Debit card, Anything about it.

MilesAndMore
post Apr 26 2009, 01:20 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(wkf @ Apr 26 2009, 01:06 AM)
is the debit card able to do the transaction if i put sufficient money or top the money up amounting to (4000.00) for installment (100 X 12 mths) 

can the transaction do this way.  what if it can be done.. will the bank charge?
You cannot do installment with a debit card.

lostasylum
post Apr 27 2009, 01:00 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 26 2009, 01:20 AM)
wow. thanks for the information! that is really useful information to know.
how did you know by the way? personal experience or did someone tell you?
cause i never knew that debit card wouldn't allow for installment payments.
goolie
post Apr 27 2009, 02:01 PM

795 posts

yaya..debit card cant used for installment..so any other disadvantage of it?
MilesAndMore
post Apr 27 2009, 02:04 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(lostasylum @ Apr 27 2009, 01:00 PM)
wow. thanks for the information! that is really useful information to know.
how did you know by the way? personal experience or did someone tell you?
cause i never knew that debit card wouldn't allow for installment payments.
I was a PBB VISA Electron user before i got myself a credit card last year. As far as i know, for debit card they will deduct the amount of money that is in your account and i have never seen any store that actually offer monthly installment for those paying using debit card rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Apr 27 2009, 03:11 PM
diwan jamil
post Apr 27 2009, 02:09 PM

CompTIA A+ Certified IT Technician
622 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 26 2009, 01:20 AM)
i used to bought new netbook at lowyat using installment b4. but they said, cannot loh. btw, i'm using mbb debit card. i also have bank islam debit card. but dunno wither it works for installment or not hmm.gif
xin
post Apr 27 2009, 02:26 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

I think debit cards draws money solely on your account. It all depends if ur account got how much money. Since it draws from your account i dun think there is any installment for that. Why do we need installment when the card recognize ur account has the sufficient money to buy the item. For credit card it is different, u 'borrow' the money or the given limit of money from bank. And the bank allows payment via installment or you can pay it one lump sum if can afford it.
goolie
post Apr 27 2009, 02:38 PM

795 posts

yes..u all r right, if wan to buy notebook cost rm2000 but in ur debit card accoutn just only rm500 and u request to do installment, how can? if one day u lari diri, how they going to find u?
Vincent_A8fm
post Apr 27 2009, 08:15 PM

179 posts

I apply a RHB debit card on early April 2009..
Now already 27 April 2009..

Ok.. I get my card the the day of registration, and I apply it at the RHB Branch.. Juz need IC, that's all..
Later they ask to deposit RM100.00 into the account to activate it..

I did it on the same day.. I deposited RM450.00..

###############################

The next day, I went to Shell to fill my car petrol by using the card stated above..
I tried twice, it approved but can't fill petrol..

I ask the petrol station stuff to help me..

He say my card have not enough credit.. Then i use cash to fill lo..
After that, I went to RHB ATM to check my credit, the balance only left RM29.00...

I'm shock!!

Only 2days.. From RM450.00 to RM29.00???
I never even take a good look on the card either..

Then i called the help centre.. They pass me in a circle then they say like this:-
RM20.00 for the card services..
RM200.00 for the petrol deposit
RM200.00 for the petrol deposit..

They even say each time fill petrol, RHB will arrest our balance RM200.00..
After 2weeks they will return the balance..

But until now.. Already 3weeks more, I never receive my balance back yet..
I should have my RM400.00 back since I cannot pump the petrol also..\

Now how arr?? Must find who to help??
Call bank negara to complaint RHB?? Or lodge a police report..??

This post has been edited by Vincent_A8fm: Apr 27 2009, 08:19 PM
GHz
post Apr 27 2009, 09:47 PM

1,139 posts

Do panic ler. I in the same situation as yours last time but with SCB debit card. Put in debit card & approved but card got stuck. So pump attendance cancel the transaction but RM200 still deducted from my account. Only refund back after almost 1 months.

You can call CS to check. Do need to do police report unless bank not refund you at all.
MilesAndMore
post Apr 27 2009, 10:54 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Vincent_A8fm @ Apr 27 2009, 08:15 PM)
Call bank negara to complaint RHB?? Or lodge a police report..??
To lodge a police report is unnecessary at the moment. Try to visit your nearest RHB Bank branch and try to get them to help you and if it is still the same then lodge a complain to Bank Negara.

storekeeper
post Apr 27 2009, 11:07 PM

64 posts

Woow..this is the first time I heard Debit Card will be freeze RM200 each swipe at petrol station.? Can any pro here explain why does it happen or need to be like that.? Only for RHB Debit card only or applicable to all Debit cards.?

Last time I was using PBB Debit Card as well but never try at petrol station. Now I have RHB Debit card just for the ATM purpose coz I have few Cerdit cards on hand with me now.

This post has been edited by storekeeper: Apr 27 2009, 11:11 PM
lostasylum
post Apr 27 2009, 11:16 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

i actually took a debit card because i wanted to use it to verify my paypal account. after hunting around the forum, decided to get SCB's e$aver debit card...

however, after getting it, i couldn't verify my paypal account with it. see see i found out that the SCB debit card that i have can't do that... so now i got an unverified paypal account and i debit card that i hardly use... hahahahh...
MilesAndMore
post Apr 27 2009, 11:48 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(storekeeper @ Apr 27 2009, 11:07 PM)
Woow..this is the first time I heard Debit Card will be freeze RM200 each swipe at petrol station.? Can any pro here explain why does it happen or need to be like that.? Only for RHB Debit card only or applicable to all Debit cards.?
All debit card. Used to be only RM150 last time.

QUOTE(lostasylum @ Apr 27 2009, 11:16 PM)
i actually took a debit card because i wanted to use it to verify my paypal account. after hunting around the forum, decided to get SCB's e$aver debit card...

however, after getting it, i couldn't verify my paypal account with it. see see i found out that the SCB debit card that i have can't do that... so now i got an unverified paypal account and i debit card that i hardly use... hahahahh...
The high interest rate of that account at least make it worth it right ? I have one too.

GHz
post Apr 28 2009, 08:05 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 27 2009, 11:48 PM)
All debit card. Used to be only RM150 last time.
Yes it used to be RM150 before petrol price increase to RM2.70 but increase to RM200 after petrol petrol increase. When petrol price drop, this amount never change.
tommy3679582
post Apr 28 2009, 09:57 AM

61 posts

how is if my debit card stolen by others then he use my card to purchase item ?
can i get refund from bank ? ohmy.gif ohmy.gif
hye
post Apr 28 2009, 10:28 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tommy3679582 @ Apr 28 2009, 09:57 AM)
how is if my debit card stolen by others then he use my card to purchase item ?
can i get refund from bank ?  ohmy.gif  ohmy.gif
You need to quickly inform the bank to block your card. The liabilities (if I understand the T&C correctly) are still with you until you report your loss to the bank. I've read about BNM limiting losses to only RM200 (if I remember it correctly) for credit cards but I'm not sure about debit cards.
lostasylum
post Apr 29 2009, 10:22 AM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 27 2009, 11:48 PM)
The high interest rate of that account at least make it worth it right ? I have one too.
true, but the problem is, i've still got an unverified paypal account.... hahahahahaha.... any good debit cards that can verify paypal?
MilesAndMore
post Apr 29 2009, 03:55 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(lostasylum @ Apr 29 2009, 10:22 AM)
true, but the problem is, i've still got an unverified paypal account.... hahahahahaha.... any good debit cards that can verify paypal?
Public Bank VISA Electron.

hoho1222
post Apr 29 2009, 07:28 PM

306 posts

juz to share my personal experience..
I'm user of Public Bank tarc debit master card.. n it can be verify by paypal(ofcos ur acc must got money inside)
n the annual fees for this card is waived..
MilesAndMore
post Apr 29 2009, 08:26 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hoho1222 @ Apr 29 2009, 07:28 PM)
juz to share my personal experience..
I'm user of Public Bank tarc debit master card.. n it can be verify by paypal(ofcos ur acc must got money inside)
n the annual fees for this card is waived..
But i think the problem with debit Mastercard is that you cannot withdraw money using it (as stated in PayPal). This is not a problem with Public Bank VISA Electron.

132 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:23 PM