AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

greyshadow
post Jul 23 2019, 05:26 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Anyone built a rig yet with B450 + R5 3400G?

how's it compared to B450 + R5 2400G?

still deciding on which one to grab hmm.gif
greyshadow
post Jul 24 2019, 03:29 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Jul 24 2019, 03:10 PM)
Thanks for answering but after researching far & wide i found that the 3200G is enough even for 400Mbps 4K video.  shocking.gif

I'm gonna pull the trigger tomorrow (tunggu gaji lol) but i'll be pairing B450M with 3200G.
cool! let me know how it goes rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Jul 24 2019, 03:30 PM
greyshadow
post Jul 24 2019, 03:31 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(Chosen one @ Jul 23 2019, 06:41 PM)
is the difference in price really huge? i would suggest just go third gen
QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Jul 23 2019, 07:00 PM)
You should be getting ~15% FPS boost with the improved architecture and clock speed.  smile.gif
QUOTE(shirohamada @ Jul 23 2019, 09:13 PM)
2400g vs 3400g?
3400g can clock a bit more. only rm100 difference. get 3400g.

but not worth it.
better top up a bit and get 2600 + used rx 570.
anyway, I've changed my plan for B450 + G series APU combo

now thinking of B450 + cheap Ryzen 1st or 2nd gen CPU + a 2nd hand RX570 combo

I have a i5-4590 CPU & a stick of 4Gb DDR3 ram, mobo is busted I think, not worth to repair
any suggestion of what CPU to trade for that's comparative to i5-4590?

my last AMD was decades ago laugh.gif Athlon XP era laugh.gif

main purpose of this rig is for light gaming, mostly old school RPG & RTS stuffs, non of those battle royale games that's red hot now tongue.gif

greyshadow
post Jul 29 2019, 12:07 PM

1,844 posts

Ryzen 7 2700 vs Ryzen 5 3600

2700 is slightly cheaper right now compared to 3600
but performance wise, both seems similar according to online benchmark? hmm.gif

which I should get? no intention for overclock anyway...
greyshadow
post Jul 31 2019, 03:44 PM

1,844 posts

Ryzen 7 3700X + Asrock Steel Legend B450 + Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 DRAM 3000MHz C15, a good match-up or not?

the ram (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15) wasn't listed on both Corsair nor Asrock compatibility list, so kinda worry on that hmm.gif

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Jul 31 2019, 03:57 PM
greyshadow
post Jul 31 2019, 04:44 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Jul 31 2019, 04:32 PM)
Here's AMD reply for my bootkit request. A bit of a pain in the arse so meh... i just ordered 200GE from Lazada and will sell it back once i'm done with updating my BIOS. ~_~

You're getting B450 board? Either make sure it supports 3000 series out of the box or buy an Athlon 200GE with your 3700X to update the BIOS first. Don't be like me.  sweat.gif Also, why not 3200MHz RAM?
yeah, will ask the seller first if it's the latest mobo version with new bios

ram ah, 3000MHz is C15, and got offer compared to the C16 3200Mhz...
anyway, too slow to click on the offer, sold out already doh.gif so will grab the more expensive 3200 C16 instead dry.gif
greyshadow
post Aug 2 2019, 10:38 AM

1,844 posts

guys, can recommend me a good mobo to pair with my 3700X with a pair of 2x8 3200 RAM?

originally already lock on Asrock B450M steel legend, but it seems it's sold out everywhere at my local stores, so looking for an alternative good mobo.
Prefer to buy it locally, online will be 2nd choice
and please don't ask me to go Lowyat plaza, unless you sponsor me a flight ticket to go there tongue.gif

the more I read, the more I confuse rclxub.gif
so please help notworthy.gif

budget around RM350

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Aug 2 2019, 10:39 AM
greyshadow
post Aug 2 2019, 09:58 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Aug 2 2019, 09:03 PM)
may be you can consider Asus prime x470-pro

just top up a bit

seems you are going for the R7 3700X
You're kidding?
Your top up a bit is not a bit for me sweat.gif
That's extra couple hundred more, my budget mostly went into getting the 3700x
I'll stick with the b450 that's within my budget

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Aug 2 2019, 09:58 PM
greyshadow
post Aug 6 2019, 12:06 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Aug 6 2019, 11:40 AM)
from what i see.. only those that have direct headpipe design are having some problems. Those what have a whole cooling plate is performing well as it is.. so i doubt there will be any significance unless for marketting gimmick.
huhuhuhu agesa ABB is coming out but still no news from MSI sad.gif
What sorts of problem we are talking about here?
my coming 3700x comes with a Wraith Prism, which I check is using heatpipe bottom design
will I have potential heat issue if I plan to do some light OC?

and I might plan to use my own TIM instead of the stock TIM, but confused over how much I should use
some say since it's heatpipe design, should apply more
some say doesn't matter, just the usual pea size will do
doh.gif

greyshadow
post Aug 6 2019, 01:42 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Aug 6 2019, 01:20 PM)
because the die inside the new ryzen is not really centered so the heat may not distributed evenly between the heatpipes depending on how it is aligned.
if it's horizontally aligned base on this picture, means one heatpipe will be hotter than the other. whereas if it's vertically aligned then it should not have much problem.

As for tim, based on personal preference and experience... i find spreading a thin layer over the surface yields better and more consistent results as compared to putting a rice grain size and squash it... just wrap finger in cling wrap and spread.

When it comes to direct contact heatpipes, i will spread a thin layer on the cpu first, then fill in the gaps between the heatpipes on the cooler to make the contact surface flat before attaching. However higher end coolers will come with a flat polished contact surface out of the box and you dont need to do the 2nd step at all.
thanks!
guess I'll have to make sure my heatpipes is aligned properly after spread some tim between the pipes
it seems the gaps is pretty wide

greyshadow
post Aug 6 2019, 02:11 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Aug 6 2019, 01:53 PM)
well... stock coolers are like that, especially on laptops and GPUs..

altho if it's stock amd i dont think you can decide whether to mount it horizontally or vertically. but since IHS of the ryzens are soldered on, i guess it helps a little in distributing the thermals to the other heatpipes.
yeah, just remembered that doh.gif silly me
and there's no way of knowing the direction of the die also
guess just have to cross me fingers and hope for the best
greyshadow
post Aug 8 2019, 10:12 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Aug 8 2019, 02:36 AM)
finally i got time to setup my ryzen 9 3900x + gigabye aoros pro wifi that I purchased 2 weeks ago.

I havent format my os disc yet, surprisingly everything works fine from my previous intel board (well at least for some photoshop and light online gaming). windows still activated and every drivers including wifi, bluetooth, all work fine without the need of any installation.
Long gone were the days of the windows OS that are tied to your mobo & cpu tongue.gif

really dreaded those yesteryears that you almost have to reinstall your windows or jump thru few hoops to make your OS working everytime you have a major change of HW like Mobo or CPU

greyshadow
post Aug 9 2019, 10:54 AM

1,844 posts

just received my Asrock B450 Steel Legend mobo in the mail, there's a sticker on the box "AMD Raven Ridge 2 Ready"
what the heck is Raven Ridge 2?
the 3rd gen Ryzen kah?
My 3700X processor will only arrive next week hmm.gif
greyshadow
post Aug 9 2019, 04:27 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Aug 9 2019, 12:38 PM)
Xbox Game Pass is not available in Malaysia, and thus I doubt it will work here  icon_idea.gif

https://www.xbox.com/en-US/xbox-game-pass#faq

Countries that support Game Pass:

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia*, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea (PC Games plan not available), Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey (PC Games plan not available), United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States.
I'm already a member of the XGP Ultimate plan, been playing their game pass PC games since 2 months back yawn.gif
greyshadow
post Aug 9 2019, 04:28 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(shirohamada @ Aug 9 2019, 11:21 AM)
It's old stock with old bios.
Return it.

It should be ryzen 3000 sticker.
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.ZVISb
crap! seems I'm in the same boat with Joseph Hahn doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
greyshadow
post Aug 9 2019, 05:32 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Aug 9 2019, 05:21 PM)
Ok thanks. Other than chipset i guess i'll stick with Windows drivers for now.

Adoi. No luck. So how?

Though somebody in Germany got some luck. Didn't even have Ryzen 3000 sticker. They seem to offer BIOS update service too over there.
https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/cfwth...zen_3000_ready/
the seller claim the mobo is the latest stock from Asrock, if doesn't work then can just return it

keeping my fingers crossed, all my stuffs arrived already, except the brain and the memory doh.gif
supposed to be delivered on Monday one, but Monday is a holiday... haizzz...
greyshadow
post Aug 15 2019, 03:54 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Aug 9 2019, 05:32 PM)
the seller claim the mobo is the latest stock from Asrock, if doesn't work then can just return it

keeping my fingers crossed, all my stuffs arrived already, except the brain and the memory doh.gif
supposed to be delivered on Monday one, but Monday is a holiday... haizzz...
QUOTE(shirohamada @ Aug 9 2019, 07:56 PM)
can buy 200ge from him.
or if you're lucky it's an old box. ran out of sticker.
if seller said so, must be it.
i hope you bought from lesapda. 14 days return.
Unfortunately.... the mobo doesn't comes with the updated bios bangwall.gif

tested it last night, mobo just gave me some pretty lights show, zero video output nor the cpu fan spins
so confirmed it doesn't support my 3700X doh.gif

contacted the store from lasapda, they request me to initiate a return request, and they'll do a full refund for me
I asked for a one to one replacement of the new updated board, yet they say they'll issue refund only

I've check with the local stores, they do bios update service for RM30, will bring it over rather than waste more time & money for refund and buying a new board shakehead.gif

btw, the store name is BananaIT, avoid buying from them if possible
greyshadow
post Aug 19 2019, 11:45 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(Alert_RaZO @ Aug 19 2019, 01:46 AM)
Built in one performance not bad?
The Intel also got built in gpu right?
Ryzen 5 3400G's Vega 11 ate Intel's UHD 630 for breakfast! biggrin.gif

https://gpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Intel...356797vsm401440
greyshadow
post Aug 19 2019, 01:49 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Aug 19 2019, 01:41 PM)
for Ryzen 3600, which chipset ATX motherboard paling berbaloi? B450 nice enough ka
it's good enough for most of us
just make sure the mobo you bought is of the newer firmware that supports gen3 Ryzen
just check with the seller first

greyshadow
post Sep 4 2019, 11:57 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Sep 4 2019, 11:39 AM)
Yup. Always LAN here. I tested wifi a few times. Can't stomach the speed and inconsistency. I'm on CAT6 since I moved to a new house. My whole house has CAT6.

I'm considering CAT6A or CAT7 now. Sadly, multi-gig router or switch is very expensive.
CAT6 with max 10Gbps is more than enough from home use, even a normal gigabit switch router at times is already an overkill for home use, not to mention multi-giga switch?
even with a 10g based network in place for home, your bottleneck will be from the your other hardware especially broadband speed, and even 4k HDR streaming from your media server doesn't need 10G. wink.gif

0.0262sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:24 PM