475 Pages « < 425 426 427 428 429 > » Bottom

AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

fujkenasai
post Dec 3 2021, 12:45 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Nov 26 2021, 03:20 PM)
year end hand itchy planning for upgrade the B450 mobo and maybe the 3700X CPU as well

checked online local price
CPU price still reasonable, still on the high side, but not much scalping there compared to last year
but celaka X570 mobo price is still ridiculous  shakehead.gif

buying from Amazon + shipping + tax also still cheaper than buying local  doh.gif
our local sellers really reaping alot from us ya. stock + shipping + tax still cheaper than wut they sell wth
fujkenasai
post Dec 3 2021, 12:56 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(ReaperX @ Nov 26 2021, 10:07 PM)
Nice, care to share the Amazon link?
anyone checked out HK sellers?
recently i bought a 18TB hdd still cheaper than amazon
play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=networld.price.app&hl=en&gl=US
clovercliff
post Feb 8 2022, 10:06 AM

121 posts

when will Zen4 cpu availble in malaysia?
greyshadow
post Feb 21 2022, 10:23 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

gotten an Ryzen 9 5900X "free"
so building my 2nd rig with leftover parts from previous upgrade

Mobo: ASRock Steel Legend B450
Case: NZXT 510
Cooler: AMD Stock Wraith Prism

The case and mobo was from my old 3700X rig, it run fine without any excessive heat issue, but with this 5900X combo, even I didn't get thermal throttle, but seeing the temp constantly at 90C ++ at full load at making me uneasy

so I gotten a Scythe Fuma 2 and replace the stock cooler, and temp only dropped to 83C range, still kinda high for me, was hoping to get around 75C range

my other rig running 5950x with Cooler master ML280 AIO, max temp is at 62C at full load

wonder what's wrong here? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Feb 21 2022, 10:24 PM
Benefon
post Feb 21 2022, 10:30 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Feb 21 2022, 10:23 PM)

The case and mobo was from my old 3700X rig, it run fine without any excessive heat issue, but with this 5900X combo, even I didn't get thermal throttle, but seeing the temp constantly at 90C ++ at full load at making me uneasy

so I gotten a Scythe Fuma 2 and replace the stock cooler, and temp only dropped to 83C range, still kinda high for me, was hoping to get around 75C range

my other rig running 5950x with Cooler master ML280 AIO, max temp is at 62C at full load

5900x need 360mm AIO at least to cooling down
Benefon
post Feb 21 2022, 10:31 PM

4,800 posts

Duplicated

This post has been edited by Benefon: Feb 21 2022, 10:31 PM
Bonchi
post Feb 22 2022, 09:29 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Feb 21 2022, 10:23 PM)

Should be the Bios of that b450 making the cpu boosting too sensitively. AMD and shitty inconsistent bios berpisah tiada.
greyshadow
post Feb 22 2022, 09:43 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Feb 22 2022, 09:29 AM)
Should be the Bios of that b450 making the cpu boosting too sensitively. AMD and shitty inconsistent bios berpisah tiada.
so mobo could be the culprit then? hmm.gif
but I was farming Raptoreum with CPUminer, hence it's always at 100% tongue.gif

I'll try reapply the TIM tonight, I also suspect could be too little TIM as I was applying just bare minimum, left only a bit of Kyronaut from previous rig tongue.gif

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Feb 22 2022, 09:44 AM
Bonchi
post Feb 22 2022, 09:46 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Feb 22 2022, 09:43 AM)

I'll try reapply the TIM tonight, I also suspect could be too little TIM as I was applying just bare minimum, left only a bit of Kyronaut from previous rig tongue.gif
Thermal paste application wont make it 20C difference unless it's a mounting issue.
SSJBen
post Feb 22 2022, 04:23 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Feb 22 2022, 09:43 AM)
but I was farming Raptoreum with CPUminer, hence it's always at 100% tongue.gif

CPUMiner is trash. Use XMRig instead.

My 5900x and 3900x only hitting 75c max mining RTM, both only equipped with a NH-D15s. Don't even need 360mm AIO.
greyshadow
post Feb 22 2022, 04:59 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 22 2022, 04:23 PM)
CPUMiner is trash. Use XMRig instead.

My 5900x and 3900x only hitting 75c max mining RTM, both only equipped with a NH-D15s. Don't even need 360mm AIO.
didn't know XMRig added ghostrider already, seems better than cpuminer, thanks for the headsup! thumbup.gif

if your D15 hitting only 75c, meaning something is wrong with mine already, gotta reseat the cooler and reapply the TIM tonight while changing to XMRig
nyunyu
post Feb 24 2022, 09:49 PM

His Royal Highness
1,394 posts

Anyone looking for a downgrade from 5900X to 5800X? I have 5800X and looking for 5900X smile.gif
SUSEBBattlefield
post Feb 24 2022, 10:51 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Feb 24 2022, 09:49 PM)
Anyone looking for a downgrade from 5900X to 5800X? I have 5800X and looking for 5900X smile.gif
FX5900 ok? brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
Ronin_Amin
post Feb 27 2022, 12:31 PM

490 posts

Hi. Noticed my Ryzen 7 3700x idle temp is around 60+ and while load is around 70+. Is this normal temp or should I do something to lower it?? Not overclocked and using default cooler.
SSJBen
post Feb 28 2022, 04:27 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ Feb 27 2022, 12:31 PM)
Hi. Noticed my Ryzen 7 3700x idle temp is around 60+ and while load is around 70+. Is this normal temp or should I do something to lower it?? Not overclocked and using default cooler.
For a stock cooler those temps are normal.

Yes you can always spend for a bigger air cooler, go for AIO or go custom loop. The lower the temps for Zen 2/3, the faster it performs.
Ronin_Amin
post Feb 28 2022, 10:15 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 28 2022, 04:27 PM)
For a stock cooler those temps are normal.

Yes you can always spend for a bigger air cooler, go for AIO or go custom loop. The lower the temps for Zen 2/3, the faster it performs.
What about changing thermal paste after 4 years already now. Would that give me any significant decreases in temperature?
SSJBen
post Feb 28 2022, 11:52 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ Feb 28 2022, 10:15 PM)
What about changing thermal paste after 4 years already now. Would that give me any significant decreases in temperature?
Yes, absolutely change the thermal paste if you're going to change the cooler. It's conventional wisdom not to re-use thermal paste.

EDIT-
I suggest to use thermal paste that are not susceptible to "pump-out" effect, so higher viscosity paste like Gelid GC-Extreme instead of the typical low viscosity Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Mar 1 2022, 12:23 AM
Ronin_Amin
post Mar 1 2022, 05:54 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 28 2022, 11:52 PM)
Yes, absolutely change the thermal paste if you're going to change the cooler. It's conventional wisdom not to re-use thermal paste.

EDIT-
I suggest to use thermal paste that are not susceptible to "pump-out" effect, so higher viscosity paste like Gelid GC-Extreme instead of the typical low viscosity Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut.
What if I don't plan on changing the cooler? Is it still advisable to change thermal paste or just leave it alone?
SSJBen
post Mar 1 2022, 06:21 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ Mar 1 2022, 05:54 PM)
What if I don't plan on changing the cooler? Is it still advisable to change thermal paste or just leave it alone?
Generally it is wise to change thermal paste after 1 or 2 years of usage. Thermal paste may have been "pumped out" towards the edges of the CPU IHS, leaving not very much in the middle which is where the chiplet and IOD is.
Ronin_Amin
post Mar 1 2022, 10:10 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Mar 1 2022, 06:21 PM)
Generally it is wise to change thermal paste after 1 or 2 years of usage. Thermal paste may have been "pumped out" towards the edges of the CPU IHS, leaving not very much in the middle which is where the chiplet and IOD is.
Gotcha, only thing is that putting on the default was so hard and I was so scared breaking the lever that I have been putting off applying that new thermal paste

475 Pages « < 425 426 427 428 429 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:05 AM