public IP. Not sure if your router has this setting enabled or not?

Usually I will never leave this setting enabled. I only enable when troubleshooting network issue.

Alternatively you can go with ZeroTier for remote access needs. For my network I use both OpenVPN and ZeroTier. Never exposed my devices directly to the internet for security reasons.

Hopefully TIME manages to resolve your issue.
First of all, I want to say I am still a noob in networking. Despite I am a programmer. biggrin.gif

I am using the default router Huawei HG8145X6

I used a DDNS so that I got a domain that linked to my home public IP. Out of surprise, I found that router able to run a DDNS application. I setup gnuip/dynu. Can't run duckDNS.
DDNS consider safe?

I got no knowledge to setup a self VPN and I just see this "ZeroTier" wording yesterday when I am searching the net from my issue.
But since you mention it, I will do some research on this. Thank you very much for the recommendation.

Yes, I called Times this morning and tell them I can't ping my public IP. Then their tech team help me to do some config and BOOM! I can ping already.
FTP, SSH, Nextcloud all come back. biggrin.gif

Again, thank the community to keep me not giving up to solve the issue. Especiall JJ.
notworthy.gif
christina1
post Apr 6 2023, 05:47 PM

Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching.
2,104 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Apr 6 2023, 05:45 PM)
RT-AC86U or RT-AX86U?

Never heard of an RT-86U before.
RT-AC86U
kmrdeva
post Apr 6 2023, 05:51 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ Apr 6 2023, 05:47 PM)
RT-AC86U
I think the AC is good enough for 500mbps. I used to have the AC68U and it was fine.

Now I'm using an Asus Zenwifi XT8 mesh pair. It's really good, I am getting full 500mbps on wired PC connected to mesh node (12m from main node, behind 1 wall).

You may want to consider the AX models if you have wifi6 client devices at home.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Apr 6 2023, 05:52 PM
FusionXY
post Apr 6 2023, 07:55 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Apr 6 2023, 05:51 PM)
I think the AC is good enough for 500mbps. I used to have the AC68U and it was fine.

Now I'm using an Asus Zenwifi XT8 mesh pair. It's really good, I am getting full 500mbps on wired PC connected to mesh node (12m from main node, behind 1 wall).

You may want to consider the AX models if you have wifi6 client devices at home.
XT8 harga naik. Cannot afford.
faizyunus
post Apr 6 2023, 08:36 PM

445 posts

QUOTE(e_mc_square @ Apr 6 2023, 05:47 PM)
I am using the default router Huawei HG8145X6
I see. That explains a lot. ISP provided routers have remote management which allow TIME to remotely configure the settings on the router.

QUOTE(e_mc_square @ Apr 6 2023, 05:47 PM)
I used a DDNS so that I got a domain that linked to my home public IP. Out of surprise, I found that router able to run a DDNS application. I setup gnuip/dynu. Can't run duckDNS.
DDNS consider safe?
Dynamic DNS is safe. Each router brand have their own set of Dynamic DNS providers that you can choose from so its hit or miss. Most would just run the client on their server/PC
kmrdeva
post Apr 6 2023, 08:54 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Apr 6 2023, 07:55 PM)
XT8 harga naik. Cannot afford.
Yeah I remember I got the pair for rm1.5k last time. Now more expensive?
FusionXY
post Apr 6 2023, 08:56 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Apr 6 2023, 08:54 PM)
2.1K liao.
kmrdeva
post Apr 6 2023, 09:24 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Apr 6 2023, 08:56 PM)
2.1K liao.
Crazy!
blacktubi
post Apr 6 2023, 10:03 PM

-
8,424 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Apr 6 2023, 08:54 PM)
ASUS silently upgraded to ZenWiFi XT8 V2 with faster 1.7GHz CPU, newer Wi-Fi 6 chip, RangeBoost Pro

They kinda failed at marketing, could have called it XT8 Pro or something yet they decided to remain the name and now everybody complain at the increased price
kmrdeva
post Apr 6 2023, 10:11 PM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Apr 6 2023, 10:03 PM)
ASUS silently upgraded to ZenWiFi XT8 V2 with faster 1.7GHz CPU, newer Wi-Fi 6 chip, RangeBoost Pro

They kinda failed at marketing, could have called it XT8 Pro or something yet they decided to remain the name and now everybody complain at the increased price
Oh I see. Yeah, should've called it a 'pro' model.
stix
post Apr 7 2023, 02:14 AM

276 posts

hey guys, would anyone mind to advice me on which router to upgrade? Recently ive upgraded to 300mbps TIME but the router that i got with the package seems underwhelming. I used to get up to 90-100mbps with my old router on the 100mbps package. With the new router, im only getting 190-200 out of 300.

Budget's around 5-600. Thanks!

This post has been edited by stix: Apr 7 2023, 02:16 AM
e_mc_square
post Apr 7 2023, 10:25 AM

768 posts

QUOTE(faizyunus @ Apr 6 2023, 08:36 PM)
I see. That explains a lot. ISP provided routers have remote management which allow TIME to remotely configure the settings on the router.
Dynamic DNS is safe. Each router brand have their own set of Dynamic DNS providers that you can choose from so its hit or miss. Most would just run the client on their server/PC
What?! Seriously! They can remote configure the router? This is new.

Ya, like the DuckDNS, the can keep the IP update running in server PC instead of router.
blacktubi
post Apr 7 2023, 10:48 AM

-
8,424 posts

QUOTE(e_mc_square @ Apr 7 2023, 10:25 AM)
What?! Seriously! They can remote configure the router? This is new.

Ya, like the DuckDNS, the can keep the IP update running in server PC instead of router.
This is not new

Even since 4 years ago with the C1200 or DIR-850L, TIME can remotely access, provision and configure the router with TR-069 interface. In fact, most if not all ISPs do the same thing in Malaysia.

Hence, buy your own router for better privacy.
christina1
post Apr 7 2023, 10:56 AM

Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching.
2,104 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Apr 7 2023, 10:48 AM)
This is not new

Even since 4 years ago with the C1200 or DIR-850L, TIME can remotely access, provision and configure the router with TR-069 interface. In fact, most if not all ISPs do the same thing in Malaysia.

How do I configure my Asus 86U for TIME 500Mbps..

Any tutorial?
FusionXY
post Apr 7 2023, 11:27 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,836 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ Apr 7 2023, 10:56 AM)
How do I configure my Asus 86U for TIME 500Mbps..

Any tutorial?
I can help, but you must know the PPPoE details first.

ID : XXXX@timebb
Pass : XXXX

If you are using the 2 in 1 modem router then you have to request the CS to convert to bridge mode.
YouTube do have tutorials as well. But for TIME, no need to set profile.
Use custom profile. As once remote configuration, you will loss the internet through Wireless connection once it is in bridge mode.
zackloy
post Apr 10 2023, 04:19 PM

557 posts

Hi need some help on IPV6. I just changed to an ASUS XT 8 Mesh router - should I enable IPV6 and if yes, what option should I choose 1. Native or 2. Passthrough? Thanks in advance.
DeepMemory
post Apr 10 2023, 07:54 PM

1,805 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Apr 7 2023, 11:27 AM)
I can help, but you must know the PPPoE details first.

ID : XXXX@timebb
Pass : XXXX

If you are using the 2 in 1 modem router then you have to request the CS to convert to bridge mode.
YouTube do have tutorials as well. But for TIME, no need to set profile.
Use custom profile. As once remote configuration, you will loss the internet through Wireless connection once it is in bridge mode.
Hi bro i have the HG8145X6, can give tutorial for Tplink routers?
NovaPrime
post Apr 10 2023, 09:04 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(DeepMemory @ Apr 10 2023, 07:54 PM)
Hi bro i have the HG8145X6, can give tutorial for Tplink routers?
follow this guide
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mDLn9rJX76E
e_mc_square
post Apr 10 2023, 10:56 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Apr 7 2023, 10:48 AM)
This is not new

Thank you for your recommendation sifu. I will take note on that.

672 Pages « < 494 495 496 497 498 > » Top

0.0265sec    1.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:18 AM