1553 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

drew86
post Feb 15 2017, 09:12 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 15 2017, 06:22 PM)
I think I can answer your question. People can just switch from equity > bond > cmf thus earning credits point. Remembr the ninja credit trick? Now is a good time to do it. That way your profit/whole fund is safe if correction happen assuming the person withdraw all out.

Wait for it to hit almost bottom, then use the credits earned to buy units at low price (principal + profit pumped back in) without incurring service charge (use the credit points) rclxms.gif You are also effectively getting more units/price. That way, you will have more profit than let the fund sit there in the red when it return to normal.

Hope you can understand what I am saying. It's like stocks. No different as UT is basically a basket of stocks.

Of course one can sit there and don't do anything.
Did that right after POTUS election. Regretted because the bonds suffered then when equities flourished. Also regretted that my money got stuck in a float from eq>bond and i can't sell off the bonds before it continued to drop further. After that had to transfer the bond from one fund house to another to utilise the credits for the fi>eq switch. But of course all these lag time become meaningless if you know for sure when is the peak and trough. It did however help me understand the credit system to a greater extent, so I hope my experience helps other investors to even better utilise it.

Points to take note of the credit ninja system:
1. Transaction lag time
2. Fund initial investment, minimum holding, minimum redemption amount. (Applies to both fi and eq) this point will be less significant if total investment amount is large.
3. Might need to have bond holdings over a couple of fund houses to fully utilise credits, so local MY bond exposure is inevitable.

As for me, I think I'll let the FM do the buy/sell n market timing crap which I'm very poor at. Can't get lucky all the time. Win some lose some. As long as long term win win.

shankar_dass93
post Feb 15 2017, 09:12 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Feb 15 2017, 08:49 PM)
Very honestly, 10-15% annualized p.a. is not sensible for a passive investor. People are happy when they can get 8% annualized over the very long term. 10-15%...if anyone promise you that, they're lying. Simple enough. Also, if you really want to chase that many returns, you need to go 100% equities and probably only concentrate in two or three high risk/high return funds.
That is something that i agree with you on.
SUSyklooi
post Feb 15 2017, 09:58 PM

8,188 posts

done reduced my
Ponzi 2.0 by 26%
KGF by 18%
EMBF by 26%

moved to BOND/CMF...total 10% of portfolio value.
now it is rebalanced to my intended 2017 portfolio allocation of
Ponzi 2.0 7.5%
KGF 14%
EMBF 12%

AH site error...unable to move 25% Ponzi 1.0 to AHSBF
now having 15%

anyway...just realised that, these moves will not mitigate much in case of corrections were to happens..
for I just moved 10% only...if it drops 10% NAV...only extra 1% of nav will be affected.......just that I foresee to use this money next year...so for shiok sendiri..I prepared it now.

This post has been edited by yklooi: Feb 15 2017, 10:03 PM
skynode
post Feb 15 2017, 10:04 PM

175 posts

Is it uncommon to have IRR > 100%???
I keyed into the excel sheet. ROI looks fine but IRR is way off the chart. Did I miss anything?

And why am I unable to snapshot with Mac Excel. It states there "VBA error : Method or Data Member not found".

This post has been edited by skynode: Feb 15 2017, 10:07 PM
SUSyklooi
post Feb 15 2017, 10:07 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Feb 15 2017, 10:04 PM)
I keyed into the excel sheet.  ROI looks fine but IRR is way off the chart.  Did I miss anything?
I "think" it is common.....if the invested period is < 12 mths, large % to top up are done, large % of gains happened on those large top ups

I just "think" cannot mathematically substantiate my "thinking"
Avangelice
post Feb 15 2017, 10:10 PM

5,271 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ Feb 15 2017, 09:12 PM)
Did that right after POTUS election. Regretted because the bonds suffered then when equities flourished. Also regretted that my money got stuck in a float from eq>bond and i can't sell off the bonds before it continued to drop further. After that had to transfer the bond from one fund house to another to utilise the credits for the fi>eq switch. But of course all these lag time become meaningless if you know for sure when is the peak and trough. It did however help me understand the credit system to a greater extent, so I hope my experience helps other investors to even better utilise it.

Points to take note of the credit ninja system:
1. Transaction lag time
2. Fund initial investment, minimum holding, minimum redemption amount. (Applies to both fi and eq) this point will be less significant if total investment amount is large.
3. Might need to have bond holdings over a couple of fund houses to fully utilise credits, so local MY bond exposure is inevitable.

As for me, I think I'll let the FM do the buy/sell n market timing crap which I'm very poor at. Can't get lucky all the time. Win some lose some. As long as long term win win.
ah yes. I was looking for you. you were the poor sap that did the ninja trick during trump election. how much did you lost from there bro?
skynode
post Feb 15 2017, 10:12 PM

175 posts

I'm unable to snapshot with Mac Excel. It states there "VBA error : Method or Data Member not found"

Any Mac Excel pros here? Would be nice to see a snapshot of my portfolio from time to time. =.=
SUSyklooi
post Feb 15 2017, 10:16 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Feb 15 2017, 10:12 PM)
I'm unable to snapshot with Mac Excel. It states there "VBA error : Method or Data Member not found"

Any Mac Excel pros here?  Would be nice to see a snapshot of my portfolio from time to time.  =.=
perhaps can summon the great idyllrain? notworthy.gif
puchongite
post Feb 15 2017, 10:20 PM

33,586 posts

Any Mac Excel pros here?  Would be nice to see a snapshot of my portfolio from time to time.  =.=
I thought someone already developed a Mac version ? From the message you are obviously still using the windows version.
skynode
post Feb 15 2017, 10:57 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 15 2017, 10:20 PM)
I thought someone already developed a Mac version ? From the message you are obviously still using the windows version.
No. It's the Mac version. Only problem is with the capture snapshot function. Others work perfect.
drew86
post Feb 15 2017, 11:41 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 15 2017, 10:10 PM)
ah yes. I was looking for you. you were the poor sap that did the ninja trick during trump election. how much did you lost from there bro?
Didn't go about with the "what ifs" calculations. One thing for sure I have already more thanrecovered losses from bonds by switching to Esther bond and TA Dana Afif(my proxy to utilise credit for TAGT topups). My "losses" were mostly from switching out of Titans and Ponzi 2.0 then (due to the floats and lag times while trying to go into TAGT and RHBAIF). Both Titans and Ponzi were green then. I think it dipped when i switched out and climbed when my cash is floating in space..pfft!

So yeah there's that. Let bygones be bygones. Valuable lesson learnt. To the future! Huat ah!
drew86
post Feb 15 2017, 11:45 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Feb 15 2017, 09:58 PM)

anyway...just realised that, these moves will not mitigate much in case of corrections were to happens..
for I just moved 10% only...if it drops 10% NAV...only extra 1% of nav will be affected.......just that I foresee to use this money next year...so for shiok sendiri..I prepared it now.
Exactly my point..hence I've been wondering what do you guys mean when u say skim profit. Only way to take profit will be to sell all, pray for NAV to drop and reenter. But if after selling the bulls continue on a stampede then kiss the fund goodbye till the day the bears come knockin
Avangelice
post Feb 15 2017, 11:52 PM

5,271 posts

QUOTE(drew86 @ Feb 15 2017, 11:45 PM)
Exactly my point..hence I've been wondering what do you guys mean when u say skim profit. Only way to take profit will be to sell all, pray for NAV to drop and reenter. But if after selling the bulls continue on a stampede then kiss the fund goodbye till the day the bears come knockin
yep exactly. that's why I'm not selling any units until the entire portfolio is self propelling for the next 5 years to 6 years.

when I hit 38 is when I should be financially free.
kai88
post Feb 15 2017, 11:58 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 12 2017, 08:42 PM)
It's in his blog. doh.gif  Total returns = Dividend + capital gains = 14.xx%
Oh .. at least got positive. Better than many.. However not really outperform some funds out there...
drew86
post Feb 16 2017, 06:40 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 15 2017, 11:52 PM)
yep exactly. that's why I'm not selling any units until the entire portfolio is self propelling for the next 5 years to 6 years.

when I hit 38 is when I should be financially free.
Sounds like u got a pretty solid plan in place. With your practice churning high income for capital injection into your investment vehicles, I have no doubt you will achieve it in no time. All the best bro!
idyllrain
post Feb 16 2017, 09:46 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Feb 15 2017, 10:04 PM)
I keyed into the excel sheet.  ROI looks fine but IRR is way off the chart.  Did I miss anything?

And why am I unable to snapshot with Mac Excel.  It states there "VBA error : Method or Data Member not found".

QUOTE(skynode @ Feb 15 2017, 10:57 PM)
No.  It's the Mac version.  Only problem is with the capture snapshot function.  Others work perfect.
Hmm, the original snapshot code was from Polarzbearz. Anyhow, here are the fixes. Since you probably already have data in your files, you should fix this yourself with the following instructions (it's easy, so don't worry).

Fixing Instructions: Part A

That should fix the error that you saw. Now if you click on the "Capture Snapshot Only" button again you might see another error. This should be another easy fix (see Part B)

Fixing Instructions: Part B

I've only tested on Excel 2011, you can try the same fixes on Excel 2016. Let me know if you encounter issues.

Updated files if you want to start fresh (I recommend you apply the fixes above rather than having to reenter all your data again):
32-bit Excel installations: Attached File  Portfolio_IRR_Mac_Office_2011.xlsm.zip ( 1.89mb ) Number of downloads: 31

64-bit Excel installations: Attached File  Portfolio_IRR_Mac_Office_2016.xlsm.zip ( 1.88mb ) Number of downloads: 45

This post has been edited by idyllrain: May 21 2017, 10:51 PM
SUSic no 851025071234
post Feb 16 2017, 10:32 AM

1,231 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 15 2017, 06:22 PM)
I think I can answer your question. People can just switch from equity > bond > cmf thus earning credits point. Remembr the ninja credit trick? Now is a good time to do it. That way your profit/whole fund is safe if correction happen assuming the person withdraw all out.

Wait for it to hit almost bottom, then use the credits earned to buy units at low price (principal + profit pumped back in) without incurring service charge (use the credit points) rclxms.gif You are also effectively getting more units/price. That way, you will have more profit than let the fund sit there in the red when it return to normal.

Hope you can understand what I am saying. It's like stocks. No different as UT is basically a basket of stocks.

Of course one can sit there and don't do anything.
But if u time the mrket wrong and no correction happens u will lose your investment by buying into higher price of the fund right?
Ramjade
post Feb 16 2017, 10:42 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Feb 16 2017, 10:32 AM)
But if u time the mrket wrong and no correction happens u will lose your investment by buying into higher price of the fund right?
That's right.

That's why there 3 school of thoughs:
(i) leave it on auto pilot
(ii) moniter the market like a hawk
(iii) take profit every now and then (a profit is still a profit - remember that)

For me? I am more of (i) but since I need bullets for SG, so hell yeah, just withdraw while there's still profit.
mattalex
post Feb 16 2017, 11:29 AM

50 posts

Guys, newbie question - when you sell funds on FSM, is there any extra disposal charges or will you get the full bid/redemption price? I know when you buy, there is sales charge as high as 2%.
Ramjade
post Feb 16 2017, 11:33 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(mattalex @ Feb 16 2017, 11:29 AM)
Guys, newbie question - when you sell funds on FSM, is there any extra disposal charges or will you get the full bid/redemption price? I know when you buy, there is sales charge as high as 2%.
No unless you buy bond fynd with exit fees of less than 1 year.

1553 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:41 AM