Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

mADmAN
post May 28 2007, 03:59 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ May 27 2007, 11:12 PM)
shud be the same if Galaxy doesn't overclock... but usually Galaxy do overclock their card brows.gif

Why boss?? Planning to take one?? I'm planning to take one Galaxy 8800GTS if 2900XT performance for the several weeks fail to impress me. Am waiting eagerly on how 2900XT can perform... with new drivers...
gaji coming out today so looks like ill be ordering the 8800GTS once i settle my finances & bills. hopefuly everything ok...otherwise cant order....

the 2900xt is really attractive...but the driver issues and especially heat issues is really putting me off. more heat means more power and my pc is gonna be on 24/7 for torrents. dun wan daddy to start screaming about the electricty bill laugh.gif

as for the galaxy....i think they OC their cards...coz theres a shop here in MV that sells it...i saw on the box got written overclocked on the corner...just dunno how much OC done to it la...myself, planning on the BFG 8800GTS 320MB OC2. lifetime warranty drool.gif how i wish i have enough money for the 640MB OC2.

and hopefully next month's pay can get another one for SLi drool.gif
mADmAN
post May 28 2007, 05:13 PM

10,530 posts

yeah...good point... might as well stay with 320mb and use the extra money for a new SATA II HDD....since my SATA HDD are all SATA I laugh.gif

oh well....have to wait for gaji right now..boss still busy...
mADmAN
post May 29 2007, 02:53 AM

10,530 posts

guys....can someone help me and gimme a direct link to the best drivers to use with the 8800GTS 320MB & the Galaxy 8500GE?

planning to get both soon

and im an absolute n00b when it comes to these driver thingys....usually just use the one on the cd and never change again tongue.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: May 29 2007, 02:54 AM
mADmAN
post May 29 2007, 03:00 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ May 29 2007, 02:57 AM)
Just go to Nvidia.com n use the latest WHQL drivers for max stability. Beta drivers not assured of stability.  Also, make sure u select the right drivers. 8800 series n the lower end 8 series use diff drivers IIRC.
i guess this should work with the 8800GTS 320mb...but i was wondering about the 8500GE...would it work as well? since they arent reference cards...should be the same thing right?
mADmAN
post May 30 2007, 01:13 AM

10,530 posts

actuallyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy........

i remember seeing sometime ago in this forum someone posted a pic of true quad sli.

yep.....a mobo with 4 PCIE slots and all 4 slots taken up..if im not mistaken the mobo was from gigabyte or sumthin like that....cant really remember..so long ago.
mADmAN
post May 30 2007, 09:50 PM

10,530 posts

id go with the Asus if i were u. like u said...grat bundle, great warranty....plus u can RMA it from a local distributor...

u wan cheap then theres of course the palit.

e-VGA's lifetime warranty is product life or owner's life like BFG's? either way, both brands wanna RMA have to send back to Ah-Me-Li-Ka.

myself...i just ordered the BFG 8800GTS 320mb OC2 from karom biggrin.gif

EDIT: wats in the e-VGA 8800 GTS Superclocked bundle anyway?? i cant seem to find any info on that in their website.

This post has been edited by mADmAN: May 30 2007, 09:51 PM
mADmAN
post May 30 2007, 11:12 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ May 30 2007, 10:35 PM)
does the manufacturer matters when it comes to 8800 and other high end cards? I ve seen most of them using the same nvidia designed cooler, the difference is just sticker and logo, wonder whether they all using the same memory , PCB and capacitor?
actually i think ALL 8800 series are still on reference design...except that some like calibre and evga came out with a diff cooler...other than that..even the cooler is the same..heck...even the PCBs are the same green ones...

some may have factory OC and some dont...this is the only major difference i can see.

in the end it comes down to the bundle, warranty, OC (if got), and preference i guess.
mADmAN
post May 30 2007, 11:24 PM

10,530 posts

someone asked that question before cant remember if it were u or someone else....and this is what i answered

QUOTE(mADmAN @ May 28 2007, 03:59 PM)
as for the galaxy....i think they OC their cards...coz theres a shop here in MV that sells it...i saw on the box got written overclocked on the corner...just dunno how much OC done to it la
mADmAN
post Jun 1 2007, 10:14 PM

10,530 posts

ive never really liked 3DMark06 to test the Graphics card....

simply because the final scores also take into account ur CPU Power...

I personally think the 3DMark05 is still a better judge for GPUs
mADmAN
post Jun 2 2007, 04:10 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 2 2007, 10:45 AM)
Between Evga, XFX, Leadtek, Sparkle, inno3D 8800GTS.. Which will you guys choose if they are in the same price list?Non OCed version for all..Thanks..
Non OCed? thatll make them all the same....but i guess ill go for the XFX for the double lifetime warranty thingy.

but also depends on what u want in the bundle la. personally...id rather have peace of mind with the warranty than an extra game which can be had for cheap brows.gif.
mADmAN
post Jun 4 2007, 12:51 AM

10,530 posts

actually the price is more like 1200....the Palit is even going for 1040 in the bulk orders section.

ur 450W is what PSU?

one thing i noticed from the manufacturer's website such as evga and bfg, when they recommend a 400-420W PSU with xxAmps on the rails... they always state that its based on a QX6800 system. so i guess a lower power consuming system should be alright if u meet the bare minimum of the recommendation from those sites.
mADmAN
post Jun 5 2007, 03:55 AM

10,530 posts

just out of curiosity...

has anyone found any hard voltmodded 8 series card out there? mainly the 8800 cards...

wondering how a voltmodded 8800 in SLi would look and perform... drool.gif

and i aint talking about pencil mods. im talking soldering and variable resistors etc.
mADmAN
post Jun 11 2007, 02:23 PM

10,530 posts

WOOOHOOOO!!! MY BFG 8800GTS 320MB OC2 is in the house!!!!

so can consider me officially a member of the 8800 series family rclxm9.gif

only thing is i still dont have the hardware to use it...still using my trusty AGP motherboard doh.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jun 11 2007, 02:23 PM
mADmAN
post Jun 12 2007, 07:27 PM

10,530 posts

yeah...the Palit 8800GTS is at RM990 now in ShSikua (is that how u spell his nick?? doh.gif) bulk...

mADmAN
post Jun 12 2007, 11:40 PM

10,530 posts

now no difference one ler....es[ecially since the 8800gts are most if not all still on the reference design
mADmAN
post Jun 13 2007, 12:26 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ Jun 13 2007, 12:19 AM)
I wonder why didn't those brand release a "slightly different" version of 8800GTS?? Except for the Calibre... all of them are on reference design...

Galaxy shud put a Zalman cooler on their 8800GTS...
the only cooler available for the 88 series now is the thermalright HR03.

calibre oso still on reference design ler....just the cooler only different. even then...i read a review that wasnt really impressed with the cooler.
mADmAN
post Jun 14 2007, 01:23 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(efisherman @ Jun 14 2007, 01:14 PM)
OMG,  Is the you want me to change???
But the result still the same wo..

Please assist..
ohmy.gif[attachmentid=247460][attachmentid=247461]
wat bios version u using? the 1102 is out and stable it seems... 1103 ive read in the asus forum that its still screwed...
mADmAN
post Jun 14 2007, 01:49 PM

10,530 posts

good OC tips???

sharing is caring man...cmon cmon!!! biggrin.gif

Added on June 14, 2007, 2:02 pm
QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Jun 14 2007, 01:30 PM)
Sorry guys for OT. Ok let's try out the new BIOS and load optimized default. And enter the following value accordingly....

Vcore: 1.325v
Memory Voltage: 2.1v
1.2v HTT: 1.40v
NB Core Voltage: 1.40v
SB Core Voltage: 1.60v
CPU VTT Voltage: 1.55v (maximize it should give stability)
DDRII Controller: Auto
DDRII Channel A: Auto
DDRII Channel B: Auto

Hope that help.... unsure.gif
the bios u posted is the 1103...have u tried it?? coz after reading THIS, im pretty freaked out honestly...

geez...i really hope i stop hearing issues with this board..coz im planning to get it for my upgrade! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jun 14 2007, 02:02 PM
mADmAN
post Jun 18 2007, 11:14 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ Jun 18 2007, 03:56 PM)
Yup.. an E6600 and 8800GTS/GTX (dunno which one to take.. depend on my budget by the end of this month).

Well.. for now I already booked one unit of Silverstone OP650 from kingmaker_20... hopefully that will be enough for a long time to come... the thing is.. it will only arrive by the end of this month or early July.. and if it arrives in early of July and I already have my gc by that time... then I only have that 485watt Enermax Noisetaker to use doh.gif .
laugh.gif me oso in the same boat. booked an OP650 fromm jy14. have to wait for stocks to arrive first.. the PSU thing is really holding me back from my upgrade...damn itchy wanna try the 8800GTS...that and also the intel price cut. july 22nd seems so friggin far away sweat.gif

but i did manage to get a Biostar TForce 6100 (S754) mobo last night. only thing is now...i need to find the time to fix it with my BFG 8800GTS OC2 and CM Realpower 450w...

mADmAN
post Jun 18 2007, 11:58 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ Jun 18 2007, 11:37 PM)
LoL... so sad right?? The only thing that is holding us is PSU... doh.gif

But if you dare to test you 8800GTS with CM Realpower 450w.. then I will have guts to try it with my Enermax Noistaker 485w too thumbup.gif

Erm.. what proc are you using neway??
470w?? Which means even my Enermax Noisetaker can power it up?? I have doubt about stability though... hmm.gif

*Still loading the site...
yeah man....damn sad...he wait is killing me la...

me using the A64 2800+ in muh rig temporarily until i get the OP650 and the intel price cut. once cut...hopefully got enough money for a Q6600 biggrin.gif

but one thing i noticed....the minimum PSU requirement is usually based on a QX6800 system... saw this on the BFG and EVGA 8800GTS website while i was doing some research. so if ur system consumes less power than that then iguess it should be ok la.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0452sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:35 AM