126 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

New Proton Persona VVT 2016 - Official Thread V2, Its New, Its Refined, Its Safe ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

cheeshong
post Mar 9 2017, 11:30 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(drsmallkid @ Mar 9 2017, 10:57 PM)
Same, full city drive, I pump RM75 can only go 280km!
...but when I drive high way, half tank can reach 300KM!!... full tank probably can go 600-700KM!!
bro, I'm not sure about you but for me, really unacceptable. Even more thirsty than a 2.0 car... somemore driving normally, not very fast that kind...
TSzero5177
post Mar 10 2017, 12:07 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,555 posts

QUOTE(cheeshong @ Mar 9 2017, 11:25 PM)
but if purposely drive like this to get the FC, there's no more fun in the drive d...
I think a good engine should be efficient in fuel and if driving spiritly then makan minyak that one can understand
I'm just driving like 60 - 80 and i still can't get a good FC is really disturbing.
Don't tell me i need to drive 40-60 just to get a normal FC ...  biggrin.gif
I don't think the key to save fuel is the speed.. its more about how you accelerate.

Like drsmallkid said, to save fuel you have to keep the eco indicator on most of the time. The eco indicator will lit after about 25km/h if u drive economically, the rest is a course of how to drive the car gently and plan your journey like not accelerating unreasonably when there's a stop in front and overtaking aggressively.

Yes it will definitely kill the fun, this is no award winning engine, its just an engine that does better than its previous engine.
If you have time to keep a watch on Nissan Almera thread, despite having VVT on both the intake and exhaust and being lighter than Persona, the fuel consumption is no where better than this Persona.

Previous generation Persona AT I only manage to stretch 350km from full tank till low fuel indicator lit, in my opinion this VVT is also doing better than the previous gen Persona.

cheeshong
post Mar 10 2017, 10:17 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Mar 10 2017, 12:07 AM)
I don't think the key to save fuel is the speed.. its more about how you accelerate.

Like drsmallkid said, to save fuel you have to keep the eco indicator on most of the time. The eco indicator will lit after about 25km/h if u drive economically, the rest is a course of how to drive the car gently and plan your journey like not accelerating unreasonably when there's a stop in front and overtaking aggressively.

Yes it will definitely kill the fun, this is no award winning engine, its just an engine that does better than its previous engine.
If you have time to keep a watch on Nissan Almera thread, despite having VVT on both the intake and exhaust and being lighter than Persona, the fuel consumption is no where better than this Persona.

Previous generation Persona AT I only manage to stretch 350km from full tank till low fuel indicator lit, in my opinion this VVT is also doing better than the previous gen Persona.
thanks for your explanation bro. Surprise me that the old campro engine was that fuel thirsty.
steven789
post Mar 10 2017, 10:38 AM

303 posts

Interested in buying this new Persona. But a bit worry about Proton because of its financial issue and the fact it will be taken over by foreign company soon....
akariitagami
post Mar 10 2017, 10:39 AM

QUOTE(drsmallkid @ Mar 9 2017, 11:11 PM)
I noticed how to get the best FC through the Eco indicator and I am gonna be testing it,
The rough guidelines are as below,
1) Eco Mode only starts from 30KM/H, from standstill light gas to @1500RPM reaching 30KM/H, than release gas and maintains @1250rpm Eco will turn on.
2) 40-60KM/H light gas @1500-1750rpm.... never try to reach @2000rpm or else the Eco Indicator will off
3) 70-80KM/H @2000rpm
....and so on....am starting to get the feel of the Eco drive!...and I can say... the thrill of acceleration is gone!! Totally!....because my previous car was a 2001 Wira Manual...and it's dam fun to drive and accelerate and speed around corners.... guess this car be like for "comfort ride" smile.gif
What's your FC litle/100km? I terbalik driving technique by revving to the preferred speed only keep light foot
cktang
post Mar 10 2017, 11:08 AM

68 posts

Old persona are almost the same fc but u need to pay for the extra 10liter fuel. My std cvt best can go around 380km only 80% city driving from full tank to fuel light up. Average 7.3l/100km. Here are some tips i like to share maybe can help fellow cvt owner for better saving:

- Pump the front tyre 220 psi back 200 psi (70kg driver and 60kg front passenger). If back got passengers or luggage then back add 10~20 psi. Check tyre pressure every 2 weeks.

- Off the aircond when starting the car cold, jalan first and on the aircond when temperature indicator got 2 bar. Lower or off the aircond if not that hot.

- After release the brake from a full stop, let the car move a bit first before accelerate gradually. The key of cvt to save fuel are u need to control the gas pedal well at slow driving. If u press hard the gas pedal at wrong timing, u will tend to bring up the rpm unnecessarily instead of moving the car faster.

Best fuel brand i tested is petronas 95 as it's give better power at low torque.
tat3406
post Mar 10 2017, 11:16 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(steven789 @ Mar 10 2017, 10:38 AM)
Interested in buying this new Persona. But a bit worry about Proton because of its financial issue and the fact it will be taken over by foreign company soon....
I think the take over will only effect the management side, others thing will not change too much in the short time.
What r you worry about? after sales services?

cheeshong
post Mar 10 2017, 11:24 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(cktang @ Mar 10 2017, 11:08 AM)
Old persona are almost the same fc but u need to pay for the extra 10liter fuel. My std cvt best can go around 380km only 80% city driving from full tank to fuel light up. Average 7.3l/100km. Here are some tips i like to share maybe can help fellow cvt owner for better saving:

- Pump the front tyre 220 psi back 200 psi (70kg driver and 60kg front passenger). If back got passengers or luggage then back add 10~20 psi. Check tyre pressure every 2 weeks.

- Off the aircond when starting the car cold, jalan first and on the aircond when temperature indicator got 2 bar. Lower or off the aircond if not that hot.

- After release the brake from a full stop, let the car move a bit first before accelerate gradually. The key of cvt to save fuel are u need to control the gas pedal well at slow driving. If u press hard the gas pedal at wrong timing, u will tend to bring up the rpm  unnecessarily instead of moving the car faster.

Best fuel brand i tested is petronas 95 as it's give better power at low torque.
good tips. thanks bro
destee88
post Mar 10 2017, 12:09 PM

1,385 posts

- After release the brake from a full stop, let the car move a bit first before accelerate gradually. The key of cvt to save fuel are u need to control the gas pedal well at slow driving. If u press hard the gas pedal at wrong timing, u will tend to bring up the rpm  unnecessarily instead of moving the car faster.

like that is not a wise way .... not everyone willing to do that in order to save oil ... so means this car FC still not goood or worst than old my vi .. as i am driving the myvi ... if possible i willing to get new car with similar old my vi FC or better .. not even worst ... anyway thanks for ur tip
alanyuppie
post Mar 10 2017, 12:20 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(destee88 @ Mar 10 2017, 01:09 PM)
like that is not a wise way .... not everyone willing to do that in order to save oil ... so means this car FC still not goood or worst than old my vi .. as i am driving the myvi ... if possible i willing to get new car with similar old my vi FC or better .. not even worst ... anyway thanks for ur tip
I think not everyone is willing to do that coz it REQUIRED SOME EFFORT . Many drivers wanted consistently good FC in all situations conditions and driving style, which is pretty much impossible.

The most effortless ways are.... throwing the ball back to other people:

gomen: lower the god damn petrol price pls
SC staff: please finetune the car and adjust the tyre pressure optimally please. I dont care about the psi thingy its ALL SO DAMN CONFUSING.

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Mar 10 2017, 12:22 PM
destee88
post Mar 10 2017, 12:26 PM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(alanyuppie @ Mar 10 2017, 12:20 PM)
I think not everyone is willing to do that coz it REQUIRED SOME EFFORT .  Many drivers wanted consistently good FC in all situations conditions and driving style, which is pretty  much impossible.

The most effortless ways are.... throwing the ball back to other people:

gomen: lower the god damn  petrol price pls
SC staff: please finetune the car and adjust the tyre pressure optimally please. I dont care about the psi thingy its ALL SO DAMN CONFUSING.
yes indeed , i think should add a pros for this car .. still bad FC , but better old persona.. thanks for the information .. think i should consider other cars ..
zAciX
post Mar 10 2017, 01:25 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Mar 9 2017, 11:02 PM)
Sorry didn't have CVT to contribute some result... mine just MT and doing great... now at 350KM still have 3 bars left...

30% city and 70% highway with roughly half an hour bumper to bumper traffic
wow... notworthy.gif
my mt driving skills still giving me bad fc, 400-420km for RM75 sad.gif
hassansafdarali1
post Mar 10 2017, 03:10 PM

I cannot Find Proton Persona On Asean Ncap Website
hassansafdarali1
post Mar 10 2017, 03:10 PM

I cannot Find Proton Persona On Asean Ncap Website

oldgoat
post Mar 10 2017, 04:58 PM

My style of driving is like the tips you gave - smooth, no jerks, no syok. Most of the time the ECO light is on.

I can see that most of us are concerned with the FC. Not a surprise due to our financial bracket.

According to Carsifu -> At a constant 90kph, the new Persona is 10% (automatic transmission) and 13% (manual transmission) more fuel efficient compared with its predecessor.
Yes you are right - New and old persona are almost the same FC. Nothing to shout about because in the 1st place, old persona FC is bad. So, 10-13% less bad, is still bad!

We've to accept the fact that Persona is a heavy car - nice for highway driving.

This post has been edited by oldgoat: Mar 10 2017, 04:59 PM
firegal
post Mar 10 2017, 05:52 PM

146 posts

All CVT owner, did you guys aware your temp gauge? It will be normal for 3 bars, when you drive on highway, 110-120, especially morning and night, it will reduce to 2 bars? Wanna collect more info before check with SC. So far i know only 2 people having this issue including me.
crayzee
post Mar 10 2017, 06:47 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(firegal @ Mar 10 2017, 05:52 PM)
All CVT owner, did you guys aware your temp gauge? It will be normal for 3 bars, when you drive on highway, 110-120, especially morning and night, it will reduce to 2 bars? Wanna collect more info before check with SC. So far i know only 2 people having this issue including me.
Iriz is also like that, nobody had any prob so far. Dont worry much about it icon_rolleyes.gif
cheeshong
post Mar 10 2017, 06:53 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(crayzee @ Mar 10 2017, 06:47 PM)
Iriz is also like that, nobody had any prob so far. Dont worry much about it  icon_rolleyes.gif
me too. this is already discussed in v1.
If I can remember clearly, SC said the temp gauge will show realtime info whereas compared to other car models, they tend to delay the information.
So this means although in other cars, it's showing 3 bars, actually it is programmed to delay it.

But i don't buy such saying... If you tell me the gauge have smaller ratios so compare to other car makes, it's more "sensitive" then i believe.
crayzee
post Mar 10 2017, 06:57 PM

901 posts

QUOTE(cheeshong @ Mar 10 2017, 06:53 PM)
me too. this is already discussed in v1.
If I can remember clearly, SC said the temp gauge will show realtime info whereas compared to other car models, they tend to delay the information.
So this means although in other cars, it's showing 3 bars, actually it is programmed to delay it. 

But i don't buy such saying... If you tell me the gauge have smaller ratios so compare to other car makes, it's more "sensitive" then i believe.
I think when driving on highway, waterpump works faster, and ur radiator cools down faster due to higher speed. The thermostat might not be quick enough to open/close to balance off the water temps. If anybody got OBD reader then can find out what's the temp at 2 bars and 3 bars. Maybe it's not far off +-10degrees
oldgoat
post Mar 10 2017, 09:03 PM

QUOTE(crayzee @ Mar 10 2017, 06:57 PM)
I think when driving on highway, waterpump works faster, and ur radiator cools down faster due to higher speed. The thermostat might not be quick enough to open/close to balance off the water temps. If anybody got OBD reader then can find out what's the temp at 2 bars and 3 bars. Maybe it's not far off +-10degrees
Is it not the water pump (like the radiator fan) is controlled by the temp sensor? On high speed, the radiator is cool down by the wind that hit it and therefore the water pump (like the radiator fan) is switched off to prolong its lifespan? Just asking to clear my doubt.

This post has been edited by oldgoat: Mar 10 2017, 09:08 PM

126 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0343sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:01 AM