475 Pages « < 423 424 425 426 427 > » Bottom

AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

SSJBen
post Nov 11 2021, 03:27 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Nov 11 2021, 01:56 PM)
Probably enough to claw back the lead in some gaming benchmarks (some titles benefit a lot from memory latency and show huge benefits on Samsung B-die with low timings or specialty CPUs with high cache like Intel's Broadwell quadcores), no improvement in other tools. Might be harder to cool too.
It's made for people who are on Zen 2 who has a good X570 board, good b-die DDR4s and not wanting to wait until Zen 4 releases in Q4 2022 because FOMO.

Honestly, it's a pointless release just like Coffee Lake Refresh was.
Bonchi
post Nov 11 2021, 03:37 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 11 2021, 03:27 PM)
It's made for people who are on Zen 2 who has a good X570 board, good b-die DDR4s and not wanting to wait until Zen 4 releases in Q4 2022 because FOMO.

Or rocketlake
yimingwuzere
post Nov 11 2021, 03:58 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 11 2021, 03:27 PM)

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Nov 11 2021, 03:37 PM)
Or rocketlake
Coffee Lake Refresh has 2 extra cores, RKL added PCIE4 and AVX-512 for those niche users who wanted it.

Zen 2 XT was just Zen 2 with better bins.
SSJBen
post Nov 11 2021, 04:15 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Nov 11 2021, 03:58 PM)
Coffee Lake Refresh has 2 extra cores, RKL added PCIE4 and AVX-512 for those niche users who wanted it.

Zen 2 XT was just Zen 2 with better bins.
It's practically still Skylake lol. There was no need for Coffee Lake and Coffee Lake refresh to even exist, they could have just gone straight to Comet Lake but Intel was LCLY at the time.

Yes Zen 2 XT was also a pointless release, even more so when it went AWOL just 2 months after launch.
Bonchi
post Nov 11 2021, 07:33 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 11 2021, 04:15 PM)
It's practically still Skylake lol. There was no need for Coffee Lake and Coffee Lake refresh to even exist, they could have just gone straight to Comet Lake but Intel was LCLY at the time.

Yes Zen 2 XT was also a pointless release, even more so when it went AWOL just 2 months after launch.
Yeap if they did that then we would have raptorlake today and alderlake last year lol.. but owell, when you have a bad ceo, no matter how good your engineers are, it wont be fruitful.
yimingwuzere
post Nov 11 2021, 10:10 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Nov 11 2021, 07:33 PM)
Yeap if they did that then we would have raptorlake today and alderlake last year lol.. but owell, when you have a bad ceo, no matter how good your engineers are, it wont be fruitful.
If Intel wasn't too ambitious with their 10nm process with their failed experiments on cobalt etc:

Q4 2017 - Cannon Lake instead of Coffee Lake
2018 - Ice Lake desktop instead of Rocket Lake 2.5 years later
2019 - Tiger Lake
2020 - Tiger Lake shrunk to Intel 7nm
2021 - Alder Lake on Intel 7nm, not "Intel 7" that's actually their 10nm process

To what extent is the issue due to their old CEO and not their fab chiefs? I don't know.
Bonchi
post Nov 12 2021, 01:01 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Nov 11 2021, 10:10 PM)
If Intel wasn't too ambitious with their 10nm process with their failed experiments on cobalt etc:

2019 - Tiger Lake
2021 - Alder Lake on Intel 7nm, not "Intel 7" that's actually their 10nm process

To what extent is the issue due to their old CEO and not their fab chiefs? I don't know.
He was mostly to blame on it due to redirecting all the funding to mobile chips, cloud computing business, autonomous vehicles, augmented reality and many many more which we know all are failed projects..... also funding his political career. So yeah.... to the point he was actually blamed officially and sacked.
Skylinestar
post Nov 12 2021, 10:15 AM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

Here we go again

AMD Ryzen CPUs Could Be in Threat From Raptoreum Crypto Miners
https://techdator.net/amd-ryzen-cpus-could-...-crypto-miners/
SSJBen
post Nov 12 2021, 07:51 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Nov 11 2021, 10:10 PM)

2019 - Tiger Lake

Previous CEO was a clown.

Current CEO is actually an engineer first, business man second. He was one of the key pillars that led Intel to dominance with Conroe after the joke that was Pentium D.

Intel hobbled down the stairs after Haswell actually. Remember Broadwell? Oh wait, it barely existed. They were lucky AMD was a shit show at the time, otherwise Devil's Canyon would have been Intel's downfall instead of having leeway until Skylake.
Bonchi
post Nov 12 2021, 07:53 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 12 2021, 07:51 PM)
Previous CEO was a clown.

Current CEO is actually an engineer first, business man second. He was one of the key pillars that led Intel to dominance with Conroe after the joke that was Pentium D.

Intel hobbled down the stairs after Haswell actually. Remember Broadwell? Oh wait, it barely existed. They were lucky AMD was a shit show at the time, otherwise Devil's Canyon would have been Intel's downfall instead of having leeway until Skylake.
Funding black education, all black female gaming team or whatever Social justice rubbish and community services instead of focusing on what intel suppose to do lolol.
terradrive
post Nov 14 2021, 07:37 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

new crypto coin extremely profitable for ryzen 3000 & 5000 series, jaga-jaga shortage of ryzen chips
SUSEBBattlefield
post Nov 15 2021, 09:27 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Nov 14 2021, 07:37 PM)
new crypto coin extremely profitable for ryzen 3000 & 5000 series, jaga-jaga shortage of ryzen chips
CPU mining apa?
my 5800 now used by 10 year olds for zoom only sweat.gif sweat.gif
Bonchi
post Nov 15 2021, 10:17 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Nov 15 2021, 09:27 AM)
CPU mining apa?
my 5800 now used by 10 year olds for zoom  only  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
My 5800 is being used to watch other remote desktops to monitor server health laugh.gif
terradrive
post Nov 15 2021, 10:21 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Nov 15 2021, 09:27 AM)
CPU mining apa?
my 5800 now used by 10 year olds for zoom  only  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
got lor i won't say nanti kena tiao
SUSEBBattlefield
post Nov 15 2021, 11:26 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Nov 15 2021, 10:17 AM)
My 5800 is being used to watch other remote desktops to monitor server health laugh.gif
tomorrow buy royce rolls to buy vegetables at local market rclxm9.gif
greyshadow
post Nov 15 2021, 12:07 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 12 2021, 10:15 AM)
Here we go again

AMD Ryzen CPUs Could Be in Threat From Raptoreum Crypto Miners
https://techdator.net/amd-ryzen-cpus-could-...-crypto-miners/
just tried mining with my old AMD Ryzen 3700X vs new Intel i9-11900KF

my old 3700X stock mining performance on stock fan is on par with the i9 with AIO Cooler laugh.gif
it's even slightly faster laugh.gif

and damn me! the result aren't bad after 1 day of mining with both, waaay better return than what you can get from the nicehash or XMR mining

if this catches on, expect more miner grabbing up the Ryzen 9 sweat.gif

SSJBen
post Nov 15 2021, 02:15 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Yup, glad I kept my 3900x and 5900x. Mining with them to fund for Raptor Lake and Lovelace.
Currylaksa
post Nov 17 2021, 11:38 AM

1,616 posts

Raptoreum looks like another poorly-coded dead-end like Chia.

Personally I don't think AMD CPU supplies will be in jeopardy.
SSJBen
post Nov 18 2021, 02:22 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

5900x and 5950x are still being sold at scalper prices anyway, no difference whether people buy it up or not for mining.

RTM mining is very nice on Zen 2 and 3 I must say though. ~70c no AC room with 3.5 - 4k h/s average using AVX workload.
iZuDeeN
post Nov 24 2021, 10:44 AM

3,466 posts

there is no new AGESA update since last Sept?

475 Pages « < 423 424 425 426 427 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:27 AM