475 Pages « < 393 394 395 396 397 > » Bottom

AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

iZuDeeN
post Apr 8 2021, 09:52 PM

3,467 posts

Just to update.. seems after upgrade to latest bios for MSI x570 tomahawk WiFi ; I don't get random BSOD

so all these while it's not cpu issue.. most ppl complaint whea error and rma the CPU... But most likely it is because driver issue on AGESA
SSJBen
post Apr 8 2021, 09:54 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Apr 8 2021, 09:52 PM)
Just to update.. seems after upgrade to latest bios for MSI x570 tomahawk WiFi ; I don't get random BSOD

so all these while it's not cpu issue.. most ppl complaint whea error and rma the CPU... But most likely it is because driver issue on AGESA
Can be a combination of many things. One of the frustrations of Ryzen is that it's difficult to pin point the exact problem.
Bonchi
post Apr 8 2021, 10:07 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

That's what ive been complaining since 2019. AMD makes good cpu but their AGESA messed it up. Regardless of how many time you change cpu, change motherboard, change ram etc, as long as the AGESA is bugged, it will stay bugged.
targon
post Apr 8 2021, 11:07 PM

291 posts

Eh, did it reduce the overall boost / performance or make the boost less aggressive ?

This post has been edited by targon: Apr 8 2021, 11:09 PM
iZuDeeN
post Apr 9 2021, 09:15 AM

3,467 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Apr 8 2021, 11:07 PM)
Eh, did it reduce the overall boost / performance or make the boost less aggressive ?
im running on stock ; only mem oc to 3600

hence no difference to my daily usage..just no random BSOD

previously I got random BSOD when using MS Teams

Andrewtst
post Apr 10 2021, 05:50 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,784 posts

After revert to previous firmware I still get hang during idle.

So I change to new beta firmware again and off course still hang during idle. What is that...

Later I decide play with manual value input for RAM after select the XMP setting profile 1.

The manual value input of multiply totally fixed my issue, now no more hang during idle.

I think XMP implementation support in AMD really not that good.

Actually I didn’t face idle hang issue very long already but it is return after I turn on resizable bar and more than 4G.

Thanks lucky the manual value multiply entry solve the hanging in idle issue.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Apr 10 2021, 06:20 PM
svfn
post Apr 11 2021, 08:41 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Mar 31 2021, 07:17 PM)
https://amanz.my/2021279029/

TSMC reported to have increase silicon price at 25% by the end of this year.

Should I grab 5600X @ RM1599 (RM200 above MSRP) right now???

This is a sad year for PC enthusiasts.
EDIT:

I also want to blame AMD for not keeping MSRP Ryzen 5 Zen3 as previous Zen2 (5600X is twice the price as 3600).

Now 3600 used also sells like new set.
just to let you know, if you don't mind waiting till May/June, 5600x back on Amazon preorder for $350 including import/shipping.

yimingwuzere
post Apr 12 2021, 07:25 AM

990 posts

QUOTE(svfn @ Apr 11 2021, 08:41 PM)
just to let you know, if you don't mind waiting till May/June, 5600x back on Amazon preorder for $350 including import/shipping.

Still more expensive than 5600X price at launch, thanks to USD going up again.

Hopefully those who bought get their import fees deposit refunded later.
iZuDeeN
post Apr 12 2021, 08:54 AM

3,467 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Apr 12 2021, 07:25 AM)

even though much expensive than retail ; at least its not cut-throat price like gfx card
but if you willing to pay rm200 premium.. maybe can also ask local sellers

edmund_yung
post Apr 12 2021, 12:33 PM

1,198 posts

Wow thanks! That’s better than buying from local seller who hike the price AND force bundle.
Bonchi
post Apr 12 2021, 02:38 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Apr 12 2021, 08:54 AM)
even though much expensive than retail ; at least its not cut-throat price like gfx card
but if you willing to pay rm200 premium.. maybe can also ask local sellers
local sellers all quote 1.6K with full bundle currently. Been surveying around to build a flight sim rig for a friend... but since it will have like 10+ USB control devices being plug in, that will be another consideration since there's still no news on the USB fix.
svfn
post Apr 12 2021, 04:32 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Apr 12 2021, 07:25 AM)

i think import fees also increased, last time it shows as 0 strangely. well, there's still Taobao but it's also around 1400. good for these that itch to upgrade on B450, though i feel it is better to save for next gen unless you need extra juice. intel is better buy for 6 core line if building new, B550 boards also not cheap unless ASrock.
targon
post Apr 12 2021, 05:28 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 12 2021, 02:38 PM)
since there's still no news on the USB fix.
Didn't they promised to fix this ? So far, they are dragging their feet on this.
sai86
post Apr 12 2021, 09:38 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 12 2021, 02:38 PM)
local sellers all quote 1.6K with full bundle currently. Been surveying around to build a flight sim rig for a friend... but since it will have like 10+ USB control devices being plug in, that will be another consideration since there's still no news on the USB fix.
aint it now flood with the USB Fix since 2 week ago?
Version 3501 Beta Version
2021/04/08 20.43 MBytes
ROG CROSSHAIR VIII DARK HERO BIOS 3501
"- Update AMD AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.2
- Fix USB connectivity issue
Before running the USB BIOS Flashback tool, please rename the BIOS file (C8DH.CAP) using BIOSRenamer.

Please note that this is a beta BIOS version of the motherboard which is still undergoing final testing before its official release. The UEFI, its firmware and all content found on it are provided on an “as is” and “as available” basis. ASUS does not give any warranties, whether express or limited, as to the suitability, compatibility, or usability of the UEFI, its firmware or any of its content. Except as provided in the Product warranty and to the maximum extent permitted by law, ASUS is not responsible for direct, special, incidental or consequential damages resulting from using this beta BIOS."

SHOW MORE DESCRIPTION
Version 3401
2021/03/20 20.43 MBytes
ROG CROSSHAIR VIII DARK HERO BIOS 3401
- Update AMD AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.1 Patch A
- Fix USB connectivity issue
Before running the USB BIOS Flashback tool, please rename the BIOS file (C8DH.CAP) using BIOSRenamer.
SSJBen
post Apr 12 2021, 09:54 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Apr 12 2021, 05:28 PM)
Didn't they promised to fix this ? So far, they are dragging their feet on this.
Already fixed since AGESA 1201 Patch A.

Those complaining still not fixed need to check their devices instead.
Bonchi
post Apr 12 2021, 10:52 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 12 2021, 09:54 PM)
Already fixed since AGESA 1201 Patch A.

Those complaining still not fixed need to check their devices instead.
My friend one still kena leiii.... I cucuk my HDD then once in a while it will ding dong but this HDD is running fine on my rig. But it did improve la...... last time cannot detect at all, now can tahan like 10+ minutes.

but the USB type C works fine... so he cucuk HDD to the USB C port with an adapter.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Apr 12 2021, 10:53 PM
SSJBen
post Apr 12 2021, 11:10 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 12 2021, 10:52 PM)
My friend one still kena leiii.... I cucuk my HDD then once in a while it will ding dong but this HDD is running fine on my rig. But it did improve la...... last time cannot detect at all, now can tahan like 10+ minutes.

but the USB type C works fine... so he cucuk HDD to the USB C port with an adapter.
Yesterday I just backed up 10TB worth of movies to a new drive, went without a hitch. Held speed at 150+MB/s constant, which is much better than before where it would fluctuate from 30 to 100MB/s.
Bonchi
post Apr 13 2021, 01:12 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 12 2021, 11:10 PM)
Yesterday I just backed up 10TB worth of movies to a new drive, went without a hitch. Held speed at 150+MB/s constant, which is much better than before where it would fluctuate from 30 to 100MB/s.
I guess just like forever, the severity of the issue varies between different setup.

My current intel rig is not flawless either, Or perhaps it is my MSI Z490 board.. there's one red USB port which is apparently exclusively for mouse with some mumbo-jumbo "advanced gaming" feature but it bugged with my mouse/keyboard lolol. gets "device descriptor request failed error". But it works with my DAC flawlessly so I ignored the issue.
Andrewtst
post Apr 13 2021, 01:15 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,784 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 12 2021, 10:52 PM)

I connect plenty USB device and never face any ding dong issue, include external HDD, the copying in and out data is working perfectly fine. I had try in any type of USB up to USB-C.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Apr 13 2021, 01:16 AM
Bonchi
post Apr 13 2021, 01:25 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 13 2021, 01:15 AM)
I connect plenty USB device and never face any ding dong issue, include external HDD, the copying in and out data is working perfectly fine. I had try in any type of USB up to USB-C.
Maybe cuz my HDD is an old school USB 2.0 external sata case HDD but it works on my intel rig, so I dunno.

I lost this cable, so maybe if I used this then no problems on AMD... but at the moment it didnt work on my friend's AMD but it works on mine own rig.

But glad to know that it has improved and AMD did try to fix the problem even though it took them 1 year to admit... so it should get better eventually... Now wonder if they will fix the idle boosting problem or not.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Apr 13 2021, 01:33 AM

475 Pages « < 393 394 395 396 397 > » Top

0.0408sec    1.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:53 PM