TristanX
post Apr 5 2021, 12:48 PM

Where is my stars?
24,355 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 5 2021, 12:45 PM)
Why you keep racun me huhuhu. i know that 11700KF is somehow not out yet in malaysia..... patience ommmmm
Of course. Streaming is a thing these days. Price difference isn't big anyway.
1024kbps
post Apr 5 2021, 12:48 PM

李素裳
6,017 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Apr 5 2021, 12:06 PM)
Im thinking an i9 10900k + a decent z590, if someone can let me know how much is the power utilization for normal use (watching youtube, music etc)
What? An android with USB alt mode display out can do it too🤔😹

Music playback use fraction of the cpu power, youtube vp9 already hardware accelerated.
Bonchi
post Apr 5 2021, 12:51 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 5 2021, 12:48 PM)
Of course. Streaming is a thing these days. Price difference isn't big anyway.
I dont stream, but i guess IGP can save my ass with a bad vbios flash hmm.gif
llk
post Apr 5 2021, 12:52 PM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Apr 5 2021, 12:48 PM)
What? An android with USB alt mode display out can do it too🤔😹

Music playback use fraction of the cpu power, youtube vp9 already hardware accelerated.
I got an i5 laptop, saja want to build an intel pc since im boring with my existing 2 ryzen rigs 😆
TristanX
post Apr 5 2021, 12:54 PM

Where is my stars?
24,355 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 5 2021, 12:51 PM)
I dont stream, but i guess IGP can save my ass with a bad vbios flash hmm.gif
Yup. And you also get super fast video transcoding.
Bonchi
post Apr 5 2021, 12:58 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 5 2021, 12:54 PM)
Yup. And you also get super fast video transcoding.
See how long it takes for 11700KF to appear.

I kena the asus curse again.... my asus aio (eventho it's made by asatek) pump rosak doh.gif now on intel stock cooler waiting for my new aio.
TristanX
post Apr 5 2021, 01:01 PM

Where is my stars?
24,355 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 5 2021, 12:58 PM)
See how long it takes for 11700KF to appear.

I kena the asus curse again.... my asus aio (eventho it's made by asatek) pump rosak doh.gif now on intel stock cooler  waiting for my new aio.
Maybe its just compressed heat killing the hardware inside your small case. RTX 3080 dumping 340W of heat!

My exhaust fan with Noctua NF-A14 ippc3000 running at 2000rpm. Feels like hair dryer with my 5900X + RTX 3080.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Apr 5 2021, 01:03 PM
Bonchi
post Apr 5 2021, 01:37 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 5 2021, 01:01 PM)
Maybe its just compressed heat killing the hardware inside your small case. RTX 3080 dumping 340W of heat!

My exhaust fan with Noctua NF-A14 ippc3000 running at 2000rpm. Feels like hair dryer with my 5900X + RTX 3080.
It's a sandwich layout so the heat wasnt transfered... the pump just died randomly without warning. Maybe a defect but it's an oem so no warranty. sigh...

But youve seen my case... it's actually very effecient at exhausting the heat. and it's also a dust magnet. using 2 gentle typhoons but since the 10400F is so bloody cold, the fan is set to a static 1500rpm else it will never spin.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Apr 5 2021, 01:42 PM
targon
post Apr 5 2021, 01:43 PM

291 posts

Im thinking an i9 10900k + a decent z590, if someone can let me know how much is the power utilization for normal use (watching youtube, music etc)
Checked my tnb bill since the day I used it, nope it did not add much at all . For normal usage, will be like using zen 2. Hardly can see any real spike. Won't break ur power bills that's for sure even if everyday gaming.

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 5 2021, 12:11 PM)
targon and Jedi got 10900K. Maybe cstkl1 too.
Cstkl1 is busy toying with RKL. ask him to share his RKL experience / results.
TristanX
post Apr 5 2021, 01:43 PM

Where is my stars?
24,355 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 5 2021, 01:37 PM)
It's a sandwich layout so the heat wasnt transfered... the pump just died randomly without warning. Maybe a defect but it's an oem so no warranty. sigh...

But youve seen my case... it's actually very effecient at exhausting the heat. and it's also a dust magnet. using 2 gentle typhoons but since the 10400F is so bloody cold, the fan is set to a static 1500rpm else it will never spin.
Well, thats more airflow for you.

I ban RTX 3080 onwards for SFF case.
yimingwuzere
post Apr 5 2021, 03:09 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 5 2021, 01:43 PM)
Well, thats more airflow for you.

I ban RTX 3080 onwards for SFF case.
3080 here in SFF, still plays well without air conditioning.
Cold|Drawn
post Apr 5 2021, 06:28 PM

1,138 posts

100w difference may seem a lot but it's only about rm26 in monthly electricity bill.
That's also if I pro rate up to 900kWh's rates and also assume you turn on your PC for 24/7.

spending 3k to recoup Rm26, uh...
unless you don't have a rig yet and the electricity bill does concern you, then I don't see a point in getting another intel rig.
llk
post Apr 5 2021, 06:52 PM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Apr 5 2021, 06:28 PM)
100w difference may seem a lot but it's only about rm26 in monthly electricity bill.
That's also if I pro rate up to 900kWh's rates and also assume you turn on your PC for 24/7.

spending 3k to recoup Rm26, uh...
unless you don't have a rig yet and the electricity bill does concern you, then I don't see a point in getting another intel rig.
Not really the matter of TNB bill, i checked ady the i9 10900K for normal usage also consume around 80-130Watt which is just slightly lower than the 5900X. I just hati gatal want to build an Intel PC, my last Intel PC was an i7 5930K on X99 platform.
Cold|Drawn
post Apr 5 2021, 06:59 PM

1,138 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Apr 5 2021, 06:52 PM)
Not really the matter of TNB bill, i checked ady the i9 10900K for normal usage also consume around 80-130Watt which is just slightly lower than the 5900X. I just hati gatal want to build an Intel PC, my last Intel PC was an i7 5930K on X99 platform.
that, my friend... cannot help
I get poisoned for getting an intel rig everyday too. tongue.gif

anyway, maybe try something different. ITX build instead?
just in case if you're bored with it, can still recycle it as a home theater player or something.
llk
post Apr 5 2021, 07:05 PM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Apr 5 2021, 06:59 PM)
that, my friend... cannot help
I get poisoned for getting an intel rig everyday too.  tongue.gif

anyway, maybe try something different. ITX build instead?
just in case if you're bored with it, can still recycle it as a home theater player or something.
Yeah that is what i'm considering, an ITX build, i have never build that before.
Bonchi
post Apr 5 2021, 07:12 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Apr 5 2021, 07:05 PM)
Yeah that is what i'm considering, an ITX build, i have never build that before.
Its build is fun biggrin.gif .. itx boards to OC ram also shyok.
x800
post Apr 5 2021, 07:25 PM

Stalking LYN since 2002
442 posts

Itx builds are fun thumbup.gif

Buulding customloop inside my friend's nr200 was a whole new experience for me vs my bigass case

Temps was not up to my liking tho...watertemps went above 50 in long gaming sessions even with 2x240rad loop for 5800x+3080...but the owner said its more or less same with other ppl with same config, so up to him la sweat.gif
llk
post Apr 5 2021, 07:30 PM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Apr 5 2021, 07:12 PM)
Its build is fun biggrin.gif .. itx boards to OC ram also shyok.
Let see how, WFH over, now have to go back to normal working life, not sure if i still have extra time to play PC laugh.gif
SSJBen
post Apr 5 2021, 09:55 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Apr 5 2021, 10:52 AM)
Can you turn on power saving mode on your board and see how much power it consumes on idle from the wall socket? Keep these apps on

Browser with 5 tabs
Music player
Steam
Battle.net
Epic Games Launcher

Mine drinking 120-150W.
Chrome 5 tabs (github, reddit, steam, LYN, TPU)
Music player (music bee)
Steam
GOG Galaxy (replaced Epic games)
Battle.net
Uplay

Pulling around 125w +/-.
TristanX
post Apr 5 2021, 09:56 PM

Where is my stars?
24,355 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 5 2021, 09:55 PM)
Chrome 5 tabs (github, reddit, steam, LYN, TPU)
Music player (music bee)
Steam
GOG Galaxy (replaced Epic games)
Battle.net
Uplay

Pulling around 125w +/-.
Thanks. About the same power consumption.

After 54 mins video with 9900K using PowerDVD at 1080p, 11W average on the CPU.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Apr 5 2021, 10:00 PM

475 Pages « < 391 392 393 394 395 > » Top

0.0375sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:42 PM