Debit card, Anything about it.

GHz
post May 12 2009, 07:38 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(Lucky @ May 12 2009, 02:06 AM)
Is there any different between Visa and Visa Electron?

Is Visa Electron accepted anywhere where Visa sign is showed?
Not all. Only at the place where electronic transaction accepted. means that no offline transaction allowed.
Halfhearted04
post May 12 2009, 11:00 PM

Sloth
1,942 posts

i need to do a paypal transaction as soon as possible . but i'm not eligible for a credit card.

please anyone give me a name of a debit card which could be fast to apply and able accept paypal ?

MilesAndMore
post May 13 2009, 12:00 AM

9,301 posts

You might want to try EON Bank Combi Mastercard (red one). A guy claimed he managed to get his verified.
eucalyptol
post May 13 2009, 01:46 AM

55 posts

Has anyone tried online transactions using visa electron from local banks?

I recently booked airline tickets for inter-euro travels and was charged very high 'admin' charges for using visa/mastercard credit cards.
eg:

flight ticket: £ 60

CC charge: £7
visa electron : free!

i was like wtf? i had no choice but to pay the charges.
Using visa electron seems like the logical choice. Is our local visa electron valid for overseas based transactions?

MilesAndMore
post May 13 2009, 01:54 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(eucalyptol @ May 13 2009, 01:46 AM)
Has anyone tried online transactions using visa electron from local banks?

I recently booked airline tickets for inter-euro travels and was charged very high 'admin' charges for using visa/mastercard credit cards.
eg:

flight ticket: £ 60

CC charge: £7
visa electron : free!

i was like wtf? i had no choice but to pay the charges.
Using visa electron seems like the logical choice. Is our local visa electron valid for overseas based transactions?
I assume you just booked a ticket on either Ryanair or Easyjet ? In Europe they seem to have this absurd rule and i don't know why either. Not sure about Standard Chartered Bank VISA Electron but Public Bank VISA Electron can be used overseas. I personally have used it on singaporeairlines.com several times before i got my very first credit card.
eucalyptol
post May 13 2009, 02:09 AM

55 posts

Have booked easyjet and bmibaby.... ryanair not yet.
The example above was for bmibaby, which has higher cc charges compared to easyjet.

thx for feedback smile.gif
will find out more from pbb.

nursarahlam
post May 13 2009, 01:05 PM

125 posts

I don't understand why Maybank change their ATM card to debit card and then not allow online transaction (only over the counter debit card transaction). I had a mess with this debit card when I was doing online transaction.

nanakopy87
post May 13 2009, 04:26 PM

You were...
1,835 posts

i tot even u using their atm card oso can't use for online transaction???

Added on May 18, 2009, 5:25 pmPB ING Mastercard Paypass can use for online shopping?
am thinking to apply either this or the normal visa electron

This post has been edited by nanakopy87: May 18 2009, 05:25 PM
nanakopy87
post May 18 2009, 06:02 PM

You were...
1,835 posts

PB ING Mastercard Paypass can use for online shopping?
am thinking to apply either this or the normal visa electron
RwGlmllhpSX
post May 19 2009, 03:01 AM

203 posts

QUOTE(Lucky @ May 12 2009, 02:06 AM)
Is there any different between Visa and Visa Electron?

Is Visa Electron accepted anywhere where Visa sign is showed?
Visa means no smart chip, only magnetic stripe.
In countries like US, almost all credit cards have no chips, only magnetic stripes, and most merchants only have magnetic stripe processing decoder(only offline).

Whilst Visa Electron has chip, which doesn't make difference in Malaysia since all Malaysian-issued Cards have chips just like EuroCards.
Since almost all Malaysian merchants have both chips and magnetic stripe processing decoder, you will have no any inconvenience.

Also, it doesn't really mean that Visa Electron are electronic-only transactions. Because countries like Australia and US will accept Visa Electron although they don't have chip processor due to "VISA accepts all" policy.

For Mastercard, regardless of whether that country has chip or not, Mastercard merchant have to accepts Mastercards.

Hope it helps.

RwG

This post has been edited by RwGlmllhpSX: May 19 2009, 03:03 AM
owenwong84
post May 26 2009, 02:55 PM

Zin zin
1,041 posts

Do we need any document to submit for applying pb visa electron?

the counter staff ask me to submit my offer letter to them. hmm.gif

MilesAndMore
post May 26 2009, 04:13 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(owenwong84 @ May 26 2009, 02:55 PM)
Do we need any document to submit for applying pb visa electron?
I submitted a photocopy of my MyKad and the application form only.

This might not be the correct thread to post this BAD NEWS but it is related to a debit card, somehow. Standard Chartered Bank has further reduced the interest rate for their much publicized E$AVER Savings Account to only 0.7% for balance between RM0 - RM100,000, 2.2% for RM100,001 - RM200,000 and 1.5% for deposit above RM200,000.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: May 26 2009, 05:30 PM
geo
post May 26 2009, 05:54 PM

I am HUNGRY
770 posts

debit card has no password ==
MilesAndMore
post May 26 2009, 08:19 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(geo @ May 26 2009, 05:54 PM)
debit card has no password ==
You are wrong. Debit card does have password.
nanakopy87
post May 26 2009, 08:20 PM

You were...
1,835 posts

debit card which is linked to your saving/current account has password if you use it as MEPS
GHz
post May 26 2009, 08:35 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 26 2009, 08:19 PM)
You are wrong. Debit card does have password.
QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ May 26 2009, 08:20 PM)
debit card which is linked to your saving/current account has password if you use it as MEPS
Password or PIN number?

Is it? Got password? Been using SCB & Alliance bank Debit card for the part 6+ months, never encounter the case where I have to key in password or PIN number. Normally I use it at Hypermarket & Petrol Pump

nanakopy87
post May 26 2009, 09:55 PM

You were...
1,835 posts

i'm not sure bout others...but alliance and maybank do have password is they detect your card is bank card.
previously the gal told me my MBB can't get thru via credit card terminal but MEPS can....
i'm not sure if alliance can use for both ways or only the can get thru via CC terminal,but confirm MBB can be use for both....
n dun forget that ur debit card= ur atm card...so they have passwords
MilesAndMore
post May 26 2009, 11:45 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ May 26 2009, 08:35 PM)
Password or PIN number?

Password or PIN number it is the same. It is a top secret thing that you should never reveal to anyone, including your wife biggrin.gif

QUOTE(GHz @ May 26 2009, 08:35 PM)
Is it? Got password? Been using SCB & Alliance bank Debit card for the part 6+ months, never encounter the case where I have to key in password or PIN number. Normally I use it at Hypermarket & Petrol Pump
You don't have to key in your PIN number like Bankard. The password is needed only when you need to check your card balance at the ATM or to withdraw money.

bingozero
post May 27 2009, 07:31 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 26 2009, 04:13 PM)
BAD NEWS but it is related to a debit card, somehow. Standard Chartered Bank has further reduced the interest rate for their much publicized E$AVER Savings Account to only 0.7% for  balance between RM0 - RM100,000, 2.2% for RM100,001 - RM200,000 and 1.5% for deposit above RM200,000.
The interest rate already drop half then before, but still Standard Chartered Bank provide the interest rate higher than the other bank, don't they?
MilesAndMore
post May 27 2009, 03:24 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ May 27 2009, 07:31 AM)
The interest rate already drop half then before, but still Standard Chartered Bank provide the interest rate higher than the other bank, don't they?
Indeed. When first launched, they were giving 2.5%, then reduced to 1.5% in February and now down to 0.7%. It is still higher than most banks but i no longer see the reason why should i keep this account anymore. Will move my money back to my existing banks and eventually close it down. Such as hassle to have so many bank accounts smile.gif

132 Pages « < 83 84 85 86 87 > » Top

0.1549sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:01 PM