1554 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Avangelice
post Mar 17 2017, 04:22 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Mar 17 2017, 04:09 PM)
Its the only red in my portfolio, just checked, its -1.45%

If 2 years doesnt perform, i so gonna switch to manulife reit
here's an example.

I suck at finding charts from Google so I had the off day to do this.

what am I saying now the "window" of performance you give it maybe the time it is underperforming but if you look at the long term chart the fund is actually doing alright. that's why we do not look short term but rather long term. I'm not in the finance industry but having a long hindsight helps.
dasecret
post Mar 17 2017, 04:25 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 17 2017, 03:03 PM)
Too bad we are not hitting 20% per month. Nonetheless, it is another good month for all  rclxms.gif

Half a month only, my ROI already exceeded another four figure liao.  thumbup.gif

Go India go! Go TA GTF go!

Xuzen
You know I don't like to brag, but I just made 4 figure in a day, with 1 fund blush.gif

FSM's fund pick of the month is really powerrr
mois
post Mar 17 2017, 04:29 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 04:25 PM)
You know I don't like to brag, but I just made 4 figure in a day, with 1 fund  blush.gif

FSM's fund pick of the month is really powerrr
Platinum member ka? Hehe. I think here mostly silver/gold member.
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 04:30 PM

24,385 posts

Do like me. I hold both just for the fun to see which one perform better. So far, if I am going to continue staying with FSM MY I will most likely switch to manulife by end of this year.

Since holding amasia, my returns are ~1% -> (-) doh.gif And that's almost 6 months.
puchongite
post Mar 17 2017, 04:32 PM

33,696 posts

Latest NAV :-

https://www.aminvest.com/eng/IndividualInve...FundPrices.aspx

16 March MYR 0.7744

15 March MYR 0.7649

Up 1.24%
dasecret
post Mar 17 2017, 04:34 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Mar 17 2017, 04:29 PM)
Platinum member ka? Hehe. I think here mostly silver/gold member.
Nola, still very far from platinum status

The fund increased by 2.4% overnight, so you can work backwards on how much investment it takes to hit 4 figure increase in a day. Not that a lot also

But this fund, really love hate relationship... when it goes down it really freefall
dasecret
post Mar 17 2017, 04:36 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 17 2017, 04:32 PM)
Latest NAV :-

https://www.aminvest.com/eng/IndividualInve...FundPrices.aspx

16 March MYR  0.7744

15 March MYR 0.7649

Up 1.24%
Now you make me wonder if the fund price is calculated correctly, all their funds increase by so much in a day
Steven7
post Mar 17 2017, 04:39 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 04:19 PM)
Answer to your note - There are ASx funds that allows non-bumi to invest in, they are usually fully subscribed but you can still try your luck to place your orders. Especially now there's online portal to do it. Look for the Amanah Saham thread and the folks will guide you accordingly

As for FSM MY, personally I'd go for it. Yes, they charge one off sales charge for equity funds, but that means no platform fees. So long run it can work out to be cheaper. There's also switching ninja trick that makes sure you only pay sales charge once for every ringgit you invest in equity fund. but it's tedious la

Unfortunately FSM MY does not offer robo advisory yet, so you will need to figure out what fund you want to invest in and buy them accordingly. There's a list of favorites among the forumers here. Crystal ball's prediction is particularly popular. I can list you mine too but I take no responsibility if you lose money following my recommendation  tongue.gif
Huh good advice, nice to see you here also. Maybe I will go into FSM MY then, just out of curiosity what is this ninja trick you talked about? BTW where can I see FSM MY fund pick of the month as I only saw the recommendations for 16/17.

BTW can I get a sneak at your list, no blame if anything happens biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Steven7: Mar 17 2017, 05:01 PM
j.passing.by
post Mar 17 2017, 04:40 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Mar 16 2017, 06:43 PM)
To those who likes to do "trading" on their UT funds... this hedge fund says it is a sound strategy and lots to gain than buy-and-hold as "predicting volatility (in the) long term is completely random".

“We trade with a one-day horizon as predicting volatility long term is completely random,” Rune Madsen, founder and portfolio manager of the $17 million fund, said in an interview on Monday.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...orrow-literally
Go in, go out... every fortnight 1 or 2 percent gain... by the end of the year... drool.gif rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 16 2017, 08:58 PM)
worst trading platform. t+2 lag time along with up to 2% service charge at each transaction. better stick to stock trading la. 0.1% per transaction
Why not? What has trading got to do with "lag time".

Don't you know anything about free switchings with zero switching fees?

Go in... go out... take profti now... top up this month, skim profit next... all part of doing timing and trading... isn't it what most of the discussions here about?

QUOTE(janice17 @ Mar 17 2017, 02:45 PM)
cimb greater china up by 1.68%!
how is the asian pac market today?   shocking.gif
Forward pricing... ask also no point, today's transaction deadline already over. smile.gif

==========

To make fast money, must speculate and make some predictions... how will the market be tomorrow, will it go up or down next week... then switch in or out accordingly.

May the odds be ever in your favour.

One thing for sure... bet small, win small; bet big, win big. No guts, no glory!

-----------------------

future's so bright i gotta wear shade cool2.gif

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Mar 17 2017, 04:43 PM
puchongite
post Mar 17 2017, 04:44 PM

33,696 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 04:36 PM)
Now you make me wonder if the fund price is calculated correctly, all their funds increase by so much in a day
The possibility is always there but for yesterday's Nav, it was a big jump for many funds.

Your all time favourite ponzi 1 increased 2.4% and so others increased only half of it. wink.gif

vincabby
post Mar 17 2017, 04:54 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Mar 17 2017, 04:22 PM)
here's an example.

I suck at finding charts from Google so I had the off day to do this.

what am I saying now the "window" of performance you give it maybe the time it is underperforming but if you look at the long term chart the fund is actually doing alright. that's why we do not look short term but rather long term. I'm not in the finance industry but having a long hindsight helps.
actually that graph is drawn really well. if i am back in the form six days that deserve full marks.
puchongite
post Mar 17 2017, 04:55 PM

33,696 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Mar 17 2017, 04:40 PM)
Go in, go out... every fortnight 1 or 2 percent gain... by the end of the year...  drool.gif  rolleyes.gif
Why not? What has trading got to do with "lag time".

Don't you know anything about free switchings with zero switching fees?

Go in... go out... take profti now... top up this month, skim profit next... all part of doing timing and trading... isn't it what most of the discussions here about?
Forward pricing... ask also no point, today's transaction deadline already over.  smile.gif

==========

To make fast money, must speculate and make some predictions... how will the market be tomorrow, will it go up or down next week... then switch in or out accordingly.

May the odds be ever in your favour.

One thing for sure... bet small, win small; bet big, win big. No guts, no glory!

-----------------------

future's so bright i gotta wear shade  cool2.gif
Oh boy, please be warned. That's advise for shark. If you are a small prawn, behave like one. LOL.

This post has been edited by puchongite: Mar 17 2017, 04:56 PM
SUSDavid83
post Mar 17 2017, 05:22 PM

52,874 posts

Ponzi 1.0 breaches 1.7000 mark yesterday after gained +0.0170
dasecret
post Mar 17 2017, 05:22 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Mar 17 2017, 04:39 PM)
Huh good advice, nice to see you here also. Maybe I will go into FSM MY then, just out of curiosity what is this ninja trick you talked about? BTW where can I see FSM MY fund pick of the month as I only saw the recommendations for 16/17.

BTW can I get a sneak at your list, no blame if anything happens biggrin.gif
Fund choice of the month is published as an article, you can see it on the home page under Funds and personal finance. This month's
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...arch-2017--8056

Ninja trick basically mean making use of the credit system that FSM MY has, that everytime you intraswitch within the same fundhouse from an equity fund to a bond fund, you get credit points so that the next time you intraswitch from the bond fund back to equity fund you don't have to pay sales charge again

Some forummer discovered that say if you want to switch from EQ fund from fund house A to EQ fund in fundhouse B which is an interswitch, traditionally you'd need to pay sales charge
But if you are not time sensitive, you can do the following
EQ fund in fundhouse A intra-switch to bond fun in fundhouse A (get credit point)
Then bond fund in fundhouse A interswitch to bond fund in fundhouse B (no sales charge)
Bond fund in fund house B intraswitch to equity fund in fund house B (utilise credit point)

Trouble with this is, it takes about T+4 for each transaction to be recorded before you can move to the next transaction; so all in would take you maybe 2 weeks to complete and by then the prices would have fluctuated and you may lose out as a result. That's the cost of trying to save sales charge

Some of my personal fav includes:
Affin Hwang Select bond fund (aka Esther bond) - stable and around 6% annualised return; some exposure in both MY and asian bonds
Affin Hwang Select Asia (Quantum) fund (aka ponzi1.0)- small and medium cap; some exposure in both MY and ASEAN equity
RHB Asian income fund - mainly bond and REITs, fairly stable; but you can buy the mother fund in FSM SG also
CIMB Asia Pacific Dynamic Income (aka ponzi2.0)- Asian equity fund; quite consistent and covers different type of companies than ponzi 1.0
CIMB global titans fund - developed market equities (US, Europe, Japan); the better ones among the global funds
EI Small cap (aka kapchai) - Msia small cap
RHB Islamic bond - local sukuk

Since you have lots of exposure on asia and global funds I'd recommend for FSM MY you focus on those that you can't buy in FSM SG; particularly Esther bond, ponzi 1.0, kapchai

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 17 2017, 04:44 PM)
The possibility is always there but for yesterday's Nav, it was a big jump for many funds.

Your all time favourite ponzi 1 increased 2.4% and so others increased only half of it. wink.gif
ponzi 1 only increase by 1%; it's Asia Pac Eq income that increase by 2.4%. Not quite my fav fund, but did make money recently
puchongite
post Mar 17 2017, 05:30 PM

33,696 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 05:22 PM)

ponzi 1 only increase by 1%; it's Asia Pac Eq income that increase by 2.4%. Not quite my fav fund, but did make money recently
Okay. Understood !

Huat arh !

Steven7
post Mar 17 2017, 06:02 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 05:22 PM)
Fund choice of the month is published as an article, you can see it on the home page under Funds and personal finance. This month's
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...arch-2017--8056

Ninja trick basically mean making use of the credit system that FSM MY has, that everytime you intraswitch within the same fundhouse from an equity fund to a bond fund, you get credit points so that the next time you intraswitch from the bond fund back to equity fund you don't have to pay sales charge again

Some forummer discovered that say if you want to switch from EQ fund from fund house A to EQ fund in fundhouse B which is an interswitch, traditionally you'd need to pay sales charge
But if you are not time sensitive, you can do the following
EQ fund in fundhouse A intra-switch to bond fun in fundhouse A (get credit point)
Then bond fund in fundhouse A interswitch to bond fund in fundhouse B (no sales charge)
Bond fund in fund house B intraswitch to equity fund in fund house B (utilise credit point)

Trouble with this is, it takes about T+4 for each transaction to be recorded before you can move to the next transaction; so all in would take you maybe 2 weeks to complete and by then the prices would have fluctuated and you may lose out as a result. That's the cost of trying to save sales charge

Some of my personal fav includes:
Affin Hwang Select bond fund (aka Esther bond) - stable and around 6% annualised return; some exposure in both MY and asian bonds
Affin Hwang Select Asia (Quantum) fund (aka ponzi1.0)- small and medium cap; some exposure in both MY and ASEAN equity
RHB Asian income fund - mainly bond and REITs, fairly stable; but you can buy the mother fund in FSM SG also
CIMB Asia Pacific Dynamic Income (aka ponzi2.0)- Asian equity fund; quite consistent and covers different type of companies than ponzi 1.0
CIMB global titans fund - developed market equities (US, Europe, Japan); the better ones among the global funds
EI Small cap (aka kapchai) - Msia small cap
RHB Islamic bond - local sukuk

Since you have lots of exposure on asia and global funds I'd recommend for FSM MY you focus on those that you can't buy in FSM SG; particularly Esther bond, ponzi 1.0, kapchai
That ninja trick..is very tedious. Thanks for the education, won't gonna try it tho.

Thanks for the comprehensive list and justifications, do you think its a good time to buy in on those funds right now? BTW how often do you switch funds or what scenario would make you switch? I am asking this because of the associated switching fee and I think it would accumulate to quite some amount.
dasecret
post Mar 17 2017, 06:02 PM

1,498 posts

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...ia-Pacific-8124

Looks like no one posted this yet? The East Msians, please go and attend n bring your auntie and uncles also; promote to them so they would switch from Public Mutual to FSM cool2.gif
TSAIYH
post Mar 17 2017, 06:20 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 06:02 PM)

Looks like no one posted this yet? The East Msians, please go and attend n bring your auntie and uncles also; promote to them so they would switch from Public Mutual to FSM  cool2.gif
Wa, bilingual sessions some more drool.gif
SUSDavid83
post Mar 17 2017, 06:21 PM

52,874 posts

My portfolio laggard is Kenanga Asia Pacific Total Return Fund. IRR is 4.4% since 2015. ROI is 8.6%

Thinking out selling it off. hmm.gif
ironman16
post Mar 17 2017, 06:32 PM

2,437 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 06:02 PM)

Looks like no one posted this yet? The East Msians, please go and attend n bring your auntie and uncles also; promote to them so they would switch from Public Mutual to FSM  cool2.gif
The problem is if aunty n uncle can't see office like PM, they won't feel secure. Is there any possible that FSM will open a branch at EM ?

1554 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:20 AM