Review ASUS RT-AC86U, Feature-packed advanced wireless router

peguin78
post Dec 22 2018, 08:53 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(graphidz @ Dec 22 2018, 12:48 AM)
What a coincidence! Mine today suddenly got this issue. Earlier I tried to connect with my iPhone. It detected the wifi ssid but it said "incorrect password" which is very weird. So I turned off and turned the router back on only to discover this

Did this work again for you? Will try again tomorrow see if it somehow magically worked again sigh...
Nope. Tried that. Didn't work. In fact i tried the 30/30/30 rule to reset the router. Also failed.

All my 12v appliances are connected to my 12v solar system. These will include the unifi onu, astro decoder, media player and also my synology nas. Only the Asus was connected to mains since the voltage is at 19v and that also protected by a surge protector. However i suspect since we connect the power supply with a converter and it is loosely connected to the mains, would there be a chance of surge and spike and eventually spoil the router?

Later i will test the adapter with a multi meter and check whether the output is within the spec.
graphidz
post Dec 22 2018, 09:31 AM

F.A.T.E
1,411 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Dec 22 2018, 12:55 AM)
May I know what is your HW version?
Unfortunately I don't know. I'm only at home using the Asus router in weekends since I have work in Cyberjaya on weekdays. Don't remember what firmware vision but the only time I updated was during initial setup, which was 3 months ago

QUOTE(peguin78 @ Dec 22 2018, 08:53 AM)
Nope. Tried that. Didn't work. In fact i tried the 30/30/30 rule to reset the router.  Also failed.

All my 12v appliances are connected to my 12v solar system.  These will include the unifi onu, astro decoder, media player and also my synology nas. Only the Asus was connected to mains since the voltage is at 19v and that also protected by a surge protector. However i suspect since we connect the power supply with a converter and it is loosely connected to the mains, would there be a chance of surge and spike and eventually spoil the router?

Later i will test the adapter with a multi meter and check whether the output is within the spec.
Hmm could be. But a lot of the ones I connect also sometime get spark but working well enough so I'm not very sure. If it is though, this might be the first time something died
tertiary
post Dec 22 2018, 11:23 AM

664 posts

Some of you may not be aware that there is an Asus Malaysia official rep thread in Networks and Broadband subforum. Better to ask your RMA questions there.
sHawTY
post Dec 22 2018, 01:17 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Dec 22 2018, 01:26 AM)
can I sent the router to Asus Malaysia for warranty claim?
QUOTE(tertiary @ Dec 22 2018, 11:23 AM)
Some of you may not be aware that there is an Asus Malaysia official rep thread in Networks and Broadband subforum. Better to ask your RMA questions there.
ASUS Malaysia does not entertain RMA request for units that is purchased from overseas

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Dec 22 2018, 01:21 PM
peguin78
post Dec 22 2018, 04:42 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(graphidz @ Dec 22 2018, 10:31 AM)
Unfortunately I don't know. I'm only at home using the Asus router in weekends since I have work in Cyberjaya on weekdays. Don't remember what firmware vision but the only time I updated was during initial setup, which was 3 months ago
Hmm could be. But a lot of the ones I connect also sometime get spark but working well enough so I'm not very sure. If it is though, this might be the first time something died
I just checked the power supply. It's well within the parameters.
peguin78
post Dec 22 2018, 04:44 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 22 2018, 02:17 PM)
ASUS Malaysia does not entertain RMA request for units that is purchased from overseas
That's right. I did check with Asus Malaysia. They asked me to refer directly with Asus China. Anyone knows Asus China support email?
graphidz
post Dec 22 2018, 07:13 PM

F.A.T.E
1,411 posts

QUOTE(peguin78 @ Dec 22 2018, 04:42 PM)
I just checked the power supply.  It's well within the parameters.
I guess it's due to a sudden spark, especially initial plug in. Or just overheating. I'll baby the new one I'll get after this OTL
naturalfool
post Dec 30 2018, 10:45 PM

232 posts

Guys, need advice. I got turboed to 800Mbps. Manage to blunder through my AC86U setup so internet is up but speedtest upload and download only about 95Mbps. So I assume my ethernet cable is the problem cos it seems like cat5 only.

Shopping now for new ethernet. Thing is, should I get cat6 or just cat5e will be sufficient?

Update: AC86U came with cat5e cable smile.gif but now download is about 430 and upload is 200.

So what else need I do to get better speed?

This post has been edited by naturalfool: Dec 30 2018, 11:15 PM
thamch
post Dec 31 2018, 10:22 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(naturalfool @ Dec 30 2018, 10:45 PM)
Guys, need advice. I got turboed to 800Mbps. Manage to blunder through my AC86U setup so internet is up but speedtest upload and download only about 95Mbps. So I assume my ethernet cable is the problem cos it seems like cat5 only.

Shopping now for new ethernet. Thing is, should I get cat6 or just cat5e will be sufficient?

Update: AC86U came with cat5e cable  smile.gif  but now download is about 430 and upload is 200. 

Cat 5E is capable upto 1000Mbps. So could be some other limitation. Try change to another SpeedTest server?
enduser
post Dec 31 2018, 10:49 AM

1,280 posts

QUOTE(naturalfool @ Dec 30 2018, 10:45 PM)

Update: AC86U came with cat5e cable  smile.gif  but now download is about 430 and upload is 200. 

What device u used to connect to ur router?
1. Try wired connection first. Got what speed?
2. Then wifi
naturalfool
post Dec 31 2018, 11:46 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(thamch @ Dec 31 2018, 10:22 AM)
Cat 5E is capable upto 1000Mbps.  So could be some other limitation.  Try change to another SpeedTest server?
QUOTE(enduser @ Dec 31 2018, 10:49 AM)
What device u used to connect to ur router?
1. Try wired connection first. Got what speed?
2. Then wifi
Thanks. I shutdown the router and restart the PC. Did test on ookla and TM. Happy with it although why the difference confused.gif

Not very fussy for wifi. My ipad can get 300++ so is fine.

Now trying to decide if I need to get fans since the router appears to run hot.

This post has been edited by naturalfool: Dec 31 2018, 11:50 AM

KIntos
post Dec 31 2018, 12:20 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(naturalfool @ Dec 31 2018, 11:46 AM)
Thanks. I shutdown the router and restart the PC.  Did test on ookla and TM. Happy with it although why the difference :confused:

Direct using unifi speedtest will get the speed if compared to okla website wont get the speed. Okla website always get lower.
naturalfool
post Dec 31 2018, 01:02 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Dec 31 2018, 12:20 PM)
Direct using unifi speedtest will get the speed if compared to okla website wont get the speed. Okla website always get lower.
Mine ookla is higher... over 800 while the TM site only give me 7++
neuromancerx
post Dec 31 2018, 02:40 PM

879 posts

QUOTE(naturalfool @ Dec 31 2018, 01:02 PM)
Mine ookla is higher... over 800 while the TM site only give me 7++
try again some other times, maybe due to server overloaded.
AtMostFear
post Dec 31 2018, 04:59 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(naturalfool @ Dec 31 2018, 11:46 AM)
Thanks. I shutdown the router and restart the PC.  Did test on ookla and TM. Happy with it although why the difference :confused:

Please get the fans, only costs RM20 or less.

Get the cooler master fan.

xxboxx
post Jan 1 2019, 02:41 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(AtMostFear @ Dec 31 2018, 04:59 PM)

Which fan is it?
Can you please give the model name to search?
AtMostFear
post Jan 1 2019, 04:54 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 1 2019, 02:41 PM)
Which fan is it?
Can you please give the model name to search?
Refer this post (and thread).

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...post&p=89782190

Many people are using it including myself..cheaper than the ones being sold specifically for routers.
xxboxx
post Jan 1 2019, 08:07 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(AtMostFear @ Jan 1 2019, 04:54 PM)
Refer this post (and thread).

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...post&p=89782190

Many people are using it including myself..cheaper than the ones being sold specifically for routers.

Thanks rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
How you make it stick to the router? The small legs can go in between?
naturalfool
post Jan 1 2019, 08:45 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(AtMostFear @ Dec 31 2018, 04:59 PM)

Ok. Will go get it.
jlow1984
post Jan 2 2019, 10:33 PM

Help..... I just brought a ASUS RT-AC86U 2days ago from Lazada. But it’s China set. I’ve tried many times with my both Unifi & Maxis Fibre account just can’t connect to Internet.
Any Sifu can help????

54 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0183sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:07 AM