672 Pages « < 333 334 335 336 337 > » Bottom

TIME [OFFICIAL] TIME Fibre Broadband™ v4, Experience the ONE TRUE 2Gbps

jjj2
post Jan 8 2021, 10:52 PM

3,616 posts

QUOTE(fai.the.zal @ Jan 8 2021, 08:20 PM)

Just bought Archer AX50, connected it to the modem, but the WAN light is orange.. not green. My old wifi router is working okay though. DO i need to call TIME Cust Svcs to change the setting to the Huawei modem?
Hi, what model is the ONU (aka fibre modem) ?

jjj2
post Jan 8 2021, 10:53 PM

3,616 posts

QUOTE(francistcc @ Jan 8 2021, 08:08 PM)
OK. Thanks. May I know the reason for it? So I gonna convert the c1200 to AP
This TP-link Archer C1200 has been a while & it is giving lots of issues & instabilities...some earlier batches work well but not all batches. We are facing complaints frequently.

fai.the.zal
post Jan 8 2021, 11:00 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Jan 8 2021, 10:52 PM)
Hi, what model is the ONU (aka fibre modem) ?

It's Huawei EchoLife HG8240H.

Noname95
post Jan 8 2021, 11:02 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jan 8 2021, 07:08 PM)
Do you work in your bedroom most of the time or spent most of your WFH hours at your living hall?
If you can afford it, wire up all your room with CAT6/E ethernet wall outlets for future proofing.

You can further expand your network in future by using additional switches in each individual room or buy a wall mounted mini APs/mesh units via wired connections turning it on only when needed.

For me I don't like to have a powerful WiFi AP right beside my head where I sleep for health reasons. I intentionally TURN off my 2.4G WiFi and only enable 5G for strategic reasons just "ENOUGH" to cover my workstation area which is part of my living hall.

You might want to know why I intentionally restrict my WiFi coverage area just enough to cover where I work. Firstly I minimize the chances of my neighbors interfering using jammers, listening and stealing my WiFi. If you just walk away from the living hall at my house, immediately you would lose the 5G WiFi signals right away. Also I would know that if there's an intrusion in my network, I can ALMOST be certain it's my neighbor which is stealing it because it's so weak the signal it makes it not even worth STEALING.

Second, it's for health reasons.  I don't want a powerful high frequency transmitter beside my head while I sleep. My bedrooms and TV rack in my living hall all have wired outlets to serve my needs.
Dont have that much money and time to hack all my walls and do this now laugh.gif

Most of the times I would be doing my work & spending my times at the living room & got a TV box. But, would be ideal if i just could cover other bedrooms with WiFi signals since other family members spend their most their time in there.

I do agree on the health reasons too.
Noname95
post Jan 8 2021, 11:10 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(francistcc @ Jan 8 2021, 08:09 PM)
Ur 2 in1 router support mesh WiFi. Y not just get a mesh node from time to cover that area?
Mesh is a good option instead of router ? I'm quite new to mesh, not really sure about it. If possible i don't want to sacrifice speed since that is what I pay and switch from UniFi. I'm okay as long as I can get almost full speed at living room, for bedrooms just need good WiFi coverage
Noname95
post Jan 8 2021, 11:13 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(jjj2 @ Jan 8 2021, 10:50 PM)
Hi, you may place an AP at the green marked spot if there is a network port there (there should be with this kind of design).

Yeah there is a network port there.

Any recommendation ? Need able to provide almost full speed 500mbps , right now I cant get full speed with the provided 2 in 1 ONU . icon_question.gif

Should I invest more for WiFi 6 coz my laptop can support it, i do play online games most of the times and my work demand good network connection too.

This post has been edited by Noname95: Jan 8 2021, 11:22 PM
SUSCandy12
post Jan 8 2021, 11:26 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Noname95 @ Jan 8 2021, 11:02 PM)
Dont have that much money and time to hack all my walls and do this now  laugh.gif

Most of the times I would be doing my work & spending my times at the living room & got a TV box. But, would be ideal if i just could cover other bedrooms with WiFi signals since other family members spend their most their time in there.

I do agree on the health reasons too.
You don't need much money to run direct ethernet cables concealed in cable covers along the walls just like your electrical cables.

Since you mentioned that connectivity in bedrooms are just for convenience, you don't need wiring to cover all rooms then. Stick with your original plan of relocating the router opposite the dining table as you've marked. Run just a single ethernet wire under cable covers along the wall further down the walkway leading to the bedrooms to somewhere right in the middle of all 4 rooms.Make sure you have a electrical socket nearby for convenience. Place just an AP there either wall mounted or on a small rack. Turn it on/off only when you need to access internet from your room on demand. That should be good enough to cover all 4 rooms.

The AP/mesh unit works just like a wired switch except its connects to your devices wirelessly. All routing functions will still be handled by the main router which you plan to place at the hall.

For your tv box, you might also want to run a cable across the wall to provide a port for your tv rack.

You probably need 2X 10M of CAT6E cables for both the bedroom area AP and TV box. That should leave you with 2 more spare ports on your router for other purposes maybe a closeby workstation PC.

Under RM300 should be more than enough if you can get reliable contractor or friend or DIY.
Noname95
post Jan 8 2021, 11:45 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jan 8 2021, 11:26 PM)
You don't need much money to run direct ethernet cables concealed in cable covers along the walls just like your electrical cables.

Since you mentioned that connectivity in bedrooms are just for convenience, you don't need wiring to cover all rooms then. Stick with your original plan of relocating the router opposite the dining table as you've marked. Run just a single ethernet wire under cable covers along the wall further down the walkway leading to the bedrooms to somewhere right in the middle of all 4 rooms.Make sure you have a electrical socket nearby for convenience. Place just an AP there either wall mounted or on a small rack. Turn it on/off only when you need to access internet from your room on demand. That should be good enough to cover all 4 rooms.

The AP/mesh unit works just like a wired switch except its connects to your devices wirelessly. All routing functions will still be handled by the main router which you plan to place at the hall.

For your tv box, you might also want to run a cable across the wall to provide a port for your tv rack.

You probably need 2X 10M of CAT6E cables for both the bedroom area AP and TV box. That should leave you with 2 more spare ports on your router for other purposes maybe a closeby workstation PC.

Under RM300 should be more than enough if you can get reliable contractor or friend or DIY.
Unfortunately, the walkway leading to bedrooms don't have any electrical sockets. Last time I was using a TP-Link Wifi Extender RE200 to extend the WiFi from bedroom 3, not that satisfy with the speed it provided, but serve it purpose la for my other family members who always stay in their room.

Any recommendation for the router which I plan to place at beside the TV / opposite dining table ?

Thank you
SUSCandy12
post Jan 8 2021, 11:55 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Noname95 @ Jan 8 2021, 11:45 PM)
Unfortunately, the walkway leading to bedrooms don't have any electrical sockets. Last time I was using a TP-Link Wifi Extender RE200 to extend the WiFi from bedroom 3, not that satisfy with the speed it provided, but serve it purpose la for my other family members who always stay in their room.

Any recommendation for the router which I plan to place at beside the TV / opposite dining table ?

Thank you
You can consider using a PoE adapter then. It uses half of the set of wires inside your ethernet cable to supply electricity simultaneously with data through it to your wireless AP.

The router brand I'll leave it to the sellers here to give you a suggestion. smile.gif

Noname95
post Jan 9 2021, 12:04 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(Candy12 @ Jan 8 2021, 11:55 PM)
You can consider using a PoE adapter then. It uses half of the set of wires inside your ethernet cable to supply electricity simultaneously with data through it to your wireless AP.

The router brand I'll leave it to the sellers here to give you a suggestion. smile.gif
PoE adapter ... First time hear of this .. So means Router -> PoE adapter -> AP ?
Thanks for the suggestion on AP setup & location optimization advice though. Really help alot on my plan. thumbsup.gif
SUSCandy12
post Jan 9 2021, 12:12 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(Noname95 @ Jan 9 2021, 12:04 AM)
PoE adapter ... First time hear of this .. So means Router -> PoE adapter -> AP ?
Thanks for the suggestion on AP setup & location optimization advice though. Really help alot on my plan.  thumbsup.gif
The PoE Injector unit has 2 inputs, one the data ethernet cable from the router and power supply port with a ethernet output port that combines both inputs to be sent to the AP device with a single cable. That's how they wire up outdoor wireless APs on roofs instead of pulling 2 separate wires all the way out there.

Make sure your wireless AP unit must also be able to support PoE ports to separate the 2 sources at the other end.
Davidtcf
post Jan 9 2021, 10:58 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(fai.the.zal @ Jan 8 2021, 10:48 PM)
Yes, i do. i am familiar with wireless router setup (been doing setups with no issue all these while). Reconnecting using my old router has no issue at all.. just this newly-bought AX50 shows orange light for WAN.. like there's no internety signal from the huawei modem at all. Called TIME Cust Svcs, they have confirmed that the modem's function is sety to "only modem". They have even re-set the connection, but the same issue still persist.
You need to put the cable into port 1 of the huawei modem, and the other end to the WAN port of the AX50 which is blue.

Then important part is set the connection as PPOE at tp link page, with TIME username password which is found in your first email after subscribe the broadband.

If still cannot call Helpdesk to log a ticket to tech team to help u check further. Their Helpdesk troubleshooting skills is very low so best check with the experts.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Jan 9 2021, 10:59 AM
hlmilk112
post Jan 9 2021, 02:57 PM

106 posts

Hi all TIME Sifu,
Is the omnimesh Huawei wa8210v5 will working together with tplink ec230 (compatible).
Just link wifi / lan to ec230 then the mesh will working rite?
vicng93
post Jan 10 2021, 02:01 PM

184 posts

hey guys, just wanna confirm, for any time home broadband plan, in an event of downtime/breakdown of service due to fibre fault/time's fault, there is no waiver or discount offered regardless of the length of service downtime? (hours to days etc)
blacktubi
post Jan 10 2021, 07:35 PM

-
8,422 posts

QUOTE(vicng93 @ Jan 10 2021, 02:01 PM)
hey guys, just wanna confirm, for any time home broadband plan, in an event of downtime/breakdown of service due to fibre fault/time's fault, there is no waiver or discount offered regardless of the length of service downtime? (hours to days etc)
Nope, no compensation for consumer user unless you have a service level agreement with TIME.
kskoay
post Jan 10 2021, 07:42 PM

659 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jan 10 2021, 07:35 PM)
Nope, no compensation for consumer user unless you have a service level agreement with TIME.
FYI, this is not the case for TM, they do provide compensation, I went through this experience before (2 times)
vicng93
post Jan 10 2021, 09:06 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(kskoay @ Jan 10 2021, 07:42 PM)
FYI, this is not the case for TM, they do provide compensation, I went through this experience before (2 times)
Ok that's sad... I was using maxis before I ported to time when it was available at my condo in December 2020, maxis also got provide compensation whenever there is down time sad.gif yesterday 5 hours downtime for the whole condo
blacktubi
post Jan 10 2021, 10:48 PM

-
8,422 posts

QUOTE(kskoay @ Jan 10 2021, 07:42 PM)
Yes, I used to be a TM user as well but unfortunately TIME does not provide compensation.

jjj2
post Jan 11 2021, 09:09 AM

3,616 posts

QUOTE(fai.the.zal @ Jan 8 2021, 11:00 PM)
It's Huawei EchoLife HG8240H.
Hi Bro, please make sure your AX50 has set in the correct PPPOE credentials and hook it up to HG8240H LAN 1 port.

For testing, use your PC hooking up to HG8240H ONU LAN1 port, create a dialup connection with the given PPPOE credentials, double click to check whether it connects, if things are ok, you should be connected less than 5s.

jjj2
post Jan 11 2021, 09:13 AM

3,616 posts

QUOTE(Noname95 @ Jan 8 2021, 11:13 PM)
Yeah there is a network port there.

Any recommendation ? Need able to provide almost full speed 500mbps , right now I cant get full speed with the provided 2 in 1 ONU .  icon_question.gif

Should I invest more for WiFi 6 coz my laptop can support it, i do play online games most of the times and my work demand good network connection too.
Hi, please perform a test with direct cable connection of your laptop to the 2-in-1 ONT first, make sure you are able to get the expected bandwidth.

Then use the network cable in your living room connect it to your laptop and perform another round of test, if that gives you the same expected result, then only you go for some investment for wifi6 routers.

672 Pages « < 333 334 335 336 337 > » Top

0.0234sec    1.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:59 PM