1384 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

MagnificM
post Mar 29 2017, 05:53 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 29 2017, 05:47 PM)
I'll request for HDD health and bad sector report first, at least I get to know the status of the HDD before I make the purchase right  tongue.gif

yup, the seller stated that 100% healthy and got no bad sector, WD Green 2Tb 7200rpm ver for 200 sweat.gif
zorbyss.
post Mar 29 2017, 06:06 PM

here you go.
1,513 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 29 2017, 05:47 PM)
GPU technology is evolving rapidly and people tend to change their gaming card in one to two years of time so the performance that they can get NOW matters the most to them, things might change in the future when Nvidia fails to catch up in the DX12/Vulkan race when they become the primary API.

Avoid fighting with fanboy, pointless to argue with them  laugh.gif
True that. Hopefully Vega's pricing can be something like Ryzen, but that's not gonna happen.
Fanboys are disastrous.
terence_nwb
post Mar 29 2017, 06:13 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Mar 29 2017, 05:53 PM)
yup, the seller stated that 100% healthy and got no bad sector, WD Green 2Tb 7200rpm ver for 200  sweat.gif
Wait, there is a WD Green variant with 7,200 RPM? hmm.gif

AFAIK only the WD Black 2TB is running at 7,200 RPM (for WD branded HDD).
MagnificM
post Mar 29 2017, 06:16 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 29 2017, 06:13 PM)
Wait, there is a WD Green variant with 7,200 RPM?  hmm.gif

AFAIK only the WD Black 2TB is running at 7,200 RPM (for WD branded HDD).
haha, if you also not sure, I'll be very much not know too sweat.gif . But for WD Black 2Tb, he sell for 380 only, same condition, good price ?

derthvadar
post Mar 29 2017, 07:11 PM

(ง •̀_•́)ง
1,792 posts

[Budget]
RM 1500 - 2500 Max

[Purpose]
Home use for my sister. Mybe for watching movie and surfing the internet and playing games.

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
None.

[Monitor resolution]
1080p.

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Not sure right now. Mybe some CS:GO and Dota2.

[Personal preferences]
I just need a smooth working system mainly for my little sister. Nothing much.

[Location]
Pahang. Temerloh.

Thanks !
terence_nwb
post Mar 29 2017, 09:00 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Mar 29 2017, 06:16 PM)
haha, if you also not sure, I'll be very much not know too  sweat.gif . But for WD Black 2Tb, he sell for 380 only, same condition, good price ?
Hmmm, price is way too suspicious, up to you unsure.gif

QUOTE(derthvadar @ Mar 29 2017, 07:11 PM)
[Budget]
RM 1500 - 2500 Max

[Purpose]
Home use for my sister. Mybe for watching movie and surfing the internet and playing games.

None.

[Monitor resolution]
1080p.

Not sure right now. Mybe some CS:GO and Dota2.

[Personal preferences]
I just need a smooth working system mainly for my little sister. Nothing much.

[Location]
Pahang. Temerloh.

Thanks !
You can remove the GPU if your sister is ok with games running at low settings with the iGPU.

Intel Core i3 7100 - RM 522
Asus H110M-K - RM 259
G.SKill Aegis 8GB DDR4 2133MHz RAM - RM 255
Palit GTX1050 2GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 559
Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD - RM 219
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 169
Tecware F3 - RM 119
AOC I2280SWD IPS - RM 405

Total: RM 2507 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)
Gaia34
post Mar 29 2017, 09:21 PM

673 posts

Hi, i;m planning to build an ITX Rig, here is what i have in mind atm:

I7 7700
GA-B250N-Phoenix WIFI (any other itx mobo that support m.2)
INTEL 540s 240GB M.2
Fractal Design Define Nano S

I haven't made up my mind on the ram (at least 16gb) and PSU, any good and reliable full or semi modular PSU to recommend?

Note:

I don't need a GPU..

Appreciate for any recommendation smile.gif

dus3
post Mar 29 2017, 10:40 PM

Hi sifus,
need your recommendation on pc parts with price. I plan to upgrade my rig. Mostly use it to play games on 1080p. Here are the current specs:

Budget: around rm2000 - rm3000

i3 4160 ~~ any newest and best i5 or i7
asus h81m-k ~~ if need to change due to cpu compatibility, please specify ya
ram 8gb (4gbx2) ~~ i think don't need to upgrade on this yet
galax gtx 750ti ~~ preferably to get the best gtx1060. please specify the best one
silverstone strider essential 500w ~~ this one can support gtx1060 right?

My current rig was actually based on one of the sifu here (can't remember the name) around two years ago if I'm not mistaken and I'm really happy with it.

Now I just want to get up to date to the latest tech.

You guys are awesome and Thanks in advance!

rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
MagnificM
post Mar 29 2017, 10:42 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 29 2017, 09:00 PM)
Hmmm, price is way too suspicious, up to you  unsure.gif

haha, dem, i should better get a new one, just tempted to get a 2tb with that price tag, tqvm for the replies icon_rolleyes.gif
d3ck
post Mar 29 2017, 11:56 PM

126 posts

Any good monitor for less than RM500? Cheaper is always better. Currently looking at View Sonic VA2419. If you have any cheaper model which best bang for the buck, appreciate if you could help me. Min size 21"
terence_nwb
post Mar 30 2017, 08:57 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Mar 29 2017, 09:21 PM)

I7 7700
INTEL 540s 240GB M.2

I haven't made up my mind on the ram (at least 16gb) and PSU, any good and reliable full or semi modular PSU to recommend?

Note:

I don't need a GPU..

No usage pattern/purpose and budget make it harder for us to share our suggestion sweat.gif

QUOTE(dus3 @ Mar 29 2017, 10:40 PM)
Hi sifus,
need your recommendation on pc parts with price. I plan to upgrade my rig. Mostly use it to play games on 1080p. Here are the current specs:

Budget: around rm2000 - rm3000

i3 4160 ~~ any newest and best i5 or i7
asus h81m-k ~~ if need to change due to cpu compatibility, please specify ya
ram 8gb (4gbx2) ~~ i think don't need to upgrade on this yet
galax gtx 750ti ~~ preferably to get the best gtx1060. please specify the best one
silverstone strider essential 500w ~~ this one can support gtx1060 right?

My current rig was actually based on one of the sifu here (can't remember the name) around two years ago if I'm not mistaken and I'm really happy with it.

Now I just want to get up to date to the latest tech.

You guys are awesome and Thanks in advance!

rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
If you want to save money, then you can try to find i7 4770/4790 and re-use your current mobo because latest generation CPU is using a newer socket (1151), thus increasing the total cost for whole CPU platform upgrade.

For your budget, I would recommend getting the i7 4770/4790 (new or used, depends on you, I'll just assume you are going to get a new one which costs around 1.3k) and GTX1060 6GB or RX480 8GB. Both CPU and GPU upgrade will sum up around 2.6k.

QUOTE(d3ck @ Mar 29 2017, 11:56 PM)
Any good monitor for less than RM500? Cheaper is always better. Currently looking at View Sonic VA2419. If you have any cheaper model which best bang for the buck, appreciate if you could help me. Min size 21"
AOC I2280SWD, around RM 400
Acer R221Q, around RM 500

Yeah, VA2419 seems to be the best option right now if you are looking for IPS and 24" screen.
richard912
post Mar 30 2017, 10:59 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Mar 29 2017, 09:21 PM)

I7 7700
INTEL 540s 240GB M.2

Note:

I don't need a GPU..

Unfortunately for you, the Nano S will require a SFX PSU, which will be quite pricey. As you have plans to (eventually) add a GPU, you should get a PSU of at least 550W. Here are some for your consideration:

1. Silverstone SX500 (modular) RM499 (Idealtech)
2. Silverstone SX600 (modular) RM575 (Idealtech)
3. Thermaltake Toughpower SFX 600W (modular) RM589 (C-zone)

As for RAM, you should consider 2 x 8GB DDR4-2133 or 2400.

EDIT: Oops, you don't have plan to add GPU. 450W-500W PSU will suffice. Btw, the Nano S can be bought with 450W PSU for RM669 (C-zone).
1. Silverstone SFX450W (modular) RM455
2. Thermaltake Toughpower SFX450W RM459

This post has been edited by richard912: Mar 30 2017, 11:04 AM
hakimida
post Mar 30 2017, 12:00 PM

56 posts

I want to buy a refurbished HP z800

http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-z800-Xeon-Quad-...PUAAOSwrklVIx7E

Model HP z800 Workstation
Operating System Windows 7 Pro (64-bit)
Processor Intel Xeon E5520 2.53/2.26 GHz Quad-Core HT CPU (8 threads)
Memory 8GB DDR3
Storage 2 TB Hard Drive
DVD-RW SuperMulti Drive
Graphics nVidia Quadro FX 1800 - 768 MB
Display n/a
Audio Integrated HD Audio
Networking Gigabit Ethernet

And thinking of upgrading the Graphic with a newer card.

Is this route favourable?

Purpose is gaming.
terence_nwb
post Mar 30 2017, 02:47 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(hakimida @ Mar 30 2017, 12:00 PM)

I want to buy a refurbished HP z800

http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-z800-Xeon-Quad-...PUAAOSwrklVIx7E
Model HP z800 Workstation
Operating System Windows 7 Pro (64-bit)
Processor Intel Xeon E5520 2.53/2.26 GHz Quad-Core HT CPU (8 threads)
Memory  8GB DDR3
Storage 2 TB Hard Drive
DVD-RW SuperMulti Drive
Graphics nVidia Quadro FX 1800 - 768 MB
Display n/a
Audio Integrated HD Audio
Networking Gigabit Ethernet

And thinking of upgrading the Graphic with a newer card.

Is this route favourable?

Purpose is gaming.
Not cheap sweat.gif

The processor clock speed is low so expect the performance of single threaded games to suffer a bit.

Why don't get a new set (or used set) locally? Save all the hassle, and you gonna upgrade the GPU also if you really go for this refurbished PC, it's like spending money for nothing.
maxxxxx0123
post Mar 30 2017, 04:16 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 27 2017, 10:55 PM)
Intel Core i7 7700 - RM 1424
Gigabyte H270-HD3 - RM 515
G.SKill Aegis 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 550
Gigabyte GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 G1 Gaming - RM 2168
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SATA SSD - RM 464
EVGA SuperNova 550 G2 - RM 459
Phanteks P400 Tempered Glass RGB - RM 379
BenQ Zowie XL2411 144Hz - RM 1299

Total: RM 7258 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

End up I go for this

Intei Core i7 7700
Asus B150 Pro Gaming
Asus Strix GTX10180
Kingsston SSDNow M.2 240gb
Kingston D4 PC2400 Fury 16GB Ram

EVGA SuperNova 550 PSU seems not available here, any other idea what else I can get for PSU?

Case and Monitor still not yet decide. Still thinking should I use back my old Dell, or break the budget and get a 1440p monitor.

PS: Asus B150 pro gaming is a good mobo? This I might still can change.

This post has been edited by maxxxxx0123: Mar 30 2017, 04:18 PM
terence_nwb
post Mar 30 2017, 05:48 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(maxxxxx0123 @ Mar 30 2017, 04:16 PM)

End up I go for this

Intei Core i7 7700
Asus B150 Pro Gaming
Asus Strix GTX10180
Kingsston SSDNow M.2 240gb
Kingston D4 PC2400 Fury 16GB Ram

EVGA SuperNova 550 PSU seems not available here, any other idea what else I can get for PSU?

Case and Monitor still not yet decide. Still thinking should I use back my old Dell, or break the budget and get a 1440p monitor.

PS: Asus B150 pro gaming is a good mobo? This I might still can change.
If you are looking for same tier (tier 1) PSU that costs the same (more or less) as the EVGA unit that I've recommended to you earlier, then you can consider these:

1. Superflower Leadex Gold
2. Corsair RMx/RMi
3. Cooler Master V series (only for fully modular model)

Or "downgrade" to EVGA SuperNova GQ series (tier 2).

How much is the mobo? RM 500++? If yes then it is overpriced, B150 is last gen chipset, current gen is B250 (the successor of B150), it is not worth to pay for RM 500 for an old chipset when you can buy a new chipset at about the same cost.
maxxxxx0123
post Mar 30 2017, 06:07 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 30 2017, 05:48 PM)
If you are looking for same tier (tier 1) PSU that costs the same (more or less) as the EVGA unit that I've recommended to you earlier, then you can consider these:

1. Superflower Leadex Gold
2. Corsair RMx/RMi
3. Cooler Master V series (only for fully modular model)

Or "downgrade" to EVGA SuperNova GQ series (tier 2).

How much is the mobo? RM 500++? If yes then it is overpriced, B150 is last gen chipset, current gen is B250 (the successor of B150), it is not worth to pay for RM 500 for an old chipset when you can buy a new chipset at about the same cost.
Ahhh yes. The B150 is around rm550 or so. Guess I will change to others then.

Thanks for the PSU recommendation too
boon213
post Mar 30 2017, 08:49 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 27 2017, 04:09 PM)
For 3.5" HDD, you'll need to use velcro tape if you go for Node 202, Silverstone RVZ02 doesn't need that as it comes with a dedicated slot and mounting screw holes (provided your GPU is short enough, max length is around 200mm, Gigabyte Mini ITX cards qualify for it).

Mini ITX GPU usually comes with a less powerful cooling system, so expect temperature to be slightly higher than normal card, most of the manufacturers reduce the clock speed of the card to overcome overheating issue, so in contrast, you are likely to be few FPS behind the normal card (probably 1 - 3 FPS which is not really that significant after all).

The airflow of Node 202 is pretty bad, I wouldn't recommend fitting a bulky 3.5" HDD inside unless you really need that storage space, external HDD is a better option in this case.
QUOTE(lin@lowyat @ Mar 28 2017, 09:56 AM)
If you chosen the casing that FD Node 202 will be the one, just take the one directly with Integra PSU eventho is 450 but is sufficient enough for your 1060.
is a good case, just a lot of people say the airflow not really that good, because inside very cramps..
personal advice, go and buy proc cooler (low profile), if you lazy to measure the height, you can go to pcpartpicker to play around.

For HDD, DO NOT go for 3,5". you only advised to use 2,5" for this case. but your mobo if not mistaken can put m.2 (2280) disk. so total it can cater 3 disk.
Thank you so much for your input friends. However, I have to say, after looking at current gaming laptops and current circumstance, getting a laptop may be the best for me instead of building a pc, since I'll be moving between two countries and won't have the privilege of being able to be with my desktop for a long time. It's quite sad when I discovered today's gaming laptops have come up to speed, because that means I won't be able to build a precious new pc sad.gif it won't be a hobby I'll be doing anymore; instead of picking up parts and putting them together, seeing all my hard work culminate into a beautiful, powerful machine, it'll be just like buying a toy; buy laptop, play it straight. No thrill of pc building, no new hobby to explore, just playing games on an expensive new toy. It really is sad. I have however learnt a lot, and maybe one day will put all this knowledge into good use.

QUOTE(richard912 @ Mar 27 2017, 03:29 PM)
Gaming notebooks come in a myriad of configs and of course, price. It will definitely cost more than desktop, the price paid for portability. Maybe you could take a look at this.
That being said, thank you for directing me to this link and ultimately looking at gaming laptops more seriously. I never knew of Nvidia's new pascal architecture and today's laptops being quite decent (although expensive, but as you said, the price paid for portability).

I'm not sad lah, jk only, though I'd love to build a pc, it's not something I can afford (circumstance-wise), and these gaming laptops look really sick. Looking to buy an illegear s5 with kabylake proc and 1070.

Thank you for everything lovely people, and with that, I am moving over to the laptop recommendation thread over at special interest > mobile computing icon_rolleyes.gif
bl@ze
post Mar 31 2017, 10:49 AM

218 posts

Hey guys I got a new job so I will be travelling a lot more for work. Need your help to suggest a good build for my purpose. [Budget]
Doesn't matter as long as fits my purpose.

[Purpose]
Gaming while outstation and also something I can just plug in when I go home. I currently have an outdated 900D build with all the bells and whistles but it weighs 30kg. Planning to turn the old pc into media hub/storage server for photos. Kinda Sayang the Intel 4930K but I want to use M2 SSDs for my new build.

None. Maybe a couple of SSD. Peripherals and monitors are all there though.

[Monitor resolution]
Planning to use a projector when travelling or hdmi to the hotel TV. My home monitor is the XR341CK but I have no problem selling it off and buying the Gsync version

Most often Battlefield, Overwatch and Rainbow Six Siege. I do play a lot of other games like Hitman and even emulators.

[Personal preferences]
I would really like a portable system that I can just carry and transport easily in my car and when I get home just plug into my USB hub and monitor. But at the same time I don't want to compromise on power. Please help me dear sifus =D

Edit: I know the current gen of laptops have almost full blown GPUs in them but I'd rather avoid them if possible due to their limited upgrade potential. Anyway I plan on using wireless keyboard and mouse.

[Location]
Pahang. Pekan

This post has been edited by bl@ze: Mar 31 2017, 10:53 AM
TristanX
post Mar 31 2017, 10:57 AM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(bl@ze @ Mar 31 2017, 10:49 AM)
Hey guys I got a new job so I will be travelling a lot more for work. Need your help to suggest a good build for my purpose. [Budget]
Doesn't matter as long as fits my purpose.

[Purpose]
Gaming while outstation and also something I can just plug in when I go home. I currently have an outdated 900D build with all the bells and whistles but it weighs 30kg.

None. Maybe a couple of SSD. Peripherals and monitors are all there though.

[Monitor resolution]
Planning to use a projector when travelling or hdmi to the hotel TV. My home monitor is the XR341CK but I have no problem selling it off and buying the Gsync version

Most often Battlefield, Overwatch and Rainbow Six Siege. I do play a lot of other games like Hitman and even emulators.

[Personal preferences]
I would really like a portable system that I can just carry and transport easily in my car and when I get home just plug into my USB hub and monitor.  But at the same time I don't want to compromise on power. Please help me dear sifus =D

[Location]
Pahang. Pekan
No budget? How about these?

Core i7-7700 - 1352
Gigabyte H270N-WIFI - 649
Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 x2 - 520
Zotac GTX 1080 8GB DDR5X Mini - 2629
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB - 636
WD Black 1TB 2.5" - 302
Silverstone SFX 600W - 585
Silverstone RVZ02 case - 399 (estimated)

RM7072 total (C-Zone prices)

This post has been edited by TristanX: Mar 31 2017, 11:22 AM

1384 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:09 PM