Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> ASUS RT-AC86U, Feature-packed advanced wireless router (Review)

views
     
neuromancerx
post Dec 11 2018, 08:15 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


QUOTE(zarchrykl @ Sep 16 2018, 02:56 PM)
same as mine. i think because the igmp/multicast disable (Due to hardware limitation, IGMP proxy cannot co-exist with IPTV function.), i am using ac58 before this and no problem,... console.gif
*
Im having this annoying issue right now with AC86U. What is the feasible workaround?
neuromancerx
post Dec 12 2018, 02:47 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


So yesterday i configured for auto reboot scheduler, which will run at 5am everyday. This morning i noticed the router unable to boot up, all led were off. Luckily after i reconnect the power adapter the router able to boot up successfully.
neuromancerx
post Dec 14 2018, 12:24 AM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


QUOTE(llk @ Dec 13 2018, 02:40 PM)
Not sure how you installed the fan, but mine getting around 59 degree
*
i only managed to reduce to 70-71, from over 90ish
fan direction - blow in
neuromancerx
post Dec 31 2018, 02:40 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


QUOTE(naturalfool @ Dec 31 2018, 01:02 PM)
Mine ookla is higher... over 800 while the TM site only give me 7++
*
try again some other times, maybe due to server overloaded.
neuromancerx
post Jan 2 2019, 11:06 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


QUOTE(jlow1984 @ Jan 2 2019, 10:33 PM)
Help..... I just brought a ASUS RT-AC86U 2days ago from Lazada. But it’s China set. I’ve tried many times with my both Unifi & Maxis Fibre account just can’t connect to Internet.
Any Sifu can help????
*
Have you selected the correct ISP? Go to LAN-IPTV and select unifi-home if you're using unifi. With this setting, LAN4 will be used for IPTV.

This post has been edited by neuromancerx: Jan 2 2019, 11:07 PM
neuromancerx
post Jan 9 2019, 09:27 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Jan 9 2019, 09:36 AM)
Hi RT-AC86U User,

If you having trouble with the HyppTV, below link is the beta firmware that solve the problem.

https://www.asuswebstorage.com/navigate/a/#...9373FFD210AF4AY

Do let me know if still got problem.

Thank you
*
Anyone tested?

This post has been edited by neuromancerx: Jan 9 2019, 09:35 PM
neuromancerx
post Jan 14 2019, 11:51 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 14 2019, 03:06 PM)
Go with RT-AC86U
Newer & faster processor, bigger RAM & less heat
RT-AX88U only a few people can afford. Even if you buy from Taobao the cheapest is RM1600++

Waiting for the next Taobao promotion period to sell my GT-AC5300 & upgrade to this laugh.gif
*
Less heat? My AC86U recorded 91 degree, and after installed additional fan managed to hover around 71 degree.
neuromancerx
post Jan 19 2019, 10:47 AM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


QUOTE(yed @ Jan 19 2019, 08:28 AM)
Just bought ac86u...all are fine except i noticed it will take sometime for the stb box to be connected every time i on stb box. Are u guys having the same prob?
*
Well known issue, search for "hypptv" or "iptv" keywords in this thread.
neuromancerx
post Jan 22 2019, 04:33 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


QUOTE(yed @ Jan 22 2019, 01:13 PM)
Already did that before but the Lan data  loading to stb still take about 1 minit to establish connection
*
Here
neuromancerx
post Feb 10 2019, 01:49 AM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


QUOTE(MC Mong @ Feb 3 2019, 11:28 PM)
Dear all,

I plugged Usb pendrive into my usb 3.0, and wish to use it for file sharing. I can see the router folder in my pc. However, i can't paste file into the usb, anyone know whats the problem?

Thank you
*
Make sure R/W access is enabled on the shared folder

This post has been edited by neuromancerx: Feb 10 2019, 01:52 AM


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
neuromancerx
post Feb 24 2019, 09:33 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


today, after rebooting the router it refuse to boot up. no led at all. have to manually reconnect the power plug. haihz, frustrated la
neuromancerx
post Mar 9 2019, 08:26 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 6 2019, 11:42 PM)
Is there any way to block Netflix only but not other streaming service like YouTube? Running on AC86U
*
you can block it based on dns. if you have installed diversion (dns ad blocker), you can easily add netflix.com in the blocklist. you can also try modify the router's /etc/hosts and point netflix.com to any blackhole address.


neuromancerx
post Apr 8 2019, 10:20 AM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


i fully agreed with all the negative feedback above. HW spec wise it's very good, plenty of RAM and good CPU horse power.

Experienced these issues:
1. IGMP proxy disabled, causing hypptv to disconnect once the router changed WAN ip or rebooted.
2. Sometime the router did not survive reboot. It just stucked at power on mode, have to manually cut the power and reconnect it. Whenever i rebooted the router remotely or reboot after apply new firmware, i just crossed my finger.
3. Poor heat dissipation.

Will not recommend.
neuromancerx
post Apr 20 2019, 10:04 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


is snmp removed from the latest asuswrt merlin? couldn't find the snmp option
neuromancerx
post Jul 27 2019, 04:02 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jul 26 2019, 02:43 PM)
100 times better. All products produced by TP-Link is crap
*
Personally I'm ok with TP-Link, most of their routers are supported by Openwrt. I'm still keeping few TP-Link routers for spare and labbing/research.
neuromancerx
post Aug 2 2019, 12:46 AM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


QUOTE(se800i @ Jul 29 2019, 08:12 AM)
lolz..... my cousin brother who is in software engineering keep telling me that TP-Link is actually good products.....  dont go for their low end product but high end one....

so this asus you will be recommending ya?
keeping it as spare means you are not using TP-Link currently ? So what are you using now?
*
Replaced with WS880 and then currently using AC-86U. Reason is because 512MB RAM and asuswrt.

In the event this 86U died, i will use back my WS880. All my asuswrt were installed with optware-ng, so only in the event the features or software i that needed not ported in optware-ng, i will use tplink with openwrt.

neuromancerx
post Aug 2 2019, 12:11 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


QUOTE(7cantona @ Aug 2 2019, 05:36 AM)
ASUS RT-AC86U quite old model d  hmm.gif

any 1 buy more latest ASUS model ?  confused.gif
*
make sure your next router is supporting wifi-6.

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Aug 2 2019, 08:08 AM)
Same bro. Still keeping my old WS880 for backup.
*
that little dinosaur is easier to handle compared to this 86U, i mean in term of stability and robustness. the only drawback is we will stuck with older firmware.
neuromancerx
post Aug 2 2019, 10:35 PM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


QUOTE(7cantona @ Aug 2 2019, 01:17 PM)
wifi-6 now in a lot device d ?  hmm.gif
*
no. but let's wait for apple device support for it, other will follow. personally, i'm still okay with my current setup (AC86U). I know exactly my requirement and limitation that i can live with.
neuromancerx
post Dec 17 2019, 12:33 AM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


384.14 (14-Dec-2019)
- NEW: Implement option to prevent Firefox's automatic usage of DoH.
By default, this will only apply if you have DNSPrivacy
enabled, or if you have DNSFilter enabled with a global
filter, to ensure that Firefox will not bypass either of
these. You can also have this override applied all the
time, or completely disable it.
- NEW: Added "split" busybox applet.
- NEW: Added IPv6 support to Network Analysis webui
- NOTE: You might need to reconfigure your device hostname on the
LAN -> LAN IP page due to a GPL-level change (exclusing
the RT-AX88U)
- UPDATED: RT-AX88U to GPL 384_6436 (with Let's Encrypt fixes
backported from 384_81351)
- UPDATED: RT-AC68U, RT-AC86U to GPL 384_81351
- UPDATED: RT-AC88U, RT-AC3100 to GPL 384_81351 and binary
blobs from 384_81116
- UPDATED: RT-AC5300 to GPL 384_81351 and binary blobs from
384_81219.

- UPDATED: miniupnpd 20190824
- UPDATED: dnsmasq 2.80-95-g1aef66b (themiron)
- UPDATED: OpenSSL 1.0.2 to 1.0.2t (themiron)
- UPDATED: OpenSSL 1.1.1 to 1.1.1d (themiron)
- UPDATED: Curl 7.66.0
- UPDATED: nano 4.4
- UPDATED: OpenVPN 2.4.8
- UPDATED: OUI database to 2018-08-17 version
- UPDATED: CA root certificates to October 9th 2019
- CHANGED: Made webui SSL certificate generation compliant with
IOS 13 and MacOS 10.15 new requirements.
- CHANGED: Rewrote the faketc script used to inject Codel into
Adaptive QoS as a C program for improved performance.
- CHANGED: Moved /usr/bin/ip to /usr/sbin/ip on the RT-AC86U and
RT-AX88U to match other models.
- CHANGED: IPv6 firewall now accepts empty values for local IP
(which means any local IP).
- FIXED: Webui wouldn't notify when running dangerously low on
free nvram (feature was lost at some point in the past)
- FIXED: Non-working link to YandexDNS on the webui for
Russian models.
- FIXED: Backported various httpd fixes to RT-AX88 from other
models.
- FIXED: Custom clientlist would be wiped if stopping an
OpenVPN server instance.
- FIXED: Incorrect detection of EUI64 addresses on the IPv6
firewall (would prevent using ::/0 for instance).
- FIXED: EUI64 support missing while in Load Balancing or
using Multicast IPTV.
- FIXED: Asus DDNS failing to update due to an invalid
certificate on Asus's server.
- FIXED: Let's Encrypt support would sometime fail when using
Asus DDNS (fixed DNS publishing of validation record)
(in addition to general failure fixed by GPL 81351)
- FIXED: IPv6 neighbour solicitation drop toggle not working
for some models
- FIXED: openvpn-event scripts would be executed even if custom
scripts were globally disabled



neuromancerx
post Feb 6 2020, 11:01 AM

On my way
****
Junior Member
505 posts

Joined: Jan 2007


QUOTE(squall_kay @ Feb 5 2020, 11:33 AM)
Thanks for all the feedback.
i had bough RT-AC86U last weekend from hikari85 and mesh with older RT-AC68U.
on last weekend also TM came and upgrade my measly 8mbps streamyx to Unifi 300mbps.

with 5Ghz; able to hit 250-310mbps; while with 2.4Ghz, <100mbps.

have a question(s) regarding Asus AiMesh.

[attachmentid=10419369]

setup 1
from above pic (left pic); in orange box
1. the setting based on AiMesh with wifi. RT-AC68U placed on 2nd Floor. Z-height distance from 1st floor around 3.2m; while X-axis distance round 5m. the speed drop to range of 110-170mbps with 5ghz.
2. is normal for AiMesh to drop is such away?
3. in my in-law house, which using Unifi 30mbps; i setup their router with powerline (aztech AV500) to connect between 1st floor and 2nd floor router, the speed in both floor condition hovering between 24-28mbps.
4. is related the higher the speed, the bigger discrepancy it will be?

setup 2
referring red box
1. i setup using TP-LInk AV1300 homeplug AV2 to connect between RT-AC68U and RT-AC86U. during initial pairing for this setup, im using ethernet cable to setup the AiMesh between these 2 routers.
2. the speedtest shows (with 5ghz); just between 70-80mbps. not able to get pass 80mbps at all.
3. in my previous setup (prior to unifi with streamyx 8mbps); connecting RT-AC68U (1st floor) ---> Powerline AV500----> Powerline AV500 --->Dlink router (2nd floor); still able to maintain 7-8mbps which was comparable to 1st floor speed.

anyone can shed some light as i thought with AiMesh; both can produce smaller difference between these 2 routers in regards to speed.

Thanks in advance.
*
This is a well known drawback from wireless mesh. The bandwidth will be reduced half for every hop count.
As for the powerline, the only bottleneck will be the bandwidth available/supported between the homeplug.
Extending the wireless coverage using traditional copper cable or homeplug is more preferred than relying on wireless mesh.

Readings:
https://commotionwireless.net/docs/cck/netw...lines-for-mesh/
https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wi...e-wireless-mesh


2 Pages  1 2 >Top
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.3884sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th June 2020 - 04:27 PM