9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

i1899
post Jul 13 2017, 12:09 PM

225 posts

Being the reader of forum for so many years. But, some posts here force me to register an account to write something. smile.gif

http://www.morningstar.co.za/za/news/96498...sset-value.aspx

NAV = Total Assest / Units in Circulation

Stocks have a fixed number of shares available. To change its number of shares, a company can either issue new shares or buy back its own shares in the market. By contrast, unit trusts generally have an unlimited number of units, and the number changes on a daily basis, depending on how many units investors buy and sell that day.

The key is the units in circulation of an unit trust changes daily. When an investor buy, units increase and total asset increase; if other parameters unchanged (asset changes, expenses are 0), then NAV would be same. When an investor sell his units, unit in circulation reduce and total asset also decrease; if other parameters remain, NAV wont change.

This post has been edited by i1899: Jul 13 2017, 12:11 PM
i1899
post Jul 13 2017, 12:26 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jul 13 2017, 07:32 AM)
I am not challenging it but I am wondering where did you get the data from and whether you have accounted for the case of nominee accounts.

Since FSM is one big nominee account, the counts of account holders within FSM will be useful information which might not be available to Interpac.
According to page 45 of latest annual report of Inter-pac, the largest investor is not FSM.

For Inter-pac Dana Safi, only 1 investor holds 83.33% of the fund on 31/03/2017. The unit held are 3,484,321, shown on page 7.

On page 45, section 10. Units held by the Manager and related parties , shows that it is Inter-Pacific Capital Sdn Bhd that holds 3,484,321 units. Therefore, the largest holder of this fund is Inter-pac itself.
i1899
post Jul 19 2017, 05:45 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Jul 19 2017, 05:21 PM)
Yup, I checked the graph too and although the correlation is -ve, its not a big enough -ve  to push it up to buffer the portfolio so it doesn't really help that much. Theoretically, if we have perfectly inverse correlation (-1.0) then the UTFs will move in opposite directions and total returns will suffer (diworsified).

With a mid-term target (3-5 years) of seeking alpha, I am wondering whether it makes sense to keep 20% - 30% FI in the portfolio when it isn't really gonna help much in case of a general downturn. Wouldn't it make more sense to sell all equities and go into bonds when the downturn happens instead? Of course this is assuming there is an active monitoring of the port periodically to identify the potential down-turn in time. In this scenario will it make sense to go all in into equities (make hay while the sun shines)?

FI won't help if you still hold 70-80% equity funds during big recession when equity fund might drop up to 60% from the peak.
Switching, cut loss, are very important in this scenario.

i1899
post Jul 25 2017, 03:10 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(Msxxyy @ Jul 25 2017, 02:42 PM)
Don't have. They just say invest on local and foreign market.
It is a Global Bond Fund, which will invest in Global Bond at least BBB grade. Clear? blush.gif

Asset Allocation
• 70% - 99.5% of the Fund’s NAV in fixed income instruments
• 0.5% - 30% of the Fund’s NAV in Liquid Assets

Investment Strategy
The Fund’s investment universe will be in foreign and/or local fixed income
instruments in countries of Eligible Markets where the regulatory authority
is an ordinary or associate member of the International Organization of
Securities Commissions (IOSCO). The Fund will invest in bonds which carry
a minimum rating of BBB- by Standard & Poor’s Financial Services LLC (S&P)
or equivalent by Moody’s Investors Service (Moody’s), Fitch Ratings Inc.
(Fitch) or any other rating agencies. Local bonds rated by RAM Rating
Services Berhad (RAM) will carry a minimum rating of BBB or equivalent by
Malaysian Rating Corporation Berhad (MARC) or any other rating agencies.

i1899
post Jul 26 2017, 02:09 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(Holyboy27 @ Jul 26 2017, 11:24 AM)
Hi guys, Is it possible to transfer in from a current Public Mutual PRS scheme into FSM's PRS?
PRS inter house switching is called PRS Provider Transfer. I just did it in June, from Affin Hwang PRS Moderate to CIMB PRS. smile.gif

Just fill in the form at link below, send it with a copy of IC to Fundsupermart.
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/buyse...ransferForm.pdf

The total cost is RM25 + GST + Postage fee. If the amount is small, don't do it.
Please note that, it will take much much longer time compared with normal inter switching, around 4 weeks to reflect the transaction in FSM, around 3 weeks to reflects in www.prsmember.my.

i1899
post Jul 26 2017, 02:28 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Jul 25 2017, 09:56 AM)
Not sure if anyone else is doing it. Compare managed portfolio returns with your DIY portfolio

So it's been 2 months since I bought the moderately aggressive portfolio
The ROI for managed portfolio is 2.64% net of 1% sales charge

My own portfolio grew 2.13% in the same period, and I did not incur any sales charge during this period

Managed portfolio 1: Me 0

blush.gif
Did you top up (or sell ) your own portfolio since end of May.
Hmm... If you top up your own portfolio, it will reduce ROI.
I think, better use IRR for better comparison.

i1899
post Jul 26 2017, 10:13 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(voyage23 @ Jul 26 2017, 06:47 PM)
I definitely did not go in due to him lol. I was getting bored of the steady KGF, cashed in ROI of around 20% and took on more risk while hoping for a higher return since I have a long investment horizon.

Excited to see how my 5 aggressive EQ funds perform over the next 3 years.
U r not alone.

I cut KGF on this Monday with ROI ~12%, bought back it since Feb 17.

I invested slowly Inter Dana safi since end of March , did my last entry yesterday to make it 12% of my portfolio, so far ROI >15%.
From my observation, its volatility is not very high la, not higher than india/ china fund.
i1899
post Jul 31 2017, 01:37 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ May 31 2017, 03:29 PM)
Algozen™ version four speaketh; listen well...(The values are now in MYR correlation).

I tried putting in various UTF(s) into Algozen™ and letting her run the numbers. Maximum per simulation run is ten UTFs. Anything more, is limited by the correlation coefficient parameters. 

The criteria for selecting UTFs for simulations are:

1) Good risk to reward ratio among peers.
2) They must have poor correlation among each other (meaning must be well diversified)

Next step, after running twelve simulated portfolios, ranging from port that generate 8% to 20% p.a. , out of 12 ports,

To be continued...

The ports that I have run simulation gave the highest possible return to be 21% (100% TA-GTF) and the lowest possible return is 7% (100% Esther Bond). Hence the whole spectrum of return is from 7 to 21%. As expected the higher the return the higher the risk aka std - deviation. After running 12 times with various composition of portfolios, I find that the most risk optimal point is around the 10, 11, 12 and 13% point.

Let's take 13% as the expected return. In order to get 13% the composition of UTFs are as below.

KGF @ 15%
REITs @ 10%
TA-GTF @ 25%
Esther Bond @ 30%
RHB EMB @ 20%.

Std - deviation of this portfolio is 4.41% and the risk to reward ratio is 13/4.41 = 2.95.

Xuzen
i1899
post Jul 31 2017, 03:06 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 31 2017, 01:53 PM)
Algozen™ ver four Aug 2017 reading:
Expected portfolio return is 14% with a standard deviation / volatility of 5%. Risk to reward ratio = 2.8

The ports consist of:

1) Esther Bond @ 25%
2) RHB EMB @ 20%
3) Tech fund @ 30%
4) ManuReits @ 10%
5) Safi @ 15% or KGF @ 15%, if you are gung-ho, go with Safi, if you are skeptical and prefer a UTF with more repo then, go for KGF.

The numbers look great but a bit weird...

if u concern on concentration risk for 52% port in Spore REIT by Manulife REIT. y still ok with 80% on US tech by Ta global tech?

80% * 30% = 24% in US tech, where US tech PE are generally >30 now. The risk is very high base on valuation....
while, 5.2% in Spore REIT, where PE of Spore REIT are generally at 12.x, still ok worh...
i1899
post Jul 31 2017, 09:15 PM

225 posts

To me, choose a fund solely base on historical data is a dangerous möve. The performance, the volatility, RRR etc etc are all history.

Invest base on current PER of invested market, or valuation may be is better approach.

i1899
post Aug 1 2017, 01:10 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Aug 1 2017, 11:24 AM)
Thanks for the heads up, I prefer RSP so there's less tendency to miss top up or affected by greed/fear. But live help say RSP won't be available until much later, like next year. So looks like I'll be doing manual top ups
I think there's some really healthy discussion and questioning going on here, and it's really good to have "balance of powers"

http://www.investopedia.com/articles/04/031704.asp

So i googled a simple discussion on asset allocation. Using PE to help determine asset allocation is one method, the one used by FSM. While I do not agree that pure rear view mirror method is superior, I think there are always pros and cons. Rear view mirror method tends to change allocation frequently, depending on the performance of the month/quarter. Sometimes PE gap doesn't close quick enough and you'd be holding it for a while before you see results. Sometimes PE is very distorted for example China overall PE is low, but other than banks which are the larges ones, the PE for the other companies can be really high

keep the discussion going pls
Everyone has their own recipe. Just for sharing.

Since early of this year, I started to consider PER of different market in my annual asset allocation. Use PER to select the market, and rear view mirror method (performance + downside risk) to select funds within the same market. Anyway, i still new with it. Just for sharing.

Buy market with relative low PE (compare with Fair PE/ historical average PE aka big difference in (current PE - fair PE), not compare PE between different market/sector), is buying a market with a bigger room of increment. Buying market with relative high PE is buying a market with limited room of increase but bigger room for correction/ back to its average value.

Base on my experience, invest base on PE is much much faster than rear view window method.

For example, I entered back KGF in Jan/Feb when the PE of KLCI was 13, and exited last Monday when PE was 16.67 (plus some other reason), fair PE for msia is 16.0. But, if used rear view method, i might enter it in June, when the excellent half year data is out, and still stay with it now.

Note: China PE is low now, but most of greater china fund in FSM invest in China companies list in US (alibaba PER is 68 as i last checked) HK , Taiwan companies. Therefore, you may refer to CIMB GC's master fund Schroder ISF GC for its latest PER of holding. As i last checked, it is 21.04, still not at dangerous level i think.
i1899
post Aug 2 2017, 11:59 AM

225 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Aug 2 2017, 10:07 AM)
Manulife presenter Edwin Lee is promoting the Manulife Dragon Growth Fund as the fund of choice for China exposure now but there is no graph for it in FSM.

There is a graph in Bloomberg though.

Prefer to see that in FSM so that a few funds can be superimposed together and compared.

Anyone know how to get around it ?
You can stack & compare the performance using bloomberg as well.

Manulife Dragon Growth is < 1 yr old in FSM, but it is a feeder fund to Manulife Global Fund - Dragon Growth Fund (MNRIHKI:LX), which has >5 yr history. It haven't climbed to its 2015 peak yoi.

This post has been edited by i1899: Aug 2 2017, 12:02 PM
i1899
post Aug 3 2017, 11:20 AM

225 posts

QUOTE(gu~wak_zhai @ Aug 3 2017, 11:01 AM)
comparing 5 years  hmm.gif

1 year also same, PRU sits on top.
Charts in Bloomberg is not adjusted for distribution eventm but is adjusted for unit split.
i1899
post Aug 4 2017, 10:47 AM

225 posts

hmm.gif hmm.gif

Jumping to the fastest running horse aka Best Perform Fund ends up with.

1. horse too tired n going to take a long rest aka Fund flats
2. horse continues running but not the fastest anymore.
3. horse continues running n still be the fastest.
4. The field is burnt n all the horse stop running.
etc
etc

This post has been edited by i1899: Aug 4 2017, 10:47 AM
i1899
post Aug 4 2017, 01:29 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Aug 4 2017, 10:48 AM)
I don't know what weed you smoking there brother but I'll have some because that is one crazy imagination there
Y crazy imagination?
They are not imagination. Those are the real scenarios those are happening, happened and will happen on many "investors".

1. horse too tired n going to take a long rest aka Fund non perform after u join
2. horse continues running but not the fastest anymore.
3. horse continues running n still be the fastest.
4. The field is burnt n all the horse stop running. The market collapse, all fund invest in the same market also collapse

The problem here is not jumping horse or changing fund, the problem is what the criteria u used in choosing ur horse. If the method is wrong, you will continue in jumping horse again n again, without stop. if you method is correct, u wont jumping horse frequently.

i1899
post Aug 7 2017, 03:44 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 7 2017, 03:23 PM)
Bro just graduate la. Need to take things slow. What I learnt, cannot depend on job. So need to make sure I have cash coming in (dividend investing). So if in the future if say retrench, at least my dividends are coming in. Got some level of support.
Meaning u r jobless now? blink.gif If u were graduated, go to find a decent job first lah.

Even u r great, taking 20% pa from ur investment with a capital of SGD 10K, Ur yearly passive income is SGD 2K only.
While, u can get active income SGD3K/ month or SGD36K per year easily.

Be realistic la. Don't confuse on ur priority now.

i1899
post Aug 7 2017, 05:06 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 7 2017, 03:50 PM)
Job's coming. Plus emergency cash for few years + dividends, at least that's something. Better than nothing coming in. I know my priority. Be an exteme frugal person and invest when opportunity present itself.

I am realistic person. Already counted and plan everything. I already know what I need to do. For me, my only problem is RM is so  puke.gif  puke.gif (make my target harder)

Ini sudah OT.
Great that u know what u need to do, and counted and planned everything in advance. But, I hope that u execute what u have planned asap.
The first step is go find a decent job instead of pay too much attention on ur investment.

Some points for u,
1. Saving is good, but u need to have consistent income at the first place. Else wise, what to save? Save the leftover of ur expenses?
2. Investment is good, return n dividend is good. But with a capital of <100K and dividend yield 7%, the profit is only RM7K per year. Can u survive with 7K per year?

That's y, for a young person like u, get a good work, and accumulating ur wealth is more important than look at/time market everyday.

my 2 cents only...
i1899
post Aug 7 2017, 10:17 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(Msxxyy @ Aug 7 2017, 09:53 PM)
Well tats very true.
If he is really waiting for his housemanship, I kinda like wat he is doing now, instead of sitting at home doing ntg for 10 months like all the other kids do.
I don't think he is waiting for housemanship. I remember he got mentioned his stpm result in LYN . As I know, not possible to enroll medical course with that kind of result.

Sorry, OT.
i1899
post Aug 13 2017, 01:24 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Aug 13 2017, 11:42 AM)
I already have RM 25K inside Auntie Lee Sook Yee  wub.gif  wub.gif UTF. I am going to DCA slowly into IDS another RM 25K by end of this year, making a holding of RM 50K in Malaysia centric exposure by year end.

Yes, this is an election theme play. I hope Ah Jib Gor don't call for election so soon, please let me make some money first can boh, Ah Jib Gor?

Just like before my TA Tech was a USD/MYR forex play.

India was a lucky dice throw, after I entered, Modi came into power and Sensex just went ballistic.

Some might think, this Xuzen is speculative and banging on pure luck..... well, it is a calculated risk.

I checked with Morningstar, and KGF & IDS has very poor correlation with TA Tech and Manureits. So, this Malaysia centric UTF, although at this moment does not have the best risk to reward number, I am in it for its poor corr-coeff (R^2) number aka good diversification to my overall port. 

So I have two narratives to follow, one being KGF / IDS offers good diversification aka poor corr-coeff (R^2) value across my overall port; the other is the election thematic play. These narratives, I figured, have given me the confidence to masuk Malaysia centric UTF this time round.

If you do not understand the mumbo - jumbo I wrote above, just remember this then : Algozen™ the crystall ball cakap masok, I pun masok lah!

Xuzen
Thanks for sharing, n good luck to u and all ur followers.

I already dropped KGF and IDS with profit 10% and 15% in less than 5 month. Not plan to buy it back before election, as i found no reason to do it at this moment.

i1899
post Aug 15 2017, 04:09 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(rachy @ Aug 15 2017, 03:26 PM)
Hi, could somebody share what is the difference between all the AmAsia REITs funds? There is like AmAsia Pacific REITs plus, AmAsia Pacific REITs MYR class and another one. What are the major differences?
3 REITs related funds in Amfunds, they are:

AmAsia Pacific REITs MYR class - invest 70-98% in in REITs, 2-30% in liquid asset.
AmAsia Pacific REITs plus - invest 70-98% in REITs, 1-29% in real estate equities and liquid asset.

PRS version is feed into AmAsia Pacific REITs MYR class.

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0502sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:47 AM