Which Brand Laptop is good?
foongkh
Jul 26 2003, 05:06 PM
Helping a friend of mine to get a notebook ........ Plan to get him Fujitsu S 6120Any good and bad comment on this notebook ???? Any other good sugesstion ..... what about SONY notebook .....??? This post has been edited by foongkh: Jul 26 2003, 05:11 PM
foongkh
Jul 26 2003, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(netboy @ Jul 16 2003, 04:55 PM) If you guys read my previous replies, I have specifically said that DELL suck so much in terms of their after sales service support. If your DELL have no problem then, congrats. If you have problem with it which you can't fix, then good luck.
BTW, Compaq is releasing new Centrino models with price starting from RM5,488.00 Why Twinhead and NEC sux ??? What the bad thing on these notebook ???
foongkh
Jul 27 2003, 10:37 PM
Anyone use Sony Vaio note b4 ... how's the performance.....
Any comment ????
This post has been edited by foongkh: Jul 27 2003, 10:40 PM
foongkh
Jul 28 2003, 10:21 PM
Netboy ..... since u are expert in notebook ....
What do u think of Compaq Notebook.......???
Which one should i choose ...the one with Compaq brand or HP brand ???
Do u think it reliable .........???
This post has been edited by foongkh: Jul 28 2003, 10:25 PM
foongkh
Jul 29 2003, 09:15 PM
QUOTE(netboy @ Jul 29 2003, 12:51 AM) Compaq and HP are basically the same. Same manufacturer, same sellers, same service centre.
You have to tell me your budget, your expected specifications. Well i am buying for my friend ..... a business man ...most of the time on the move ..... I think his budget is around Rm 6k to maybe RM 8k I had in mind Fujitsu S6210. Or maybe Sony Vaio PCG-TR1 ..... Any other good recomendation or sugesstion .....???
foongkh
Jul 29 2003, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(netboy @ Jul 29 2003, 09:25 PM) Hi foonhkh, Since your friend's budget is on a high range, then this is what I recommend: 1) Fujitsu S6120 - RM7,788 2) Compaq Evo N620c - RM5,999 & RM8,999 3) IBM T40 - Check www.ibm.com/my for complete prices. 4) Sony TR1 - RM7,488 5) Fujitsu P5010 - RM6,888 Does your friend like a small unit like the Vaio TR1? If your friend acccept those extra small size notebook, then consider Fujitsu P5010 as well. Thanks for the info .... But for Centrio model like Fujitsu P 5010 and Sony TR 1 running at 900 Mhz..... Would it be very slow running at this speed ....
foongkh
Aug 6 2003, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(xcalibur @ Aug 5 2003, 09:31 AM) aiyo...why buy benq ppl? benq everything oso trying to copy acer...first the joybook then at pc fair i saw this speaker looks like the harmod kardon apple one...only a lot worse of course! BenQ is actually ACER..... Just marketing hype......
foongkh
Aug 21 2003, 11:50 PM
foongkh
Sep 23 2003, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(netboy @ Sep 23 2003, 05:04 PM) hehe.. the compaq sales girl also refer to the brochure one. No point calling them when they're referring to the mistaken brochure.
You can visit my showroom and take a look yourself on the system bios.
BTW, if you're still wondering, my company - Notebooks Domain Sdn. Bhd. is listed as an Authorised Compaq Kiosk Centre in Malaysia. where is your company location ???
foongkh
Oct 28 2003, 11:19 AM
My friend just encounter a nightmare with HP notebook
He just bought HP Compaq nx9000 preinstall with WinXP ..... when he got the notebook .... the notebook hang more than he could use it ...... then he told the reseller and the reseller install Win2000 and things get slightly better .
My friend intend to setup WIFI and this notebook totally cannot detect the wifi signal (build in WIFI) ...... when test with a PCMCIA WIFI card ....cannot run b'cos conflict with the build-in WIFI that totally cannot be disable.
When tested with a LAN connection to the router .... the notebook terus mati (KO) .....
And now the notebook send back to the service centre ......
Hi Netboy ..... according to my friend the reseller told him that HP notebook run better, more compatible/stable with Window 2000 than WinXP .... izzit true ???
Have u encounter problem with HP notebook b4 or my friend just the unlucky one....!!!
foongkh
Oct 28 2003, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(netboy @ Oct 28 2003, 11:29 AM) Uh? Honestly, I've never encountered such (wifi) problem with nx9000 before or other models. And the Win2000 thingy is totally bull****.
Perhaps your friend is unlucky? That's what i told my friend .....bull**** Win 2000 is better .... By the way .....how to make this nx9000 notebook auto detect the wifi signal ...... i can't seems to help my friend to detect the wifi signal .... izzit easy to setup wifi ...??? Hey Netboy ...what do u think of this HP nx 9000 notebook .... izzit a good one(apart from my friend's one) ??? This post has been edited by foongkh: Oct 28 2003, 11:45 AM
foongkh
Oct 28 2003, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(synergia @ Oct 28 2003, 11:46 AM) what wifi are you trying to connect to? 802.11a, b or g? and what can the nx9k support? nx9000 support 802.11b and the Netgear WIFI+AP+Router also support 802.11b
foongkh
Oct 28 2003, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(netboy @ Oct 28 2003, 08:05 PM) nx9000 is good model (If not the best). How much your friend bought it? The current price is RM4,899 and that makes it quite reasonable.
The built-in wireless card should detect available access point automatically by default. Try removing the wireless card under Device Manager and re-installing it with default setting. If it still can't detect, try tweak your Netgear set instead. Ok ...TQ .... Will try after the notebook discharge from hospital.....  By the way Netboy ..... will HP swap one new notebook if the current notebook continue to give problem ??? If there is hardware problem .... will they repair it ??? This post has been edited by foongkh: Oct 28 2003, 09:45 PM