Which Brand Laptop is good?

Irenicus
post Nov 19 2003, 04:15 PM

188 posts

I got one Fujitsu s6120 since three months ago... very good... design very nice, slim, tough... performance also very good (except for intensive 3D games)... i recommend it to those who have budget up to 8k... below is my Q & A when i was choosing the laptop model...

Why not Apple?
i dunno how to use Mac OS...

Why not IBM?
nice also but very ugly... at least for me...

Why not Toshiba?
it's tough but bulky like a tank...

Why not Sony?
Playstation 2 is good laugh.gif ... but Sony laptops' screen too small for me and its performance normally below average....

Why not NEC or Compaq?
looks tough but actually not...

Why not Dell?
lazy make phone call and don't want wait for someone that i don't know...

Why not ASUS?
good in motherboard and graphic card... but not in laptop...

Why not Acer?
if you want to hear some sound effects when you open up the laptop's screen, just go for it...

Why not other brands?
forget about it...

anyway, price does matter... just choose your laptop based on your budget and usage...
btw, no matter what brand is it... if you can take care and use your laptop gently... then it is the best laptop for you... smile.gif

This post has been edited by Irenicus: Nov 19 2003, 04:29 PM
Irenicus
post Nov 20 2003, 10:13 AM

188 posts

Netboy... i do agree with part of your statement. Just forget about Fujitsu if you are an INTENSIVE 3D gamer. But if u r an INTENSIVE 3D gamer, just forget about laptop and go for desktop PC. For my opinion, laptop is not designed for INTENSIVE 3D gamer. Although Nvidia just released their latest mobile GPU (GeForce FX Go 5700), but i would said that laptop still not suitable for intensive 3D gaming because it needs higher power consumption and larger size. Gaining in 3D gaming will losing in mobility.

Although ACER always released latest models with latest GPU, but it's just like putting a F1 engine inside a Proton Saga. Does anybody want a laptop with high performance but in low quality? Just imagine what will happen on a low quality product. So, I would say that durability and mobility are the key factors when we choosing laptop model. Of course, price does matter.

This post has been edited by Irenicus: Nov 20 2003, 10:16 AM
Irenicus
post Dec 17 2003, 11:28 PM

188 posts

Planning to help my fren to get a new laptop...budget around 4000...any recommendation? How about this model? worth to buy?

Toshiba Satellite A10-S310
P4 1.8GHz-M
256MB RAM
30GB HD
64MB Intel Graphic
14.1" XGA
DVD-ROM
56k, LAN
Win XP Pro
1 year warranty
2.8KG
Irenicus
post Dec 19 2003, 03:41 AM

188 posts

Netboy... i am interested.... where is ur shop? how to contact u?
Irenicus
post Jun 4 2004, 01:44 AM

188 posts

QUOTE (gogo2 @ Jun 3 2004, 09:44 AM)
Yes. Pentium M is centrino. 8X DVD is fast enough. I don't like 256MB RAM. Win XP is memory consuming. PCMCIA is a default. So dun worry.

gogo2...Pentium M is not centrino... Pentium M is part of centrino... Intel Centrino mobile technology include the IntelŪ PentiumŪ M processor, the IntelŪ 855 chipset family and the IntelŪ PRO/Wireless Network Connection Family.
Irenicus
post Jul 15 2005, 02:04 AM

188 posts

baggins... to avoid nightmare, u better not go for acer...

COMPAQ PRESARIO M2223
RM3499.00

CENTRINO TECHNOLOGY
INTEL PENTIUM (M) 1.6G
533 MHZ SONOMA
256MB DDR RAM
40GB HARDDISK
COMBO DRIVE
15.1" TFT SCREEN
56K MODEM & NIC
6 in 1 CARD Reader
FIREWIRE , 3 x USB 2