AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

xxboxx
post Mar 29 2021, 09:48 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 29 2021, 09:20 PM)
For fans, just set an update delay like 2-5 seconds in the bios. As the temps usually spikes and drop very quickly, so this delay will work the curve a little smoother.

Also make sure c-state is not disabled if you want lower idles.
Didn't notice got update delay settings in my bios.

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Mar 29 2021, 09:28 PM)
checked it's active, issue is my Unifans having drivers issue so the pwm not working, now fixed at 1570rpm
I think can also set adjust by voltage in bios.
llk
post Mar 29 2021, 09:55 PM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 29 2021, 08:36 PM)
Using Fractal Design Define S2 Vision RGB. This is my fan setup.

Front - Corsair LL140 X3 (mobo controlled) - intake
Bottom - Arctic Cooling P14 PST CO PWM - (90% fan speed) - intake
Back - Noctua NF-A14 ippc3000 (2000rpm) - exhaust
Top - Arctic Cooling Liquid Freezer II 360 (mobo controlled) - exhaust
Thermal paste - Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme (lipstick paste!)

You can try this power plan as well. It makes turbo less aggressive.

[attachmentid=10825588]
Created by Verangry @computerbase.de
Wow this powerplan really fantastic, now my CPU Core Voltage (SVI2 TFN) no longer hovering between 1.3~1.4V, and the CPU temp also further reduced below 40degree with all the rubbish apps running background. Thanks for sharing!

Bonchi
post Mar 29 2021, 09:56 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 29 2021, 09:48 PM)
Didn't notice got update delay settings in my bios.
Each bios got this feature. Take msi and asus for example:
Step up and step down time is that delay so put a value long enough so the fan speed will react slower to the temp changes.. then wont keep ramping up and down aggressively.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Mar 29 2021, 10:00 PM
TristanX
post Mar 29 2021, 10:00 PM

Where is my stars?
24,355 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Mar 29 2021, 09:55 PM)
Wow this powerplan really fantastic, now my CPU Core Voltage (SVI2 TFN) no longer hovering between 1.3~1.4V, and the CPU temp also further reduced below 40degree with all the rubbish apps running background. Thanks for sharing!

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Mar 29 2021, 09:28 PM)
this power plan helps

this is the temperature with Chrome and Messenger still running

checked it's active, issue is my Unifans having drivers issue so the pwm not working, now fixed at 1570rpm
0%

the power plan tristan suggested set it at 1%
Got another one. This one with low power too.

Attached File  install_Ryzen_Powerplans.zip ( 13.54k ) Number of downloads: 49

Delete the duplicate if you already installed the previous one.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Mar 29 2021, 10:08 PM
xxboxx
post Mar 29 2021, 10:13 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 29 2021, 09:56 PM)
Each bios got this feature. Take msi and asus for example:

Step up and step down time is that delay so put a value long enough so the fan speed will react slower to the temp changes.. then wont keep ramping up and down aggressively.
Oh the step up time. I think already set 2 or 3 seconds on my bios.

Anyways, small difference of fans speed between 40c to 60c I think is useful to avoid the fans from ramp up too much as this is the range the CPU temp is when light usage. Above 60c then full blast as that is when CPU is full load.
Bonchi
post Mar 29 2021, 10:20 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 29 2021, 10:13 PM)
Oh the step up time. I think already set 2 or 3 seconds on my bios.

Anyways, small difference of fans speed between 40c to 60c I think is useful to avoid the fans from ramp up too much as this is the range the CPU temp is when light usage. Above 60c then full blast as that is when CPU is full load.
Yup, this will help smooth up alot compared to default it will really ramp up and down like mosquito. For me, if the fan is silent enough, just let it start at 1.5k rpm min.. will help increase overall airflow too.

Because of the 1.5k rpm, i got my ryzen down to 37C when idle.

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Mar 29 2021, 10:22 PM
1024kbps
post Mar 29 2021, 11:14 PM

李素裳
6,017 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 29 2021, 10:20 PM)
Yup, this will help smooth up alot compared to default it will really ramp up and down like mosquito. For me, if the fan is silent enough, just let it start at 1.5k rpm min.. will help increase overall airflow too.

Because of the 1.5k rpm, i got my ryzen down to 37C when idle.
to avoid ramp up and down, it's always recommend to use pwm fan, because pwm has 0 to 100 fan duty, which is wider than voltage controlled fan,
voltage controlled fan start at 5 to 7v, full speed at 12v, this is where the annoying ramp came from.
I have 4500rpm gentle typhoon lol, most mobi will not be able to tame this wild beast due to high start up voltage which is 7v, 1900rpm...

my old server fan can spin even at 800rpm. I can choose 7v and it will not go nuts when I boot up my pc
SUSEBBattlefield
post Mar 30 2021, 08:42 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Mar 29 2021, 03:45 PM)
If my memory recall correctly, I did see some sellers listing B550 Tomahawk for about RM 650++ on Shopee.

But checking now, several sellers have it in stock at prices - 739 (pc byte) 720 (etech) 714 (artidea) 720 (sl integrated) 719 (eggcomptech)

Boleh tahan lah, not 800! haha
my only concern from online retailer is i dont have CPU to flash bios for 5000 series sweat.gif sweat.gif
unless can borrow yours? tongue.gif
owikh84
post Mar 30 2021, 11:00 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Mar 30 2021, 08:42 AM)
my only concern from online retailer is i dont have CPU to flash bios for 5000 series  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Most MSI and ASUS mobos come with BIOS Flash button (located at the backpanel) to flash BIOS without CPU. thumbup.gif

https://download.msi.com/archive/mnu_exe/mb/E7C91v2.2.pdf
https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/MAG-B550-TO...K/Specification
SUSEBBattlefield
post Mar 30 2021, 11:20 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Mar 30 2021, 11:00 AM)

Should i get the Tomahawk or gaming plus then? brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

I dont wanna OC, just want lots of SATA and PCI-E slots for storage for academic purpose brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by EBBattlefield: Mar 30 2021, 11:20 AM
Bonchi
post Mar 30 2021, 12:01 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

my only concern from online retailer is i dont have CPU to flash bios for 5000 series  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
If buy from brick and mortar shop, they can do for you.
owikh84
post Mar 30 2021, 12:50 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Mar 30 2021, 11:20 AM)
Should i get the Tomahawk or gaming plus then?  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif

I dont wanna OC, just want lots of SATA and PCI-E slots for storage for academic purpose  brows.gif  brows.gif

Both have the same amount of SATA & PCIe slots but Tomahawk has more features:

* 2x LAN 2.5G + 1G
* 2x M.2 heatsinks
* Better audio ALC1200 vs ALC892/ALC897
* Support higher RAM frequency

raydenex
post Mar 30 2021, 02:20 PM

"Updated my journal."
588 posts

No worries bro, some of those shopee sellers can do the flashing for you too before ship to you. Ask.
Cold|Drawn
post Mar 30 2021, 02:46 PM

1,138 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 29 2021, 10:00 PM)
Got another one. This one with low power too.

Attached File  install_Ryzen_Powerplans.zip ( 13.54k ) Number of downloads: 49

Delete the duplicate if you already installed the previous one.
low power option from the plan.

running youtube + browsing on chrome on 3600+B450

SUSEBBattlefield
post Mar 30 2021, 03:01 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Mar 30 2021, 12:50 PM)
Both have the same amount of SATA & PCIe slots but Tomahawk has more features:

* 2x LAN 2.5G + 1G
* 2x M.2 heatsinks
* Better audio ALC1200 vs ALC892/ALC897
* Support higher RAM frequency
then might as well get Gaming Plus....
I only want 3200mhz RAM and anything gigabit LAN....
not like I live in Sourth Korea can stream 4k udang on udanghub innocent.gif
cyclone2
post Mar 30 2021, 04:15 PM

427 posts

I had decided go for 5800x and placed order on Sat. Should be receiving by today.

I also need to upgrade my PSU to 750W... currently using 650W with 2700x + RTX 2070.
TristanX
post Mar 30 2021, 04:16 PM

Where is my stars?
24,355 posts

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ Mar 30 2021, 04:15 PM)
I had decided go for 5800x and placed order on Sat. Should be receiving by today.

I also need to upgrade my PSU to 750W... currently using 650W with 2700x + RTX 2070.
Pick either one of these.

NZXT C750
Corsair RMx 750W
Seasonic Focus GX 750W
Adata XPG Core Reactor 750W
cyclone2
post Mar 30 2021, 04:52 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Mar 30 2021, 04:16 PM)
Pick either one of these.

NZXT C750
Corsair RMx 750W
Seasonic Focus GX 750W
Adata XPG Core Reactor 750W
hmm..... too bad i ordered Corsair RM750.... blush.gif blush.gif

TristanX
post Mar 30 2021, 04:53 PM

Where is my stars?
24,355 posts

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ Mar 30 2021, 04:52 PM)
hmm..... too bad i ordered Corsair RM750.... blush.gif  blush.gif
Still a good PSU. Enjoy!
JohnLai
post Mar 30 2021, 06:35 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

x800 TristanX

After trying those power plans, 5950x CPU Core Voltage SVN2 TFN finally idle as it should be.

This makes me wonder, what if I export 3950x Ryzen Balanced power plan to 5950x system......and guess what, it actually worked.

When doing nothing or running light stuff, the 5950x CPU Core Voltage SVN2 TFN idle at 1.025V and boosted to 1.475V correctly on load.

Doesn't seem to have any "responsiveness" issue at all.

Now the only issue left is the darned constant SOC power consumption.

475 Pages « < 387 388 389 390 391 > » Top

0.0283sec    1.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:59 AM