10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

MagnificM
post Mar 6 2017, 05:51 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 6 2017, 08:46 AM)
According to the system requirements posted by Lumion Software:

10k PassMark points for CPU: Min entry i7 4790
8k PassMark points for GPU: Min entry RX480/GTX970/GTX1060

If you follow all the recommended specs then it will be over your budget. Recommended specs includes an i7 processor (will use i7 7700 instead of i7 4790 because the latter is long obsoleted and replaced by the latest gen which is the former), 16GB DDR4 RAM, GTX1060 6GB as GPU, 1TB HDD (SSD is not included), a 80+ Gold rated good quality PSU (not necessary need to follow this as this is just a recommendation from them after all but it is good to keep this) and a standard ATX casing with a mATX mobo (with 4 RAM slots for future RAM expansion).

Intel Core i7 7700 - RM 1424
Gigabyte B250M-D3H - RM 419
G.SKill Aegis 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 550
Palit GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 1229
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
EVGA SuperNova 550 G2 - RM 459
Tecware Edge - RM 149

Total: RM 4449 (E TECH price inclusive of GST)

At last, monitor with 1080p resolution is not included too, FYI.
I would suggest to get a SSD for his/her friend. I'm also studying architecture and using a rig without a SSD. Some of the files would take almost 2 hour to upload into the Lumion. sweat.gif
MagnificM
post Mar 9 2017, 11:17 PM

611 posts

Hi, need a suggestion for a workstation.

Budget : 4k
Software : Sketchup, Vray, Photoshop, Lumion 6
Hardware that'll be reused : None, build from scratch
Preferences : Please prioritize the rig over the monitor (1080p preferably)

TQVM

MagnificM
post Mar 10 2017, 12:25 AM

611 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 10 2017, 12:10 AM)
How about these?

Core i7-7700 - 1378
Gigabyte B250M-D3H - 449
Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 x2 - 508
Gigabyte GTX 1050 2GB DDR5 - 599
Seagate 1TB HDD - 212
Corsair VS 550W - 248
Additional 12cm fan - 25
Thermaltake Versa (pick your model) case - 169
LG 22MP48HQ 21.5" monitor - 408

RM3996 total (C-Zone prices)
ok, tqvm for the quote thumbsup.gif
MagnificM
post Mar 21 2017, 07:28 PM

611 posts

hi, just got an offer for my 1060 for a Zotac 980Ti AMP! in which i have to topup around 380, is it a good bargain ?
MagnificM
post Mar 21 2017, 07:47 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 21 2017, 07:35 PM)
GTX1060 6GB is around RM1300, GTX1070 can be found for around RM1750. I wouldn't pay topup that much for increased power consumption.
i see, in terms of power consumption, sure 1070 win right, but still, no one would ever trade their 1070 for a 1060 with a topup of 380, haha, tqvm for the clarification icon_rolleyes.gif
MagnificM
post Mar 28 2017, 08:07 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(Shaney @ Mar 28 2017, 07:58 PM)
Thanks for the quick reply.

Do you have any idea all these software is mainly processor or graphic card hunger ?

Try to look for forum to know more but so far couldn't.
The 1050Ti will serves you well for 3DMax, R7 1700 helps a lot during vray rendering
MagnificM
post Mar 28 2017, 08:17 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(Shaney @ Mar 28 2017, 08:11 PM)
by any chance should i get more than 16gb like 32gb ram so i could multi task on the rig ?
16gb is more than enough, except you're rendering video sweat.gif
MagnificM
post Mar 28 2017, 09:12 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(Shaney @ Mar 28 2017, 08:27 PM)
thanks !

is your rig up for sale ? tongue.gif
so i could save hell a lot. hahaha
haha, nope bro, you better off with Ryzen. 8C/16T vs 4C/8T for vray rendering. Ryzen sure help reduce the time taken for the render to be complete thumbup.gif
MagnificM
post Mar 28 2017, 11:39 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(Shaney @ Mar 28 2017, 09:52 PM)
by any chance should i pump more money into the processor with higher clock speed and reduce my fund on the graphic card?
or i should distribute the fund well between both?

since another sifu mention that graphic design is always on processor > ram > gpu
i think the build quoted by TristanX is well balanced already. You can proceed with his quotation
MagnificM
post Mar 29 2017, 02:42 PM

611 posts

would you get a used HDD ? is it reliable ?
MagnificM
post Mar 29 2017, 03:30 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 29 2017, 03:24 PM)

How much cheaper is the used HDD compared to new HDD? If it is not too much then just get a new one  laugh.gif
It was a WD Green 2Tb, it is sell for 200 only sweat.gif
MagnificM
post Mar 29 2017, 04:04 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 29 2017, 03:59 PM)
WD Green is a turtle, I'll spend more to get a 7,200 RPM HDD instead  whistling.gif

even the version is the 7200rpm one ?
MagnificM
post Mar 29 2017, 05:53 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 29 2017, 05:47 PM)
I'll request for HDD health and bad sector report first, at least I get to know the status of the HDD before I make the purchase right  tongue.gif

yup, the seller stated that 100% healthy and got no bad sector, WD Green 2Tb 7200rpm ver for 200 sweat.gif
MagnificM
post Mar 29 2017, 06:16 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 29 2017, 06:13 PM)
Wait, there is a WD Green variant with 7,200 RPM?  hmm.gif

AFAIK only the WD Black 2TB is running at 7,200 RPM (for WD branded HDD).
haha, if you also not sure, I'll be very much not know too sweat.gif . But for WD Black 2Tb, he sell for 380 only, same condition, good price ?

MagnificM
post Mar 29 2017, 10:42 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 29 2017, 09:00 PM)
Hmmm, price is way too suspicious, up to you  unsure.gif

haha, dem, i should better get a new one, just tempted to get a 2tb with that price tag, tqvm for the replies icon_rolleyes.gif
MagnificM
post Apr 2 2017, 03:21 PM

611 posts

terence_nwb how do you make a 3 monitors setup by using 1 gpu ? for example my gpu have 1 DVI-I, 1 Hdmi, and 2 DP
MagnificM
post Apr 12 2017, 03:07 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(Lynox @ Apr 12 2017, 10:19 AM)
how about gigabyte gtx 1060 g1 gaming? in term of cooling.
i'm using one, average temp when gaming is around 65-68c only. So far the temperature doesnt exceed 70 yet.
MagnificM
post May 12 2017, 11:27 PM

611 posts

Hi need a quote for a friend here, build from scratch

Budget: 3.5k

Software going to use : Acad, PS6, Lumion 6
MagnificM
post May 13 2017, 02:19 AM

611 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ May 13 2017, 02:05 AM)
How about these?

AMD Ryzen 5 1600 - 1039
Asus PRIME B350M-A - 445
Kingston 8GB DDR4-2133 X2 - 508
Gigabyte GTX 1050 2GB DDR5 - 599
WD Blue (7200rpm only) or Seagate 1TB - 212
Corsair VS 450W - 184
Additional 12cm fan - 25
Thermaltake Versa case - 169
LG 22MP48HQ 21.5" monitor - 403

RM3584 total (C-Zone prices)
how about Ryzen 5 1400 + 1050Ti combo ? is it still within budget ? sweat.gif
MagnificM
post May 13 2017, 03:04 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ May 13 2017, 08:33 AM)
Yup. You will lose 2 CPU core for Ryzen 5 1400 though.
i see, thx a lot for the quotation thumbup.gif

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0662sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:21 AM