i'm thinking to buy a new laptop....never use laptop before...so would like to ask you all punya opinion....thanks...if can please tell also where can get it..thanks...
Which Brand Laptop is good?
Jul 7 2003, 12:33 AM, updated a long time ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
42 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i'm thinking to buy a new laptop....never use laptop before...so would like to ask you all punya opinion....thanks...if can please tell also where can get it..thanks...
Jul 7 2003, 12:42 AM
2,126 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL, MY |
Let us know your:
1) budget 2) specifications you expect 3) where u are going to use it 4) what are u going to use it for Then I can give you a good idea. |
Jul 7 2003, 12:43 AM
13,619 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: between your legs |
if no budget..SONY VIAO~~~~
Jul 7 2003, 12:48 AM
2,247 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
if u want cool...
get Apple powerbook make heads turn if u online @ one of the cafe in KLCC hehe or mid valley |
Jul 7 2003, 01:17 AM
6,758 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sunway |
DELL!!!!
i used so many times this brand, no prob!! |
Jul 7 2003, 02:56 AM
whats mypc brand?? never heard of tat
Jul 7 2003, 03:17 AM
1) Fujitsu
Get the C2210/C2220 or S6120 model 2) Compaq Get Presario 2131AD or Evo n1020v model 3) IBM Get R40 RA5 or R40 CEA model 4) Acer Normally sucks but TravelMate 802 looks good. 5) Toshiba Heavy but Pro SP-1 is good. |
Jul 7 2003, 03:24 AM
oh yea, whats the budget for the laptop?? some particular models are good
Jul 7 2003, 03:24 AM
500 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
my first choice is IBM
Jul 7 2003, 09:37 AM
1,438 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
Compaq.. speaker chun... dell sux.. i mean speaker..
Jul 7 2003, 11:51 AM
1,903 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Wg Maju |
Now the list goes to whether what specs u want?
Jul 8 2003, 09:55 AM
1,055 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kajang | Cyberjaya |
sory to the owner of the tread..
i'm also in the midst of searching a value buy notebook.. looking for specs at least PIII 1Ghz 256MB DDR 30GB HDD IrDA PCMCIA 3 USB Firewire.. for 3000 - 4000 any particular brand..? is it go the ones made in taiwan.. like... prestigio.. target.. aris.. and others..?// i mean other than superior brand name.. like dell, compaq |
Jul 8 2003, 12:25 PM
355 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Processor's Core |
Try NEC/TwinHead ... available at LYP
Jul 8 2003, 12:34 PM
1,469 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Android Town |
i got a "prestigio" brand. Other than being cheaper then branded ones...its heavy and also the battery can't even last one full hour.
Whats worst when my bat died, then only i found out the battery only came with 3 months warranty and to replace it will cost around RM250 So unless u want to pump your muscle and dun mind looking for power point everywhere u go...get a branded one. |
Jul 8 2003, 12:43 PM
2,705 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL, Malaysia |
NEVER buy a ciplak brand for laptop.
get a good one like NEC, Asus, Dell etc. Premium ones: IBM, Fujitsu, Toshiba. twinhead is no no Dell: make sure you get 1 year warranty, sometimes they state 90 days warranty and you have to pay extra for 1 or 3 year. NEC, new M320 series is very nice Asus: my fren's one got problem... but 3 year warranty...so he sent for warranty (now 2nd year). however, have to pay RM 80 just to check the laptop to see if got problem... and to fix. never fix also still have to pay! note: its UNDER warranty and you have to pay! |
Jul 8 2003, 01:59 PM
1,391 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL, Malaysia |
i think @ris is quite good...
Pentium M 1.3... 30Gb HDD.. but with integrated graphics card.... most of all, 1.9kg!! |
Jul 8 2003, 02:03 PM
don't think
must be sure... laptop is not cheap... the components can't be replaced easily if spoilt (except RAM). even the HDDs are expensive. branded ones are always better... you get your warranty and peace of mind. |
Jul 8 2003, 04:15 PM
err.. the aris one... how much is it..??
looking for something lighter.. Dell Inspiron 500M looks like a good bargain too |
Jul 8 2003, 04:35 PM
14,610 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: [.+ o : - - ] |
@aris is local brand yet fast & reliable
fine with DELL...good s.a.s my dream Toshiba...can outperform desktop IBM.... investment 4 ur future usage |
Jul 8 2003, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(tsg @ Jul 8 2003, 04:35 PM) @aris is local brand yet fast & reliable fine with DELL...good s.a.s my dream Toshiba...can outperform desktop IBM.... investment 4 ur future usage if weight concerns you, then get those slim line ones. |
Jul 8 2003, 05:28 PM
one thing about Toshiba..
i got experience using older model of Toshiba.. it's stg like celeron 300.. the batery is dead.. and some reviews said that the batery life of toshiba is bad.. but maybe the newer model solve the problem.. maybe |
Jul 8 2003, 05:30 PM
1,431 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: somewhere out there... |
i would seriously recommend IBM T series for you if you have cash and want to have stability and security.... Using 1 right now... and damm damm good compare with all the laptop i've used... Why? The full size keyboard and the big bright LCD is much better to look at compare to most laptop i've used...
As for budget... i feel that Dell inspiron model can suit your budget and your expected performance... |
Jul 9 2003, 06:55 PM
6,744 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: World Wide Web Status: Banned |
QUOTE(nexro @ Jul 8 2003, 12:43 PM) NEVER buy a ciplak brand for laptop. get a good one like NEC, Asus, Dell etc. Premium ones: IBM, Fujitsu, Toshiba. twinhead is no no Dell: make sure you get 1 year warranty, sometimes they state 90 days warranty and you have to pay extra for 1 or 3 year. NEC, new M320 series is very nice Asus: my fren's one got problem... but 3 year warranty...so he sent for warranty (now 2nd year). however, have to pay RM 80 just to check the laptop to see if got problem... and to fix. never fix also still have to pay! note: its UNDER warranty and you have to pay! why u said twinhead is a no no? i'm using it... |
Jul 9 2003, 08:30 PM
NEC Sucks (Made in China) and some of the model are given regional warranty instead of International warranty.
Aris, no O/S installed (Only a selected models come with Licensed O/S) and no international Warranty. |
Jul 9 2003, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(nexro @ Jul 8 2003, 04:45 PM) QUOTE(tsg @ Jul 8 2003, 04:35 PM) @aris is local brand yet fast & reliable fine with DELL...good s.a.s my dream Toshiba...can outperform desktop IBM.... investment 4 ur future usage if weight concerns you, then get those slim line ones. the new dell arrr forgot lor wat model....so slim one....& it has docking panel for cdrom,floppy etc..... then it become TEBAL again one thing this model quiet hot xpecially near the touchpad..can feel it |
Jul 9 2003, 08:36 PM
DELL Sucks also. If got problem, have to send back to Penang. Then wait for one month ++ only get your machine back.
Jul 9 2003, 08:36 PM
*DELETED*
This post has been edited by netboy: Jul 9 2003, 08:39 PM |
Jul 10 2003, 09:26 PM
431 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(netboy @ Jul 9 2003, 08:36 PM) DELL Sucks also. If got problem, have to send back to Penang. Then wait for one month ++ only get your machine back. Are you sure about this??? Most Dell laptops come with on-site warranties; there should be no reason for you to send it to Penang...someone from Getronics will just pop by and fix whatever needs to be fixed. This is NBD by the way... If you opted for the Year 2 to 3 Collect and Return service, Dell will send someone by to collect the laptop and return it to you within four business days. There is absolutely no reason for them to take that long to fix a laptop - a friend of mine actually managed to replace his motherboard three times and his screen twice to fix some little problem and all this was on-site, mind you. I've never had any problems dealing with Dell for any of the systems I support either. |
Jul 11 2003, 01:40 AM
AAY,
Yes, you are correct that some DELL models does come with next business day on-site warranty. But those people at DELL are smart fellows. You know when you have problem with your laptop, you'll surely call their helpline right? If they found out that your model is covered on-site, they won't stop talking and tried to solve the problem thru phone, instead of coming to your place. A friend of mine had this modem problem last time. She called Dell, the call lasted for about 1 hour. The Dell person told my friend to do this and that. When my friend said she's not good in computer, therefore asking them to come, the Dell person insist that she tried first. She was asked to download a patch from their website, and change some settings. The modem works again but it cost 1 hour of phone bill and lots of trouble (For a person who is not IT-savvy)... BTW, the four business day thingy is pure bulls***. If you read their warranty agreement properly, it stated that only "certain" problem are covered in the "four business days" period. |
Jul 11 2003, 01:24 PM
539 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Los Alamos / Bikini Atoll |
Hey do any of you know if any of the branded laptops have trade-in promo?
Jul 11 2003, 01:48 PM
QUOTE(Da'men @ Jul 11 2003, 01:24 PM) Hey do any of you know if any of the branded laptops have trade-in promo? not any that i know of. laptops get outdated so fast... who wants them back anyway? if you don't need your old laptop, bring it to LYP and ask those 2nd hand shops to quote a price for you... remember to bring your original receipt and all other accessories too if you plan to sell it away. I sold an old IBM AMD 450+ laptop, 64 RAM, 4GB HDD, 12" LCD for about RM 750. now, i see they are selling it for RM 2k ++ |
Jul 11 2003, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(netboy @ Jul 11 2003, 01:40 AM) AAY, Yes, you are correct that some DELL models does come with next business day on-site warranty. But those people at DELL are smart fellows. You know when you have problem with your laptop, you'll surely call their helpline right? If they found out that your model is covered on-site, they won't stop talking and tried to solve the problem thru phone, instead of coming to your place. A friend of mine had this modem problem last time. She called Dell, the call lasted for about 1 hour. The Dell person told my friend to do this and that. When my friend said she's not good in computer, therefore asking them to come, the Dell person insist that she tried first. She was asked to download a patch from their website, and change some settings. The modem works again but it cost 1 hour of phone bill and lots of trouble (For a person who is not IT-savvy)... BTW, the four business day thingy is pure bulls***. If you read their warranty agreement properly, it stated that only "certain" problem are covered in the "four business days" period. don't trust Dell no more. they may claim to have good service, but there are always a catch... + they print those clauses so tiny that i can't even read it. |
Jul 11 2003, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(nexro @ Jul 11 2003, 01:48 PM) not any that i know of. laptops get outdated so fast... who wants them back anyway? if you don't need your old laptop, bring it to LYP and ask those 2nd hand shops to quote a price for you... remember to bring your original receipt and all other accessories too if you plan to sell it away. I sold an old IBM AMD 450+ laptop, 64 RAM, 4GB HDD, 12" LCD for about RM 750. now, i see they are selling it for RM 2k ++ Thnx Nexro |
Jul 11 2003, 02:46 PM
nexro.. is compaq nice? my sis have it..
Jul 11 2003, 02:50 PM
1,316 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: (GMT+08:00) Kuala Lumpur |
any laptop that has Transmeta Crusoe proc inside? dun wanna play games. just for WLAN only & assignments.
Jul 11 2003, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(netboy @ Jul 11 2003, 01:40 AM) AAY, Yes, you are correct that some DELL models does come with next business day on-site warranty. But those people at DELL are smart fellows. You know when you have problem with your laptop, you'll surely call their helpline right? If they found out that your model is covered on-site, they won't stop talking and tried to solve the problem thru phone, instead of coming to your place. A friend of mine had this modem problem last time. She called Dell, the call lasted for about 1 hour. The Dell person told my friend to do this and that. When my friend said she's not good in computer, therefore asking them to come, the Dell person insist that she tried first. She was asked to download a patch from their website, and change some settings. The modem works again but it cost 1 hour of phone bill and lots of trouble (For a person who is not IT-savvy)... BTW, the four business day thingy is pure bulls***. If you read their warranty agreement properly, it stated that only "certain" problem are covered in the "four business days" period. All current Dell laptops come with NBD on-site warranties, at least for the first year/first 90 days. I've actually gone through every Dell laptop sold through their Malaysian site (one variant from each model) to verify that. If you call their helpline and sound completely clueless, they are going to assume the fault is yours (quite likely, actually). If you use a landline, you're wasting time only; it's a toll-free call. Was your friend's problem a fault of the computer or a configuration/driver issue? They only come on-site to fix hardware issues. Software problems should be solved on the phone. I've read through every bit of warranty information I can find on the Dell Malaysia site and I really don't know what about the "four business day thingy" is wrong? There are exclusions in the warranty policy, but you don't honestly expect them to fix your computer if you dropped it down the stairs do you? Again, if it's a software issue it can probably be fixed over the phone. And what was that you were saying earlier about a friend who had to send a PC for over a month to Penang?? The 2nd/3rd Yr CAR service is pretty new in Malaysia....your friend must have opted for that service when it was just launched. Having dealt with Dell support (and having many friends who have dealt with Dell support) many times, a situation such as what you mentioned would probably have ended up with your friend getting a new PC. If they can't fix the problem, they'll just continue swapping parts until the problem goes away. |
Jul 11 2003, 06:07 PM
compaq arr... i wont say nice...
emmm if really got cash arr go toshiba |
Jul 11 2003, 06:30 PM
12,683 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
ibm, toshiba..good brands
fujitsu...not the best, but still okay..but pricey dell...cheap... |
Jul 12 2003, 01:16 AM
19,042 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Soleanna |
i say get the 12 inch apple ibook ...nice and small =)
This post has been edited by sonic_cd: Jul 12 2003, 01:18 AM |
Jul 12 2003, 04:19 PM
559 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cyberjaya |
mine is dell inspiron n1600gt bought last august.
until now i haven't got any problem using it. i'm proud to be a dell user. laptop use for gaming, internet, assignment and video rendering and some picture editting. =) although i love sony vaio quite a lot... |
Jul 12 2003, 10:15 PM
387 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
dun buy nec,twinhead
buy fujistsu |
Jul 12 2003, 10:41 PM
1,008 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
if get compaq, get the evo class. not preserio....
if u have the money, js go for ibm thinkpad, most solid laptop around. |
Jul 13 2003, 12:52 AM
682 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
dell and apple !
Jul 13 2003, 01:05 AM
Just one word: Don't buy DELL.
Jul 14 2003, 08:12 PM
237 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bandar baru bangi |
my friend wanna buy a laptop...
the budget around 4000... so..can give suggestion?? |
Jul 14 2003, 09:31 PM
27 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
buy toshiba .. dont have to think twice ..
Jul 15 2003, 12:30 AM
QUOTE(Sti-8 @ Jul 14 2003, 09:31 PM) buy toshiba .. dont have to think twice .. ermmm...which model?? |
Jul 15 2003, 12:36 AM
915 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
buy twinhead efio 2b20 for only around rm4000 plus u get mobile intel 2ghz with dvd-cd-rw combo,etc.
check out www.twinhead.com.my |
Jul 15 2003, 01:42 AM
how about nec and compaq model?
Jul 15 2003, 01:49 AM
DELL, Twinhead and NEC sucks hard...
Get: Toshiba, IBM, Compaq or Fuijtsu |
Jul 15 2003, 02:48 AM
i think wanna get the Dell Inspiron 5100 lorr
Jul 15 2003, 06:21 PM
915 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
dell dun suck at all, i know at least 6people using dell laptops without any problems at all.
and netboy y u keep saying twinhead suck? |
Jul 16 2003, 03:48 PM
48 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
If anyone one of you want to sell your notebooks, you can email me at cwong00@pc.jaring.my. I buy second hand notebooks. Please include the full model number, specs and condition. Thanks.
Jul 16 2003, 04:11 PM
DELL is good for one reason.. customizable!!1
i mean, its worth it for that money.. so dont be sceptical lar.. i have 4 DELLs at home... |
Jul 16 2003, 04:55 PM
If you guys read my previous replies, I have specifically said that DELL suck so much in terms of their after sales service support. If your DELL have no problem then, congrats. If you have problem with it which you can't fix, then good luck.
BTW, Compaq is releasing new Centrino models with price starting from RM5,488.00 |
Jul 16 2003, 08:33 PM
Centrinos' are still expensive...
would still prefer to get those P4-M models which are cheaper and they even come with USB2.0 ports and wi-fi now. |
Jul 16 2003, 08:58 PM
Jul 19 2003, 11:10 PM
972 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala lumpur |
QUOTE(nexro @ Jul 16 2003, 08:33 PM) Centrinos' are still expensive... would still prefer to get those P4-M models which are cheaper and they even come with USB2.0 ports and wi-fi now. yaloh, still wonder when will the price of centrinos' drop. only 1.4G oledi cost u RM5000 above liaw. |
Jul 19 2003, 11:38 PM
What about the Athlon 64 mobile notebooks? You think they maybe cheaper.
Somemore what about new features that might come out soon. For PC upgrading easy but notebook you tend to get stuck with what you have. The feature I am talking about is firewire 1394b...800 Mbps 2x faster then 1394a and usb2.0....dunno how it will affect mobile computing ... a little scared to buy notebook now woh ... scared of regretting later. |
Jul 22 2003, 07:20 PM
70 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: S3LaNg0R |
toshiba and fujitsu..
Jul 24 2003, 11:26 PM
813 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
If you have unlimited budget, Toshiba, IBM is the choice. If you have budget, I think DELL and ASUS is good enough. Others, I dare not recommend
Jul 24 2003, 11:41 PM
no no to Dell.
Get Compaq or NEC. the NEC M320 looks good and packs a punch too |
Jul 25 2003, 01:26 PM
10,052 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: House of Wax |
compaq sucks.....won't go for high reso games...the graphic card sucks....managed to score only 20 in 3DMark 2003 in my frens ATI RADEON 7500 mobile card(32MB)
Jul 25 2003, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(babyk @ Jul 25 2003, 01:26 PM) compaq sucks.....won't go for high reso games...the graphic card sucks....managed to score only 20 in 3DMark 2003 in my frens ATI RADEON 7500 mobile card(32MB) lol... of course. 7500 is a dx7 card (i think). 3dmark2003 is for dx9 cards or at least dx8.1. anyway, laptops are not got playing games get a desktop! |
Jul 26 2003, 12:59 AM
124 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE i'm thinking to buy a new laptop....never use laptop before...so would like to ask you all punya opinion....thanks...if can please tell also where can get it..thanks... one word, Powerbook |
Jul 26 2003, 02:56 AM
powerbook is powerful,but consider the price also....rm7k for the 12 inch model ,and rm13k for 17'inch model..should be able to get a similar configured wintel laptop for cheaper....
Jul 26 2003, 03:20 AM
Discoveroffer
1,922 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Out of country |
hmm..powerbook...if you can find games tha suppots macintosh around lowyat and stuff its pretty good..but so far...very little games for Mac...
i would say if you are looking forward to play games and stuff..dont get a laptop..get a desktop...if you are going for work and stuff..get laptop... i Highly recommend IBM laptops...Compaq..and Twinhead...and if you want good after sales service..Dell...=) |
Jul 26 2003, 03:31 AM
2,630 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang |
QUOTE(netboy @ Jul 13 2003, 01:05 AM) Just one word: Don't buy DELL. hehehe....that's 3 words laa!! ;p jk lerh.... |
Jul 26 2003, 04:31 AM
Discoveroffer
1,922 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Out of country |
ahhaha..aperlarr...dell one word mahh..ehehehe or he should say just one sentence! jangan beli dell
Jul 26 2003, 10:09 AM
QUOTE powerbook is powerful,but consider the price also....rm7k for the 12 inch model ,and rm13k for 17'inch model..should be able to get a similar configured wintel laptop for cheaper.... the powerbook has a nice optical dive and os.. Mac is expensive...but actually the 12 inch model drop price to 6600 already...But anyway...to all people looking to buy powerbooks don't buy now...Updates are expected soon and you'll probably get a speed bump to 1.1 Ghz (Yes it sounds slow but i think a 1.1Ghz Mac compares to a 2.2P4), Firewire 800, USB2.0, Latest Mobile Video card...and of course..the best looking Laptop in the world and super stable OS...but the only prob is cannot play many games...but got CM4 oredi mah..wat other games you want? |
Jul 26 2003, 01:40 PM
beef up the ram,install virtual pc,and the mac will run most windows games..unless ya buy the orginals for mac..
Jul 26 2003, 01:58 PM
12,214 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Singapore | Malaysia |
i'm using @ris now 4 3 months liao also no problem wor~ i bought it 4 rm5700 including all the accesories. It's thin, lightweight (<2kg), then got combo drive, stable enough, can last 4 5 hours in a full charge( 4 wi-fi only manage 2 get 3 hours), then the casing also robust enough........in my univrsity i didn even tuck it in my laptop bag.......juz hold it like holding a file, then turn on media player n put volume 2 max.......like those street jerks.....highly recommended......"@ris"
Jul 26 2003, 01:59 PM
but the 855GM mb got loussy graphics la......only scored 88 in 3Dmark03 and bout 3000 in 2001SE
Jul 26 2003, 02:43 PM
Class A
--------- IBM, Fujitsu, Toshiba, Compaq Evo, Sony Class B --------- Compaq Presario, DELL, Acer (High-end models), Asus Class C --------- Acer, NEC, Twinhead This post has been edited by netboy: Jul 26 2003, 02:44 PM |
Jul 26 2003, 05:06 PM
511 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Helping a friend of mine to get a notebook ........
Plan to get him Fujitsu S 6120 Any good and bad comment on this notebook ???? Any other good sugesstion ..... what about SONY notebook .....??? This post has been edited by foongkh: Jul 26 2003, 05:11 PM |
Jul 26 2003, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(netboy @ Jul 16 2003, 04:55 PM) If you guys read my previous replies, I have specifically said that DELL suck so much in terms of their after sales service support. If your DELL have no problem then, congrats. If you have problem with it which you can't fix, then good luck. BTW, Compaq is releasing new Centrino models with price starting from RM5,488.00 Why Twinhead and NEC sux ??? What the bad thing on these notebook ??? |
Jul 26 2003, 10:42 PM
QUOTE Class B Acer? i think that one no class lar --------- Compaq Presario, DELL, Acer (High-end models), Asus Class C --------- Acer, NEC, Twinhead |
Jul 26 2003, 11:03 PM
2,630 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang |
hey got 1 acer can score 7000 over in 3dmark lerh....
but i cant remember what model liao!! it's 1.6centrino with ati9000 |
Jul 27 2003, 01:45 AM
QUOTE(netboy @ Jul 26 2003, 02:43 PM) Class A --------- IBM, Fujitsu, Toshiba, Compaq Evo, Sony Class B --------- Compaq Presario, DELL, Acer (High-end models), Asus Class C --------- Acer, NEC, Twinhead apple mana ? |
Jul 27 2003, 01:47 AM
QUOTE(avrilfreak87 @ Jul 26 2003, 11:03 PM) hey got 1 acer can score 7000 over in 3dmark lerh.... but i cant remember what model liao!! it's 1.6centrino with ati9000 long term use..say no 2 acer eazily koyak |
Jul 27 2003, 01:53 AM
1,687 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Jul 27 2003, 01:45 AM) QUOTE(netboy @ Jul 26 2003, 02:43 PM) Class A --------- IBM, Fujitsu, Toshiba, Compaq Evo, Sony Class B --------- Compaq Presario, DELL, Acer (High-end models), Asus Class C --------- Acer, NEC, Twinhead apple mana ? A for apple btw, laptop with mobile processor better or normal processor better?? This post has been edited by mike_84: Jul 27 2003, 01:58 AM |
Jul 27 2003, 08:00 AM
QUOTE A for apple I think should be A+ QUOTE btw, laptop with mobile processor better or normal processor better?? Definitely mobile more practical...less hot, battery can last longer...Those using desktop processor very easy to hang one... |
Jul 27 2003, 12:00 PM
Yeah, Apple iBooks should be in Class A. Sorry for not including it in the rating at first!
Anyway, about Twinhead and NEC, you have to see it to believe it. The quality is really no good at all. Eg. the pcmcia slot is not smooth, sometimes will have trouble plugging in pc cards.. Then the LCD lids are damn fragile (any notebooks are fragile but these 2 names...). You just have to see it to believe it. Anyway, Fujitsu S6120 is a good choice, except that it don't have a built-in floppy drive but it does come with a port replicator (Something like a dock). If you think you can afford, it, go fot it. |
Jul 27 2003, 10:18 PM
one bad thing about the ibooks is that they have no pc card slot...
Jul 27 2003, 10:37 PM
Anyone use Sony Vaio note b4 ... how's the performance.....
Any comment ???? This post has been edited by foongkh: Jul 27 2003, 10:40 PM |
Jul 27 2003, 10:45 PM
2,655 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Hmmmm,
I'm going to get TwinHead laptop soon.. the efio 2B00TK Series.. Any pros and cons about it? |
Jul 28 2003, 02:17 AM
the fujitsu lifebooks have very thin lids ..
Jul 28 2003, 10:03 AM
fujitsu's laptop look nice........but if u r buying a laptop, mobility is the main priority rite? so i think it's wiser to get a centrino. although the price quite high it gives long operating hours, high performance.....sony's notebooks r quite bulky.....coz they tend 2 stuff lots of accesories inside it.......so the performance damn high and also damn expensive
Jul 28 2003, 01:48 PM
sony notebooks have builtin cmaera`s leh..nice..
Jul 28 2003, 08:04 PM
QUOTE(ConquerorX @ Jul 27 2003, 10:45 PM) Hmmmm, I'm going to get TwinHead laptop soon.. the efio 2B00TK Series.. Any pros and cons about it? Beware, ConquerorX. Since you're going to fork out a few thousand bucks, why don't spend a little bit more to get a better one? Why Twinhead? The Twinhead's spillproof k/board and military grade is bulls***. I'm working part time in a notebook retail company, we tried to drop the Twinhead from 1m, while playing DVD. the result at first was "WOW!!!, Amazing!". It's really cool to see a notebook dropped down unscratched while playing DVD but, the second time was pathetic. The LCD lid cover broke. We sent back for 1 to 1 swap. And we don't dare to try spilling water to the keayboards. Try Acer or Compaq instead since the price range is there. |
Jul 28 2003, 10:21 PM
Netboy ..... since u are expert in notebook ....
What do u think of Compaq Notebook.......??? Which one should i choose ...the one with Compaq brand or HP brand ??? Do u think it reliable .........??? This post has been edited by foongkh: Jul 28 2003, 10:25 PM |
Jul 29 2003, 12:51 AM
Compaq and HP are basically the same. Same manufacturer, same sellers, same service centre.
You have to tell me your budget, your expected specifications. |
Jul 29 2003, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(netboy @ Jul 28 2003, 08:04 PM) QUOTE(ConquerorX @ Jul 27 2003, 10:45 PM) Hmmmm, I'm going to get TwinHead laptop soon.. the efio 2B00TK Series.. Any pros and cons about it? Beware, ConquerorX. Since you're going to fork out a few thousand bucks, why don't spend a little bit more to get a better one? Why Twinhead? The Twinhead's spillproof k/board and military grade is bulls***. I'm working part time in a notebook retail company, we tried to drop the Twinhead from 1m, while playing DVD. the result at first was "WOW!!!, Amazing!". It's really cool to see a notebook dropped down unscratched while playing DVD but, the second time was pathetic. The LCD lid cover broke. We sent back for 1 to 1 swap. And we don't dare to try spilling water to the keayboards. Try Acer or Compaq instead since the price range is there. Yup! you're correct.. But the most my budget is about 4K+ little bit only.. I've done some research and most of the 4K budget laptop : Acer : Good, nice feature.. but lack of Combo Drive and Infra Red. Weight is > 3KG. But eyeing for the Centrino Model. Nice and Slim as well as < 3KG. Dell : Reasonable price, Good.. but lack of Combo Drive and Infra Red. Weight is > 3KG Compaq : Reasonable price, got infra red port but using Desktop Processor. no point getting it!. > 3KG TwinHead : Design darn dull!..Reasonable price, got infra red port, using Mobile Processor. about 2.6KG (I do travel a lot sometimes ) I have seen Aris model as well as other ciplak brand.. but i guess of all these, TwinHead should be the best choice for my budget.. |
Jul 29 2003, 07:10 PM
dun go for those spill-proof ones~ the keyboard is spill-proof but the touch pad don't. wanna try? juz wipe the touch pad wif a wet cloth! last time i spilt few drops of water on my touchpad and i used it without noticing the pad is wet~~~ damn it! feels like got short circuited~ u felt da sharp pain on ur finger....then ur finger red red one......quic quic turn off com n put it near window 2 let it dry...
Jul 29 2003, 07:32 PM
Hi ConquerorX,
Here's my recommendations for you: 1) Compaq 2164AF (P4 M, Combo, WiFi) 2) Acer 290XCi (Centrino, Combo) |
Jul 29 2003, 09:15 PM
QUOTE(netboy @ Jul 29 2003, 12:51 AM) Compaq and HP are basically the same. Same manufacturer, same sellers, same service centre. You have to tell me your budget, your expected specifications. Well i am buying for my friend ..... a business man ...most of the time on the move ..... I think his budget is around Rm 6k to maybe RM 8k I had in mind Fujitsu S6210. Or maybe Sony Vaio PCG-TR1 ..... Any other good recomendation or sugesstion .....??? |
Jul 29 2003, 09:25 PM
Hi foonhkh,
Since your friend's budget is on a high range, then this is what I recommend: 1) Fujitsu S6120 - RM7,788 2) Compaq Evo N620c - RM5,999 & RM8,999 3) IBM T40 - Check www.ibm.com/my for complete prices. 4) Sony TR1 - RM7,488 5) Fujitsu P5010 - RM6,888 Does your friend like a small unit like the Vaio TR1? If your friend acccept those extra small size notebook, then consider Fujitsu P5010 as well. |
Jul 29 2003, 10:31 PM
foongkh,
For that kind of money, the IBM ThinkPad T40 is probably your friend's best bet. It is probably the best built laptop mentioned in this thread so far, and T40s come with a 3-year international warranties; something to consider if this notebook is not going to be upgraded for a while. It is reasonably thin and light, and does have very good battery life. A lower-end model variant like the ones in your friend's price range might not have a fantastic graphics card, but a businessman should be working and not gaming on his laptop |
Jul 29 2003, 10:32 PM
Damn it - my first double post, ever!
This post has been edited by AAY: Jul 29 2003, 10:33 PM |
Jul 29 2003, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(netboy @ Jul 29 2003, 07:32 PM) Hi ConquerorX, Here's my recommendations for you: 1) Compaq 2164AF (P4 M, Combo, WiFi) 2) Acer 290XCi (Centrino, Combo) Yup! eyeing for the Centrino Model.. Acer 290 Model..but currently Low Yatt selling it for RM4.5K+ .. So hope on PC Fair, the price will drop.. but i do not know how much it will drop.. As of Compaq.. i went to Sungai Wang last week ago.. i guess the model is somewhere around 5k? Not sure the price though.. |
Jul 29 2003, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(netboy @ Jul 29 2003, 09:25 PM) Hi foonhkh, Since your friend's budget is on a high range, then this is what I recommend: 1) Fujitsu S6120 - RM7,788 2) Compaq Evo N620c - RM5,999 & RM8,999 3) IBM T40 - Check www.ibm.com/my for complete prices. 4) Sony TR1 - RM7,488 5) Fujitsu P5010 - RM6,888 Does your friend like a small unit like the Vaio TR1? If your friend acccept those extra small size notebook, then consider Fujitsu P5010 as well. Thanks for the info .... But for Centrio model like Fujitsu P 5010 and Sony TR 1 running at 900 Mhz..... Would it be very slow running at this speed .... |
Jul 30 2003, 12:02 AM
apple 15" inch powerbook.. =)
Jul 30 2003, 01:43 AM
Fujitsu P5010 and Sony TR1's CPU speed is slow because of its extra small size. How can you pump in a 2gig CPU to a mini size laptop?
BTW, Acer 290XCi is priced at RM4,588 while Compaq 2164AF is priced at RM4,999. The good thing about Compaq is better after sales support, compared to Acer. |
Aug 1 2003, 09:13 AM
556 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i am going to get a notebook too.My fren just got a compaq 2131 cost around 4.6k with 512mb...is that worth?or should i take travelmate 290xci,is it realible and solid?i prefer this acer model coz the price is really attractive ar......centrino plus dvd combo under 5k
Aug 1 2003, 06:07 PM
804 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
hi to all,
I'm planning to get a notebook but don't know which ones to get. budget RM4.5K to RM5.5k. travel a fair bit. now using compaq presario - the bloody floppy drive kong twice already and each time to fix costs >RM300 cos different size as compared to normal and so cannot buy from notebook shops...... purposes - work, wifi and some ut2k3 occasionally (as long as can frag a little with minimum settings also nevermind (800x640 happy already). any recommendations? cheers.... |
Aug 2 2003, 01:39 AM
Hi chding,
Your friend got a reasonable deal. Acer 290XCi and Compaq 2131AD almost the same... It depends on which brand you prefer - Compaq or Acer. Centrino may have longer battery life but Compaq has got better after sales support. Hi Zypher, Which model of presario you're talking about that you faced the floppy problem? Anyway, Compaq released a new model. It's 1031x (If not mistaken). The model is on Centrino with Combo, priced at RM5,488. It's wide screen too. You should give that a shot. This post has been edited by netboy: Aug 2 2003, 01:42 AM |
Aug 2 2003, 12:49 PM
23 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: seremban/kajang |
How about Asus M2000N series???
My friend just bought it in Japan... around rm5000, what is the price in malaysia? |
Aug 2 2003, 10:51 PM
With Asus, you'll get 2 years international warranty. But be prepared that it might not be available in your area. The international service centres for Asus is quite limited.
Aug 3 2003, 09:56 AM
hi all,
anyone used/tried benq joybook 5000? it's centrino 1.3Ghz, 256MB RAM, 14" TFT, Radeon 9000 with wifi and CDRW/DVD. looks pretty interesting setup! please share your thoughts about this unit if you are using it. i won't be rushing to pc fair to purchase it so, you can post your thoughts over the next few days. netboy - i am using the compaq presario 1255 which gave me floppy nitemares!! cheers |
Aug 3 2003, 11:58 AM
332 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
asus m2400n :>
Aug 3 2003, 11:28 PM
For Benq 5000 (Centrino 1.3, RM5,999), the specs are quite nice but it's little bit pricey, compared to Compaq x1031 (Centrino 1.3, wide screen, Radeon 9200, RM5,488)...
And Benq's casing is a little bit cheapskate... That's MHO. |
Aug 5 2003, 12:54 AM
hi netboy - thanks for your input on the benq 5000 and the compaq x1031. I'll check on the compaq specs. btw, does the compaq x1031 have fdd? it looks heavier than the benq ....
cheers |
Aug 5 2003, 01:18 AM
I've forgotten about the Compaq x1031 fdd availability. Check back this post as I shall edit as soon as possible.
The Compaq's weight is approx. 2.5kg. Benq is 2.4kg. Just 100grams approx. extra. Like I said before, the Benq case does seems little bit cheapskate. For the price difference, get the Compaq. The plus side is the widescreen and the new JBL Pro stereo speakers. The JBL on this new Compaq does sound better than older Presario models. And x1031 is using USB2.0, rather than 1.1 on it's previous models. |
Aug 5 2003, 09:31 AM
aiyo...why buy benq ppl? benq everything oso trying to copy acer...first the joybook then at pc fair i saw this speaker looks like the harmod kardon apple one...only a lot worse of course!
Aug 5 2003, 10:57 AM
xcalibur: you're almost 100% correct.
Aug 5 2003, 06:49 PM
4,461 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Wangsa Maju |
QUOTE(foongkh @ Jul 26 2003, 05:06 PM) Plan to get him Fujitsu S 6120 how come this laptop model have higher 2ndary cache? or any centrino come with 1mb cache? |
Aug 5 2003, 10:22 PM
Notebook with Centrino Mobile Technology (or known as Intel Pentium M) have 1024KB=1MB of L2 cache.
Aug 6 2003, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(xcalibur @ Aug 5 2003, 09:31 AM) aiyo...why buy benq ppl? benq everything oso trying to copy acer...first the joybook then at pc fair i saw this speaker looks like the harmod kardon apple one...only a lot worse of course! BenQ is actually ACER..... Just marketing hype...... |
Aug 7 2003, 02:16 PM
540 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selangor |
yupooo.... u were right!!!
i don't like most of benq products....... bad in quality. |
Aug 7 2003, 08:14 PM
FYI, Benq has already separated from Acer. It's an independent entity now. Anyway, I have no comments about it's quality at the moment. Like I said before, Benq still need time to settle down, independently, in the notebook market.
Aug 11 2003, 03:27 AM
134 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Here are my suggestion if getting a laptop:
For Wintel laptops, get IBM. Or maybe Toshiba. But always go for IBM. If you're on a tight budget, don't even get a laptop until you have enough bling bling. You'll end up with a crappy one and wish you haven't bought it. IBM laptops are very durable. And their laptops are good overall. Don't ever get Dell. Dell is cheap and of cos you're getting what you're paying for. Which is crap. If you have a Dell, try pushing the LCD (when it's up) to see if it shakes / wiggles. And try that on an IBM and see the difference. If you have money, get a Mac. I heard that iBook G3 900mhz with maxed out ram are able to run UT2003 great. Also Photoshop (but photoshop is better on G4). iBooks aren't that expensive anyway. But Powerbooks are always better. If you're planning to get a Mac, don't get it now, wait till Apple puts Panther into their machines. Expose is so sweet. This post has been edited by levitate: Aug 11 2003, 03:30 AM |
Aug 18 2003, 11:04 PM
4,625 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang/ipoh/melaka |
fujitsu ...
nice outlook |
Aug 21 2003, 10:46 PM
the ibook though it can run ut2003,the performace would be better on the desktop..
Aug 21 2003, 11:35 PM
246 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Malaysia |
hey... who knows the page for toshiba's notebooks? cari tak de punya.....
btw... what do you guys think about texas instrument notebooks? |
Aug 21 2003, 11:50 PM
Aug 22 2003, 01:15 AM
texas instruments ? dunno..have never seen thier notebooks for a long time already,dunno they still manufacturing or not..hmm..what about gateway?
Aug 22 2003, 01:52 AM
This is the official Toshiba Asia site: http://pc.toshiba-asia.com
Aug 22 2003, 12:28 PM
TI long time no hear... thats why wondering still got or not
i tot gateway bankrupt liau netboy... thanks for the link |
Aug 22 2003, 12:30 PM
1,791 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Delle Alpi,Turin |
erkk .. asus m2n nbook?? is it good??
Aug 22 2003, 02:38 PM
gateway still selling pc`s in the states as far as i know,but thier laptops is unknown.i remember the gateway store in kl tutup alread..
Aug 22 2003, 03:43 PM
the gateway store at KLCC open only 3 mths den close already... the cow shop
Aug 22 2003, 03:51 PM
Hey, i'm in a dilemma here... dunno which laptop to pick
specs This is from toshiba 1. Tecra M1 series Intel® Centrino(tm) mobile technology (Intel® Pentium® M processor 1.6GHz, Intel® PRO/Wireless 2100, Intel® 855PM chipset), 512MB PC2100 SDRAM, 14.1" XGA TFT, 60GB HDD, CD-RW/DVD-ROM, SD slot, i.LINK(IEEE1394), 32MB VRAM, Bluetooth upgradeability, WinXP Pro, 3-yr ILW Model No. PT930L-03YCW 2. Tecra S1 series Intel® Centrino(tm) mobile technology (Intel® Pentium® M processor 1.5GHz, Intel® PRO/Wireless 2100, Intel® 855PM chipset), 256MB PC2100 SDRAM, 15.0" XGA TFT, 40GB HDD, CDRW/DVD-ROM, SD slot, ATI Mobility Radeon 32MB VRAM, WinXP Pro, 3-yr ILW Model No. PT831L-11Q4L 3. Satellite Pro M10 Intel® Centrino(tm) mobile technology (Intel® Pentium® M processor 1.6GHz, Intel® PRO/Wireless 2100, Intel® 855PM chipset), 256MB PC2100 SDRAM, 15.0" XGA TFT, 40GB HDD, CDRW/DVD-ROM, SD slot, i.LINK(IEEE1394), NVIDIA GeForce4 420 w/ 32MB VRAM, Harman/Kardon stereo speakers, WinXP Pro, 1-year ILW Model No. PS630L-G205S As for Tecra S1 series and Satellite Pro M10, HDD come with 40 GB but you can upgrade up to 60 GB . Ask me to get from Tele Dynamics Sdn. Bhd. No. 2A Jalan 13/1, 46200 Petaling Jaya, Selangor Darul Ehsan Telephone:(60) 3 795 67788 Facsimile:(60) 3 795 67688 THis is from HP Compaq Presario X1031 Features Processor Intel Pentium M processor with Centrino Technology 1.3Ghz on Mobile Intel Pentium M processor with 400Mhz FSB 1024 KB internal L2 cache 15.4" TFT WXGA (1280 x 800 display) 256MB PC2100 266MHz DDR SDRAM (1 memory slot available); supports up to 2GB DDR (without discard) 40 GB 4200 rpm IDE, ATA100. 24X DVD/CD-RW Combo Drive 1 integrated secure digital (SD) slot ATI MobilityTM RadeonTM 9200 with 32MB DDR SDRAM JBL Pro Integrated Speakers and 16-bit stereo sound 56K (V.92) modem, integrated 10/100 NIC 802.11b using integrated Intel Pro/Wireless 2100 Technology 8-Cell Lithium-Ion; 4.4Ahr; Smart Battery Technology (provides accurate, instantaneous battery status) Two (2) Type II PC Card slot with support for 16-bit PCMICIA and 32-bit Card bus. Three (3) USB 2.0 Connector Infrared port IEEE-1394 Parallel SPP/ECP standard interface RJ-45 Ethernet jack RJ-11 modem jack Two audio ports (headphone/speaker out, microphone-in) S-Video TV-Out 75w/90w AC Power adaptor External VGA monitor port Docking / Port Replictor port Microsoft® Windows® XP Home Edition (pre-installed) Unit Dimension 14.0" (L) x 10.0" (W) x 1.36" (H) 6.6lbs/2.95kg 1 year Limited Warranty includes - 1 year parts, 1 year labor (carry-in)" (no onsite)(international) free pen drive 128MB MYR 5488.00 Order direct with HP 1800-88-4848 Fujitsu S6120 Intel® Pentium® M Processor 1.4GHz (w/ Enhanced SpeedStep®) Secondary Cache : 1MB Chipset : Intel® 855GM Memory : 256MB DDR266, Max 2048MB Hard Disk Drive 30GB (Ultra DMA/100 and S.M.A.R.T Support) Display : 13.3" XGA TFT Colour (Max 1024x768 dots) Graphics : Integrated Intel® Graphics w/ Dynamic Video Memory Technology with 3D Graphics Accelerator and MPEG-2 Support (for DVD) Sound : AC Link Audio (AC97 compliance: SigmaTel STAC9767) with Internal Speakers (Stereo) Communication :V.92+ modem & 10/100 Base-T LAN Wireless LAN : Intel® PRO/Wireless 2100 Bluetooth(tm) : PC Card Option Storage Device : External USB FDD (Optional) Modular Bay**(Hot Swappable) : CD-RW Drive Replaceable with options:USB FDD Bay UnitDVD-ROM DrivePC Card Slot2nd BatteryWeight Saver External I/O Interface :1xVGA, 2xUSB 2.0, 1xRJ45, 1xRJ11, IEEE1394, Audio (Line-in, Headphone-out, Microphone-in), Docking for Port Replicator, AC Adapter Power Input Port Replicator : 1xVGA, 2xUSB 2.0, 1xPS/2 KB/mouse port, 1xSerial, 1xParallel, 1xRJ45, AC Adapter Power Input Card Slot : PC Card Slot Type I/II x 1 IR Interface : IrDA1.1 (Max. 4Mbps) Application Mode:Programmable Application Launch Buttons for Internet, Email and two other software Security Mode:Unique Numeric Buttons for Security Lock (More than 800,000 possible password combinations) Keyboard : 82-key w/19mm Key Pitch, 3mm Key Stroke Pointing Device : Touch Pad with Scroll Button AC Adapter : Input: AC100-240V, Output: DC16V 60W Battery* : Approx. 4.7 hours, Lithium-Ion OS Supported : Microsoft® Windows® XP Home EditionMicrosoft® Windows® XP Professional EditionMicrosoft® Windows® 2000 Professional Edition Other Software Bundled : Norman Virus Control/Norman Personal FireWall Dimensions : 293mm (W) x 236.5mm (D) x 31.5mm min. (H) Weight : Approx. 1.75 kg (w/ Weight Saver) MYR 7788 DELL Inspiron 500m Centrino 1.5 Soundblaster Compatible Sound with Wavetable Integrated 1MB ON-DIE L2 Cache Intel® 855GM Chipset 14.1" XGA Display Moonlight Silver with Venice Blue Accents Color Intel® Integrated 3D AGP Video with Up to 64MB Shared System Memory Integrated 10/100 Fast Ethernet Intel® PRO Wireless 2100 WLAN (802.11b) miniPCI Card 256MB (1x256) DDR Memory PC2100 SDRAM 1.44MB 3.5" Floppy Drive D/TravelLite Module Internal Dell 87 Keys Keyboard (English) 60GB Ultra ATA Hard Drive Microsoft® Windows® XP Home Edition (English) Norton Antivirus 2003 (English) For NAV 2003, Free 90 Days of Live Update for Latest Virus Definitions Microsoft® Windows® XP Software Driver Dell Inspiron Info WordPerfect Productivity Pack Internal 24X Max DVD/CD-RW Combo Drive (24X-10X-24X) - Roxio Easy CD Creator® DVD Decoder Software Internal 56K Modem 6-Cell Lithium Ion Primary Battery Nylon Case Shipment Box for Case Mod Specs Info (Malaysia) Adapter (110V/220V UK) Document 1 Year Next Business Day (8x5) Onsite Response (Parts + Labour) MYR 5752 sigh... dunno which to choose... warranty wise.. idunno how efficient they are tho... |
Aug 22 2003, 04:38 PM
wildcatz,
TI's computer division (or was it just notebooks?) was purchased by Acer sometime in the late 90's, I think. That's why you'll find old TI model names like Travelmate and Extensa sold as Acers. sonic_cd, Gateway pulled out of selling computers in the whole of Asia, I think. I don't know if they sell anything in China/Japan, though, but they are definitely out of South-East Asis/Australia. They shut down their factory in Melaka in 2000 or 2001 I think. |
Aug 22 2003, 09:01 PM
Wildcatz, if you have like about RM10k and above to spend then go for the Tecras. M10 is about RM7k.
My opinion: Get the Fujitsu S6120. Is the best you can hope for for in the price range. |
Aug 22 2003, 11:58 PM
wah..open 3 months then tutup kedai? business must have been bad.. now if only klcc will open a Apple shop...
Aug 23 2003, 01:08 AM
if bought a 17inches laptop seem like buying a desktop
hard to transfer |
Aug 29 2003, 12:54 PM
28 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Don't try local brand...Pls. don'r try....My first choice is DELL. But becarefull about thier warranty guide. Some package come with 1 year warranty, but some come with limited 3 MONTH warranty (refurbish I ThinK!!??)
Aug 29 2003, 04:04 PM
QUOTE(PeaceMaker @ Aug 29 2003, 12:54 PM) Don't try local brand...Pls. don'r try....My first choice is DELL. But becarefull about thier warranty guide. Some package come with 1 year warranty, but some come with limited 3 MONTH warranty (refurbish I ThinK!!??) that 3 mth limited one is refurbished ones. You can check out www.dell.com.my and see... there's a section for refurbished coms. Specs not so good and etc lar... wat u expect from refurbished ones Dell... the only thing that chokes is the international warranty. 3 yrs = MYR 729. They dun offer 1 yr international like the others. So that's one of the setback i have on them. The other setback about dell is everything they offer... not so nice one. Most of their display cards all intergrated mem one... unless you wanna choke up ur wallet den different. They also have limited upgrades. and when you upgrade... cost you a lot more than the market price. So always scratch head there... sigh |
Aug 29 2003, 07:59 PM
wildcatz,
The 90-day warranty policy only applies to some of their new bottom-end systems (laptops and desktops). I don't think I've ever seen any of their refurbs go with 90-day warranties, depending on the line many even come with 3-year warranties. |
Sep 2 2003, 11:49 PM
6,633 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: www.kelvinchiew.com |
i using fujitsu laptop...good! i think so far..but there are other brand equal too ...anyway i use this laptop play rise of nations and war 3 , frozen throne lan games..at my frens house. and the graphics so far is smooth and not yet hang =P
Sep 4 2003, 03:28 AM
90 days warranty ?apple is like that also. =)
Sep 10 2003, 05:42 PM
Just something to add to qwerty's post: The PC Suria Permata is a rebadged Twinhead efio 2400 (not sure about the model though, but it's definitely a Twinhead).
OT: Nascom is still a company that intrigues me. So little is know about a company that received a massive RM2 billion cash injection...interesting, eh? |
Sep 20 2003, 07:02 PM
My company is selling Compaq Presario X1031. My company is one of the authorised Compaq reseller actually.
More info on X1031: *Wide Screen *Radeon 9200 video card is using dedicated rams meaning NOT shared. *Built-in SecureDigital Card slot *Battery Calibration feature (in Bios) Now only 3 units left in my office. Call me at 012-3694952 for more information asap if you're really interested to get it. |
Sep 20 2003, 07:08 PM
1,498 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
can tell me how much bo here??
Sep 20 2003, 07:27 PM
Retailing at RM5,488.
Sep 20 2003, 07:46 PM
QUOTE(cyongt @ Sep 12 2003, 06:50 PM) Hi, I am interested in the Compaq Presario X1031 laptop. Any comment? However, I noticed from the Compaq official website that the internal L2 Cache is 512KB, which is different from what stated by wildcatz as 1024KB. Which one is the exact one? Besides, the Display card stated is ATI Radeon Mobility 9200 with 32MB DDR SDRAM. Is it dedicated memory or shared memory?? Thanks. 1024KB or 1MB L2 cache only exist in Intel Banias processors...i.e. if Compaq Presario X1031 is using it |
Sep 20 2003, 07:47 PM
QUOTE(netboy @ Sep 20 2003, 07:27 PM) Retailing at RM5,488. what's it's full specs? |
Sep 20 2003, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(netboy @ Sep 20 2003, 07:02 PM) My company is selling Compaq Presario X1031. My company is one of the authorised Compaq reseller actually. More info on X1031: *Wide Screen *Radeon 9200 video card is using dedicated rams meaning NOT shared. *Built-in SecureDigital Card slot *Battery Calibration feature (in Bios) Now only 3 units left in my office. Call me at 012-3694952 for more information asap if you're really interested to get it. netboy... nice spec there...xpecially ont the raddy |
Sep 20 2003, 07:58 PM
X1031 specifications:
.Intel Centrino Mobile tech .Intel Pentium m 1.3GHz .256MB DDR SDRAM .40GB HDD .CDRW+DVD Combo Drive .15.4" WXGA TFT Display (Widescreen) .56k Modem, 10/100 TX NIC, 802.11b wireless connectivity .JBL Pro stereo speakers .3x USB 2.0 .1x IEEE1394 (FireWire) .Windows xp home edition .HP Carrying Case .1 year limited local+international warranty If you're interested, hurry! Call me up asap. My initial offer is RM5,450 with Free upgrade to 512MB DDR SDRAM (256mb x2). |
Sep 20 2003, 08:01 PM
QUOTE(netboy @ Sep 20 2003, 07:58 PM) X1031 specifications: .Intel Centrino Mobile tech .Intel Pentium m 1.3GHz .256MB DDR SDRAM .40GB HDD .CDRW+DVD Combo Drive .15.4" WXGA TFT Display (Widescreen) .56k Modem, 10/100 TX NIC, 802.11b wireless connectivity .JBL Pro stereo speakers .3x USB 2.0 .1x IEEE1394 (FireWire) .Windows xp home edition .HP Carrying Case .1 year limited local+international warranty If you're interested, hurry! Call me up asap. My initial offer is RM5,450 with Free upgrade to 512MB DDR SDRAM (256mb x2). CLICK HERE Centrino lagi tuuuuuuu |
Sep 20 2003, 08:03 PM
wah....very good specs here!
too bad i got mine d... this model got wat connectivity options? printer port, external monitor, PS/2? infrared? P/S: now Centrino had went up to 1.6GHz d....for rm5k+, kindda low to get a 1.3GHz i think.... well, juz my 2 cents |
Sep 20 2003, 08:04 PM
why Centrino only got 512KB L2 cache one?? wierd~
Sep 20 2003, 08:13 PM
LOL. I have 1 Fujitsu with Centrino 1.6 is priced at RM10,888. I doubt that you'll spend that kind of money on a laptop.
Connectivity: 1x parallel 3x USB 2.0 1x IEEE1394 FireWire 1x video port 1x s-video port 1x irda (infrared) 1x sd-slot 1x modem port 1x lan port Edit: The battery calibration feature in this model can automatically calibrate your battery fully so that you can fully utilise it's performance of 6 hours standby. Without proper calibration (discharge & recharge), you can only have about 3-4 hours standby even though you're using Centrino technology laptop. This post has been edited by netboy: Sep 20 2003, 08:16 PM |
Sep 20 2003, 08:38 PM
how bout da 512KB L2 cache? izzit bios config error or wat? typo error?
Sep 22 2003, 05:24 PM
253 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL, Cheras, Kajang, Balakong, MINES |
netboy, the Presario Centrino looks good.
I am planning to buy Centrino Notebook but Evo version. Call up MTCS at Low Yatt just now but no more stock(Evo N620 C), didn't try other shop but stumble upon this great forum. I read thru all ur posting and u stated Evo series as Class A. i think so too. However the Presario u stated above looks very good (nice design compared to evo too), with separate graphics etc. Is it better than Evo N620 C? How much u selling N620 C? If you have any other model using Centrino pls state here. I have a list of Compaq reseller for Malaysia, are your company listed by them? thanks and sorry for the long winded questions -currently using Evo N610 C and happy with it except the silly design This post has been edited by meors: Sep 22 2003, 05:49 PM |
Sep 23 2003, 01:47 PM
Erm, actually, the company I'm working in (Notebooks Domain) is under mtcs group.
There's 2 configurations for N620c. 1) Pentium M 1.4/256/14.1" XGA/40G/DVD/WinXPP RM6,399 2) Pentium M 1.5/512/14.1" SXGA/60G/DVD+CDRW/WinXPP RM7,799 It's not available in stock. But still available thru back-to-back order. If you order, it should take less than a week to get it from HP. Presario X1031 is going to be replace with X1075 this week. It's arriving. The only difference is that the new one is Pentium M 1.4. It's kinda tough to compare N620c with Presario X1075 coz both processing power is the same. One is with wide screen and one is with normal screen. Presario is with XP Home Edition while the Evo is on XP Professional Edition. |
Sep 23 2003, 03:40 PM
thanks, called Compaq just now and they say they carry Centrino in nx7000 model only (Evo series). I prefer Win XP Pro that's why looking for Evo, somemore u recommended as class A
She said the N620C is not a Centrino but a P4 processor, i doubt that cause I read the spec is 1024 cache and 855GM Chipset. After more reading now i understand that Centrino is logo if you have all above in N620C plus a wifi card. Can anyone confirm this? If this is true then the Pentium M is actually the processor use in the notebook carrying the "Centrino" logo. She quoted me Evo nx7000 for rm 5,999. You guys think this is a good value? come to think of it, i would rather buy a notebook with Pentium M and 855GM chipset, and buy the wifi card separately (SMC selling for rm90 only, i'm using one now) thanks |
Sep 23 2003, 03:47 PM
Just want to share with forum members regarding the Compaq X1031 that my Company got me last month for mobile work purpose. They gave a budget and I choose the model
I must say that I'm quite impressed with its overall stability. No real problems playing games (warcraft 3 and wolfenstein: Enemy Territory) either since it is using radeon 9200 and I've been using the wifi on the office wifi network and so far the connection has been excellent. I think if anyone wants to buy a notebook with good graphics cards, should consider the Presario X1031 and the wifi although the cpu is only centrino 1.3. Only drawback is that it is only available with XP Home and Compaq doesn't have any XP Pro upgrade package - you'll have to buy the full priced XP package. cheers |
Sep 23 2003, 03:54 PM
Evo nx7000 has the same design as Presario X1000 series. It's wide screen too. If you're considering nx7000 and don't really care about the XP Pro or home differences, then you should take X1075 (new model - Centrino 1.4) at RM5,488.
nx7000 is RM5,999 with DVD-ROM only. The good thing is that this baby is with XP Pro. Warranty is still 1 year. If you wanna get nx7000, I can offer you the same retail price but with additional 256MB rams plus a usb mini optical mouse for notebook. Contact me if you're interested. |
Sep 23 2003, 04:09 PM
thanks for the offer, planning to get it in October or early november.
Maybe I can wait for newer model or old model at promotion price. btw, is the x1075 comes with 1024 L2 cache? cause i read here http://h50025.www5.hp.com/hpcom/my_en/11_2...659_DN592A.html it is only 512KB Cache for X1031 any extras for the x1075 model? (extra RAM etc.) thanks netboy, if you have any promotion please announce here or at Garage Sales This post has been edited by meors: Sep 23 2003, 04:15 PM |
Sep 23 2003, 04:23 PM
As far as I know, X1075 won't have any other difference from X1031, except the processor upgrade to 1.4GHz. I'll confirm the L2 cache details and let you know of any update.
*Update: I've checked the system BIOS of X1032 model in my office (Same architecture as X1031 and X1075). I think Compaq made some mistake on their brochure. The system BIOS showed that this machine does have 1024MB L2 cache and 64MB L1 cache. This post has been edited by netboy: Sep 23 2003, 04:35 PM |
Sep 23 2003, 04:46 PM
this is rather startling, just now the compaq salesgirl, now the brochure also got mistake. Have to give another call then
thanks netboy for the clarification |
Sep 23 2003, 05:04 PM
hehe.. the compaq sales girl also refer to the brochure one. No point calling them when they're referring to the mistaken brochure.
You can visit my showroom and take a look yourself on the system bios. BTW, if you're still wondering, my company - Notebooks Domain Sdn. Bhd. is listed as an Authorised Compaq Kiosk Centre in Malaysia. |
Sep 23 2003, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(netboy @ Sep 23 2003, 05:04 PM) hehe.. the compaq sales girl also refer to the brochure one. No point calling them when they're referring to the mistaken brochure. You can visit my showroom and take a look yourself on the system bios. BTW, if you're still wondering, my company - Notebooks Domain Sdn. Bhd. is listed as an Authorised Compaq Kiosk Centre in Malaysia. where is your company location ??? |
Sep 23 2003, 08:19 PM
Notebooks Domain Sdn. Bhd.
TC010 - TC011, 3rd Floor, Sungei Wang Plaza, KL. Tel: 03-2144 1688, 03-2144 8788 Fax: 03-2145 2088 H/P: 012-369 4952 You guys can always give me a call on these numbers. Ask for Lim (That's me!). |
Sep 24 2003, 08:23 AM
nx7000 has reduced price in Star Two (The Star newspaper) to rm5,499
Evo N620C is still at rm6,399. Last time someone offered me at rm4,500, too bad I wasn't sure that time |
Sep 27 2003, 08:15 PM
New Compaq pricing (w/ new specs in certain models):
N620c - PM1.4/40G/256/DVD/XP Pro/3yrs RM6,399 nx7000 - PM1.3/40G/256/DVD/XP Pro/1yr RM5,999 x1075 - PM1.4/40G/256/Combo/XP Home/1yr RM5,488 x1090 - PM1.6/60G/512/Combo/XP Home/1yr RM6,999 *X1075 replacing x1031, x1090 replacing x1032. I'm expecting both x1031 and x1032 for a price drop soon. This post has been edited by netboy: Sep 27 2003, 08:18 PM |
Sep 28 2003, 04:26 PM
1,388 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: *^The CORE eH :)^ * |
will x1031 still availible during december ?.... if drop .. price will drop till how much le ah?
Oct 10 2003, 11:30 AM
49 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
Heard that the Notebook Processor price been drop, so how soon can we get a price drop on the notebook?
Oct 11 2003, 11:57 AM
If you're waiting for notebook prices to drop, I'm afraid that you have to wait until at least February to April next year for any drop.
Oct 13 2003, 09:24 AM
since the next Nov PC Fair in coming soon, any affects on the price too? or lots of free upgrades/gift? Should we wait for that?
Oct 14 2003, 12:44 AM
If you need the notebook now then buy it now. If you only need it later, then buy later. If you don't need it at all, then don't buy. Simple.
Oct 15 2003, 07:23 PM
378 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ |
QUOTE(netboy @ Oct 14 2003, 12:44 AM) If you need the notebook now then buy it now. If you only need it later, then buy later. If you don't need it at all, then don't buy. Simple. You are Cute *NetBoy* |
Oct 15 2003, 07:31 PM
juz bought an ACER Travelmate 290xi yesterday....for my friends...he deeply want centrino,so i give it...the best thing,there's a reviews in Intech on the same day
4 student its more than enough...+ centrino wireless support.... it is in my hand now....burn in test still got the new stuff smell |
Oct 16 2003, 07:37 AM
QUOTE(tsg @ Oct 15 2003, 07:31 PM) juz bought an ACER Travelmate 290xi yesterday....for my friends...he deeply want centrino,so i give it...the best thing,there's a reviews in Intech on the same day 4 student its more than enough...+ centrino wireless support.... it is in my hand now....burn in test still got the new stuff smell tsg, pls test more, i do want to find out about this acer model too....coz it's much more cheaper mah... |
Oct 16 2003, 10:59 PM
391 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: selangor |
btw need some recommad here.
i want to buy a laptop now but not sure which brand should i choose. the primary use is to do some 3d work. normally use autocad,3d studio , some adobe drawing software and etc. pls giv some recommand which brand , model and price. thank |
Oct 17 2003, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(xwteoh @ Oct 16 2003, 10:59 PM) btw need some recommad here. i want to buy a laptop now but not sure which brand should i choose. the primary use is to do some 3d work. normally use autocad,3d studio , some adobe drawing software and etc. pls giv some recommand which brand , model and price. thank http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=7&t=6333 It seems that you need a good 3d graphic card for your notebook. Go for a notebook with dedicated graphic memory. Radeon 9000 or 9200 or nVidia Ti4200 2Go is definetely your target. |
Oct 17 2003, 01:03 PM
pentium-m is good o pentium 4 ??
pentium-m 1.7ghz n pentium 4 3.04ghz which 1 good?? what is the different? |
Oct 18 2003, 09:28 AM
Pentium 4 3.04GHz is more powerful but Pentium-M 1.7GHz is more power saving.
Oct 21 2003, 02:38 AM
1,715 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selangor |
netboy u seem to be in the line of notebooks ... im planning on getting one which is in the price range of RM4k-5k
hopefully wif wifi ... combo drive ... usb2.0 ... firewire.. the rest doesnt really matter to me im kinda a fujitsu fan cuz all my frens got fujitsus and you would not believe wat kinda service they get ...EXCELLENT SERVICE ... they're keyboard got dust or watever they just bring it back and they clean it for u ... how nice of them to do that ... and my frens to kacau them hehe however i noticed fujitsu isn't really famous for their 'cheap' prices ... and i cant find any places which shows the price tag of the notebooks besides the newspaper. So recommendations? |
Oct 21 2003, 11:47 AM
hi yeahh,
Here's my recommendations: 1) Fujitsu E2010 P4-M 2.0/256/14.1" XGA/30GB/Combo/XP Home RM4,999 2) Compaq 2165AF P4-M 2.4/256/15" XGA/40GB/Combo/FDD/XP Home RM4,999 |
Oct 21 2003, 02:38 PM
netboy, you still stock presario x1031? how much you can give for x1075 & x1031 (if still have)?
if possible pls quote for ASUS M2000 N series too. Evo N620 C - is it still at 6,399? thanks for your help |
Oct 22 2003, 01:37 AM
i read some review saying that benq joybook 5000 is quite good , value for money ...
Oct 22 2003, 04:14 PM
I didn't receive any news from Compaq about x1031. At first I thought the price will drop but so far, not even the stock nor price drop news is here. Currently, only x1075 is available in stock (Limited - Once sold out, new stock coming in end of October) priced at RM5,488.
PM for my offer. Joybook 5000 - Centrino 1.4/256/30/Combo/14.1"/XP Home RM5,199 N620c - PM1.4/40G/256/DVD/XP Pro/3yrs RM6,399 I didn't receive any price update from Compaq. I assume the price haven't drop. My company doesn't take in ASUS anymore since last February. This post has been edited by netboy: Oct 26 2003, 01:20 PM |
Oct 22 2003, 05:39 PM
is compaq a recommended buy?? it seems quite comparable wif the fujitsu notebooks ... but if there's any problem wif the laptop im jsut wondering whether they'll give just as good service as fujitsu ... as i've mentioned b4
Oct 22 2003, 05:40 PM
where are they're service centres anyway?? for compaq ...
Oct 22 2003, 05:52 PM
Compaq's Malaysia HQ is at PJ SS13. Near UTAR (Old The STAR).
Oct 22 2003, 07:30 PM
UTAR? isnt that next to MISA? malaysian indoor sports arena ... i often go there to play futsal ...
Oct 24 2003, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(netboy @ Oct 22 2003, 04:14 PM) Joybook 5000 - Centrino 1.4/256/30/Combo/14.1"/XP Home RM4,099 hi net boy, my place got a mini pc fair from today till sunday & i came across that joybook 5000, ssame spec as u mentioned, using 32mb ati radeon graphics right? wiegh 2.2kg.. it cost RM5199 (s'wak) ..... notebook price is not fixed 1 ah? bout compaq the x1075 i''m actually interested, got loan 1 ah... like 6 month or 12 months :?? |
Oct 26 2003, 01:25 PM
Hi chong,
I'd like to apologise. I posted the wrong price. RM5,199 is the correct retail price. Here's a list of different configuration and prices for BenQ Joybook 5000: 1) Centrino1.4/256/30GB/Combo/14.1"/32MB AtiRadeon/XP Home RM5,199 2) Centrino1.4/256/30GB/Combo/14.1"/Intel shared graphics/XP Home RM4,899 3) Centrino1.6/256/40GB/Combo/14.1"/Intel shared graphics/XP Pro RM6,299 4) Centrino1.5/256/60GB/Combo/14.1"/32MB AtiRadeon/XP Pro RM5,699 5) Centrino1.6/256/60GB/Combo/14.1"/32MB AtiRadeon/XP Pro RM6,999 If you're interested in x1075, it's available in credit card installment scheme. Applicable to Maybank, Standard Chartered & Citibank credit card users (12 months installment). This post has been edited by netboy: Oct 26 2003, 01:26 PM |
Oct 27 2003, 08:23 PM
icici.... i;m looking for the detail spec for the compaq x1075.. you mind pm me bout it thx... oh ya can you pm me the installement paymrent p[er month that i need to pay too?.. tq..
how bout the warranty?? is compaq warranty good or no ggood honestly?? |
Oct 27 2003, 10:41 PM
Detailed specs for Compaq Presario x1075 here: http://h50025.www5.hp.com/hpcom/my_en/11_2...659_DR271A.html
*Note that the cache is 1024KB or 1MB instead of the stated 512KB. I'm not sure why Compaq/HP made such silly mistake on its site. For installment, look at the following: 1) Maybank Credit Card: The Agreed Price / 12 months 2) Standard Chartered Credit Card: (The Agreed Price + 2%) / 12 months 3) Citibank Credit Card: (The Agreed Price + 3%) / 12 months |
Oct 28 2003, 11:19 AM
My friend just encounter a nightmare with HP notebook
He just bought HP Compaq nx9000 preinstall with WinXP ..... when he got the notebook .... the notebook hang more than he could use it ...... then he told the reseller and the reseller install Win2000 and things get slightly better . My friend intend to setup WIFI and this notebook totally cannot detect the wifi signal (build in WIFI) ...... when test with a PCMCIA WIFI card ....cannot run b'cos conflict with the build-in WIFI that totally cannot be disable. When tested with a LAN connection to the router .... the notebook terus mati (KO) ..... And now the notebook send back to the service centre ...... Hi Netboy ..... according to my friend the reseller told him that HP notebook run better, more compatible/stable with Window 2000 than WinXP .... izzit true ??? Have u encounter problem with HP notebook b4 or my friend just the unlucky one....!!! |
Oct 28 2003, 11:29 AM
Uh? Honestly, I've never encountered such (wifi) problem with nx9000 before or other models. And the Win2000 thingy is totally bull****.
Perhaps your friend is unlucky? |
Oct 28 2003, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(netboy @ Oct 28 2003, 11:29 AM) Uh? Honestly, I've never encountered such (wifi) problem with nx9000 before or other models. And the Win2000 thingy is totally bull****. Perhaps your friend is unlucky? That's what i told my friend .....bull**** Win 2000 is better .... By the way .....how to make this nx9000 notebook auto detect the wifi signal ...... i can't seems to help my friend to detect the wifi signal .... izzit easy to setup wifi ...??? Hey Netboy ...what do u think of this HP nx 9000 notebook .... izzit a good one(apart from my friend's one) ??? This post has been edited by foongkh: Oct 28 2003, 11:45 AM |
Oct 28 2003, 11:46 AM
76 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
what wifi are you trying to connect to? 802.11a, b or g? and what can the nx9k support?
Oct 28 2003, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(synergia @ Oct 28 2003, 11:46 AM) what wifi are you trying to connect to? 802.11a, b or g? and what can the nx9k support? nx9000 support 802.11b and the Netgear WIFI+AP+Router also support 802.11b |
Oct 28 2003, 05:44 PM
379 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
don't ever get clone notebook.
Get a branded notebook like Dell, Toshiba, IBM, Fujitsu.. Dell is cheap and can be customise.... Money is a problem, Dell is good, u can configure it. |
Oct 28 2003, 08:05 PM
nx9000 is good model (If not the best). How much your friend bought it? The current price is RM4,899 and that makes it quite reasonable.
The built-in wireless card should detect available access point automatically by default. Try removing the wireless card under Device Manager and re-installing it with default setting. If it still can't detect, try tweak your Netgear set instead. |
Oct 28 2003, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(netboy @ Oct 28 2003, 08:05 PM) nx9000 is good model (If not the best). How much your friend bought it? The current price is RM4,899 and that makes it quite reasonable. The built-in wireless card should detect available access point automatically by default. Try removing the wireless card under Device Manager and re-installing it with default setting. If it still can't detect, try tweak your Netgear set instead. Ok ...TQ .... Will try after the notebook discharge from hospital..... By the way Netboy ..... will HP swap one new notebook if the current notebook continue to give problem ??? If there is hardware problem .... will they repair it ??? This post has been edited by foongkh: Oct 28 2003, 09:45 PM |
Oct 28 2003, 09:55 PM
ya.. hows the warranty of compaq.. izzit good & fast & will they just swap 1 for u no q asked if u got a hardware failure?
Oct 29 2003, 02:47 AM
QUOTE(maxiscool @ Oct 28 2003, 05:44 PM) don't ever get clone notebook. Get a branded notebook like Dell, Toshiba, IBM, Fujitsu.. Dell is cheap and can be customise.... Money is a problem, Dell is good, u can configure it. apple,don`t forget apple ! iBook G4 This post has been edited by sonic_cd: Oct 29 2003, 03:45 AM |
Oct 30 2003, 02:57 AM
Erm, I don't think HP will swap. I can say HP never swap. Only good retailers swap with problematic notebooks and then rma the problematic one then apply for price protection (In case of price drop).
1-to-1 swap normally only valid within a week of purchase. If it's under warranty, of course HP will fix it. |
Oct 30 2003, 02:59 AM
QUOTE(netboy @ Oct 30 2003, 02:57 AM) Erm, I don't think HP will swap. I can say HP never swap. Only good retailers swap with problematic notebooks and then rma the problematic one then apply for price protection (In case of price drop). 1-to-1 swap normally only valid within a week of purchase. If it's under warranty, of course HP will fix it. err...price protection ?? mine explaning what is that ? |
Oct 30 2003, 09:52 AM
Price protection is only valid for authorized resellers. Let's say if notebook A failed before it was sold to customer and I (The reseller) send back for warranty. During the period when the notebook is still in the factory for warranty, the price drop, so Compaq will price protect me so that I won't lose the original value on the notebook. Compaq will rebate the price to the new price for me.
Nov 3 2003, 05:01 AM
wat are the accesories tat come with the copaq x1075?
Nov 3 2003, 10:41 PM
Standard:
1x notebook 1x carrying case 1x battery 1x ac adapter 1x power cord (asian) 1x power cord (eu) 1x phone line Plus Windows booklet, Compaq booklet, OEM Windows XP Home CD, Drivers Restore CD, Roxio Easy CD Creator CD, Money 2003 CD, WinDVD OEM CD. |
Nov 6 2003, 02:16 PM
132 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
netboy.....need help here...
i am planing to buy a notebook with the price range of RM4000-RM6000... i'll be using the notebook overseas...so need to get a brand which has good overseas(aust) after sales service... regarding on DELL's customer service that u guys were complaining about...does all dell services worldwide works the same or its it just in malaysia? just wan to know...if compare pentium4M with HT tech and centrino.....which one is more worth to buy??? does centrino 1.7 run faster than a pentium4HT 3.06 ghz?? and i heard from a friend that i can get WiFi card for RM90 in bukit bintang...where can i buy it? |
Nov 6 2003, 06:37 PM
DELL's customer services? I can't answer that but usually, different country should have different working policy. You might be lucky if the customer service of DELL at the country that you're in is good.
Currently, for all the brands that you can find in Malaysia, HP/Compaq offers the best rated customer support worldwide. You made a mistake there. There's no Pentium4M with HT Tech. There's only Pentium4 with HT Tech. Of course this processor is faster than the Centrino tech processor (Pentium M). But notebooks that built with HT processors are normally much more heavier than average because it's a desktop processor, compared to Centrino which was originally built for mobility. My office is currently selling prolink wifi card at RM99. |
Nov 6 2003, 08:20 PM
AjAx,
All of Dell's phone support/sales for South-East Asia, and Australasia is handled in Penang. Japan and China get their own support centres. |
Nov 10 2003, 12:18 AM
any comments bout the new ACER ASPIRE 2001WLMi?.. it seems to be very good.. RM6688
Nov 11 2003, 01:04 AM
285 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pandan Perdana |
act note book can upgrade it`s VGA card?
if no vga slow,how? |
Nov 11 2003, 01:56 AM
813 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
any of u bought joybook from benq?....they loom sleek and its very cheap with their widescreen...any users?
Nov 11 2003, 09:00 PM
actually what is Centrino??
izit same wit pentium-m?? |
Nov 12 2003, 11:20 AM
1,260 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong |
netboy, does your company carries the compaq nx7000? I am eyeing on the one with 80Gb HD and centrino 1.5, how is the build of this notebook? Is it an compaq evo class? I checked HP online store which stated its AGP as ATI Mobility Radeon 7200c, but saw on the other brochure that it has a ATI Mobility Radeon 9200, so which is true?
Nov 12 2003, 11:05 PM
Compaq nx7000 is indeed the Evo class for Compaq.
The specifications are: P-M 1.5GHz/512MB/80GB/Combo Drive/XP Pro RM7,999 I'll double check the graphic card issue with you tomorrow - As far as I can remember, it's a Radeon9200 coz I've sold some of them last time. I'll let you know asap. |
Nov 13 2003, 12:22 AM
ermm.. netboy.. u got the DELL INSPIRON 600M 1600GT?
centrino1.6/512/xphome/14.1/dvd combo/40gb/32 radeon 9000 ? |
Nov 13 2003, 10:09 AM
Sorry, DELL only sell their products thru direct sales, meaning you have to call their Toll Free line to buy from them. DELL doesn't have any resellers in Malaysia.
Nov 13 2003, 11:28 AM
wah.. dell like tat wan ah.. then canot test it on spot b4 buy ah?... they got any shop in kl??
Nov 13 2003, 10:18 PM
chong,
Dell only sells direct. If you want to buy a Dell you can either call their toll-free number as netboy said, or order online through their site. I think the delivery guy who drops off the system usually boots up the computer just to make sure everything is working (could be wrong though). They don't have any shops anywhere in the country, but if you're in Penang you can visit the factory and see the systems! |
Nov 13 2003, 11:00 PM
wah.. then if get waranty how le ah?.... then cant test the system b4 buying it ah?
Nov 13 2003, 11:26 PM
Dell normally provide "next business day on-site" warranty, which means they'll come to your address to pick up any problematic problem the next working day. But watch out coz some models are only covered for 3 months or 90 days instead of 1 year.
Nov 13 2003, 11:32 PM
chong,
netboy is, as usual, right |
Nov 13 2003, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(AAY @ Nov 13 2003, 11:32 PM) netboy is, as usual, right Thanks for the compliment AAY, but if I ever make any mistake, pls correct me! |
Nov 14 2003, 01:29 AM
aiyo like tat ah..... hai~.. hard to decide wat laptop to get le, coz actually i plan for the x1000 series (compaq) but itsd 2.95kg oh.. really really heavy ah..hahahh... so is dell actually recommended to buy ah? how much is the extension of the warranty?
Nov 15 2003, 03:21 PM
742 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
so i seldom heard u guys talking abt Asus notebook.
good o not ler this book? |
Nov 15 2003, 07:55 PM
what do u think about Asus notebook? netboy?
Nov 16 2003, 12:49 AM
my opinion : asus.... always great design & light weight... but i think kinda hard to get warranty here as no much service centre right?... very slim design.. really stylish & nice.... but for me too pricey
Nov 16 2003, 01:40 AM
My opinion about Asus? Very poor after sales service support. Benq's after sales service support is quite poor also. Recently one of my client's Joybook 5000 had a faulty LCD. I sent it for repair straight away and they only return it back to me 3 weeks later. Imagine they need 3 weeks to fix a LCD - Not that they have many computer to fix..
Nov 16 2003, 01:54 AM
walao... 3 weeks ah.....really long man....
netboy, additional ram will cost how much ah?... 1 x 256 pc2700 |
Nov 16 2003, 01:59 AM
If I'm not mistaken, PC2700 256MB is around RM170-RM190.. I seldom take in PC2700 notebook rams coz most model currently only supports up to PC2100...
Nov 16 2003, 02:22 AM
ic,,actully got big diff btwn those ??? pc2100 how much le?
Nov 16 2003, 04:50 AM
but as i know. Asus have global warranty wor. wouldn't it is good???
Nov 16 2003, 06:04 AM
mayb we need to ask AUS laptop user lo, any1 using asus laptop & claimed warranty b4??......
Nov 16 2003, 11:05 AM
Having global warranty doesn't mean their services is good...
Nov 16 2003, 03:48 PM
5 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I am planning to buy a laptop under 5k but can't decide btw Fujitsu E 2010 and IBM R40 QQA. The latter seems to have poorer video graphic memory. I was hoping for one with a better sound system but dunno how to judge as well.
Where is the service centre for IBM and Fujitsu in KL?Is it cheaper to buy during PC fair and what are the free gifts that I should/can ask for? |
Nov 16 2003, 06:29 PM
I am also deciding to buy a laptop with Centrino Technology and I want it to come with a FireWire, USB 2.0 port..with luck should also include a geforce card or Radeon!
Budget should be below 5K! BTW I am clueless on laptop as I am more of a desktop user |
Nov 16 2003, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(Girl @ Nov 16 2003, 03:48 PM) I am planning to buy a laptop under 5k but can't decide btw Fujitsu E 2010 and IBM R40 QQA. The latter seems to have poorer video graphic memory. I was hoping for one with a better sound system but dunno how to judge as well. Where is the service centre for IBM and Fujitsu in KL?Is it cheaper to buy during PC fair and what are the free gifts that I should/can ask for? under 5k ? fujitsu wor, as i know fujitsu laptop is very nice but pricey, I think i will just drop on Asus ok liow. my budget is under 5k. |
Nov 16 2003, 10:34 PM
Only Toshiba and Compaq have the better quality sound system as both of them uses Harman/Kardon and JBL Pro speakers respectively. Other brands like Fujitsu, IBM, Acer etc only use normal stereo speakers.
Most Centrino notebooks should already come with USB2.0 and FireWire already but if you're looking for one with a good sound system and below RM5k, it's pretty much hopeless, unless you go for Acer 291XCi (Minus the good sound) at RM4,588. |
Nov 17 2003, 04:34 AM
any1 of u know would the notebook drop price like other hardware 1 huh?
if got when ler? netboy u know o not ? |
Nov 17 2003, 09:46 AM
Notebook prices drop every now and then - just like other hardware but one thing different is that notebook prices will never go up like ram prices..
Prices are set by manufacturer themselves and I won't know when prices will drop.. It'll drop when it does. |
Nov 18 2003, 03:06 AM
just came back from lyp just now, go survey notebook.
guess what i've found. its FUJITSU.............. RM4999 here's the spec 14" Xga + TFT Intel pentium 4 2.2Ghz-M ss 30gb HDD 256MB DDR266 ATI Radeon IGP 36 - 128MB(selectable) Modem/lan cd-rw+DVD Win XP HOME the bad thing is..... it weighted 3.7kg This post has been edited by rave: Nov 18 2003, 03:08 AM |
Nov 18 2003, 03:09 AM
![]() darn nice design.. got lcd at the bottom also netboy... give comment........ This post has been edited by rave: Nov 18 2003, 03:12 AM |
Nov 18 2003, 03:23 AM
Hi rave,
The model that you stated is the Fujitsu C2220. This is basically an "all-in-one" model. There's everything that you need in this model, minus the wireless LAN and the exccesive weight. If the weight don't bother you, then this is a good buy. The casing is fully magnesium alloy to protect the LCD screen. To add a PCMCIA wireless LAN card is around RM100 only. 1 year International Limited Warranty on this one as well. |
Nov 18 2003, 03:25 AM
netboy u have any messenger o not....
i got many thing wanna ask lar coz today go ask many shop, different ppl say different thing... so confused.... |
Nov 18 2003, 04:26 AM
202 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Singapore |
i m using dell Latitude D400 , light weight n nice look lor .... (my opinion lar...
centrino base laptop, 1.4 ghz the "thing" i like this laptop much is bcoz of its looks and warranty. 3 yrs onsite warranty ....... |
Nov 18 2003, 11:26 AM
1,981 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: ||| Royal Creek ||| |
Hi there, I'm a newbie member of this Forum and this is my 1st posting...
Hmmm, since u guys try 2 figure it out which laptop brand is the best, I would like to go for Dell. I dunno what 2 say, but I just like Dell very much, right now I'm using a desktop replacement model of Dell Inspiron (that is the Inspiron 8000). Sooner or later I will opt for another laptop to replace my old Inspiron 8000. I just wanna ask to all Latitude user. WHich is better in terms of performance, Latitude or Inspiron? I'm planning to opt for P4M 1.8Ghz & above, 512 DDR RAM, at least 40 GB HDD, Combo Drive or DVDRW, USB2.0, Firewire, Geforce 4 Go or FX (if possible) 15.1 TFT SXGA or UXGA (if possible). Because I do alot of 3D gaming, video editing and downloading alot of MTV's via our ADSL 2048Mbps connection at my office. I'm thinking to switch to SOny Vaio, but I still cant afford on that specs....too pricey!!! |
Nov 18 2003, 06:05 PM
eddyann,
Most Dell Latitudes and Inspirons share many parts. Performance will probably be down to things like video adapters, hard disk choices, etc. Go with whatever suits your budget! |
Nov 18 2003, 06:09 PM
2,494 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Kemuning, Shah Alam |
QUOTE(eddyann @ Nov 18 2003, 11:26 AM) Hi there, I'm a newbie member of this Forum and this is my 1st posting... Hmmm, since u guys try 2 figure it out which laptop brand is the best, I would like to go for Dell. I dunno what 2 say, but I just like Dell very much, right now I'm using a desktop replacement model of Dell Inspiron (that is the Inspiron 8000). Sooner or later I will opt for another laptop to replace my old Inspiron 8000. I just wanna ask to all Latitude user. WHich is better in terms of performance, Latitude or Inspiron? I'm planning to opt for P4M 1.8Ghz & above, 512 DDR RAM, at least 40 GB HDD, Combo Drive or DVDRW, USB2.0, Firewire, Geforce 4 Go or FX (if possible) 15.1 TFT SXGA or UXGA (if possible). Because I do alot of 3D gaming, video editing and downloading alot of MTV's via our ADSL 2048Mbps connection at my office. I'm thinking to switch to SOny Vaio, but I still cant afford on that specs....too pricey!!! 2048Mbps!??!?! 2Gbps!!! i think it is 2mbps la..... where got that fast?!!?!? btw my favourite laptop now is the compaq x1000.... price is RM 5488 any comment on that laptop? anyone got that laptop? |
Nov 19 2003, 04:15 PM
188 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I got one Fujitsu s6120 since three months ago... very good... design very nice, slim, tough... performance also very good (except for intensive 3D games)... i recommend it to those who have budget up to 8k... below is my Q & A when i was choosing the laptop model...
Why not Apple? i dunno how to use Mac OS... Why not IBM? nice also but very ugly... at least for me... Why not Toshiba? it's tough but bulky like a tank... Why not Sony? Playstation 2 is good Why not NEC or Compaq? looks tough but actually not... Why not Dell? lazy make phone call and don't want wait for someone that i don't know... Why not ASUS? good in motherboard and graphic card... but not in laptop... Why not Acer? if you want to hear some sound effects when you open up the laptop's screen, just go for it... Why not other brands? forget about it... anyway, price does matter... just choose your laptop based on your budget and usage... btw, no matter what brand is it... if you can take care and use your laptop gently... then it is the best laptop for you... This post has been edited by Irenicus: Nov 19 2003, 04:29 PM |
Nov 19 2003, 06:53 PM
QUOTE(Irenicus @ Nov 19 2003, 04:15 PM) Why not Dell? lazy make phone call and don't want wait for someone that i don't know... like tat oso can ah??? |
Nov 19 2003, 08:11 PM
Fujitsu's market is targeted to business and high-end users, not gamers. If you're a gamer, forget about Fujitsu. Gamers would go for Compaq or Acer (At least this 2 brands has always release models with latest GPUs). IBM? It's for business users as well but it's case are partly made of Titanium, more reliable than Fujitsu's Magnesium Alloy, minus the design.
Nov 20 2003, 12:02 AM
1,309 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: ~]maga land[~ |
i have a acer TravelMate 285xc.....
quite good....quite satisfied.... but the combo drive a bit sensitive.... |
Nov 20 2003, 12:10 AM
erm sensitive? ... define sensitive............
Nov 20 2003, 12:28 AM
i think its "disc picking".. cant read the p version cd some times eh...
Nov 20 2003, 08:46 AM
5 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Can someone comment on Compact 2165Af? Looks like a good buy to me. But was just wondering whether there is any flaw. What about the casing, is it durable?
Nov 20 2003, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(Girl @ Nov 20 2003, 08:46 AM) Can someone comment on Compact 2165Af? Looks like a good buy to me. But was just wondering whether there is any flaw. What about the casing, is it durable? 2165AF? It's retailling at RM4,999. Looks like a good buy to everyone with it's all-in-one features like Combo drive, wireless LAN etc. The weight is moderate, considering it's an all-in-one model - about 2.9kg with battery fitted in. The case? Well, it's not 100% Magnesium Alloy like Fujitsu but it's partly Magnesium Alloy. It's a powerful machine though, Pentium4 M 2.4GHz. If you can pay few hundred bucks more, you can go for Centrino-based model but it's all up to your budget. |
Nov 20 2003, 10:13 AM
Netboy... i do agree with part of your statement. Just forget about Fujitsu if you are an INTENSIVE 3D gamer. But if u r an INTENSIVE 3D gamer, just forget about laptop and go for desktop PC. For my opinion, laptop is not designed for INTENSIVE 3D gamer. Although Nvidia just released their latest mobile GPU (GeForce FX Go 5700), but i would said that laptop still not suitable for intensive 3D gaming because it needs higher power consumption and larger size. Gaining in 3D gaming will losing in mobility.
Although ACER always released latest models with latest GPU, but it's just like putting a F1 engine inside a Proton Saga. Does anybody want a laptop with high performance but in low quality? Just imagine what will happen on a low quality product. So, I would say that durability and mobility are the key factors when we choosing laptop model. Of course, price does matter. This post has been edited by Irenicus: Nov 20 2003, 10:16 AM |
Nov 20 2003, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(Irenicus @ Nov 20 2003, 10:13 AM) Netboy... i do agree with part of your statement. Just forget about Fujitsu if you are an INTENSIVE 3D gamer. But if u r an INTENSIVE 3D gamer, just forget about laptop and go for desktop PC. For my opinion, laptop is not designed for INTENSIVE 3D gamer. Although Nvidia just released their latest mobile GPU (GeForce FX Go 5700), but i would said that laptop still not suitable for intensive 3D gaming because it needs higher power consumption and larger size. Gaining in 3D gaming will losing in mobility. Although ACER always released latest models with latest GPU, but it's just like putting a F1 engine inside a Proton Saga. Does anybody want a laptop with high performance but in low quality? Just imagine what will happen on a low quality product. So, I would say that durability and mobility are the key factors when we choosing laptop model. Of course, price does matter. Yes!!! |
Nov 20 2003, 12:25 PM
19 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Malaysia |
Irenicus' explaination is very good.
1. Why you wan to buy a laptop? Some people just need to have a computer available when they go to certain places, and won't travel with the laptop MOST OF THE TIME, then you can look for desktop replacement/mainstream. If you need to carry your laptop SOMETIMES, then you can look for thin & light. However, if you are a businessman who need spend most of the time on travelling, perhaps a subnotebook is most suitable choice. 2. What's your budget? Good brand indeed provide good quality product and good service, and 'good' price. We always cannot reach 'balance' when we come to quality, service, and price. If someone wants to buy a laptop with good quality, good service, slim design, and cheap price, then he/she can just forget about laptop. I bought my laptop 3 months ago, nearly the same period as Irenicus. My budget was below RM5000. I need a notebook as I have to travel from Johor to Kedah and stay there for a period of time. However bringing a desktop is a burden and thus the thought of buying laptop come across my mind. Lastly I choose Toshiba Satellite 2410 (all-in-one model) since I won't travel a lot with this notebook. Here are a few brands that I recommend : IBM - a very good choice for business users. Good durability and good service. Expensive. Fujitsu - another good choice. Good durability and good service. Budget high can go for slim models; budget low then just go for bulky models. Sony - its subnotebook very stylish and nice. Good design. Expensive. Toshiba - most of Toshiba models are bulky. Good durability and stable. Expensive. Other consideration : Dell, Compaq, Asus, BenQ. 3. Do you really need all those hi-end stuff? Some people wants bluetooth, WiFi, wide screen, bla bla bla... long list here... It really depends on whether you really need it or not. A business user, let say a salesman who just want to use a laptop to show some graphs and documents to his clients, perhaps he just need a celeron notebook that able to run MS Office that's all! I hope my comments are useful for anyone who wants to buy laptop even though these comments are not complete. I have to leave now, something urgent. See you guys~ |
Nov 20 2003, 01:20 PM
1,239 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: SMK Kepong Baru, KL |
NEC also good mar....many features included in a very good price!!!
If got money then buy Toshiba,Sony,Fujitsu,BenQ lor....if no money then i choose NEC or Asus rather than Compaq/Dell....why?? My company bought 3 Compaq laptop then few years later the display spoilt liao...all three spoilt in the same year!!!....so i have no confidence in this brand liao.... |
Nov 20 2003, 01:22 PM
1,239 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: SMK Kepong Baru, KL |
Dell...hehe like one of our fren said....lazy to call...kekeke...furthermore dun like Dell coz they spoilt the entrepreneur's market....no middle man the price still damn expensive....
Nov 21 2003, 01:54 AM
yip, i'm still wondering why the pridce is still quite high though there is no middle man..
Nov 21 2003, 02:15 AM
10,308 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
ok...wanna ask whether i should wait for centrino 2 or just buy a centrino now? if i wan centrino, can recommend any model? (with 256bm ram, 40gb hdd, good graphics card)
Nov 21 2003, 09:15 AM
Few brands recommended:
1. IBM, Fujitsu, Sony, Toshiba, Dell, BenQ,... 2. Compaq, NEC, Asus,... 3. Acer,... Don't simply buy a laptop, do some survey before you buy. |
Nov 21 2003, 12:01 PM
2,494 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Kemuning, Shah Alam |
Ya loh, we must do survery first before buying laptop. We must know the user comment. Try to ask those experts in this forum before you buy. Remember this.
Nov 21 2003, 12:39 PM
dell services are goooodddd enuff..~!! go for it..
Nov 21 2003, 11:54 PM
BenQ is better than Compaq?
Nov 23 2003, 04:06 AM
tthink compaq better than benq
Nov 28 2003, 03:21 AM
1,072 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 8 5 0 0 0 |
uh.. thread dead? ok, help rekemen me.. i'm a student, planning 2 use notebook 4 programming + music + lite gaming (warcraft 3). n.. wat notebook will suite me best? budget is 4500-5500. tik tok tik tok.,.
Nov 28 2003, 03:54 AM
14,039 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(angeldothack @ Nov 28 2003, 03:21 AM) uh.. thread dead? ok, help rekemen me.. i'm a student, planning 2 use notebook 4 programming + music + lite gaming (warcraft 3). n.. wat notebook will suite me best? budget is 4500-5500. tik tok tik tok.,. hmm, you can get P4-M with 512 DDR RAM, Radeon, 15" LCD with 4.5K |
Nov 28 2003, 04:19 AM
QUOTE(mitodna @ Nov 28 2003, 03:54 AM) hmm, you can get P4-M with 512 DDR RAM, Radeon, 15" LCD with 4.5K Compaq x1075.. RM5,488 |
Nov 29 2003, 12:14 AM
1,072 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 8 5 0 0 0 |
QUOTE(netboy @ Nov 28 2003, 04:19 AM) Compaq x1075.. RM5,488 Thnxz, i will go survey for it. |
Nov 29 2003, 05:33 PM
262 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sibu, Sarawak |
I plan to buy notebook but don't know what brand should i get...
ASUS or DELL or Other Choices? I will bring notebook to AUS coz i study there. Did this 2 brand got service centre at AUS? My budget is RM5000 - RM6000. |
Nov 29 2003, 05:39 PM
49 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Asus service is the worst! I tried to send my laptop to warranty and it takes more than one month to return! what do you think?
Nov 29 2003, 07:12 PM
Why my frenz say very fast leh?
Last time his laptop send for a service due to keyboard error but its only take 3 days to send it back home. I already check at ASUS website they don't have any Service centre at Australia. |
Nov 29 2003, 07:17 PM
Notebook: Brand Needed!!!
Processor: Intel Centrino (Pentium M) Memory: 512MB HDD: 40GB FDD: External Screen: 14.1" SXGA Network: 56K Modem, 10/100 LAN, Wireless LAN (WiFi) O/S: Licensed Windows XP Professional Weight: 2-3kg Optical Drives: Combo CD-RW with DVD Graphics Card: ATI Radeon *International Warranty at least 2 years *Long battery life at least 6.5 hrs *Carrying case |
Nov 29 2003, 11:05 PM
hi SIWIS,
Your requirement for 6.5 hours battery life would be impossible even if it's a Centrino-based notebook. The 6.5 hrs is a theoretically calculated time by Intel. In real life, you won't be able to get 6.5 hrs on any Centrino notebook (At least on all that I've tried so far...) even if it's on standby mode. BTW, your system requirement seems to meet Compaq x1075, Benq Joybook 5000, IBM T41 and Fujitsu S6120/6130. |
Nov 29 2003, 11:21 PM
3,140 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sitiawan, Perak |
QUOTE(NeoXeroX @ Jul 7 2003, 09:37 AM) Compaq.. speaker chun... dell sux.. i mean speaker.. coz urself using compaq laptop also mah |
Nov 30 2003, 06:46 PM
NOTEBOOK: BRAND & PRICE NEEDED!!!
Notebook Specification Processor: Intel Centrino 855 Chipset 1.5GHZ (Pentium M) Memory: 512MB DDR Ram / 256MB DDR Ram HDD: 40GB Ultra DMA FDD: External Screen: 14.1" SXGA TFT Network: 56Kbps Modem, 10/100mbps LAN, Wireless LAN (WiFi) 802.11b, Wireless 2100 O/S: Licensed Microsoft Windows XP Professional Weight: 2-2.5kg Optical Drives: DVD + CD-RW Combo Drive Graphics Card: ATI Radeon / Intergrated Memory 64MB Shared Battery: 8 Cells Lithium-Ion Battery Port: TV-OUT, USB2.0, IEEE, 1394 Firewire, IRDA, PCMCIA, Parallel, COM Budget Price: RM6000-RM7000 Need tips from PRO here |
Nov 30 2003, 08:02 PM
the chipset is 855GM or PM?
Don't go for GM if u wan to play games, coz it uses the Intel Extreme Graphics 2... lousy chipset. The 855PM chipset don't come wif any gpu, but mmost of the time the manfacturer juz pair it wif Raddy or Gforce Go |
Dec 1 2003, 04:49 PM
616 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Milky Way / UK / Ipoh |
Well, I guess why not give Dell Inspiron 8500 a try... Value for money and yet among the most powerful laptops available in the market (You can get the most powerful mobile graphics card with Inspiron 8500). I've been using Inspiron 8200 for almost a year, no glitches at all. Btw, I really love my 15" UXGA Enhanced with Dell UltraSharp Technology (It really makes your LCD look better than standard monitors)... You don't really find many UXGA laptops in the market.
Many retailers pointed out that Dell have a poor after sale services when the warranty expires. Well, so far, my laptop is in 100% working condition even after a year. Hmm, who ever want to send their laptops back to the factory a few times a year even if they have excellent after sale services? |
Dec 1 2003, 04:51 PM
2,839 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
ibm, fujitsu and toshiba make good laptop
Dec 1 2003, 05:47 PM
But IBM very pricey....
I hv think about DELL but need to buy online.... How many days will it arrive? |
Dec 1 2003, 06:19 PM
619 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Lowyat.net@Kj@Ktn@KL@Mlk |
IBM has the best keyboard, best batt life, and a very handy trackball... recommend for everyone... really value for money.
Dec 1 2003, 06:36 PM
2,691 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ |
So far I've used 3 brand.
IBM still the most solid - but expensive One thing to note is the keyboard layout. If you use the "Home", "End", "Pg Up" & "Pg Dn" pls look to make sure you don't need to use the FN keys to sellect them. They are a real pain |
Dec 1 2003, 07:42 PM
If don't want IBM then choose Toshiba lo...
Dec 1 2003, 08:44 PM
QUOTE(fishbone @ Dec 1 2003, 06:19 PM) IBM has the best keyboard, best batt life, and a very handy trackball... recommend for everyone... really value for money. |
Dec 1 2003, 09:41 PM
Most IBMs have incredible keyboards, but one thing to note is that many of their models don't have Windows keys.
SIWIS, Delivery time depends on availability. Give Dell a call, and don't be afraid to tell them you're also looking at a few other brands of laptops - I know of people who've persuaded the sales guy to start throwing in freebies like extra adapters, batteries, etc. |
Dec 2 2003, 06:59 AM
Dell Services: Hardware Maintenance (H)
http://dellstore02.sg.dell.com/public/cart...sp?prd_id=96020 which one to get if i go oversea? |
Dec 4 2003, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(AAY @ Dec 1 2003, 09:41 PM) Most IBMs have incredible keyboards, but one thing to note is that many of their models don't have Windows keys. SIWIS, Delivery time depends on availability. Give Dell a call, and don't be afraid to tell them you're also looking at a few other brands of laptops - I know of people who've persuaded the sales guy to start throwing in freebies like extra adapters, batteries, etc. no wondodows key better,cause hiting the windows key very troublesome... |
Dec 5 2003, 06:54 PM
QUOTE(Earnest @ Dec 1 2003, 07:42 PM) If don't want IBM then choose Toshiba lo... What is TOSHIBA website? M'Sia One |
Dec 5 2003, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(MaGicDust @ Dec 1 2003, 04:49 PM) Well, I guess why not give Dell Inspiron 8500 a try... Value for money and yet among the most powerful laptops available in the market (You can get the most powerful mobile graphics card with Inspiron 8500). I've been using Inspiron 8200 for almost a year, no glitches at all. Btw, I really love my 15" UXGA Enhanced with Dell UltraSharp Technology (It really makes your LCD look better than standard monitors)... You don't really find many UXGA laptops in the market. Many retailers pointed out that Dell have a poor after sale services when the warranty expires. Well, so far, my laptop is in 100% working condition even after a year. Hmm, who ever want to send their laptops back to the factory a few times a year even if they have excellent after sale services? Why i can't find Inspiron 8500 at dell.com.my? If Inspiron 8600 i can see it but heavy notebook... |
Dec 5 2003, 09:04 PM
SIWIS,
The Inspiron 8500 was replaced with the 8600, I think. I don't think Toshiba has a Malaysian site. The closest would either be the Toshiba Asia or the Tele Dynamics site. |
Dec 6 2003, 05:53 PM
TeleDynamics no price lar....
Dec 6 2003, 07:13 PM
164 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
hello... what do u people think of the packard bell with amd-xp-M 2400+ with combo drive selling at rm3999?
sounds like a good deal, not too heavy around 3kg or less but i dont know... do u think with an amd chip its so hot you can fry an egg on the keyboard? just kidding |
Dec 6 2003, 07:22 PM
Dec 7 2003, 12:58 AM
QUOTE(cyberbanana @ Dec 6 2003, 07:13 PM) hello... what do u people think of the packard bell with amd-xp-M 2400+ with combo drive selling at rm3999? sounds like a good deal, not too heavy around 3kg or less but i dont know... do u think with an amd chip its so hot you can fry an egg on the keyboard? just kidding as far as i know amd cpu very hot lar... how abouts its battery life? |
Dec 7 2003, 08:37 PM
164 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
the salesperson says around 2-2.5 hours
however no built in floppy drive... |
Dec 8 2003, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(cyberbanana @ Dec 7 2003, 08:37 PM) the salesperson says around 2-2.5 hours however no built in floppy drive... 2 to 2.5 hours is too short for me... I think TOSHIBA-TECRA M1 very nice what ur ppl oppinion? |
Dec 10 2003, 01:25 AM
think can eh provided u got all drivers
Dec 10 2003, 01:27 AM
anyway got this acer 912x..or something like that....
well thinking of buying it.....but not sure compare to other brands and it's quality wise is it good? This post has been edited by rukawa: Dec 10 2003, 01:28 AM |
Dec 10 2003, 02:01 AM
13 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
IBM ThinkPad R40 #2722AA3 from Notebook Shop using Mobile Intel Pentium M 2.0Ghz(centrino) Processor, it is true? or just typing error?
Dec 10 2003, 02:09 PM
i tot pentium m the max is 1.7ghz only ??
Dec 10 2003, 07:14 PM
QUOTE(4onE @ Dec 10 2003, 02:01 AM) IBM ThinkPad R40 #2722AA3 from Notebook Shop using Mobile Intel Pentium M 2.0Ghz(centrino) Processor, it is true? or just typing error? i think you look wrong eh... maybe its Intel Pentium 4-M 2.0GHZ... |
Dec 10 2003, 09:25 PM
13 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
notebookshop
here... click on Notebook/Laptop then select RM4000-4999 then look for IBM ThinkPad R40 #2722AA3 as far as i know centrino 2.0ghz will be out on Q3 on next year..... |
Dec 11 2003, 01:42 AM
26 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
fujitsu is nice
Dec 11 2003, 06:50 AM
Which Fujitsu Model?
Dec 12 2003, 08:34 PM
ok...wanna ask for a step-by-step guide for buying a notebook from dell (online). dun tell me to read it from the site, i wan some who have experience of buying notebook from dell...
Dec 13 2003, 01:10 AM
I bought before from Dell online, using credit card, what do you want to know?
Dec 13 2003, 03:27 AM
i plan to get 1 from dell too..i wanna know bout the warranty of dell, can i istall pirated software in dell laptop e.g office 2003 & others one?.. will it void my warrranty?
Does dell got a warranty sticky on those memory slots? meaning i can add it in myself? |
Dec 13 2003, 07:48 AM
er...after i save the cart (havent order it yet) do i need to call them?
im thinking of using cash debit, so how to do it? |
Dec 13 2003, 03:24 PM
Chong, from what I know, you can install your own software, that won't void the warranty, correct me if I am wrong. You won't void the warranty provide that if you don't touch their pre-installed memory, there is an user accessible empty slot for you to do your own upgrade, even the included user manual teach you to do so.
HMMaster, you don't need to call them, but I would advice you to do so after placing order, no harm contacting them, it will speed up the process, especially in the case of cash debit, feel free to bug them as often as you can...heheh. I bought it using my credit card, not sure how's cash debit gonna do, but just call and ask, shouldn't be a problem. In fact, for my case, since I bought it before raya and certain part of my notebook is out of stock, I supposed to wait for more than a week (they told me), but at last I got it within 4 days. One word of cautious, Dell notebook has got noisier harddisk, I have tried 2 (including my 8600 with hitachi 7k60) and both of them are noisy, maybe because they place the harddisk just right below the lower left of the keyboard, near to the surface. Other than that, I haven't find any defects yet... |
Dec 13 2003, 04:36 PM
Dec 14 2003, 02:56 AM
QUOTE(Susuwatari @ Dec 13 2003, 03:24 PM) Chong, from what I know, you can install your own software, that won't void the warranty, correct me if I am wrong. You won't void the warranty provide that if you don't touch their pre-installed memory, there is an user accessible empty slot for you to do your own upgrade, even the included user manual teach you to do so. well, i wanna make sure bout this too lo, as i read for other forum lo.. dono where liao lo... hopefully its wrong |
Dec 14 2003, 10:56 AM
warranty got cover s/w one meh?
Dec 14 2003, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Dec 14 2003, 10:56 AM) warranty got cover s/w one meh? i'm not sure bput this too, tat y wanna find out here |
Dec 14 2003, 07:03 PM
Actually all notebook warantty is base on hardware not software...
Dec 14 2003, 07:36 PM
Dec 15 2003, 06:37 PM
Any doubts regarding dell's notebook, I think it's better to visit forums.us.dell.com .... A lot of technical information there...
Dec 17 2003, 11:28 PM
Planning to help my fren to get a new laptop...budget around 4000...any recommendation? How about this model? worth to buy?
Toshiba Satellite A10-S310 P4 1.8GHz-M 256MB RAM 30GB HD 64MB Intel Graphic 14.1" XGA DVD-ROM 56k, LAN Win XP Pro 1 year warranty 2.8KG |
Dec 18 2003, 01:56 AM
QUOTE(Irenicus @ Dec 17 2003, 11:28 PM) Planning to help my fren to get a new laptop...budget around 4000...any recommendation? How about this model? worth to buy? Toshiba Satellite A10-S310 P4 1.8GHz-M 256MB RAM 30GB HD 64MB Intel Graphic 14.1" XGA DVD-ROM 56k, LAN Win XP Pro 1 year warranty 2.8KG Get from me. RM4,050. Link: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=58&t=19863 |
Dec 19 2003, 01:11 AM
1,867 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
netboy u selling ibm or not?
r40 centrino... got how may type |
Dec 19 2003, 01:17 AM
the notebook price will drop feb-april?
i mean the centrino? |
Dec 19 2003, 01:22 AM
IBM ThinkPad R40 #2722AA3
IBM ThinkPad R40 #2723AA1 can get in ur shop? any special discount? haha |
Dec 19 2003, 01:23 AM
for the notebook rite?
can upgrade 1 year warranty to 3 years waranty? |
Dec 19 2003, 03:41 AM
Netboy... i am interested.... where is ur shop? how to contact u?
Dec 19 2003, 12:35 PM
y netboy not yet reply 1?
Dec 19 2003, 01:52 PM
bz gua
Dec 19 2003, 06:18 PM
QUOTE(happychai @ Dec 19 2003, 01:17 AM) the notebook price will drop feb-april? i mean the centrino? if have new CPU for laptop in yr 2004 sure centrino price will drop... any body know any news about next generation for centrino..? |
Dec 19 2003, 06:48 PM
hear that the centrino2 will out next year...
then i think the price will drop.... hai... |
Dec 19 2003, 06:49 PM
i know why netboy bz liao...
cos pc fair |
Dec 20 2003, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(happychai @ Dec 19 2003, 06:48 PM) hear that the centrino2 will out next year... then i think the price will drop.... hai... any information for centrino II ? |
Dec 20 2003, 07:29 PM
2,715 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I heard the hp/Compaq nc6000 is now out in malaysia
--->The first with a MOBILITY RADEON 9600<--- ~ Should play Half Life 2 and Doom III smoothly Anyone have 3dMark2003 or 3dMark2001 SE scores for it? How much does it cost? Are there any other similar notebooks with M-Radeon 9600 or FX5700-Go Graphics Processors? |
Dec 20 2003, 08:06 PM
225 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: anywhere |
compaq Presario X1075AP processor can be upgrade anot?
Dec 20 2003, 09:55 PM
huh?
centrino 2 out liao meh? |
Dec 22 2003, 09:17 AM
39 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(happychai @ Dec 20 2003, 09:55 PM) huh? centrino 2 out liao meh? omg do a search! centrino II Wait till 2004 for dual-band 802.11a/g, says Gartner Geek.com Geek News - Intel finally delivers 802.11g Centrino Intel Centrino 2004: Dual-Channel DDR-II, PCI Express, Serial ATA, Dolby-Digital, etc... |
Dec 22 2003, 10:02 AM
814 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Under the Sun. |
u can consider ASUS as well if:
----the laptop is not to be used as video game portal (you can set ur shared memory to 64M in order to play games). ----don't need DVD-rom and CDR-W (u can get an external combo drive at RM300). ----don't need wireless. (u can buy an external WIFI adaptor later. Better than built-in) L2400-E/L2000E ASUS model: Intel Pentium 4-m 2.2GHz. Sis Video card (shared memory - adjustable shared memory). 24x CD-ROM <----- major drawback. 20GB hdd. 14.1" LCD screen. 2 PCMCIA card slots. 256 DDR RAM - 2 slots. floppy drive. Excellent ports - 2 x 2.0 USB, 2 x 1394 FireWire, 1 x parallel port, S-port, IR, External Monitor port, PS/2, Lan/modem port and 9 pin D-sub serial port adaptor. Audio DJ. 1 optical mouse - depends on the salesman mood - keep pestering him/her to give u one 2 YEARS INT WARRANTY. INSTALLATION OF WIN XP IS OPTIONAL <=== can save money. Actual price RM3399 for 128 RAM or add RM99 for 256 RAM. Centrino built-in WiFi firmware can be upgraded?? Like from 802.11b to 802.11g?? This post has been edited by countdown: Dec 22 2003, 10:22 AM |
Dec 22 2003, 11:14 AM
get the fujitsu one, another model worth noticing is P5020, p series lah.
Dec 22 2003, 11:52 AM
oh...
for my opinion.... i think u get Ibm better..... cos i read those opinion in lowyat.... most of the expert also said that ibm.. beside that fujisu and thoshiba also a best choise... i think u can read all the information there |
Dec 22 2003, 04:45 PM
74 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: The Place Where Everything is Perfect |
hhmmmmm this is a very long forum posting..
was wondering what were the reviews for joybooks?? |
Dec 23 2003, 02:14 AM
147 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
if centrino 2 is out sure centrino sure drop like p4 M
Dec 23 2003, 07:03 AM
When Centrino 2 will come out?
Dec 23 2003, 11:10 AM
tay...
thosiba bettter.... but the price... wu...... more expensive |
Dec 23 2003, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(happychai @ Dec 23 2003, 11:10 AM) tay... thosiba bettter.... but the price... wu...... more expensive ya its expensive but cool if compare to others brand notebooks... plan to get Tecra M1 Model... |
Dec 23 2003, 09:40 PM
oic....
then how bot ibm.... haha cos if get 1 then i will choose ibm |
Dec 23 2003, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(happychai @ Dec 23 2003, 09:40 PM) oic.... then how bot ibm.... haha cos if get 1 then i will choose ibm I have only one comment on IBM laptops - UGLY! |
Dec 23 2003, 10:13 PM
haha...
but is gd performence |
Dec 23 2003, 10:14 PM
ibm in my mind is the best...
p/s just in my mind.... hahaha |
Dec 23 2003, 11:50 PM
haha
but ibm is focus on quality and performence... not the out look hehe just my opinion |
Dec 23 2003, 11:56 PM
233 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Alor Star, Kedah |
Get sony! I mean the small size one.
Dec 24 2003, 01:03 AM
yeah
sony also very gd... but.......... the price... wau lau a... more expensive then all the branded laptop |
Dec 26 2003, 03:25 PM
fujitsu c2220 ..
check that out .. i tihnk thats the best value for money .. either that or its NEC versa M320 240DW both almost has the same functions ... and price range is around the same too .. but im opting for fujitsu cuz of its design ... hehe |
Dec 26 2003, 03:25 PM
whoops .. .forgot to add ...both are below RM5000 too
Dec 26 2003, 05:49 PM
3 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Compaq notebook had problem in OS installation other that the pre-instaled oS? got any way to tweak this?
Dec 26 2003, 06:38 PM
QUOTE(LIM @ Dec 26 2003, 05:49 PM) Compaq notebook had problem in OS installation other that the pre-instaled oS? got any way to tweak this? Give more description on your problem. Are you trying to install another O/S and have problem with it? |
Dec 26 2003, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Jul 26 2003, 01:59 PM) but the 855GM mb got loussy graphics la......only scored 88 in 3Dmark03 and bout 3000 in 2001SE How much does 855PM score in 3Dmark03? |
Dec 26 2003, 11:04 PM
I got feeling that i'll regret if buying centrino notebook now coz Centrino 2 is coming to town next year Q1 but still not confirm when or does it exist...
Centrino price sure drop when Centrino 2 is out.... then really broken heart coz now i plan to get Toshiba Tecra M1 be4 CNY which cost around RM8699... |
Dec 27 2003, 03:08 AM
481 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
deleted
This post has been edited by rosamundwo: Dec 27 2003, 03:11 AM |
Dec 29 2003, 09:00 AM
HAPPYCHAI,
I just looked at the specs at the IBM R40 2272-AA3, its great value considering the specs and its an IBM, whats the specs of IBM R40 2272-AA1? I might getting myself one too. |
Dec 29 2003, 11:31 AM
is R40 2722 AA3 rite?
what is the model R40 2272 AA1 |
Dec 29 2003, 11:32 AM
541 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sungai Petani |
Toshiba or TwinHead
Dec 29 2003, 11:34 AM
Thosiba
Dec 29 2003, 11:34 AM
well.
samurai.. where u look at the product? |
Dec 29 2003, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(happychai @ Dec 29 2003, 11:34 AM) well. samurai.. where u look at the product? Sungai Wang IT Center, they have it there for you to test drive. I am interested to getting one. You buying laptop too? |
Dec 29 2003, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(happychai @ Dec 29 2003, 11:31 AM) is R40 2722 AA3 rite? what is the model R40 2272 AA1 I read your earlier post ma, 2722-AA1 you wrote, then I found out you mean R40 2723-AA1, priced 7K++ totally out of my budget. |
Dec 29 2003, 06:00 PM
huh??
R402723 AA1 is Rm5988 not 7k++ la... the price still not discount yet.. can get discount and the model u getting interested is what model and price? |
Dec 29 2003, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(happychai @ Dec 29 2003, 06:00 PM) huh?? R402723 AA1 is Rm5988 not 7k++ la... the price still not discount yet.. can get discount and the model u getting interested is what model and price? oh ya soli soli R40 2722-AA3 is cheaper mah so considering that model, listed price is RM4,988 from notebook shop. |
Dec 29 2003, 09:55 PM
oic
then u nv ask for discount????? hwo much discount for u? |
Dec 29 2003, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(happychai @ Dec 29 2003, 09:55 PM) oic then u nv ask for discount????? hwo much discount for u? haven't asked yet. How much can you get for 2723-AA1 anyway, after discount I mean. |
Dec 29 2003, 11:57 PM
55 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cyberjaya |
IBM all the way. The T Series or Titanium Series. Comes with Titanium Bezel and reinforced side walls. Not the fastest notebook but definitely the most quality, reliable and durable. Service and support is pretty good. The center is located on Ground Floor of Plaza IBM TTDI.
I have used TP755CD - 486DX4-100 TP760XL - Pentium 166MMX TP770 - Pentium 233 TP560Z - PII 233 TP570 - PII 333 T20 - PIII 650 T21 - PIII 800 T23 - PIII 1.13 Currently using Compaq Evo N610C 2.0 Ghz. Sigh. Not impressed. I miss my Thinkpad. |
Dec 30 2003, 09:21 AM
7,173 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PCH |
i'm looking for new laptop/notebook (wuts the difference)?
is 5k enuff? for gaming, office work, online n i have to tell u tht i always at the site, not the whole time in the office... |
Dec 30 2003, 08:33 PM
samurai....
i think can less rm200 sniper69 5k is enough 2 get centrino laio |
Dec 31 2003, 06:13 AM
QUOTE(sniper69 @ Dec 30 2003, 09:21 AM) i'm looking for new laptop/notebook (wuts the difference)? is 5k enuff? for gaming, office work, online n i have to tell u tht i always at the site, not the whole time in the office... Laptop = notebook |
Dec 31 2003, 10:58 AM
187 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Tokyo NIPPON |
Toshiba is........the BEST!!
Dec 31 2003, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(King_Michael @ Dec 31 2003, 10:58 AM) Toshiba is........the BEST!! Toshiba which model u got ? |
Dec 31 2003, 06:49 PM
QUOTE(SIWIS @ Dec 31 2003, 06:37 PM) Toshiba which model u got ? TOSHIBA TERCA 9100 |
Jan 1 2004, 05:56 PM
very expensive
Jan 2 2004, 02:34 AM
just bought dell 600m
Jan 2 2004, 05:02 AM
QUOTE(happychai @ Dec 30 2003, 08:33 PM) samurai.... i think can less rm200 sniper69 5k is enough 2 get centrino laio hmm my budget oso RM5000 looking at fujitsu c2220 but 5k cant really get u a centrino ... can it? i mean ...a quality product please... no acer ... or dell ... |
Jan 2 2004, 05:03 AM
251 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
What's the price and spec..?
Jan 2 2004, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(happychai @ Jan 1 2004, 05:56 PM) very expensive ya ya very expensive hehehe.. My boss paid it for me hehehe.. |
Jan 2 2004, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(yeahh @ Jan 2 2004, 05:02 AM) QUOTE(happychai @ Dec 30 2003, 08:33 PM) samurai.... i think can less rm200 sniper69 5k is enough 2 get centrino laio hmm my budget oso RM5000 looking at fujitsu c2220 but 5k cant really get u a centrino ... can it? i mean ...a quality product please... no acer ... or dell ... yes can..... go for Asus.... can get a gd 1 my fren also use that... most of them said is it worth 2 get asus 5k also can get ibm also.. for me ... better go for ibm.. haha cos i like it |
Jan 2 2004, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(King_Michael @ Jan 2 2004, 10:54 AM) ya ya very expensive hehehe.. My boss paid it for me hehehe.. huh? ur boss? so gd 1... get 1 for me also... haha so what u working as? working in lowyat? |
Jan 2 2004, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(HMMaster @ Jan 2 2004, 02:34 AM) just bought dell 600m how is it? the weigh is how much ah? u get the 1600gt or 1700gt?? i plan for this too. |
Jan 3 2004, 05:52 AM
4,925 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Ok a quick question. Does Fujitsu N5000 series got sale in Malaysia?
Jan 3 2004, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(chong @ Jan 2 2004, 09:31 PM) how is it? the weigh is how much ah? u get the 1600gt or 1700gt?? i plan for this too. im getting thr 1400gt. dun have money for 1600 or 1700gt. E-VALUE CODE : L540113 just arrive yesterday (9pm?! |
Jan 3 2004, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(gnome @ Jan 3 2004, 05:52 AM) Ok a quick question. Does Fujitsu N5000 series got sale in Malaysia? sory dude .. but i never really heard of N series got E...C...S...B...P ... L .... T series .. hehe.. |
Jan 3 2004, 02:13 PM
335 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Any reviews on the benq joybook 5000? Looks really good and some nice specs too. NECs?
Jan 3 2004, 02:34 PM
335 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Sorry just noticed tat the joybook 5000 has already been discussed about earlier in this topic. But it doesn't cost 5k plus like said. Its 4550 if I'm not mistaken. Seen them few times at lowyat at that price. Just saw the ferari acer notebook yesterday at midvalley! Man is it a beauty! Lovely specs at a reasonable price
This post has been edited by boontsien: Jan 3 2004, 02:47 PM |
Jan 3 2004, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(yeahh @ Jan 3 2004, 11:27 AM) sory dude .. but i never really heard of N series got E...C...S...B...P ... L .... T series .. hehe.. Ok thanks Asus M6000N Acer Ferrari 3000 LMi Hp Compaq nc6000 or nc8000 |
Jan 3 2004, 06:59 PM
M'sia can get ASUS M6000 series notebook meh?
Jan 3 2004, 07:24 PM
QUOTE(SIWIS @ Jan 3 2004, 06:59 PM) M'sia can get ASUS M6000 series notebook meh? I don't know. I hope can |
Jan 4 2004, 03:13 PM
any1 know bout ibm??
haha any1 here got the news of centrino2? when will release |
Jan 5 2004, 03:33 PM
IBM THINKPAD R50 does not released in Malaysia yet? only R40 available.
Anybody using NEC Versa E680? |
Jan 5 2004, 05:10 PM
r50?
got meh? |
Jan 5 2004, 11:54 PM
14,039 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
what laptop with 14" + or better with 15.4" budget around RM5K, got arrr?
mitodna:woot, i am back from trauma |
Jan 6 2004, 12:23 AM
3,377 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kulai-Pontian (Johor) |
Mine Asus M3000N
Jan 6 2004, 02:25 PM
40 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
just bought a Dell inspiron 600m..(upgrade-1.6 centrino and 64 ATI radeon )..
quite dissapointed...wish i had bought the apple g4 ibook.... outside-quite sleek.. open the notebook.. and youll be thinking what the hell where they thinking..clashing blue with silver..Performence wise...- my friend fujitsu and apple is more smooth than it. |
Jan 6 2004, 11:30 PM
WAAAAAAAAAAAAA
compaq EVO N800c from RM5699 ... drop to RM4999!!! now i really dono wat to buy man |
Jan 6 2004, 11:32 PM
I thought fujitsu and apple are of different class from Dell? I think it's not fair to compare.. I own a dell, yes, stupid combination of blue and silver inside, would you dare to take the blue color thing out and spray it ?.....
Jan 9 2004, 12:32 PM
251 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(yeahh @ Jan 6 2004, 11:30 PM) WAAAAAAAAAAAAA compaq EVO N800c from RM5699 ... drop to RM4999!!! now i really dono wat to buy man Where you get the price from ? |
Jan 10 2004, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(Susuwatari @ Jan 6 2004, 11:32 PM) I thought fujitsu and apple are of different class from Dell? I think it's not fair to compare.. I own a dell, yes, stupid combination of blue and silver inside, would you dare to take the blue color thing out and spray it ?..... i would once the warranty is over..hehe...dunno whther you b=guys agree with me or not,but i think that the older dell lptops are better looking then the current versions.. ibook if only i had the skill to do this... |
Jan 10 2004, 01:18 PM
Yeh, I like the older model too, looks simple, more like the IBM design, solid black. I am referring to 2650 (some says it looks ugly), but I like it.
Sonic_cd, have you seen the latitude line? they substitute the blue thingy with a silver one, looks good. |
Jan 10 2004, 04:39 PM
any1 here using ibm?
my fren using nec got many problem |
Jan 10 2004, 10:10 PM
yeah i`ve seen it and i still say the old dell notebooks look better... XD
Jan 10 2004, 10:27 PM
5,263 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: FootbalLand |
i think IBM is the best.
Jan 11 2004, 02:40 AM
QUOTE(jeffbeh @ Jan 9 2004, 12:32 PM) QUOTE(yeahh @ Jan 6 2004, 11:30 PM) WAAAAAAAAAAAAA compaq EVO N800c from RM5699 ... drop to RM4999!!! now i really dono wat to buy man Where you get the price from ? it was in some newspaper ...they slipped a compaq brochure inside .. but im guessing this is some old model .. cuz online kenot find the model ... but they still give 3 yrs INTERNATIONAL warranty i'd recommend this for everyone man .. its seriously damn cheap.. but im still going for my fujitsu ... This post has been edited by yeahh: Jan 11 2004, 02:41 AM |
Jan 12 2004, 09:39 PM
any1 got ibm news?
Jan 12 2004, 09:40 PM
very scare la...
after centrino2 out if buy now the price sure drop kao kao |
Jan 15 2004, 11:58 AM
146 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
i've used fujitsu's notebooks and still am!
i love it! costly yes.. but to me its worth it! the service is great too... i love my tiny old fujitsu p-1010 notebook now am using fujitsu s-6010 notebook (a grown-up notebook) hehehee..... This post has been edited by adamismadi: Jan 15 2004, 11:58 AM |
Jan 15 2004, 06:30 PM
oh.....
ic... then is it centrino |
Jan 15 2004, 06:30 PM
40 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: kl |
TOSHIBA is the BEST !!
dun get those taiwanese ones, becoz they will break even before the warranty ends... sometimes harddisk problem, sometimes LCD problem.... and ya, u should never buy 'unbranded' laptops... and I dun like DELL, alto their desktops r ok, their laptops r ugly and bulky... |
Jan 15 2004, 06:34 PM
haha
i will choose IBM any idea |
Jan 19 2004, 02:51 AM
I bought a Benq Joybook 5000u
Well wanted to know...what's teh difference with 5000 and 5000u??? |
Jan 19 2004, 03:02 AM
7,131 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
my toshiba lcd have kaput already.darker on the left side......if i wanna buy a replacement,it will cost about rm1500.its not worth it...better buy new one.i just hate laptop....costly to maintain n upgrade.
Jan 19 2004, 04:31 AM
i`m in the minority group which uses apple laptops... hehe
Jan 19 2004, 08:27 AM
81 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang, Malaysia |
can anyone tell me what is the lastest and powerful notebook(below 15k)?? need full details and price pls.
i am looking for palm as well. What brand recomended? below 10k.. pls help... This post has been edited by Harvey: Jan 19 2004, 08:41 AM |
Jan 19 2004, 01:19 PM
I just orderd mine(see sig). Hopefully it will arrive tomorrow or Wednesday
Jan 19 2004, 01:30 PM
2,715 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I recently got my Dell Inspiron 8600
For RM6100 i got: 1.4ghz P-M 512mb 333mhz DDR SDRAM 40GB HDD CDRW/DVD combo modular 15.4" WXGA screen. Ultrasharp 35ms screen and most importantly, a 128MB MOBILITY RADEON 9600 PRO (M10-p) weight, 3.1kg with optical drive. It is GREAT! BF 1942, UT2003, CS, runs flawlessly at highest settings. 3dMark2003 score is 2763 *with default drivers etc. Not clean XP reinstall. Out of the box test. One Gripe. The build quality was sacrificed abit to cut costs perhaps. Its fine for my usage pattern(at home) but if you intend to bring your notebook back and forth from the office daily getting an inspiron is NOT A GOOD IDEA. looking for a notebook with bleeding edge graphics for under RM7000? The Inspiron 8600 is an excellent choice. Mine arrived on the third business day after i ordered it. |
Jan 19 2004, 01:37 PM
250 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
wah sounds nice. been eyeing the inspiron 8600 also, but i was hoping i could get at least 1.5 or 1.6 with same price.. heheh
is it bulky though? |
Jan 19 2004, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(gnome @ Jan 19 2004, 01:29 PM) I just orderd mine(see sig). Hopefully it will arrive tomorrow or Wednesday post some pics can arr ? |
Jan 19 2004, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Jan 19 2004, 04:17 PM) post some pics can arr ? I'll try |
Jan 19 2004, 04:43 PM
11 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cyberjaya |
hey guys, help me out!!
how about NEC Versa S900 150DR ? Intel Centrino (mobile tech) 1.50GHz Intel PRO/Wireless Network Connection 802.11b Intel 855PM Chipset Microsoft Windows XP Professional Edt 256MB ram - i can get it upgraded to 512MB for free. 60GB hard disk 16x,8x,2x,24x,8x DVD-RW 12.1" XGA TFT 64MB Ati Radeon 9000 graphic adapter. 3x USB 2.0 port - NO floppy disk drive. Weight: less than 2kg! ---------------------------------- if u guys can recomend me another brand that is better than this, it would be great.. my budget is less than 12k, and it must be light so i can mobile around easily. but the most mportant specs is, it must have DVD-RW, powerful graphic, big storage and light. tq! This post has been edited by orang`sakit: Jan 19 2004, 05:51 PM |
Jan 19 2004, 05:47 PM
81 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang, Malaysia |
QUOTE(orang`sakit @ Jan 19 2004, 04:53 PM) if u guys can recomend me another brand that is better than this, it would be great.. my budget is less than 12k, and it must be light so i can mobile around easily. but the most mportant specs is, it must have DVD-RW, powerful graphic, big storage and light. tq! i am also looking for a new laptop.. have DVD-RW and powerful graphic card.. just wondering how to get those catalog? anyone got any idea? thanks in advance... |
Jan 21 2004, 02:42 PM
My laptop arrive already
Jan 21 2004, 02:51 PM
7,131 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(gnome @ Jan 21 2004, 02:52 PM) My laptop arrive already ferrari laptop huh.... how much it cost u ? where u order ? |
Jan 21 2004, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(bug_vengeance @ Jan 21 2004, 03:01 PM) ferrari laptop huh.... how much it cost u ? where u order ? It cost me(my father actuall) RM6780 |
Jan 23 2004, 01:35 AM
46 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Any opinion on NEC laptop? Particularly NEC Versa E680??
Jan 23 2004, 09:22 AM
QUOTE(rukawa @ Jan 19 2004, 03:01 AM) I bought a Benq Joybook 5000u Well wanted to know...what's teh difference with 5000 and 5000u??? if im not wrong the 5000u is cheaper coz it use intel extreme graphics whle 5000 use ATI Radeon Mobility... |
Jan 23 2004, 09:30 AM
And finally...can get my hand on my sis's Dell Inspiron 600m!
Nice, not tat slim but still ok. Lack of firewire, 2 usb port only, have smartcard slot, hotswap drive (didnt expect this), the guide is great (it even teach u how to do the upgrade urself! but im not sure whether other brand also provide a guide like this) i u guys want the pic, maybe i can post it later |
Jan 26 2004, 06:19 PM
Benq Joybook 5000u
weight: 2.2kg Specs: Firewire 3 USB 2.0 ports IrDA Wireless Lan... 40GB HD 256 DDR Well all for RM4550. Nice one |
Jan 26 2004, 11:36 PM
MY BUDGET RM6000 MAX.. any recommended laptop?
Jan 27 2004, 01:42 PM
11 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
hello,can some one help me??
i wana buy a laptop but budget is <5000. so any one got any recommandation?? tanx. |
Jan 27 2004, 09:02 PM
Budget RM5ooo easy, just get any Pentium4-m Laptop will do, or if you favor the Centrino Laptops, consider:
1.Compaq X1000, after bargain less RM200, its about RM5500 afer upgraded to 512MB RAM, 15.9" wide WXGA screen, after reading the review at zdnet.com or cnet.com, few people says that it has short wifi range, lousy keyboard. 2.NEC Versa E680 , bout RM4650 after bargain, available in white or black casing and 14" or 15" inch display. Has everything except IrDA and parallel port, keyboard not so nice feel, but usable. USB ports are not separated in different area, you will have a hard time plugging in and out USB plug if you tend to use 3 or 4 USB device in the same time. 3.IBM R40, the brand IBM speak for its self. I found out many people loves the keyboard of IBM laptops. Upgrade to 3 year warranty for an additional of RM150 for the 1 year warranty models. Down side is its quite heavy at 3.0KG for the R series, unless you get the light weight Titanium T series. Design of the laptop gives you the "professional" look 4.BenQ Joybook 5000, trendy design, however the casing its a bit "plasticky". Light weight for a 14.1" screen laptop, if not mistaken, cover for the LCD a bit soft. 5.Acer Travelmate 290XCi, few people ask me not to buy Acer's laptop, so there. |
Jan 27 2004, 09:40 PM
and DELL 600m too
Jan 27 2004, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(sumurai @ Jan 27 2004, 09:12 PM) Budget RM5ooo easy, just get any Pentium4-m Laptop will do, or if you favor the Centrino Laptops, consider: 1.Compaq X1000, after bargain less RM200, its about RM5500 afer upgraded to 512MB RAM, 15.9" wide WXGA screen, after reading the review at zdnet.com or cnet.com, few people says that it has short wifi range, lousy keyboard. 2.NEC Versa E680 , bout RM4650 after bargain, available in white or black casing and 14" or 15" inch display. Has everything except IrDA and parallel port, keyboard not so nice feel, but usable. USB ports are not separated in different area, you will have a hard time plugging in and out USB plug if you tend to use 3 or 4 USB device in the same time. 3.IBM R40, the brand IBM speak for its self. I found out many people loves the keyboard of IBM laptops. Upgrade to 3 year warranty for an additional of RM150 for the 1 year warranty models. Down side is its quite heavy at 3.0KG for the R series, unless you get the light weight Titanium T series. Design of the laptop gives you the "professional" look 4.BenQ Joybook 5000, trendy design, however the casing its a bit "plasticky". Light weight for a 14.1" screen laptop, if not mistaken, cover for the LCD a bit soft. 5.Acer Travelmate 290XCi, few people ask me not to buy Acer's laptop, so there. i did buy the no 5 4 my friends...not bad 4 d price 4 Centrino |
Jan 27 2004, 09:47 PM
how about my NEC Versa S900 150DR ??? why anyone reply? only got new question sumore.. waa... btw.. when will the centrino 2 come out?
Jan 27 2004, 09:50 PM
how about my NEC Versa S900 150DR ?? why dont anyone reply? waa... btw, when will the centrino2 come out?
Jan 27 2004, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(orang`sakit @ Jan 27 2004, 09:57 PM) how about my NEC Versa S900 150DR ??? why anyone reply? only got new question sumore.. waa... btw.. when will the centrino 2 come out? not bad also got ATI9000...how much arrr? i was thinking NEC M320 240DW |
Jan 28 2004, 12:06 AM
844 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
What laptop do u guys recommend? i m planning to buy a laptop..budget max 6k
prefer: Centrino 1.6 512 Ram Good graphic cards less than 3 kg global warranty as i m bringing to australia ... WiFi 40 Gig.. duno need combo drive as i m bringin my external CDR-W..Dvd rom is good enough .. USB port 2.0 need it b4 10 Feb |
Jan 28 2004, 11:07 AM
http://dellstore03.sg.dell.com/public/cart...sp?prd_id=97738
can be less than 6k, but dunno whether u can get it before 10Feb or not (depend on the part availablity) |
Jan 28 2004, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(HMMaster @ Jan 28 2004, 11:17 AM) your link is shown error msg..session expired leh .. |
Jan 28 2004, 01:48 PM
1,268 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
wat do u guys think about this spec?
inspiron 600m 1.6m, sxga+ 64mb ati9000 1x512 pc2100 ddr 40gb for rm7115? the ati9000 can use to play games ornot? This post has been edited by Coconut: Jan 28 2004, 04:55 PM |
Jan 28 2004, 05:54 PM
sure can play one.. im using ati7500 also can play many latest game.. except for battleground.. it say that the video memory is not enough.. pale hotak die..
Jan 28 2004, 05:56 PM
2,366 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bukit Mertajam / Kuala Lumpur / Kajang |
Jan 28 2004, 06:41 PM
QUOTE(Coconut @ Jan 28 2004, 01:58 PM) wat do u guys think about this spec? inspiron 600m 1.6m, sxga+ 64mb ati9000 1x512 pc2100 ddr 40gb for rm7115? the ati9000 can use to play games ornot? RM7115? |
Jan 28 2004, 09:07 PM
QUOTE(R3Dz @ Jan 28 2004, 01:39 PM) QUOTE(HMMaster @ Jan 28 2004, 11:17 AM) your link is shown error msg..session expired leh .. oops...sorry try this at Dell's website: E-VALUE CODE : L540113Z |
Jan 28 2004, 11:09 PM
1,268 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
actually my config is only rm6082, the extra 1k is for spare batt, 3 year warranty and stuff..
orang sakit : your atil7500 can play almost all the games without lag? smooth? |
Jan 29 2004, 01:02 AM
what is the highest Centrino Design now? 1.6? heard 1.7 is out?
btw Centrino 2 will be out by when ar? any can confirm? |
Jan 29 2004, 10:55 AM
got centrino 1.7 now...
Feb 5 2004, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(R3Dz @ Jan 28 2004, 12:16 AM) What laptop do u guys recommend? i m planning to buy a laptop..budget max 6k prefer: Centrino 1.6 512 Ram Good graphic cards less than 3 kg global warranty as i m bringing to australia ... WiFi 40 Gig.. duno need combo drive as i m bringin my external CDR-W..Dvd rom is good enough .. USB port 2.0 need it b4 10 Feb which state are you going? you will be going to Aus on 11FEB2004? |
Feb 5 2004, 10:05 PM
2,794 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
guys just wanted to ask on ur opinion regarding Asus Centrino...is it worth to buy it. I dun see much reviews abt it. Appreciate it.da comments..
Feb 6 2004, 04:03 AM
QUOTE(SIWIS @ Feb 5 2004, 11:29 AM) QUOTE(R3Dz @ Jan 28 2004, 12:16 AM) What laptop do u guys recommend? i m planning to buy a laptop..budget max 6k prefer: Centrino 1.6 512 Ram Good graphic cards less than 3 kg global warranty as i m bringing to australia ... WiFi 40 Gig.. duno need combo drive as i m bringin my external CDR-W..Dvd rom is good enough .. USB port 2.0 need it b4 10 Feb which state are you going? you will be going to Aus on 11FEB2004? Nope...15 Feb Sydney ... Wondering is the COmpaq service in sydney good? |
Feb 9 2004, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(Coconut @ Jan 28 2004, 11:19 PM) actually my config is only rm6082, the extra 1k is for spare batt, 3 year warranty and stuff.. orang sakit : your atil7500 can play almost all the games without lag? smooth? yerp.. not all but mostly.. not good when playing games that have too much light.. |
Feb 9 2004, 10:20 PM
8,456 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: å®¶ã§æŠ˜ã‚‹ã“㨠|
anyone know the price of the Fujitsu S series in lowyat?
most selling for 7388...i wan a discount!!!!! |
Feb 12 2004, 12:24 PM
47 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
anyone recommending acer brand of notebooks?
im very much interested in acer travel mate 370 series.. it is very light and have good specs too... with international warranty and oso rm300 rebate for students leh... is it good? |
Feb 13 2004, 12:43 PM
721 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Somewhere only we know |
any 1 here using benq notebook?
need some advice...on joybook 5000 intend to get 1...coz it's cheap...lol....budget not much.. |
Feb 26 2004, 12:11 PM
244 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
hi guys,
I need an opinion here. I'm buying either one of these for a friend: 1) ECS A535 - AMD 1.4, 128MB ram, 20Gig hd, no floppy - RM 2,650 2) Hyundai D270 - P4 2.0, 256MB ram, 30Gig hd, floppy - RM 3,288 3) Toshiba Satellite A10 S300 - P4 2.0, 256MB ram, 30Gig hd, no floppy - RM 3,699 If any of you has had a bad experience with any of them, I'd appreciate it if you could share it here. I'll most probably be making the purchase tomorrow. Price is quite a major concern actually, it shouldn't exceed rm 3,500, but I still added the Toshiba as an option because its after sales support is most probably a lot better. (I'm leaning towards the ECS actually, because the salesdude said it could be further customized, and the price is pretty cheEep |
Feb 26 2004, 11:08 PM
2,728 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Muddy Confluence |
i reccomended you to buy toshiba...since i'm using the same model...a10..
toshiba is faster and more stable...plus the chasis is quiite strong too... only the A10 lacking off is...it doesn't have Ir PORT , firewire and serial port.. My friend is using hyundai...and his laptop keep shutting down itself...mebbe becos of overheating..or the heatsink is not installed properly to the processor... and the hyundai quite slow compared to my laptop... his laptop is p4 2.5Ghz desktop processor...and the fan also quite loud... my advice is..buy laptop according to its brand....not for its specs... or u can buy SOTEC laptop... it's imported from japan...and i heard it's quite good too..plus the price is quite cheap... view from the thread... http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=19&t=33140 |
Mar 4 2004, 07:47 PM
219 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
anyone know about the sony vaio PCG-FR820? now its less than 4k. anyone have any experience with it?
This post has been edited by tsinikal: Mar 4 2004, 07:49 PM |
Mar 4 2004, 08:13 PM
15,182 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Heights |
any laptop to recommend? budget brand new RM 2,500
to do work, surfing, games maybe 1 or none .. or maybe just those small size file games |
Mar 4 2004, 08:15 PM
1,595 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pee Jay |
if u wan heavy duty, long lasting and proof against shock for 54 times droppings from 1 meter
Satisfaction guaranteed price lagi make u proud USD$4500 P/S: it has been tested in recent iraq war |
Mar 6 2004, 06:03 PM
Mar 8 2004, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(zeist @ Mar 4 2004, 08:23 PM) any laptop to recommend? budget brand new RM 2,500 to do work, surfing, games maybe 1 or none .. or maybe just those small size file games hm...i think RM2500 is hard to get a new notebook. The average price of notebooks are >RM3000 |
Mar 8 2004, 08:11 PM
second hand got lots at around the price you are looking for..
Mar 8 2004, 11:58 PM
zeist,
If you're really desperate to get a new laptop at that price, keep on checking the stock at Dell's refurb store. I have seen a few Inspiron 1100s go for RM2399. |
Mar 13 2004, 10:04 PM
Average notebook price RM 3K? what are the specs like? what brand u guys suggest? easy to claim warranty if anything happen .. like my friend's compaq anything happen need to bring to singapore .. thats crazy far
Mar 18 2004, 01:19 PM
19,324 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
of course toshiba,sony& fujitsu.
Mar 18 2004, 02:49 PM
||
8,456 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: å®¶ã§æŠ˜ã‚‹ã“㨠|
get the toshiba...its the top in notebook lines....local brands might be abit risky ler |
||
Mar 18 2004, 09:59 PM
any quotes for laptops
p4 3.0 1gb ram ddr 2100 233 80gb hdd dvdr 64mb geforce ? sedang cari.. tolong skit |
Mar 18 2004, 10:01 PM
||
I think atleast 9k or above. This post has been edited by gnome: Mar 18 2004, 10:02 PM |
||
Mar 21 2004, 04:30 PM
1,309 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: ~]maga land[~ |
actually which brand is good r??
give sum comment and opinion about it can? only for the brand available in M'sia loh... |
Mar 21 2004, 05:47 PM
||
mana cari? pricing tak apa... juz need to know where to find |
||
Mar 23 2004, 04:41 PM
||
1,918 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i think u can search around lowyat plaza or visit to House Of Notebook, they sure can get it for u |
||
Mar 23 2004, 11:36 PM
You might want to try Dell Inspiron 9100 or 5150? If you don't mind the size. Also, IBM T41, if it has been released in malaysia.
Mar 25 2004, 03:09 PM
12 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
hello netboy,
im a light user,im looking for a celeron(2.0 or 2.4) based notebook with 256 ram, 20 hdd,combo drive or just the cd room. just for surfing. or do u have any cheapest notebook which is good for win xp and surfing only. what is your best offer. please quote me few options. thank you |
Mar 25 2004, 03:15 PM
12 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
netboy,
and my friend needs a budget and CHEAP desktop without monitor. he is looking for a p4 based (any speed),256 ram,40 hdd or 20 hdd,cd rom. thats it!!!! What is your best offer again. or what is the cheapest p4 desktop u have now without monitor, thank you any brand or clone one will do. BUDGET BUDGET BUDGET BUDGET BUDGET !!!!! BUYER |
Mar 28 2004, 11:13 AM
How about this one?? The spec not bad and price quite reasonable, somemore is Toshiba
Toshiba 2450-A742 - RM4999 - intel pentium 4 2.80ghz - windows xp home edition - slim selectbay cd-rw/dvd-rom combo drive - 512mb pc2100 ddr - 15" xga tft - 40gb harddisk - built in sd slot, ieee 1394 and usb 2.0 ports - nvidia geforce4 420 go graphics, 32mb vram - harmon kardon stereo speakers |
Mar 28 2004, 11:28 AM
139 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: MMU Cyberjaya / Subang / Pee Jay |
i m from other thread ... need some recommendation here ... seeking info for any NEW but outdated laptops for sales ... means those p3 generation .... jz for surfing n working ... need a reliable brand, no need good VGA n no need fas proc ... i know my budget is quite low, PLZ DUN SHOT ME HERE, if they really exist jz PM me ... thanks
Mar 28 2004, 01:07 PM
309 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
get targa brand. from taiwan as well. but widely market at US n german only.
price? walla.... u can get P4 2.66, 256mb ram, cdrw at RM3,299.00 |
Mar 29 2004, 08:10 AM
2,728 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Muddy Confluence |
new Twinhead laptop boasts a 12.1inch screen with 1.6kg weight and using AMD athlon mobile processor...including DVD rom as well
hmm the price is around RM3299 i guess... it's worth a try... |
Mar 29 2004, 08:18 AM
1,919 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
i m also intend for buying a notebook.
my requirement, intel centrino ( i dunno wat diff between p4-m and centrino,pls tell me) 40hdd or above 14' screen or above radeon graphic card 512 ram cdrw,dvd combo other parts pls state for me prefer toshiba,asus,compaq,hp,fujitsu This post has been edited by howiechoo: Mar 29 2004, 08:20 AM |
Mar 29 2004, 10:01 AM
2,341 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri |
what's the best price/performance centrino based laptop ?
used mostly for working, surfing, chatting... going for centrino for it's battery life and built-in wifi |
Mar 29 2004, 10:03 AM
||
acer 290 |
||
Mar 30 2004, 12:34 PM
eh acer?
Fu?king lousy brand |
Mar 30 2004, 12:38 PM
Does Everything Have To Be A Centrino? - Intel says "No"!
http://www20.tomshardware.com/mobile/20040309/index.html |
Mar 30 2004, 12:49 PM
264 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: -Virtu@l Re@lity- |
i think Compaq is a good brand.
Mar 30 2004, 08:08 PM
||
581 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 第三天堂 |
agreed with you... compaq quite good try to go for intel centrino |
||
Mar 30 2004, 08:32 PM
hi, this is for my fren at melaka, he seems doesnt know much bout buying a new laptop/2nd laptop, so, mine oso knows a little
Mar 31 2004, 02:50 AM
Acer seems to be a famous brand in singapore, or at least in HWZ. I wonder why .... Hate acer.
Mar 31 2004, 05:31 AM
||
i can play underground well n smoothly in my 32mb nvidia ge-force2 go, 256mb ddr sdram, 30gb hdd platform in dell p4 1.6m but make sure u dun run any big memory applications during gameplay, it'll coz lagging ler, what else... |
||
Mar 31 2004, 08:42 AM
ahah. mine oso, using acer p4 1.7ghz, 256mb ddr, 32mb gf2 go, can play so-so ler! not very much eye candy!
Apr 6 2004, 11:45 PM
4,398 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Asking on behalf of fren
she said someone told her compaq model x1228AT RM 6,999 1.6 centrino 15.4 screen 2.8kg cd + dvd rom other spec unknown la .... got any other model/brand with "same" spec but at cheaper price? This post has been edited by ed0gawa: Apr 8 2004, 05:40 AM |
Apr 8 2004, 02:29 AM
If there is a model cheaper than that with the same specs, I wouldn't recommend anyone to get, probably only taiwan brands can offer anything cheaper than that.
Apr 8 2004, 06:18 PM
||
2,157 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
centrino 1.6 ---> expensive leh try centrino 1.4/1.5 la...then u cud get below rm6999 This post has been edited by 8431: Apr 8 2004, 06:19 PM |
||
Apr 8 2004, 06:19 PM
If not mistaken the default price for presario x series is less than rm6k, but forgot whether it's centrino 1.4 or 1.5.
Apr 9 2004, 02:44 PM
23,414 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Taipei |
Apr 12 2004, 10:53 PM
1 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i'm thinking of buying the acer ferrari 3000LMi, but after reading this thread n how some of u describe acer as a lousy brand i'm not quite sure wheter i should buy it or not.
so, i really need to know do u think acer 3000LMi is good or not, or is there any other brand that u guys can suggest. i'm looking for the same spec as the acer 3000LMi. |
Apr 22 2004, 02:34 PM
aarrrrrgggggghhhhhhhh
| Change to: | 0.1014sec
5 queries
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:36 PM |