1553 Pages « < 381 382 383 384 385 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

xuzen
post Aug 7 2017, 04:49 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Aug 7 2017, 04:43 PM)
When DJI was at 20k all time high, people were cautious, hording cash preparing for a crash. Then DJI hits 22k. "Expert" say it's gonna crash again. Who knows it will climb to another record high at 24k?

You can't time the market. Just continue pumping in but just more cautious. Else you'll lose out.
Dow is made up of 30 top giant conglomerate in NYSE.

A better broader gauge should be the S&P 500. (made up of 500 American companies)

Russel's 3000 anyone?

Xuzen
SUSDavid83
post Aug 7 2017, 04:55 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 7 2017, 04:49 PM)
Dow is made up of 30 top giant conglomerate in NYSE.

A better broader gauge should be the S&P 500. (made up of 500 American companies)

Russel's 3000 anyone?

Xuzen
Russel 3000 is meant for mid to small cap indices right?
i1899
post Aug 7 2017, 05:06 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 7 2017, 03:50 PM)
Job's coming. Plus emergency cash for few years + dividends, at least that's something. Better than nothing coming in. I know my priority. Be an exteme frugal person and invest when opportunity present itself.

I am realistic person. Already counted and plan everything. I already know what I need to do. For me, my only problem is RM is so  puke.gif  puke.gif (make my target harder)

Ini sudah OT.
Great that u know what u need to do, and counted and planned everything in advance. But, I hope that u execute what u have planned asap.
The first step is go find a decent job instead of pay too much attention on ur investment.

Some points for u,
1. Saving is good, but u need to have consistent income at the first place. Else wise, what to save? Save the leftover of ur expenses?
2. Investment is good, return n dividend is good. But with a capital of <100K and dividend yield 7%, the profit is only RM7K per year. Can u survive with 7K per year?

That's y, for a young person like u, get a good work, and accumulating ur wealth is more important than look at/time market everyday.

my 2 cents only...
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Aug 7 2017, 05:10 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Aug 7 2017, 05:06 PM)
Great that u know what u need to do, and counted and planned everything in advance. But, I hope that u execute what u have planned asap.
The first step is go find a decent job instead of pay too much attention on ur investment.

Some points for u,
1. Saving is good, but u need to have consistent income at the first place. Else wise, what to save? Save the leftover of ur expenses?
2. Investment is good, return n dividend is good. But with a capital of <100K and dividend yield 7%, the profit is only RM7K per year. Can u survive with 7K per year?

That's y, for a young person like u, get a good work, and accumulating ur wealth is more important than look at/time market everyday.

my 2 cents only...
My guess will be hes a doctor that just graduate. Their waiting time is around 10 months.

If not, other job I cant think of the job will eventually land by them self and no need go find or interview.

Even other gov job also need go find and interview and waiting time no that long to give you free time that much.

And glad that my objective is still clear after seeing replies from oldies and all the wiser wonderful people.

Glad that I am still intact with my priority. Haha.
!@#$%^
post Aug 7 2017, 05:19 PM

Safe Trader
17,498 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 7 2017, 05:10 PM)
My guess will be hes a doctor that just graduate. Their waiting time is around 10 months.

If not, other job I cant think of the job will eventually land by them self and no need go find or interview.

Even other gov job also need go find and interview and waiting time no that long to give you free time that much.

And glad that my objective is still clear after seeing replies from oldies and all the wiser wonderful people.

Glad that I am still intact with my priority. Haha.
lol well if a doctor, then no need to squeeze every penny lah. you may not be rich, but will be comfortable.
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Aug 7 2017, 05:25 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Aug 7 2017, 05:19 PM)
lol well if a doctor, then no need to squeeze every penny lah. you may not be rich, but will be comfortable.
People have diff mentality ma.

As long as he is not doing anything that harm people, then I am ok with it. As Chinese saying as long as he not kill people put fire then ok haha.

Doctor aren't rich nowadays. People may think that's a goodjob.

But in all of the docs in MY, how many that can have own established clinic like our bro here? And last months a report say that around 200 clinics just close down...

Every field can generate good income if you know your filed well. Doesn't necessary you need to become The Big 4 to become rich.

Its our own perception anyways.

And what the important thing is that listen to the old one. Sometime they may wrong but most of the time they are right.
Avangelice
post Aug 7 2017, 05:29 PM

5,272 posts

BTW what happened to HahaCat?

Open new account. every post is within one tread. Talk kok sing song about Interpac. Then Interpac drop and maintain price. he pull out and disappear.

Ramjade
post Aug 7 2017, 05:30 PM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 7 2017, 05:25 PM)

As long as he is not doing anything that harm people, then I am ok with it. As Chinese saying as long as he not kill people put fire then ok haha.

But in all of the docs in MY, how many that can have own established clinic like our bro here? And last months a report say that around 200 clinics just close down...

Every field can generate good income if you know your filed well. Doesn't necessary you need to become The Big 4 to become rich.

And what the important thing is that listen to the old one. Sometime they may wrong but most of the time they are right.
Well said.Every job need to think about additional income from other place. People here don't like my ideas as it's new and strange. So what. Everyone got different strategy. Like they said all roads lead to rome. The question is which road do you want to take? The exciting and fast road? Or the long and slow road. devil.gif

Anyway, my methods have been proven to work. Just need to be patient...

Some like DCA, some like jumping around, some like all equities. Some just want to hold bond. Some like to keep cash. Macam2 ada.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 7 2017, 05:33 PM
!@#$%^
post Aug 7 2017, 05:38 PM

Safe Trader
17,498 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Aug 7 2017, 05:25 PM)

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 7 2017, 05:30 PM)
Well said.Every job need to think about additional income from other place.  People here don't like my ideas as it's new and strange. So what. Everyone got different strategy. Like they said all roads lead to rome. The question is which road do you want to take? The exciting and fast road? Or the long and slow road.  devil.gif

Anyway, my methods have been proven to work. Just need to be patient...

Some like DCA, some like jumping around, some like all equities. Some just want to hold bond. Some like to keep cash. Macam2 ada.
in a way yup, u better get prepared now. once u start housemanship, you dont even have time to pee
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Aug 7 2017, 05:53 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Aug 7 2017, 05:29 PM)

Open new account. every post is within one tread. Talk kok sing song about Interpac. Then Interpac drop and maintain price. he pull out and disappear.
That people also one kind doh.gif

Come spec spec then pull plug.
MUM
post Aug 7 2017, 06:00 PM

14,863 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Aug 7 2017, 05:29 PM)

I think he did mentioned that he had to leave bcos the quality of tis forum is more of talk kok...which i think it does not boils down to well with him for he is more of target n objective oriented.......n does not like safe sex kind of investment style which are more kok talked here.
skynode
post Aug 7 2017, 08:29 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Aug 7 2017, 05:38 PM)
in a way yup, u better get prepared now. once u start housemanship, you dont even have time to pee
Ramjade, if you are really doing this, I have a few things to share.

Depending on which hospital you get, you might be too busy to even eat. I used to have only two meals a day... and sometimes forgot to pee because you are just too distracted. Always on the feet doing something, sorting something out.
So when it comes to Puasa month, you would grin as suddenly every muslim's meal frequency is exactly like yours.
But it gets easier as you are more familiar with the system and climb up the ladder. Don't worry.

During your busy days, you might only get to know the market crash like 3 days later. I still remember during paediatric tagging period, I did not see any sun for 1 week. Left home when it's dark, reaching home late at night. Even when you are about to sleep in bed, you would still be having hallucinations of babies' cries.

BUT, this shall pass too. Don't worry. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by skynode: Aug 7 2017, 08:30 PM
voyage23
post Aug 7 2017, 08:35 PM

368 posts

Wow looks like we have many healthcare personnel here. biggrin.gif
shankar_dass93
post Aug 7 2017, 08:41 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Aug 7 2017, 04:19 PM)
well said. many old timers here have weathered multiple economy crisis and look where are they now. not in bankruptcy nor have they suffered a traumatic disaster.

my point is stop timing the markets. just follow the ratio of financing yourself

50% of pay goes to permanent monthly expenses like mortgage, car loan, taxes, bills,
30% goes to savings and investments. 10% of it is in EPF so break down 15% into your UT Port and 5% into CMF/emergency funds.
20% for entertainment purposes like date nights, renovations and travels.

also focus on cementing your job and never let your passive income disturb your work like taking day off just to go to bank or Singapore.

have a side income. have hobbies work for you like bonsai, drawing, painting, scale modeling while it keeps your sanity and creativity. I love my work so I work on weekends and public holidays so that generates an additional 2.5k per week.

and I have funds to open up another clinic if I wanted. that's how you become secure. not just chase numbers or worrying about the currency exchange because that's out of your control
Nice that you're saving 30% of your salary. I can only save/invest approximately 50% and that's because I'm living with my parents.

Trying to be like Ramjade and aiming for a foreign currency based pay whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
skynode
post Aug 7 2017, 09:33 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(voyage23 @ Aug 7 2017, 08:35 PM)
Wow looks like we have many healthcare personnel here. biggrin.gif
Well, just look at the statistics. Our country is flooding with healthcare personnels but too few healthcare infrastructures.
besiegetank
post Aug 7 2017, 09:34 PM

918 posts

I also think that we should keep investing even in times of impending market crash, just have to make certain adjustment like more bonds than equity to be on the safer side.
Msxxyy
post Aug 7 2017, 09:40 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Aug 7 2017, 08:29 PM)

Depending on which hospital you get, you might be too busy to even eat.  I used to have only two meals a day...  and sometimes forgot to pee because you are just too distracted.  Always on the feet doing something, sorting something out.
So when it comes to Puasa month, you would grin as suddenly every muslim's meal frequency is exactly like yours.
But it gets easier as you are more familiar with the system and climb up the ladder.  Don't worry. 

During your busy days, you might only get to know the market crash like 3 days later.  I still remember during paediatric tagging period, I did not see any sun for 1 week.  Left home when it's dark, reaching home late at night.  Even when you are about to sleep in bed, you would still be having hallucinations of babies' cries.

BUT, this shall pass too.  Don't worry.  thumbup.gif
Well, my first meal is usually 7pm during tagging in medical.
But I still get to top up my asnb while waiting for lift and check out my funds NAV while walking to path lab otw after an on call.
Iron bladder iron stomach in the making.

This post has been edited by Msxxyy: Aug 7 2017, 09:41 PM
skynode
post Aug 7 2017, 09:48 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Aug 7 2017, 08:29 PM)

Depending on which hospital you get, you might be too busy to even eat.  I used to have only two meals a day...  and sometimes forgot to pee because you are just too distracted.  Always on the feet doing something, sorting something out.
But it gets easier as you are more familiar with the system and climb up the ladder.  Don't worry. 

During your busy days, you might only get to know the market crash like 3 days later.  I still remember during paediatric tagging period, I did not see any sun for 1 week.  Left home when it's dark, reaching home late at night.  Even when you are about to sleep in bed, you would still be having hallucinations of babies' cries.

BUT, this shall pass too.  Don't worry.  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(Msxxyy @ Aug 7 2017, 09:40 PM)
But I still get to top up my asnb while waiting for lift and check out my funds NAV while walking to path lab otw after an on call.
Ramjade is trying to catch a falling dagger. During housemanship, he might only notice the dagger at his foot three days later when the wound gets infected. hmm.gif
Msxxyy
post Aug 7 2017, 09:53 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Aug 7 2017, 09:48 PM)
Ramjade is trying to catch a falling dagger.  During housemanship, he might only notice the dagger at his foot three days later when the wound gets infected.  hmm.gif
Well tats very true.
If he is really waiting for his housemanship, I kinda like wat he is doing now, instead of sitting at home doing ntg for 10 months like all the other kids do.
post Aug 7 2017, 10:10 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(Msxxyy @ Aug 7 2017, 09:40 PM)
Maybe it's time you guys push for a more healthy work culture.
I am a graduate architect, long working hours is like a norm in my line of work, even in uni...I was like that too. Sometimes didn't sleep for 2-3 days in a row.
My first job I used to work in a practice that has long hours, especially when we have to meet tight deadlines.
And unlike most jobs other jobs, almost all architecture practices I know of do not compensate pay for overtime.
Sometimes I also haven't seen sun for a week or so.
I can't find time to rest and live a normal healthy life, much less the time needed to study for my professional exam.
But realising this is actually a very bad habit and bad work culture. It wears you out and not helping with the work performance either.
After all it is time management issue, and people seemed to be getting nuts for working prolonged hours, and you are more actually less productive and more prone to be making errors. In the practice of architecture, errors are mostly reversible, perhaps not so much if it is a surgical practice.
Then I changed job, have a normal hours...work outcome is better, people also happier.
This is also partly attributed to the world-wide industry reform trying to eradicate the long hours culture in architecture. I believe the same should be done for medical profession too.
So, get the time management right and it will sort itself out.
New generations just don't hold grudges thinking "during my housemanship I endured this 48-hours shift thrice a week, and you newbies should suffer the same" mentality. Push for a better change.

Don't later end up money in the bank, but people in heaven (a chinese saying)
and time is also something you cannot buy with money

1553 Pages « < 381 382 383 384 385 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:30 AM