1384 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V13!

godyuz95
post Mar 27 2017, 05:03 PM

29 posts

Hi Sifus,

[Budget]
2k-2.5k

[Purpose]
Gaming and drama. Extra coding

[Hardwares that will be re-use]
Keyboard, mouse and monitor

[Games & softwares that use frequently]
Dota 2 and CS:GO(once in a while)

[Personal preferences]
No special preferences but prefer to have at least i5 or same level processor for heavy job purposes.

[Location]
Setapak, KL

Thanks Sifus

This post has been edited by godyuz95: Mar 27 2017, 05:03 PM
maxxxxx0123
post Mar 27 2017, 08:47 PM

92 posts

Hi guys, need some recommendation to replace my 6 years desktop
[Budget] RM7k-8k

[Purpose] Gaming for latest games at max settings, and maybe able to play latest game 5 years down the road (not max settings of course)

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Only Monitor maybe (U2311HD). Quite old monitor, not sure should I upgrade or not

New games from steam, and also maybe cities skylines, planet coaster with loads of mods

[Personal preferences]
Intel processor & nvidia gc. Price don't need include HDD, but SSD (240gb) is a must. Doubt I will OC at all

This post has been edited by maxxxxx0123: Mar 27 2017, 09:51 PM
terence_nwb
post Mar 27 2017, 10:55 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(godyuz95 @ Mar 27 2017, 05:03 PM)
Hi Sifus,

[Budget]
2k-2.5k

[Purpose]
Gaming and drama. Extra coding

Keyboard, mouse and monitor

Dota 2 and CS:GO(once in a while)

[Personal preferences]
No special preferences but prefer to have at least i5 or same level processor for heavy job purposes.

[Location]
Setapak, KL

Thanks Sifus
Intel Core i5 7400 - RM 854
Asus H110M-K - RM 259
G.SKill Aegis 8GB DDR4 2133MHz RAM - RM 255
Palit GTX1050 2GB GDDR5 StormX - RM 559
Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD - RM 219
FSP Hexa+ 450W - RM 169
Tecware F3 - RM 119

Total: RM 2434 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

QUOTE(maxxxxx0123 @ Mar 27 2017, 08:47 PM)
Hi guys, need some recommendation to replace my 6 years desktop
[Budget] RM7k-8k

[Purpose] Gaming for latest games at max settings, and maybe able to play latest game 5 years down the road (not max settings of course)

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Only Monitor maybe (U2311HD). Quite old monitor, not sure should I upgrade or not

New games from steam, and also maybe cities skylines, planet coaster with loads of mods

[Personal preferences]
Intel processor & nvidia gc. Price don't need include HDD, but SSD (240gb) is a must. Doubt I will OC at all
Intel build (faster on stock and single threaded operation):

Intel Core i7 7700 - RM 1424
Gigabyte H270-HD3 - RM 515
G.SKill Aegis 16GB (8GB x 2) DDR4 2400MHz RAM - RM 550
Gigabyte GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 G1 Gaming - RM 2168
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SATA SSD - RM 464
EVGA SuperNova 550 G2 - RM 459
Phanteks P400 Tempered Glass RGB - RM 379
BenQ Zowie XL2411 144Hz - RM 1299

Total: RM 7258 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

AMD Ryzen build (more cores and useful in multicore enabled titles in the future):

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 - RM 1599
Asus Prime B350-PLUS - RM 533
Gigabyte GTX1070 8GB GDDR5 G1 Gaming - RM 2168
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SATA SSD - RM 464
EVGA SuperNova 550 G2 - RM 459
Phanteks P400 Tempered Glass RGB - RM 379
BenQ Zowie XL2411 144Hz - RM 1299

Total: RM 7451 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

A 1080p 144Hz monitor is included in both of the builds.
lin@lowyat
post Mar 28 2017, 09:56 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(boon213 @ Mar 27 2017, 12:25 AM)
Hi everyone!

[Budget]
~5k (rig only w/o peripherals)

[Purpose]
Gaming at 1080p, 60fps, max settings (can compromise la a bit) for most of the recent games
Study

Literally just a mouse. Need everything else

[Monitor resolution]
1920x1080

Skyrim
Witcher 3
Dragon Age Series
Mass Effect Series
Any other AAA game you can think of
Future games (wanna be good for 2017 I guess)

[Personal preferences]
Details below

[Location]
KL/Selangor, will be flying off soon for studies.

Right so hello guys, this will be my first time building a PC. I've been wanting to build my own gaming rig for long enough, and figured I should give it a shot.

My main aim is to be able to comfortably play recent games at high to max settings at 1080p, 60fps. I actually already have a build in mind centered around an i5 7500 and GTX 1060 at my budget.

There is one challenge, however; I'm a student, currently doing A-Levels with final exams in June. If I score, I get to fly off to the UK in September. Between June and September (I finish a levels early June, fly end of September), I have ample time to invest in this hobby. However, building and playing at home is not enough. I'll be away for 4 years, and I've decided I want to build a pc I can bring with me to the UK. On a flight. Crazy, right? But I've done some research. And here's a build I came up with.

CPU: i5 7500 - RM880 (c-zone)
GPU: Asus GTX 1060 Strix 6GB - RM1699 (c-zone)
Mobo: Gigabyte H270N-Wifi - RM629 (viewnet)
Case: Fractal Design Node 202 + Integra 450W PSU - RM669 (c-zone)
RAM: Aegis 2x4GB DDR4 2400 - RM299 (idealtech)
SSD: Samsung EVO 850 250GB - RM479 (viewnet)
HDD: Seagate 2.5” Barracuda 1TB - RM249 (viewnet)

Total RM4904 without peripherals.

However, this is a pretty specific build, with specific needs and I have no peripherals, and since I need portability might as well put them in anyway.

Peripherals

Monitor: AOC E1659FWU usb - RM389 (viewnet)
Keyboard: ASUS Cerberus - RM199 (idealtech)
Speakers: Logitech z120 - RM59 (idealtech)

Total RM647 for peripherals.
Net total RM5551 (without software pulak but let's not go into that here)

Right so the key here is the small Fractal Design Node 202 mini ITX case that can actually fit a standard GPU. I've checked that the asus strix gtx1060 fits in the case by comparing dimensions. The monitor is key as well; I had to find a portable one and saw this nifty one listed in viewnet's price list.

Now while I'm typing this I'm actually wondering if this is the right place to post this. I'll just post here first, cause I still need suggestions and have a multitude of questions:

- I am fully aware that as a beginner, this build is gonna be a nightmare. Problems with cramming things in getting the cabling right is gonna be a challenge, but I feel so excited to tackle this. Anybody have any experience building mini-ITX? Specifically in this node 202 case?

- Should I go with stock CPU cooler? I don't plan to overclock, so stock should be enough right?

- The case comes with an Integra 450W PSU, but I can also opt for a non psu version; I've read things like the psu being shit, having too many cables etc etc. Should I opt to buy a modular sfx psu instead?

- I've read about people preferring to use a nano gpu instead of a fat gpu due to noise and temperature reasons, thoughts on this? I really wanna run the 1060.

- the case can only support 2 2.5 sata drives, so I've decided on 1 SSD and one 2.5" sata hdd. Will I encounter any problems?

- I had a question about the monitor because I was struggling to find a solution for a portable screen; I then found the usb 15.6" AOC monitor from viewnet, so I guess I'm set (what do you think?)

So my plan is; build the rig in june, get a nice full sized monitor and speaker to go along with it to play at home. Come September, I'll get the usb AOC monitor and logitech z120 speakers for transport to UK. I'll load the keyboard, speaker and maybe monitor (still thinking about this) into check in baggage and the precious rig into hand carry.

Am I crazy? Probably. This is all still theory, I might not go through with it (I'm supposed to be studying now dammit), but it's fun to plan now and I thought it'd be nice to share with you guys.

Thoughts? Suggestions? Need all of you guys' wisdom in this.

If I should post this somewhere else, do let me know.

Cheers!
If you chosen the casing that FD Node 202 will be the one, just take the one directly with Integra PSU eventho is 450 but is sufficient enough for your 1060.
is a good case, just a lot of people say the airflow not really that good, because inside very cramps..
personal advice, go and buy proc cooler (low profile), if you lazy to measure the height, you can go to pcpartpicker to play around.

For HDD, DO NOT go for 3,5". you only advised to use 2,5" for this case. but your mobo if not mistaken can put m.2 (2280) disk. so total it can cater 3 disk.

ScivanShimitar
post Mar 28 2017, 10:35 AM

186 posts

Currently on i5 3570k, gtx960, PSU 700W
Planning to get Kaby with 3k budget,
need Mobo, RAM, Proc and maybe ssd
Editing and sometimes gaming
whats your take on this sifus?
terence_nwb
post Mar 28 2017, 11:00 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ScivanShimitar @ Mar 28 2017, 10:35 AM)
Currently on i5 3570k, gtx960, PSU 700W
Planning to get Kaby with 3k budget,
need Mobo, RAM, Proc and maybe ssd
Editing and sometimes gaming
whats your take on this sifus?
Since gaming is not the main priority, you may want to consider switching to AMD Ryzen, they come with more cores and will be faster in video editing (provided the software you use for editing do utilize the multicore architecture of current gen processor).

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 (8C16T, 3GHz base, 3.7GHz boost) - RM 1599
ASRock AB350 Pro4 - RM 469
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD - RM 464

Total: RM 3082 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

Intel Core i7 7700 (4C8T, 3.6GHz base, 4.2GHz boost) - RM 1424

Total: RM 2953 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

ScivanShimitar
post Mar 28 2017, 01:06 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(terence_nwb @ Mar 28 2017, 11:00 AM)
Since gaming is not the main priority, you may want to consider switching to AMD Ryzen, they come with more cores and will be faster in video editing (provided the software you use for editing do utilize the multicore architecture of current gen processor).

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 (8C16T, 3GHz base, 3.7GHz boost) - RM 1599
ASRock AB350 Pro4 - RM 469

Total: RM 3082 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)

Intel Core i7 7700 (4C8T, 3.6GHz base, 4.2GHz boost) - RM 1424

Total: RM 2953 (ETECH price inclusive of GST)
thank you very much for the swift reply.
Shaney
post Mar 28 2017, 07:44 PM

279 posts

Hi all sifu.

I would like to make a rig to support my workload.

The software that I had been using most of the time are Vray 3D Max , Autocad , Photoshop.

Would like to render the 3D efficiently rather than time consuming.

However I'm not sure the software is processor or graphic card intensive.

Hope all sifu could give me a hand on it.

And lastly.
My budget is 5000
TristanX
post Mar 28 2017, 07:55 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(Shaney @ Mar 28 2017, 07:44 PM)
Hi all sifu.

I would like to make a rig to support my workload.

The software that I had been using most of the time are Vray 3D Max , Autocad , Photoshop.

Would like to render the 3D efficiently rather than time consuming.

However I'm not sure the software is processor or graphic card intensive.

Hope all sifu could give me a hand on it.

And lastly.
My budget is 5000
How about these?

AMD Ryzen 1700 - 1599
MSI B350 Tomahawk - 645
Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 x2 - 520
Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti 4GB DDR5 - 719
Samsung 850 Evo 250GB SSD - 482
Seagate 2TB - 313
Super Flower Leadex Gold 550W - 429
Corsair Spec (pick your model) case - 299

RM5006 total (C-Zone prices)

Shaney
post Mar 28 2017, 07:58 PM

279 posts

Thanks for the quick reply.

Do you have any idea all these software is mainly processor or graphic card hunger ?

Try to look for forum to know more but so far couldn't.

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 28 2017, 07:55 PM)
How about these?

AMD Ryzen 1700 - 1599
MSI B350 Tomahawk - 645
Corsair 8GB DDR4-2133 x2 - 520
Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti 4GB DDR5 - 719
Samsung 850 Evo 250GB SSD - 482
Seagate 2TB - 313
Super Flower Leadex Gold 550W - 429
Corsair Spec (pick your model) case - 299

RM5006 total (C-Zone prices)
TristanX
post Mar 28 2017, 08:04 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(Shaney @ Mar 28 2017, 07:58 PM)

Do you have any idea all these software is mainly processor or graphic card hunger ?

Graphics design is always CPU > RAM > GPU. Ryzen 1700 has 8 core, 16 threads.
MagnificM
post Mar 28 2017, 08:07 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(Shaney @ Mar 28 2017, 07:58 PM)

The 1050Ti will serves you well for 3DMax, R7 1700 helps a lot during vray rendering
Shaney
post Mar 28 2017, 08:11 PM

279 posts

by any chance should i get more than 16gb like 32gb ram so i could multi task on the rig ?

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 28 2017, 08:04 PM)
Graphics design is always CPU > RAM > GPU. Ryzen 1700 has 8 core, 16 threads.
Shaney
post Mar 28 2017, 08:13 PM

279 posts

thanks for the info.

if thats the scenario, as long i got more cores theoretically i will get things done in shorter time for graphic design?

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Mar 28 2017, 08:07 PM)
The 1050Ti will serves you well for 3DMax, R7 1700 helps a lot during vray rendering
MagnificM
post Mar 28 2017, 08:17 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(Shaney @ Mar 28 2017, 08:11 PM)
by any chance should i get more than 16gb like 32gb ram so i could multi task on the rig ?
16gb is more than enough, except you're rendering video sweat.gif
TristanX
post Mar 28 2017, 08:19 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(Shaney @ Mar 28 2017, 08:11 PM)
16GB should be more than enough unless you wanna go nuts.
Shaney
post Mar 28 2017, 08:26 PM

279 posts

all good. so i guess i should heavily invest on processor and graphic card

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Mar 28 2017, 08:17 PM)
16gb is more than enough, except you're rendering video  sweat.gif
Shaney
post Mar 28 2017, 08:27 PM

279 posts

thanks !

is your rig up for sale ? tongue.gif
so i could save hell a lot. hahaha

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Mar 28 2017, 08:17 PM)
16gb is more than enough, except you're rendering video  sweat.gif
MagnificM
post Mar 28 2017, 09:12 PM

611 posts

QUOTE(Shaney @ Mar 28 2017, 08:27 PM)
thanks !

is your rig up for sale ? tongue.gif
so i could save hell a lot. hahaha
haha, nope bro, you better off with Ryzen. 8C/16T vs 4C/8T for vray rendering. Ryzen sure help reduce the time taken for the render to be complete thumbup.gif
Shaney
post Mar 28 2017, 09:52 PM

279 posts

by any chance should i pump more money into the processor with higher clock speed and reduce my fund on the graphic card?
or i should distribute the fund well between both?

since another sifu mention that graphic design is always on processor > ram > gpu

QUOTE(MagnificM @ Mar 28 2017, 09:12 PM)
haha, nope bro, you better off with Ryzen. 8C/16T vs 4C/8T for vray rendering. Ryzen sure help reduce the time taken for the render to be complete  thumbup.gif

1384 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:34 PM