FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

idyllrain
post Feb 12 2017, 06:08 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(opticc @ Feb 12 2017, 12:17 PM)
wah u manyak fierce leh, u want to chase top perfomer away.

then left only the mediocre who wont challenge any shifu view no good also.
Be careful of reading too much into portfolio performance. Good performance is sometimes a matter of timing. Judging from his own data, his portfolio is barely a couple months old and had the luck of buying in during the Trump rally.

idyllrain
post Feb 16 2017, 09:46 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Feb 15 2017, 10:04 PM)
Is it uncommon to have IRR > 100%???
I keyed into the excel sheet.  ROI looks fine but IRR is way off the chart.  Did I miss anything?

And why am I unable to snapshot with Mac Excel.  It states there "VBA error : Method or Data Member not found".
QUOTE(skynode @ Feb 15 2017, 10:12 PM)
I'm unable to snapshot with Mac Excel. It states there "VBA error : Method or Data Member not found"

Any Mac Excel pros here?  Would be nice to see a snapshot of my portfolio from time to time.  =.=
QUOTE(skynode @ Feb 15 2017, 10:57 PM)
No.  It's the Mac version.  Only problem is with the capture snapshot function.  Others work perfect.
Hmm, the original snapshot code was from Polarzbearz. Anyhow, here are the fixes. Since you probably already have data in your files, you should fix this yourself with the following instructions (it's easy, so don't worry).

Fixing Instructions: Part A

That should fix the error that you saw. Now if you click on the "Capture Snapshot Only" button again you might see another error. This should be another easy fix (see Part B)

Fixing Instructions: Part B

I've only tested on Excel 2011, you can try the same fixes on Excel 2016. Let me know if you encounter issues.

Updated files if you want to start fresh (I recommend you apply the fixes above rather than having to reenter all your data again):
32-bit Excel installations: Attached File  Portfolio_IRR_Mac_Office_2011.xlsm.zip ( 1.89mb ) Number of downloads: 31

64-bit Excel installations: Attached File  Portfolio_IRR_Mac_Office_2016.xlsm.zip ( 1.88mb ) Number of downloads: 45

This post has been edited by idyllrain: May 21 2017, 10:51 PM
idyllrain
post Apr 18 2017, 10:43 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Apr 18 2017, 07:08 PM)
The excel at the first page, when i enter a Transaction Type dividend, the calculation didnt take account the NAV in the calculation. As a result the Unit number is wrong.

Anybody know how to fix the formula?
The formula is not wrong. You need to enter the dividend as the number of units received.
idyllrain
post May 21 2017, 10:48 PM

78 posts

Hi screwedpeep, I uploaded two files in this post: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=83747364

The 2016 file is for 64bit, while the 2011 file is 32bit. My fault for naming them 2011/2016 instead of 32bit/64bit.

AIYH Would you please update the first post with these files instead?

This post has been edited by idyllrain: May 21 2017, 10:52 PM
idyllrain
post May 29 2017, 05:00 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ May 29 2017, 04:25 PM)
I have no access to MYR correlation  cry.gif
You can copy paste the URL in the window of the Morningstar Portfolio X-Ray into a new tab, and change the "USD" at the end of the URL address to "MYR" to make it calculate performance based on Ringgits. Then click on the PDF link to open the PDF report with the correlations and it will be in MYR.
idyllrain
post Jul 28 2017, 07:31 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Jul 28 2017, 11:21 AM)
I have got a technical question to ask.
idyllrain

After I have retired a fund in the Polarbearz worksheet, how come all of my IRR calculations become zero?  The ROI is unaffected though.  Curious on how to fix this?

Did I retire my fund wrongly?  I copied and pasted as instructed.  cry.gif
Yes, most likely your IRR formula is pointing to the wrong ranges. It's very easy to fix:

For individual funds just make sure that
CODE
=XIRR(<investment amount record for that fund>, <dates of investments for that fund>)

This post has been edited by idyllrain: Apr 29 2023, 10:36 AM
idyllrain
post Jul 31 2017, 10:09 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(skynode @ Jul 31 2017, 12:31 AM)
idyllrain

Thank you.
My individual UTF code line is like this.  Formula Example : =IFERROR(XIRR(K8:K15,D8:D15),0)
So far, I have figured out the problem.  Apparently, I can't leave any rows without value in the transaction amount.  After trimming rows, I got back my individual IRR.  This wasn't the case previously

However, my portfolio overall IRR is still missing.  Formula : =XIRR($K$2:K67,$D$2:D67)
It shows as "#NUM!"
How may I fix this?

sweat.gif

Edit : The error goes away if I do not include the inactive fund? Can I email my spreadsheet to you for checking?  I am using Mac Excel.
skynode Sure you can put it in your Dropbox and PM me the link.
idyllrain
post Sep 11 2017, 12:46 PM

78 posts

This post has been edited by idyllrain: Mar 13 2018, 11:11 AM
idyllrain
post Mar 12 2018, 08:01 PM

78 posts

Here's a table of all their factsheets:

Most of the time, the reported 1M return ROI matches the calculation formula (I'm including the 0.1% differences as being the "same" since I don't have data from the actual start of the reporting period); however there are some big discrepancies that I cannot account for.

This post has been edited by idyllrain: Apr 29 2023, 10:35 AM
idyllrain
post Mar 12 2018, 09:38 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 12 2018, 08:34 PM)
hmm.gif I capture my month end profit/loss %  from the managed port from May 2017 till Feb 2018....and I am sure many forummers here do..
but my profit/loss % of end Feb 2018 vs end Jan 2018 is > - 2.5%  variance
to me that is definitely more than the published 1month ROI value...that really puzzle me....
the variance of profit/loss % of my port is not the same as variance of ROI?
hmm.gif maybe it is?
Could that be due to the effect of investment timing/top-ups and subscription and management fees?

In the absence of daily data and information about switch dates it is impossible to calculate actual ROI by using NAV values from the individual funds themselves. My calculation was based on the reported MOM growth of a RM10k portfolio which (I assume) is post-subscription fee and has no management fees deducted from it (should be a very small effect). Even using this calculation you can see there are discrepancies in the reported 1M ROI: the biggest of which is the September and October factsheets where the portfolio value has dropped BUT the reported ROI was a positive. So it is likely that the factsheets contain mistakes. Not the first time from FSM. dry.gif

This post has been edited by idyllrain: Mar 12 2018, 09:39 PM
idyllrain
post Mar 13 2018, 01:36 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Mar 12 2018, 10:01 PM)
see below posts.
Thanks! Here's a quick gut check based on Factsheet Data:

Feb 28 Reported
Portfolio value: RM 10862.46
MYUOBGQEF Weight: 18.7%
MYUOBGQEF Value: RM 10862.46 * 18.7% = RM 2031.28
MYUOBGQEF NAV: RM 0.6383
MYUOBGQEF Units: RM 2031.28 / RM 0.6383 = 3182.33

Calculating proceeds from switch sell/buy
MYUOBGQEF NAV on Feb 14: RM 0.6272
Value gained from sale of MYPRUGLL: RM 0.6272 * 3182.33 = RM 1995.96

MYPRUGLL NAV on Feb 8: RM 0.7347
Units of MYPRUGLL sold: RM 1995.96 / RM 0.7347 = 2716.70

Feb 2 Data
MYPRUGLL NAV: RM 0.7573
MYPRUGLL Units: 2716.70
MYPRUGLL Value: RM 0.7573 * 2716.70 = RM 2057.35

Feb 2 Reported
Portfolio value: RM 10945.85
MYPRUGLL Weight: 17.9%
MYPRUGLL Value: RM 10945.85 * 17.9% = RM 1959.31

Those two numbers should tally but they don't.

idyllrain
post May 7 2018, 02:46 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ May 5 2018, 11:21 PM)
But FSM HK's are using JavaScript which renders the XML reader useless rclxub.gif
polarzbearz On the topic of obtaining fund prices from FSM SG/HK: The new site sends a POST request to a REST API that returns a JSON object; however, the server expects a CSRF token to be passed along with it.

What you need to do is:
  1. Send GET request to daily-price-history-modal.html
  2. Grab the XSRF cookie
  3. Extract XSRF-Token value
  4. Send POST request to https://secure.fundsupermart.com.hk/fsm/res...ber={FUND_CODE} with the X-XSRF-TOKEN header set to XSRF-Token's value.
  5. Parse the JSON with the help of some open source VBA JSON parser...
On the topic of obtaining fund prices from Public Mutual online directly, err, this one requires sending form data to a POST endpoint; which then returns a mess of code that one will have to dig through.

This post has been edited by idyllrain: May 28 2018, 06:33 PM
idyllrain
post May 7 2018, 10:40 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ May 7 2018, 06:32 AM)
Thanks for the pointers! Will dig into it deeper nod.gif
polarzbearz If you want to work on it together, I can help out. We probably should integrate FSM SG/HK into the spreadsheet anyway since it's a matter of time before FSM MY upgrades to the new platform.
idyllrain
post May 28 2018, 03:22 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ May 28 2018, 02:38 PM)
[attachmentid=9828582]

I added 0.87 to the manual adjusted value to get the correct value as FSM. If not the transaction amount value in excel will be wrong.

Thanks for your help.
You had to add the 0.87 to adjust because your Selling NAV price is not correct:

Buy on 10-Apr @ RM0.6206

Using your 4335.74 units sold on 10-Apr

Sell @ RM0.6206 = RM2690.76
Sell @ RM0.6204 = RM2689.89 (in your Excel)
Difference = 2690.76 - 2689.89 = 0.87

NAV prices around that date were RM 0.6206 (https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundinfo/dailyPricesHistory.tpl?id=MYLIBABF)

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ May 26 2018, 11:17 AM)
I notice that Polarzbearz excel doesn't track quite as same as FSM system

In FSM, when you withdraw it will also redeem a certain amount of profit/loss with it. The amount redeem is always equal to the ratio u withdraw. So the profit/loss number changes. While in the excel this number remains the same because the transaction amount remains the same and is not adjusted to the redeem value of the profit/loss portion.
This is probably because FSM performs its cost/amount calculations by using the Weighted Average NAV Cost and Current NAV values. This has the upside of keeping your ROI% numbers constant as you buy/sell. As you can see below, redeeming 1/3 of the total amount of units also reduces profit by 1/3.

Like so:

This post has been edited by idyllrain: Apr 29 2023, 10:34 AM
idyllrain
post May 28 2018, 06:15 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ May 28 2018, 04:54 PM)
Thanks for pointing that out. My mistake was not the NAV btw, is I didnt update the date correctly. Actual sold date is 23 May. I have updated the correct screen shot in my post above.
hmm.gif Then I have no idea... perhaps it's your lucky day that FSM sold your units RM0.0002 higher! tongue.gif

The Excel workbook's formula to calculate the RM amount redeemed is straightforward: Units Sold (rounded to 2 decimals) x Selling NAV + Transaction Adjustment.
idyllrain
post May 29 2018, 11:31 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ May 29 2018, 08:51 PM)
[attachmentid=9830146]

[attachmentid=9830147]

Here is the screenshot. Thanks
Remove the 0.87 adjustment and you'll get a value that is exactly the same as the one in FSM.

This post has been edited by idyllrain: Apr 29 2023, 10:33 AM
idyllrain
post May 30 2018, 12:50 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ May 29 2018, 11:45 PM)
FSM shows Cost is at 25,524.24
Excel shows Cost/Transaction Amt is at 25,525.11
Ah now I get what you mean.

Polarzbearz "Entrance Value" is not the same as FSM Cost; here if you buy RM10k @ RM1 NAV and sell all RM2 NAV, Entrance Value would be -RM10k (reflecting that you gained RM10k). Hence if you perform multiple buy/sell transactions, your Entrance Value would be below your original cost and thus "realizes" the profit. This isn't an error in the underlying calculations, just a different way of interpreting the data. Ideally though, you shouldn't be doing manual adjustments to the entries in the Excel sheet since that will introduce an actual error to your data.

Converting the file to the FSM method would introduce a different effect to the ROI: realized profits would be counted as input cost. For example, buying RM10k @ RM1 NAV, then sell 5000 units at RM2 NAV, then use the proceeds to buy again would mean your input cost is now RM15k (RM5k remainder cost* + RM10k realized from the 5000 units sold). This sequence of actions would immediately reduce calculated ROI (increased cost, constant value); on the flip-side, in Polarzbearz's Excel the calculated ROI would immediately increase (decreased cost, constant value).

In summary, Polarzbearz treats realized profits as reducing cost, while FSM treats realized profits as increasing cost. Just two different perspectives. See also the bottom half of this post for the different approaches.

* Remainder cost is calculated by: Total Cost - (Units Sold * Weighted Average Cost)

This post has been edited by idyllrain: May 30 2018, 12:51 AM
idyllrain
post Oct 12 2018, 11:06 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(ssajnani @ Oct 12 2018, 09:43 AM)
No one is talking about unable to take the heat or education. Taking the heat is normal in investing. We all did this year.
And we all accept education with open arms.
If you read my post, all I said was do not be insensitive in celebrating each time market crashes. I am sure many are losing money so no need to be in their face type of person.

Everytime I see market go down, I see many people mentioning their loss and I feel bad eventhough for me market going down at the moment is good since I have removed my funds. But do you see me celebrating about it?
What is wrong in having little consideration to others ??Nothing to do being a ninja zombie or any stupid makes it want to give it. Just be a little human. That's all !!
Encouraging an a hole to be an even bigger a hole.
Reminds me of this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A1RrEph0SNo
idyllrain
post Dec 21 2018, 01:59 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 21 2018, 10:09 AM)
FSM revamped their page?

I noticed the logo changed to FSMOne.

When I put https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/, it redirects to https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/fsmone/home
Oh... so we’ll need to update the Excel macros polarzbearz. Btw, a cursory glance at FSMONE MY’s network requests indicate that their REST API usage is different vs FSMONE SG. Let me know when you’re working on this.

This post has been edited by idyllrain: Dec 21 2018, 01:59 PM
idyllrain
post Dec 21 2018, 05:11 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Dec 21 2018, 04:26 PM)
thumbsup.gif  notworthy.gif

hi, idyllrain....just for your info....I still managed to get the 21 Dec NAVs for my 10+ funds from FSM through the "macro"....not sure about other things...
Thanks yklooi. That’s good to know. It gives us some tome to incorporate changes to accommodate the new site. I’ll discuss with polarzbearz to see if we can make this transition as smooth as possible for everyone using the spreadsheet.

-- EDIT --

As of 8:30PM, we can no longer get NAV prices from the old link at https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi....tpl?id=MYKNGGF This means that if you're using the old Windows or Mac versions of this spreadsheet, it will no longer retrieve the latest prices since that page is no longer there.

-- EDIT2 --

I have a working solution ready for Windows. If you're feeling adventurous or impatient, below are the steps to modify your own copy of the Excel Spreadsheet to cater for changes in the new FSMOne site. By doing this yourself, you won't have to deal with migrating your existing data into a new updated file. It's pretty straightforward:

MAKE A COPY OF YOUR FILE BEFORE YOU DO THIS! Just in case...

Attached is an updated base file for Excel 2016 for Windows. Note that this file does not contain functionality that polarzbearz added when she published her beta version a while ago. This is merely the previous spreadsheet with the FSM retrieval code updated. If you do not want to start afresh, I would recommend following the instructions above to update your own file.

Attached File  My_Portfolio_IRR_calculator___Windows.zip ( 1.88mb ) Number of downloads: 93

-- EDIT3 --

Instructions for Mac version are available here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=91308800

-- EDIT4 --

I updated the instructions and base file above.

Changes
- Switched to using a different date value in the API response.
- Fixed timezone issues in date calculation
- Optimized regular expressions
- Removed TLS1.2 connection setting

Thanks to yklooi for discovering these issues. I should've been more careful. Those who followed my instructions above will have to redo them again. I'm terribly sorry for the trouble; please forgive me.

This post has been edited by idyllrain: Apr 29 2023, 10:49 AM

0.5335sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:11 PM