1553 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

SUSic no 851025071234
post Feb 10 2017, 05:29 PM

1,231 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 10 2017, 05:15 PM)
you overzealous? buy and sell within the same year. and looks like you missed the upside after that. ever had any regret over the lost?

don't worry I made the same mistake with GTF back in 2015. traded it like it was a stock. noob mistake on my part.
Unit trust play like stock already lose in sc
puchongite
post Feb 10 2017, 05:33 PM

33,613 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Feb 10 2017, 05:28 PM)
if dont know the risk, just dca monthly

if crisis happens, top up each time it drops like 5%

just a thought smile.gif
I think we should not sell based on up and down if you can't predict the movement, we sell only if the fund has a better outlook and potential than the current fund given the same league smile.gif
My question is more like asking if I have a x amount of money to switch over to a fund X.

Yes, DCA monthly but how much ? If DCA per month 5%, that's will never complete in a year !

This post has been edited by puchongite: Feb 10 2017, 05:34 PM
Avangelice
post Feb 10 2017, 05:33 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Feb 10 2017, 05:29 PM)
His mistake is to exit so soon. He make lost. If wait a while more and exit when break even better.
try to limit double posting.

any how. the xuzen we know now is different back then and we all make mistakes. take it as a valuable tuition fee. no harm done.

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 10 2017, 05:33 PM)
My question is more like asking if I have a x amount of money to switch over to a fund X.

Yes, DCA month but how much ? If DCA per month 5%, that's will never complete in a year !
exactly my concern. I have an huge amount of money sitting in the CMF and I go do monthly DCA. wouldn't it be wasting your money 's potential by just letting it stay in cmf.

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Feb 10 2017, 05:36 PM
TSAIYH
post Feb 10 2017, 05:43 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 10 2017, 05:33 PM)

Yes, DCA monthly but how much ? If DCA per month 5%, that's will never complete in a year !
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 10 2017, 05:33 PM)

any how. the xuzen we know now is different back then and we all make mistakes. take it as a valuable tuition fee. no harm done.
exactly my concern. I have an huge amount of money sitting in the CMF and I go do monthly DCA. wouldn't it be wasting your money 's potential by just letting it stay in cmf.
If you ask me, I will say dca minimum amount sweat.gif

But I can suggest divide into 6/12/18/24 period of dca, each period can be fortnightly, monthly, bi-monthly or quarterly smile.gif

If it experience downfall, everytime it drops 2-5% from your capital, top up like 100-1000 and repeat until it rise back (of course not until the fund collapse if you did your homework about the fund sweat.gif)

Just a thought smile.gif

I am too young to experience long period investing or any crisis, so this is just a suggestion smile.gif
Avangelice
post Feb 10 2017, 05:46 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Feb 10 2017, 05:43 PM)
If you ask me, I will say dca minimum amount sweat.gif

But I can suggest divide into 6/12/18/24 period of dca, each period can be fortnightly, monthly, bi-monthly or quarterly smile.gif

If it experience downfall, everytime it drops 2-5% from your capital, top up like 100-1000 and repeat until it rise back (of course not until the fund collapse if you did your homework about the fund sweat.gif)

Just a thought smile.gif

I am too young to experience long period investing or any crisis, so this is just a suggestion smile.gif
bingo. that's what I did. now keeping 10k I'm CMF for funds on sale.
nick_linz
post Feb 10 2017, 05:46 PM

78 posts

I've just created an account at FSM and still doing readings on all these unit trusts, fixed income and trying to understand how to invest. Have some basic questions to ask the sifu here

Question 1:
According to this table at FSM: https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...tormaincode=All

For this fund: CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund - MYR, it says the 5 year (%) is 115.60. Does this mean the projection is that you can get a return of 115.6% in 5 years time? Obviously I understand that this is only a forecast, but is this how this table is read?

Question 2:
I invest Affin Hwang Absolute Return Fund II on 2 Jan 2017 at Bid/NAV 1.0985. On 7 Jan 2017 the Bid/NAV price is 1.1452. My profit is the increase which is 4.25%. Is this correct?

Do bear with me with the noob questions while I try to get my basics right first. Thanks in advance!
T231H
post Feb 10 2017, 05:52 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(nick_linz @ Feb 10 2017, 05:46 PM)
I've just created an account at FSM and still doing readings on all these unit trusts, fixed income and trying to understand how to invest. Have some basic questions to ask the sifu here

Question 1:
According to this table at FSM: https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...tormaincode=All

For this fund: CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund - MYR, it says the 5 year (%) is 115.60. Does this mean the projection is that you can get a return of 115.6% in 5 years time? Obviously I understand that this is only a forecast, but is this how this table is read?

Question 2:
I invest Affin Hwang Absolute Return Fund II on 2 Jan 2017 at Bid/NAV 1.0985. On 7 Jan 2017 the Bid/NAV price is 1.1452. My profit is the increase which is 4.25%. Is this correct?

Do bear with me with the noob questions while I try to get my basics right first. Thanks in advance!
Answer Q1. No...it is NOT projection.it was past results
AnswerQ2. Yes.but you need to minus the sales charges n other redemtion charges if any.
Btw, that is a wholesales fund...need alot of capital to start
puchongite
post Feb 10 2017, 05:53 PM

33,613 posts

[ delete: answered by another poster ].

This post has been edited by puchongite: Feb 10 2017, 05:54 PM
Avangelice
post Feb 10 2017, 05:55 PM

5,272 posts

opps. too late. lol.

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Feb 10 2017, 05:56 PM
xuzen
post Feb 10 2017, 05:56 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 10 2017, 05:15 PM)
you overzealous? buy and sell within the same year. and looks like you missed the upside after that. ever had any regret over the lost?

don't worry I made the same mistake with GTF back in 2015. traded it like it was a stock. noob mistake on my part.
Algozen™ was created by me somewhere end of 2014 and in its initial stage it was a crude attempt. Version one was experimental, version two was forgetable and currently I am using version three. I did upgrade and refining it as I progress on the learning curve.

Version one I used to narrow data, that is, one year historical. I learnt my lesson then, now I use longer period data.

Nonetheless, it was a learning experience and when noob comes along and say timing the market and whats not, I smiled coz it reminded me of my own experience.

In hindsight you may say look! You should have held on to it, bla bla bla yadda yadda yadda. But remember when you are actually in it, during that phase, actually experiencing it, your emotion will be different. Know yourself, and half the battle is won - Sun Tzu.

Regrets? Look at the chart again, if I did not sell, the Jan 2016 drop was even more severe (due to the China circuit - breaker fiasco) I don't think my heart would be able to take it...

Oh well! Live and let learn.

Xuzen

Avangelice
post Feb 10 2017, 05:58 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 10 2017, 05:56 PM)

Xuzen
this is the best advise
puchongite
post Feb 10 2017, 06:01 PM

33,613 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 10 2017, 05:56 PM)
Algozen™ was created by me somewhere end of 2014 and in its initial stage it was a crude attempt. Version one was experimental, version two was forgetable and currently I am using version three. I did upgrade and refining it as I progress on the learning curve.

Version one I used to narrow data, that is, one year historical. I learnt my lesson then, now I use longer period data.

Nonetheless, it was a learning experience and when noob comes along and say timing the market and whats not, I smiled coz it reminded me of my own experience.

In hindsight you may say look! You should have held on to it, bla bla bla yadda yadda yadda. But remember when you are actually in it, during that phase, actually experiencing it, your emotion will be different. Know yourself, and half the battle is won - Sun Tzu.

Regrets? Look at the chart again, if I did not sell, the Jan 2016 drop was even more severe (due to the China circuit - breaker fiasco) I don't think my heart would be able to take it...

Xuzen
Exactly. That's small step in the graph but it's 20% !!!
xuzen
post Feb 10 2017, 06:04 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 10 2017, 06:01 PM)
Exactly. That's small step in the graph but it's 20% !!!
Imagine if I held on to Jan 2016, it would have been a minus forty percent plunge, no longer consider a dip or drop!

BTW, UTF must be hot again... so many noob participants. I remember half a year ago, many were saying UTF suxs, ASX FP rulez etc.... It is all a cycle.

On the subject of DCA, there is no hard and fast rule... but you may consider this: If you have MYR X amt. Take one year to DCA in, if the amount MYR X is large like MYR 50K or more.

If you DCA fortnighly, then MYR X divided by 26, if you choose to DCA monthly, then MYR X divided by twelve payments.

If you are too free nothing to do and want to perform DCA weekly, then MYR X divide by 52. Should the MYR X is too small amount and after divided is below the minimum amount, then you should do monthly or quarterly.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Feb 10 2017, 06:10 PM
SUSic no 851025071234
post Feb 10 2017, 06:40 PM

1,231 posts

Not double post la. I read his post first then reply then saw your post ma. U think i so free purposely click reply 2 times haha.

My dca method is just invest all every month. I have budget for different purpose so investment money is just masuk invest fund.
wodenus
post Feb 10 2017, 06:49 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

Money in CMF is also diversification smile.gif in case there's a big drop you can transfer more in smile.gif
contestchris
post Feb 10 2017, 07:32 PM

5,534 posts

Please don't talk nonsense bro if you don't know. So far I have 0% SC in switching and they're all relatively successful trades.
contestchris
post Feb 10 2017, 07:57 PM

5,534 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 10 2017, 04:48 PM)
I entered in mid Apr 2015 and exited in end of Sep 2015.... (CIMB Principle Greater China)
[attachmentid=8477494]

Xuzen

I am scared this is how my entry into US small caps will be like.

I went in one lump sum on 27 Jan while it was on a peak.
Eddy924
post Feb 10 2017, 08:03 PM

589 posts

Do u guys think it's worth to pay little bit more sc (5.5 vs 2) on buying the funds with bank? Coz in FSM all depends on personal experience & awareness, while in bank at least there is one person ready for your enquiry, although noted FSM have client support channel via email, however recent enquiry reply like "copy paste" statement, I don't find their advice to me is constructive. But i aware lower SC = faster to break even, to see the return. And my investment plan start with minimal purchase then constantly dump in money for long term investment. Need some suggestion here, do u all start with self study on funds (through FSM) or learn from banker first?

This post has been edited by Eddy924: Feb 10 2017, 08:05 PM
contestchris
post Feb 10 2017, 08:11 PM

5,534 posts

QUOTE(Eddy924 @ Feb 10 2017, 08:03 PM)
Do u guys think it's worth to pay little bit more sc (5.5 vs 2) on buying the funds with bank? Coz in FSM all depends on personal experience & awareness, while in bank at least there is one person ready for your enquiry, although noted FSM have client support channel via email, however recent enquiry reply like "copy paste" statement, I don't find their advice to me is constructive. But i aware lower SC = faster to break even, to see the return. And my investment plan start with minimal purchase then constantly dump in money for long term investment. Need some suggestion here, do u all start with self study on funds (through FSM) or learn from banker first?
Many corporate working people who want to purely passively invest do so in banks. My father does with Public Mutual. It's totally normal. But if you're adventurous like us all here, then it's worth going alone for lower costs and greater flexibility.

Btw I think Maybank is 3% and CIMB 2.5%...but maybe their in-person charges are higher, I don't know. I just did with online banking facility. UOB is 3% I believe for in-person.
T231H
post Feb 10 2017, 08:13 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Eddy924 @ Feb 10 2017, 08:03 PM)
hmm.gif
if you want, there are "live" chat with FSM CS other then Email
if you want, there are Client Investment Specialist in FSM
if you want you can pay the extra SC to use the bank employee.
if you want you can buy from the bank

for the sales charges differential is nothing in the longer terms......

just do what ever that is "comfortable" to you.....after all it is your money......have control and maximise to your wishes over it

1553 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:09 AM