13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

terence_nwb
post Mar 1 2017, 08:39 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(NekoRacing @ Mar 1 2017, 01:50 AM)
Intel G4560
GSKILL 8GB
850EVO 120GB
Asus H110
nVIDIA GT730
FTEC Casing
PSU 500w

Windows 10
MS Office

I'm building this PC for a person, based on internet, office work, & video watching.

GT730 added, incase of light gaming.

Any thoughts on this build?
GT730 is on par (or just slightly faster) with the iGPU of G4560 which is HD 610, not worth spending extra for GT730 TBH, save the money or go for better model instead.

terence_nwb
post Mar 1 2017, 11:49 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(NekoRacing @ Mar 1 2017, 11:18 AM)
In this case, wouldn't it be better if I remove the GPU, and upgrade the processor to i3 7100?

Next GPU upgrade would be nVIDIA 1050, light gaming would most likely be Candy Crush, Bejeweled.
The benefits of i3 7100 over G4560 are slightly faster core clock speed and iGPU (HD 630), its price tag is the double of G4560, I wouldn't recommend it unless you really need those minor enhancements.

HD 630 is around 25% faster than HD 610.
terence_nwb
post Mar 1 2017, 11:50 AM

7,016 posts

goldfries Can you please pin this thread? Thanks.
terence_nwb
post Mar 1 2017, 04:51 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(mrisham2 @ Mar 1 2017, 04:36 PM)
CPU: Intel Pentium G4560
MOBO: ASUS H110M-D
RAM: GSKill AEGIS 4GB DDR4 2133mhz
Case: AVF Casing with 450W PSU
SSD: WD 1TB Caviar Blue HDD

Currently I want to make this build w/o gpu and use for watch movie on my 40' FHD TV

Later I will pair up with gtx 1060 3gb

May I know is there any issue on usage with the PSU 450W?
And any issue with gaming while using TV?
AVF 450W is low end PSU, don't expect good quality with this unit but it will still work just fine, lifespan might be shorter than others though, if you can, always go for a better PSU, it is like the heart of all the components.

TV has much higher input lag compared to PC monitor, manufacturers never disclose this data so it is quite hard to track the real input lag value but you will experience it easily if you play a lot of fast pace games like CS:GO, Overwatch etc.
terence_nwb
post Mar 2 2017, 06:44 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Lycan91 @ Mar 2 2017, 02:48 PM)
Thinking want to build a long term PC for gaming. Buy some basic stuff first then upgrade later.

[B][Budget] RM1500 - 2000

[Purpose] Mostly focusing on Gaming + Photoshop

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Keyboard, Mouse,

[Monitor resolution] 1080p fine by me.

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Adobe Photoshop, DOTA2, Vegas Pro

[Personal preferences] Smooth gaming or rendering. Recommend me. Donno much bout PC. thanks.

[Location] Selangor
Your budget is not easy to build a "long term PC", you gonna spend ~RM 500 for a 1080p monitor and ~RM 1500 for the rest of the components (assuming you can fork out 2k max budget), 1.5k is not a healthy budget to deal with especially when gaming is involved, 2 paths for you to choose in this scenario:

1. Get a reasonable + decent CPU and use its iGPU for gaming first, I notice you only listed Dota 2 so iGPU is probably fine if you aren't too picky on the settings that you can run, this path will not include a discrete GPU until you have more funds.

2. Run everything on low end hardware, this will grant you with a low end CPU + low end discrete GPU for gaming.

I would recommend 1st option since you are going to upgrade the parts later, it is much easier to upgrade or add in a discrete GPU later on than upgrading both CPU and GPU at the same time in the future.
terence_nwb
post Mar 3 2017, 12:23 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Speedodevo @ Mar 3 2017, 08:46 AM)
[Budget] unlimited

[Purpose] Gaming only

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None since my 1080p and CSGO pc needs them  biggrin.gif

[Monitor resolution] 1440p

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Steam, Origin, Uplay

[Personal preferences]

CPU - Intel i7
Mobo - z270? (ATX is preferred)
CPU Cooler - (do i need this?)
RAM - 16gb
Casing - S340 Elite TG
PSU - Full Modular
GFX - recommend
SSD1 - 240/256 for OS & Software
SSD2 - For games, 1TB perhaps or 500/512 dual?
Monitor - recommend (preferably 27" IPS, i don't know whether i need G-Sync or not)

[Location] I prefer Etech PC

[Side Notes] I can compromise with the video setting with high only, no hairworks stuff but any suggestion is welcomed  nod.gif

Thanks in advance
If you prefer to build now (or in other word, get it done within these few days), then you don't really have to wait for GTX1080Ti, GTX1080 has its price dropped since GTX1080Ti launched few days ago and Zotac Malaysia is the first one to announce the price drop, you can get a Zotac branded GTX1080 at just ~2.7k (depends on the variants you get). But you have "unlimited" budget so it is really up to you whether to opt for GTX1080Ti biggrin.gif

terence_nwb
post Mar 3 2017, 05:39 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(cfyong2020 @ Mar 3 2017, 04:45 PM)
dear sifu here, finally my 9 years old i7 860 rig keep popping out some issue recently. i was thinking change it to AMD 8320, i was wondering is there any amd mobo still supporting 1333 ram with the AMD 8320?

my current build
CPU - Intel i7 860 <---upgradeing this
Mobo - msi gd55-65 <---upgradeing this
RAM - 16gb 1333
Casing - CM 690
PSU - 500w (9 years old)
GPU - GTX750 oc
SSD1 - 240 for OS & Software
HDD1 - 1 TB

reason why i dont go for intel because the price is too high i dont think worth it. i only play wow and cs go and normal video editing. any suggestion?
CS:GO favors Intel CPU, or in other words, it is a single threaded games and the CPU single core performance is vital in this games, FX8320 loses out to modern Intel CPU by quite a huge margin.

FX processors core definition isn't the same with Intel's one, they are like 2 integer cores into a "larger" module, and these 2 cores are sharing similar resources in the module.

An back to your question, AM3+ uses DDR3 RAM, so your 1333MHz DDR3 will work just fine on AM3+ mobo.
terence_nwb
post Mar 3 2017, 09:15 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(JinYin @ Mar 3 2017, 08:22 PM)
Hi, I'm looking for a rig that is "okay" enough to run 3ds max, fusion, 123d design.
My budget is below rm2000 (as low as possible), and my preference is at least 8gb ram in it. Any recommendation? Thank you smile.gif
As low as possible.

Intel Core i3 7100 - RM 522
Asus H110M-K - RM 259
G.SKill Aegis 8GB DDR4 2133MHz RAM - RM 255
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 169
Tecware F3 - RM 119

Total: RM 1543 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

You can consider to add an SSD to improve system responsiveness and reduce boot time or GPU to improve graphics rendering.
terence_nwb
post Mar 4 2017, 10:16 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(JinYin @ Mar 4 2017, 09:41 AM)
Thanks for replying smile.gif , any gpu would you recommend to go with this rig? (within rm2000 budget)
I saw these 2 gpus on ETECH lelong:
gt740 and rx460
RX460 is much faster than GT740 but it lacks of Nvidia CUDA technology which is being used/utilized by some of the rendering software out there.

RX460 is indeed a better pick than GT740, it is not necessary to get a discrete GPU now if you are short on budget though nod.gif
terence_nwb
post Mar 5 2017, 03:22 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(redapple90 @ Mar 4 2017, 10:25 PM)
Thanks richard for your feedback. So its not necessary to get 1050 TI OC? just get the normal 1 will do right?

Btw should i get 120gb ssd instead of 1tb hdd?
OC is just an factory pre-overclocked version of GTX1050Ti, you can manually OC the normal edition if you want, this is to save money.

QUOTE(aztez @ Mar 5 2017, 02:21 PM)
Budget] 1200

[Purpose] light gaming, office work

[Hardwares that will be re-use]  GC hd 7750, monitor

[Games & softwares that use frequently] dota2

Can someone help me to upgrade my pc..
Get Intel Pentium G4560 + H110 + 8GB RAM, add in a 1TB HDD (if needed) or 120G/240G SSD (if you don't mind spending money for it).

PSU is also needed? If yes then entry level Corsair VS450 or FSP Hexa+ 450W is enough.

QUOTE(nicholastze85 @ Mar 5 2017, 02:21 PM)
budget - 2 k

[Purpose] - a lil gaming like dota

item reuse - intel core i7 2600 / ram / monitor.
So mobo not going to re-use? It is hard to find LGA1155 socket mobo for your i7 2600 now sweat.gif

terence_nwb
post Mar 5 2017, 08:04 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(nicholastze85 @ Mar 5 2017, 03:47 PM)
motherboard seem got prob. sometime cant open window.
Cannot open window? You mean the OS? If yes then you need to confirm the root cause of the issue first, sometimes the issue is from other components like a faulty HDD/SSD, RAM etc, there should be an error code shown on the screen for you to identify the root cause.

Your i7 2600 runs on a LGA1155 socket mobo, it is almost impossible to find a new mobo with this socket right now since it is long obsoleted, the best option would be finding an used unit in Garage Sales (or somewhere else).

terence_nwb
post Mar 6 2017, 08:37 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ckay- @ Mar 5 2017, 11:06 PM)
Have our local retailer updated their latest price tags on Intel's CPUs? I am thinking of building a rig when they do, if they do.

Budget around 4.5k, lower if possible.

For high performance gaming in 1080p.

Currently I have these CPU and GPU pairing in mind - i5 7600K and 1060 6GB.

On top of that, I need suggestions on:

-decent mobo for overclocking
-8GB low timings and decent clock speed RAM (I'm thinking at least 2400mhz)
-120GB SSD should be enough for OS and 50~60GB of games?

Also the rest including cooler, PSU, 1TB internal HDD, casing etc.

Edit : forgot to mention I value performance > appearance. meaning no need to fancy leds and stuff, low temp and good ventilation is what matters to me.
No price drop yet in Malaysia.

QUOTE(r1nk @ Mar 6 2017, 01:54 AM)
[Budget] - rm2k

[Purpose] - gaming mostly dota 2

[Hardwares that will be re-use] - 19inch monitor

[Monitor resolution] - 19inch

[Games & softwares that use frequently] - dota 2

[Personal preferences] budget must include wifi card / wifi usb
Intel Pentium G4560 - RM 244
Asus H110M-K - RM 259
Zotac GTX1050 2GB GDDR5 Mini - RM 579
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 169
Tecware F3 - RM 119
TP-LINK TL-WN722N USB WiFi - RM 45

Total: RM 1889 (E TECH price inclusive of GST)

* BIOS update is required to run Kaby Lake CPU on a mobo with older chipset (H110/B150/H170/Z170).
terence_nwb
post Mar 6 2017, 08:46 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(MaxSteR88 @ Mar 6 2017, 08:17 AM)
[Budget] - RM4k

[Purpose] - architecture software (Lumion Software) > https://lumion3d.com/system-requirements.html

anyone knows if the RM4k budget is enough to meet to recommended for this software.
a friend of mine is looking into this and i am helping.
any suggestion or help would be much appreciated.
According to the system requirements posted by Lumion Software:

10k PassMark points for CPU: Min entry i7 4790
8k PassMark points for GPU: Min entry RX480/GTX970/GTX1060

If you follow all the recommended specs then it will be over your budget. Recommended specs includes an i7 processor (will use i7 7700 instead of i7 4790 because the latter is long obsoleted and replaced by the latest gen which is the former), 16GB DDR4 RAM, GTX1060 6GB as GPU, 1TB HDD (SSD is not included), a 80+ Gold rated good quality PSU (not necessary need to follow this as this is just a recommendation from them after all but it is good to keep this) and a standard ATX casing with a mATX mobo (with 4 RAM slots for future RAM expansion).

Intel Core i7 7700 - RM 1424
Gigabyte B250M-D3H - RM 419
G.SKill Aegis 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 550
Palit GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Dual - RM 1229
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
EVGA SuperNova 550 G2 - RM 459
Tecware Edge - RM 149

Total: RM 4449 (E TECH price inclusive of GST)

At last, monitor with 1080p resolution is not included too, FYI.
terence_nwb
post Mar 6 2017, 02:38 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(r1nk @ Mar 6 2017, 02:31 PM)
Sorry forgot to ask.. Can u give me spec with i3 cpu? (budget still within rm2k +-)
G4560 is basically an i3 (still 2C4T) with slightly lower clock speed and weaker GPU (doesn't really matter since you are going to get a discrete GPU anyway), i3 costs twice the price of G4560.

Intel Core i3 6098P - RM 479
Asus H110M-K - RM 259
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 169
Armageddon Vulcan T1x - RM 79
TP-LINK TL-WN722N USB WiFi - RM 45

Total: RM 2084 (E TECH price inclusive of GST)

* CPU is upgrade-able to Kaby Lake i3 7100 with minor top up.
terence_nwb
post Mar 7 2017, 09:06 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(lylee73 @ Mar 6 2017, 10:29 PM)
Hey there, I thought of doing an upgrade to my PC. Here's the info for the suggestion:

[Budget] About RM 700? I rather do this as cheaply as possible.

[Purpose] For digital art and light gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] PSU (230W), HDD (500 GB), Monitor

[Monitor resolution] 1440 x 900

[Games & softwares that use frequently] MediBang

Current specs:

Intel Pentium E6600 3.06 GHz (2C2T)
1x 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Gigabyte G41MT-S2PT (LGA 775)
PowerLogic Magnum 230 (230W?)

Is this upgrade okay?

Intel Pentium G4560 3.5 GHz (2C4T)
1x 4 GB 2133 MHz DDR4
ASUS H110M-K or ASRock H110M-DGS
Fit well for your budget.

QUOTE(Mnsyahir96 @ Mar 6 2017, 10:39 PM)
Hey there, any suggestion on spec for mini itx rig?

[Budget] About RM 3000-3500

[Purpose] Gaming purpose (GTA V , BF 1, and mostly STEAM games)
Intel Core i5 7400 - RM 854
ASRock H110M-ITX - RM 283
Zotac GTX1060 6GB GDDR5 Mini - RM 1229
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
Superflower Leadex Silver 550W - RM 359
CM Elite 130 - RM 178

Total: RM 3377 (E TECH price inclusive of GST)

Please take note that there is a new GTX1060 variant which comes with next gen & faster GDDR5 memory speed to 9Gbps (8Gbps previously), if you want the latest 9Gbps VRAM version then you will need to wait a bit longer.

You can add SSD if you top up your budget or downgrade the PSU or GPU to 3GB model.

QUOTE(HayateAyakasi8 @ Mar 7 2017, 05:31 AM)
I want to buy a led monitor... IPS type. Dell brand. 22-23 inches widescreen... Can find out for me?
Main usage is to do photo editing. So the color should be correct.
Thank you smile.gif
Budget not so sure
I would recommend Dell UltraSharp U2417H if you want 99% sRGB coverage and 72% NTSC coverage, excellent monitor for photo editing, price is around 1k.
terence_nwb
post Mar 8 2017, 06:24 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(junya @ Mar 8 2017, 02:32 PM)
[Budget] - RM3k-5k

[Purpose] - light work for autocad and photoshop

including with a 27inch monitor

can anyone help me please?
Due to wide budget range, specs difference between a 3k rig and a 5k rig is very significant.

Intel Core i7 7700 - RM 1424
Gigabyte B250M-D3H - RM 419
G.SKill Aegis 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 550
Kingston SSDNow UV400 240GB SSD - RM 375
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 219
Superflower Leadex Silver 550W - RM 359
Tecware Edge - RM 149
Dell P2717H - RM 996

Total: RM 5070 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

If photo editing is the main priority, then switching the monitor to the one with 99% sRGB and wide color gamut support like Dell UltraSharp series will greatly improve the experience.
terence_nwb
post Mar 8 2017, 07:15 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(skyzzable @ Mar 8 2017, 05:26 PM)
Is 1 8gb better than 2 4gb?

And im planning to get 1 SSD and 1 HDD. What is your recommendation for SSD, probably 1 with 120gb.

Thanks!
Technically, 2 x 4GB is slightly faster than 1 x 8GB due to dual channel mode but it is very hard to notice the difference in real life usage.

The mobo chosen comes with 2 RAM slots only so it is better to get 1 x 8GB so you can upgrade to 16GB (more or less) in the future easily.

QUOTE(HayateAyakasi8 @ Mar 8 2017, 06:47 PM)
Thats 16gb ram right ? Or just 8gb ?
2 x 8GB, the total price of the RAM indicates it.
terence_nwb
post Mar 9 2017, 01:54 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(lost123 @ Mar 9 2017, 01:15 PM)
Hey sifus, I think my mobo just died on me, I can't seem to boot into Windows, I just get to the BIOS splash screen and I can't even press f2 or f10 to enter BIOS. I tried reseating the ram, removing and replacing the mobo battery, and still can't seem to enter BIOS

If it is my mobo that's dead, I was wondering whether I can get a decent setup to replace my system. Currently, my rig is

Processor: i5 2500
Mobo: Intel 1155 socket (I'm guessing it's dead )
Ram: 2 x 4gb 1133
Gfx: gtx570
PSU: seasonic 620w gold
HDD: 1tb + 500gb

Wondering what I could salvage and what could I get with a budget of rm2000. My usage is mainly Photoshop and some gaming
Do you install any new hardware/components recently? If yes, try to remove it first.

If don't have, then remove all the connected hardware like GPU, HDD/SSD, leave CPU and RAM installed, then try to boot again.
terence_nwb
post Mar 10 2017, 10:01 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(barjoyai @ Mar 10 2017, 09:24 AM)
Hi, Looking for super compact desktop just for CSGO. Budget less than rm3000. Eyeing for Intel skull Canyon for its super compact. (Intel® Core™ i7-6770HQ-2.6GHz | Intel® Wireless AC 8260 | Intel® Iris Graphics 580). Is the integrated graphics sufficient to run smoothly?
I've heard about compact Asus ROG desktop but seems way over my budget.
Appreciate if someone could advise me or any other recommendations.
Many thanks
What's the maximum size of the rig that you can accept? Intel Skull Canyon is quite pricey and you can get a much better build if you go for custom rig path.

QUOTE(lin@lowyat @ Mar 10 2017, 09:35 AM)
help to suggest SSD M.2
looking for one for my desktop.
thanks.
There are 2 mainstream SSD in M.2 form factor, SATA and PCIe NVMe, SATA M.2 SSD is somewhat similar to 2.5" SATA based SSD but at a much smaller foot print, while PCIe NVMe uses next gen BUS and is significant faster than SATA based SSD.

Please make sure your mobo supports PCIe NVMe M.2 SSD first before you make the purchase.
terence_nwb
post Mar 10 2017, 10:20 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(kwackers @ Mar 10 2017, 09:58 AM)
Please recommend a budget gaming rig to play Doom 2016.

Just the system; no need for monitor, keyboard or mouse.

Budget is RM2,500.  Looking for best value, so please let me know if I need to adjust budget upwards, and by how much.  The most I can stretch it is another RM500. 

Not concerned with storage, so I prefer a fast SSD.

Thanks!

As a reference, the minimum specs for Doom are:

CPU: Intel Core i5-2400/AMD FX-8320
GPU: NVIDIA GTX 670 2GB/AMD Radeon HD 7870 2GB
RAM: 8 GB
Doom 2016 is one of the most optimized PC games in recent years, pick an AMD card and run the games with Vulkan API, you can easily get > 60 FPS in max settings (1080p).

Intel Core i5 7400 - RM 854
Asus H110M-K - RM 259
Sapphire RX470 4GB GDDR5 Nitro+ - RM 998
WD Blue 250GB SSD - RM 413
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 195
Tecware F3 - RM 119

Total: RM 3093 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

To keep below 3k, you can:
1. Downgrade the SSD to other lower end model with either similar capacity or smaller capacity
2. RX470 4GB to RX460 2GB (-40% in performance)
3. Kaby Lake i5 to Skylake i5 6402P (~almost no difference in terms of performance)
4. Further downgrade to i3 7100 (i3 7100 is on par with i5 2400)

BIOS update is required to run Kaby Lake CPU on a mobo with older chipset (H110/B150/H170/Z170).

13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0369sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:25 AM