125 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Bottom

Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

davidbilly87
post Aug 13 2007, 07:37 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(rockmaniac85 @ Aug 13 2007, 08:30 PM)
will it be safe to use a cheap psu to solely power up 8800 card? for me larr, i wouldn't want unclean power to power up something i spent so much on..

remember, psu is like the heart of the pc. psu hancur, e'thing else also hancur.. dangerous..

supposed you should get yourself a really good psu, then only you think about the others..

just my 2cents
how mush ur SILVERSTONE STRIDER ST56F 560W ?? u also use same lv gc card with mine ....so ur 8800 stable ?? if is i get ur psu ..
iZuDeeN
post Aug 13 2007, 08:49 PM

3,466 posts

450w already enough to power 8800gts

but for gtx, you need 500w, 550 recommended
mADmAN
post Aug 13 2007, 08:54 PM

10,530 posts

not enough ler 450w. ive tried with my CM Real Power 450w ACLX.

cant take load for too long...after awhile the monitor goes kuku and then no picture liao.

even 3D Mark 05 oso only got 8k with my 8800GTS.

after my personal experience i seriously would NOT recommend anything lower than 500w

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Aug 13 2007, 08:59 PM
Nemesis181188
post Aug 13 2007, 08:56 PM

635 posts

Yeah that's why I am going for shawty's 8600gt instead of the 8800.My psu really cham leh.What to do,broke until need to sell my backside.
hydelai
post Aug 13 2007, 09:57 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 13 2007, 02:59 PM)
LOL...OK.Thanks alot bro.. smile.gif
Hi is this power supply spec good ? hmm.gif

Specification

Dimension 150 x 160 x 86 mm (W x L x H)
Weight 2.5 kg
Info AC INPUT 100-240 Vac 8/4A 47-63Hz
DC OUTPUT +3.3V +5V +12V1 +12V2 +12V3 +12V4 -12V +5Vsb
MAX OUTPUT CURRENT 30A 28A 18A 18A 18A 18A 0.8A 3.0A
41A
MAX COMBINED WATTAGE 140W 492W 9.6W 15W
530W 20W
TOTAL POWER 550W

sHawTY
post Aug 13 2007, 10:08 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(hydelai @ Aug 13 2007, 09:57 PM)
Hi is this power supply spec good ?  hmm.gif
What brand is that?
hydelai
post Aug 13 2007, 10:20 PM

281 posts

Gigabyte lolz tongue.gif

I want to buy a good PSU but sadly my area only carry coolermaster extreme power and gigabyte odin pro rclxub.gif
davidbilly87
post Aug 13 2007, 10:33 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(hydelai @ Aug 13 2007, 11:20 PM)
Gigabyte lolz  tongue.gif

I want to buy a good PSU but sadly my area only carry coolermaster extreme power and gigabyte odin pro  rclxub.gif
gigabyte odin pro <<how much ?? can run 8800 gts?

This post has been edited by davidbilly87: Aug 13 2007, 10:34 PM
SlayerXT
post Aug 13 2007, 10:49 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Odin Pro 550W around RM400. GT, RM450. For sure can run 8800GTS lor.. sweat.gif
rockmaniac85
post Aug 13 2007, 10:57 PM

453 posts

I got my SS Strider 560W for RM340 in one of the shops in lowyat. Probably can get cheaper if anyone running bulk on it, or garage sale.. try to find lor, gigabyte odin seems more expensive..
hydelai
post Aug 13 2007, 11:00 PM

281 posts

i think gigabyte odin expensive because of it is modular PSU tongue.gif
tonny
post Aug 13 2007, 11:51 PM

Validating
66 posts

Hi all experts,

Last few days I just bought the Asus nvidia 8600GT, to replace the Asus ATI X1650Pro-GE. At first, I've install the driver and utility (include Asus OSD and Smart Doctor) from CD, when I reboot and logon into windows, it immediately come out with blue screen of death after few seconds. I've try for few times of reboot, still the same. Then I format my hard disk and reinstall again (this time only install nvidia driver for 8600GT only), then it seems work fine. But today when running game in middle way, the blue screen of death coming again. The following is my dxdiag information, Hope anyone give me some advices and recommendation of how to solve the problem. I'm really appreciate it.

Regards: Tony

Attached File(s)
Attached File  dxdiag.txt ( 41.58k ) Number of downloads: 9
sHawTY
post Aug 14 2007, 12:22 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(tonny @ Aug 13 2007, 11:51 PM)
Hi all experts,
Which type of 8600GT you bought?
Mind telling the exact model? smile.gif
tonny
post Aug 14 2007, 09:07 AM

Validating
66 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Aug 14 2007, 12:22 AM)
Which type of 8600GT you bought?
Mind telling the exact model? smile.gif
Hi shawty,

My graphic card is Asus nVidia 8600GT 256MB DDR3 (Engine clock: 540MHz; Memory clock: 1.4GHz (700MHz DDR3). (http://www.asus.com.tw/products4.aspx?modelmenu=2&model=1627&l1=2&l2=6&l3=514&l4=0)

Hope you all can give me some advices of how to solve the blue screen of dead.

iZuDeeN
post Aug 14 2007, 09:46 AM

3,466 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 13 2007, 08:54 PM)
not enough ler 450w. ive tried with my CM Real Power 450w ACLX.

cant take load for too long...after awhile the monitor goes kuku and then no picture liao.

even 3D Mark 05 oso only got 8k with my 8800GTS.

after my personal experience i seriously would NOT recommend anything lower than 500w
enough lerr...

im using a P4 3.0 @ 3.6GHz & 8800GTS (570/1800) @ 630/2016 no prob...

AcBEL I power 450watt
slash
post Aug 14 2007, 10:36 AM

Warcraft 3 Champion - Lan Party 2003
1,081 posts

QUOTE(tonny @ Aug 14 2007, 09:07 AM)
Hi shawty,

My graphic card is Asus nVidia 8600GT 256MB DDR3 (Engine clock: 540MHz; Memory clock: 1.4GHz (700MHz DDR3). (http://www.asus.com.tw/products4.aspx?modelmenu=2&model=1627&l1=2&l2=6&l3=514&l4=0)

try the card in another pc. IF bsod still happens, means the card is spoilt, need to rma.
nothing happened when u were using x1650 before u bought 8600gt?
sHawTY
post Aug 14 2007, 10:45 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(tonny @ Aug 14 2007, 09:07 AM)
Hi shawty,

This is your graphic card?

Hmm.
There's three reason that i could think off.
[It may be wrong, as this is my opinion only]

1) Your psu isn't stable enough.
2) The driver u're using right now isn't stable with your system.
3) The grahic card itself is damaged before you're using it.

What you can do now is:

1) Try plugging it in another PC.
or
2) Try using the newest driver

If both doesn't work, then you might have one damaged graphic card.
SlayerXT
post Aug 14 2007, 11:13 AM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

QUOTE(rockmaniac85 @ Aug 13 2007, 10:57 PM)
I got my SS Strider 560W for RM340 in one of the shops in lowyat. Probably can get cheaper if anyone running bulk on it, or garage sale.. try to find lor, gigabyte odin seems more expensive..
I bought only RM320 at MyPC, but it was kinda old stock, box also not fresh..

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Aug 14 2007, 09:46 AM)
enough lerr...

im using a P4 3.0 @ 3.6GHz & 8800GTS (570/1800) @ 630/2016 no prob...

AcBEL I power 450watt
I wonder why my friend wanna upgrade while his previous psu same like urs.
tonny
post Aug 14 2007, 11:39 AM

Validating
66 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Aug 14 2007, 10:45 AM)
This is your graphic card?

Hmm.
There's three reason that i could think off.
[It may be wrong, as this is my opinion only]

1) Your psu isn't stable enough.
2) The driver u're using right now isn't stable with your system.
3) The grahic card itself is damaged before you're using it.

What you can do now is:

1) Try plugging it in another PC.
or
2) Try using the newest driver

If both doesn't work, then you might have one damaged graphic card.
Hi shawty,

Thanks for the reply. I'm really appreciate it. Yes. that is my graphic card now.

1) My PSU is Acbel 350W true power. If not stable, what is your recommendation brand and how many watt ?
2) Yesterday i've install nvidia official driver directly into my pc. But not yet test on C&C3. Previously blue screen of dead was appear during start of the C&C3 GDI campaign movie.
3) How do I know the graphic card is damaged ? But it seems work fine in windows environment without running high end game.
4) Latest nvidia driver from nvidia official is 162.18 right ?? Another q is asus itself hav release the driver for 8600GT is 168.18. I should always install the nvidia official driver is better ?

This post has been edited by tonny: Aug 14 2007, 11:49 AM
8tvt
post Aug 14 2007, 12:25 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

borrow ur friend's psu la.. luckily my 12vē rail ~20A... even 500-550W also the same.. no point changing it for extra 5v, 3.3v..

125 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Top

0.0167sec    0.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:25 AM